yes, therapy helps!
Michel Foucault: biography and work of this French thinker

Michel Foucault: biography and work of this French thinker

February 8, 2024

Historian, psychologist, philosopher and social theorist. Michel Foucault was one of the great thinkers of the 20th century , whose ideas generated a great impact and exerted a great influence on the entire French cultural environment of the time.

He was recognized worldwide for his ideas about social institutions, especially prisons, the health system and psychiatry, as well as for his studies on human sexuality. Ideas that, along with his own biography and work, we will review throughout this article.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Brief biography of Michel Foucault

Born on October 15, 1926 in the town of Poitiers, France and under the name of Paul-Michel Foucault, this prestigious French thinker grew up in a formal environment in which studies and knowledge were considered essential, since the Foucault's father, was a renowned French surgeon.


After an academic history full of ups and downs, Foucault managed to enter the famous École Normande Supérieure , recognized for being one of the cradles of the best specialists and thinkers of humanities of France.

His stay at the École Normande was one of his most difficult stages. After suffering a depression and several suicide attempts, Foucault was in the hands of a psychiatrist for a long time. During this period he acquired a great passion for psychology, which led him to graduate both in psychology and philosophy.

When finishing his university studies, Foucault got a teaching position at the École Normande . However, his stay in this position was brief assuming after him a position as professor of psychology at the University of Lille, also in France.


After several other jobs, Foucault returned to France with the intention of finishing his doctorate, during which he accepted a position in the philosophy department of the Clermont-Ferrand University.

Throughout this period of his life Foucault became a prolific writer, being the majority of his texts focused on psychology, psychiatry and mental health . While his later publications focused on issues related to politics, social issues and sexuality.

Overcoming structuralism and recent years

During the years in which he became interested in the structuralist current, Foucault was considered part of the current, being at the same level as some other great thinkers such as Jacques Lacan or Claude Lévi-Strauss. Despite this, Foucault completely rejected the idea of ​​being considered as a defender of structuralism .


In 1968, the famous student revolts of May broke out, events that deeply marked Foucault and after which he obtained a position as head of the philosophy department of the newly created experimental university Paris VIII. From here began his years of strong political activism.

Finally, this philosophical was chosen as part of the prestigious academic body of the College of France , increasing his participation in political life and traveling around the world to teach classes and lectures, including his famous lectures and interviews in the United States and Iran.

During his last years of life Foucault was criticized for having changed ideas and opinions continuously throughout his life, to what he defended as a natural phenomenon due to the experience and acquisition of knowledge.

Finally, Foucault died in 1984 because of AIDS , not without first destroying a large part of his manuscripts and strictly prohibiting the publication of all those who could have "survived.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Biopower: a concept developed by Michel Foucault"

Power according to Foucault

Although in its beginnings Foucault focused on mainly psychological and mental health issues, as well as the institutions that control it, its most important and recognized contributions are found in the field of social sciences and politics.

Because he lived during a time of great changes and social upheaval, Foucault was very interested in the present to which he belonged. Performing exceptional reflections on the systems and power relations of the time.

First of all it is necessary to specify that when talking about power, Foucault it is not limited only to government power or institutions , if not it encompasses the power relations that occur in all areas of society, also known as social power.

This social power is conformed by a great plot of small spheres of power, located below the great powers such as the government or the church.According to Foucault, these sub-spheres of power are at different levels and lean on each other to manifest in a subtle and cunning manner.

However, according to the thinker, the main obstacle to carry out a revolution is the maintenance of power relations as they were at the time, calling to examine and analyze these power relations of a social nature .

In one of his publications known as The Microphysics of Power (1980), Foucault makes a review of these power relations through two different domain dynamics:

  • Contract : materializes in oppressive and legal power. Based on the legitimacy of this.
  • Domination : it is established in terms of repression and submission.

Foucault insists that conflict is not found only in governmental power, but also in all substructures with power relations within it that sustain it.

Following this idea, Foucault insists that the analysis of power relations should not start from the governmental power , but it is necessary to start with the smaller power subspheres that feed it and make it possible to maintain it.

Finally, Foucault determines that the main role of thinkers is within society, accompanying it in the struggle against the forms of power that exist within it.

Main works of this philosopher

As mentioned above, Foucault distinguished himself by being a prolific writer. Here we review some of his most relevant works.

