yes, therapy helps!
Microcephaly: symptoms, characteristics and treatment

Microcephaly: symptoms, characteristics and treatment

April 29, 2024

The nervous system is one of the first systems of our body to begin to develop during pregnancy. Throughout the pregnancy and even throughout the individual's life this system is going to be modified and developed, especially from gestation to the beginning of adulthood.

However, in some cases the brain does not grow as it should or as quickly as usual since pregnancy, causing the birth of children with heads of a perimeter well below average, often linked to the presence of different alterations and a some degree of intellectual disability. This is what is known as microcephaly .

  • Related article: "Macrocephaly: causes, symptoms and treatment"

Microcephaly: concept and symptoms

We understand as microcephaly the situation, condition or neonatal involvement in which the child's skull and brain show an absence or obvious developmental delay at birth or during the first years, compared to other individuals of the same age. It is a rare disorder that can come from different causes. It is generally considered that the cranial perimeter of a child with microcephaly is between two and three standard deviations below the mean.


Although in some cases children with microcephaly may have a level of normative intelligence, as a general rule this affectation occurs with a variable degree of intellectual disability . Various alterations can also occur, such as loss of vision, difficulties in feeding, generalized slowing of development and seizures.

With the passage of time and as the child grows the face and the rest of the body develop, but the skull is still not growing . Therefore, this type of infants usually have a sunken forehead and an elongated face.

Generally this situation is detected throughout pregnancy , or after the first hours after delivery. However, sometimes it may be years before an atypical development is identified, not being evident in the first months of life.


  • Related article: "Types of intellectual disability (and characteristics)"

Origin of this type of medical condition

There is no single cause that can generate microcephaly, but we can find different disorders and conditions that can generate it . Most of these are conditions and diseases that are produced or transmitted during the development of the fetus or during delivery.

Some disorders, mutations and genetic alterations can generate microcephaly. These include trisomies 18 (Edwards syndrome) and 21 (Down syndrome).

Other of the most frequent causes of microcephaly have to do with the transmission of various viruses by the mother to the fetus . Toxoplasmosis, cytomegalovirus, rubella or the well-known Zika virus have been shown to cause alterations in the fetus that can lead to microcephaly.


In addition, pregnant women should take care of their health status and treat diseases such as phenylketonuria or diabetes (which if not controlled can also alter the development of the fetus due to the absence of