1. History of madness in the classical period (1961)

First relevant work of Foucault, in it he analyzes and reviews the treatment that is given to the concept of madness throughout history, emphasizing the evolution of the treatment that is given to the patient .

2. Words and things (1966)

In this work of Foucault, the thinker makes a reflection about how all historical periods are distinguished by presenting a series of fundamental truth conditions that establish what is acceptable, and how these conditions they evolve and change over time .

3. The archeology of knowledge (1969)

Another of the most important works of the French thinker in which he performs an examination or analysis of the functionality and power of sentences as basic units of discourse.

4. Monitor and punish (1975)

Throughout this work, the analysis and reflection of the functioning of the penitentiary institutions is carried out, with the intention of understanding the evolution over the years experienced by the ways in which the convicts are punished.

5. History of sexuality (1976, 1984)

This Foucault work materializes in three different volumes in which the use of sexuality is reviewed with a regime of power, as well as the use of sexual pleasures throughout history.

When Foucault died in 1984, he was writing the fourth volume of these reflections, which focused on sexuality and Christianity.


PHILOSOPHY - Michel Foucault (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Michel Foucault: biographie et travail de ce penseur français

Michel Foucault: biographie et travail de ce penseur français

Août 8, 2022

Historien, psychologue, philosophe et théoricien du social. Michel Foucault fut l'un des grands penseurs du 20ème siècle , dont les idées ont eu un impact considérable et ont exercé une grande influence sur l’environnement culturel français dans son ensemble.

Il était reconnu dans le monde entier pour ses idées sur les institutions sociales, en particulier les prisons, le système de santé et la psychiatrie, ainsi que pour ses études sur la sexualité humaine. Des idées que nous réviserons tout au long de cet article, avec sa propre biographie et ses propres travaux.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Brève biographie de Michel Foucault

Né le 15 octobre 1926 à Poitiers, en France, sous le nom de Paul-Michel Foucault, ce prestigieux penseur français a grandi dans un environnement formel dans lequel les études et la connaissance étaient considérées comme essentielles. Le père de Foucault était un chirurgien français renommé.


Après une histoire académique pleine de hauts et de bas, Foucault a réussi à entrer dans la célèbre École Normande Supérieure , reconnu pour être l’un des berceaux des meilleurs spécialistes et penseurs des sciences humaines de France.

Son séjour à l'École Normande a été l'une de ses étapes les plus difficiles. Après une dépression et plusieurs tentatives de suicide, Foucault est resté longtemps entre les mains d'un psychiatre. Au cours de cette période, il a acquis une grande passion pour la psychologie, ce qui l'a amené à obtenir un diplôme en psychologie et en philosophie.

À la fin de ses études universitaires, Foucault obtenu un poste d'enseignant à l'École Normande . Cependant, son séjour à ce poste fut bref et assuma après lui un poste de professeur de psychologie à l’Université de Lille, également en France.


Après plusieurs autres emplois, Foucault est rentré en France avec l'intention de terminer son doctorat, au cours duquel il a accepté un poste au département de philosophie de l'Université de Clermont-Ferrand.

Au cours de cette période de sa vie, Foucault devint un écrivain prolifique, étant la majorité de ses textes axés sur la psychologie, la psychiatrie et la santé mentale . Ses dernières publications portaient sur des questions liées à la politique, aux questions sociales et à la sexualité.

Surmonter le structuralisme et les dernières années

Au cours des années où il s’intéresse au courant structuraliste, Foucault est considéré comme faisant partie du courant, au même niveau que d’autres grands penseurs tels que Jacques Lacan ou Claude Lévi-Strauss. Malgré cela, Foucault complètement rejeté l'idée d'être considéré comme un défenseur du structuralisme .


En 1968, les célèbres révoltes étudiantes de mai ont éclaté, événements qui ont profondément marqué Foucault et à la suite duquel il a obtenu un poste de chef du département de philosophie de la nouvelle université expérimentale Paris VIII. À partir de là ont commencé ses années de fort activisme politique.

Enfin, cette philosophie a été choisi dans le cadre du prestigieux corps académique du Collège de France , augmentant sa participation à la vie politique et voyageant à travers le monde pour donner des cours, dont ses conférences et entretiens célèbres aux États-Unis et en Iran.

Au cours de ses dernières années de vie, Foucault a été critiqué pour avoir constamment changé d'idées et d'opinions, ce qu'il a défendu comme un phénomène naturel dû à l'expérience et à l'acquisition de connaissances.

Finalement, Foucault est mort en 1984 à cause du SIDA non sans avoir au préalable détruit une grande partie de ses manuscrits et interdit formellement la publication de tous ceux qui auraient pu "survivre".

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Biopower: un concept développé par Michel Foucault"

Le pouvoir selon Foucault

Bien qu'à ses débuts, Foucault se concentrait principalement sur les problèmes de santé psychologique et mentale ainsi que sur les institutions qui le contrôlaient, ses contributions les plus importantes et les plus reconnues se situent dans le domaine des sciences sociales et de la politique.

Parce qu'il a vécu à une époque de grands changements et de bouleversements sociaux, Foucault était très intéressé par le présent auquel il appartenait. Réalisation de réflexions exceptionnelles sur les systèmes et les relations de pouvoir de l’époque.

Tout d’abord, il faut préciser que lorsque l’on parle de pouvoir, Foucault il ne se limite pas au pouvoir ou aux institutions du gouvernement sinon, elle englobe les relations de pouvoir existant dans tous les domaines de la société, également appelé pouvoir social.

Ce pouvoir social est conformé par un grand complot de petites sphères de pouvoir situées sous les grandes puissances telles que le gouvernement ou l’église.Selon Foucault, ces sous-sphères du pouvoir sont à différents niveaux et s'appuient les unes sur les autres pour se manifester de manière subtile et rusée.

Cependant, selon le penseur, le principal obstacle à la réalisation d’une révolution est le maintien des relations de pouvoir telles qu’elles étaient à l’époque. appelant à examiner et analyser ces relations de pouvoir de nature sociale .

Dans l'une de ses publications intitulée The Microphysics of Power (1980), Foucault passe en revue ces relations de pouvoir à travers deux dynamiques de domaine différentes:

  • Contrat : se matérialise dans un pouvoir oppressif et légal. Basé sur la légitimité de cela.
  • La domination : il est établi en termes de répression et de soumission.

Foucault insiste sur le fait que les conflits ne se rencontrent pas seulement dans le pouvoir gouvernemental, mais également dans toutes les infrastructures avec des relations de pouvoir qui le maintiennent.

Foucault insiste sur le fait que l'analyse des relations de pouvoir ne devrait pas partir du pouvoir gouvernemental , mais il est nécessaire de commencer par les sous-sphères de puissance plus petites qui l’alimentent et permettent de la maintenir.

Enfin, Foucault estime que le rôle principal des penseurs est au sein de la société, l’accompagnant dans la lutte contre les formes de pouvoir qui la composent.

Principaux travaux de ce philosophe

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, Foucault s'est distingué en étant un écrivain prolifique. Nous passons ici en revue certaines de ses œuvres les plus pertinentes.

1. Histoire de la folie à l'époque classique (1961)

Premier ouvrage pertinent de Foucault, il y analyse et passe en revue le traitement réservé au concept de folie au cours de l'histoire, en insistant sur l'évolution du traitement donné au patient .

2. Les mots et les choses (1966)

Dans cet ouvrage de Foucault, le penseur réfléchit à la manière dont toutes les périodes historiques se distinguent en présentant une série de conditions de vérité fondamentales qui établissent ce qui est acceptable, et comment ces conditions ils évoluent et changent avec le temps .

3. L'archéologie de la connaissance (1969)

Un autre des travaux les plus importants du penseur français dans lequel il effectue un examen ou une analyse de la fonctionnalité et du pouvoir des phrases en tant qu'unités de base du discours.

4. Surveiller et punir (1975)

Tout au long de ce travail, l’analyse et la réflexion sur le fonctionnement des institutions pénitentiaires sont effectuées, dans le but de comprendre l’évolution au fil des années vécues par les sanctions infligées aux condamnés.

5. Histoire de la sexualité (1976, 1984)

Ce travail de Foucault se matérialise en trois volumes différents dans lesquels l'utilisation de la sexualité est passée en revue avec un régime de pouvoir, ainsi que l'utilisation des plaisirs sexuels à travers l'histoire.

À la mort de Foucault en 1984, il écrivait le quatrième volume de ces réflexions, axées sur la sexualité et le christianisme.


PHILOSOPHY - Michel Foucault (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes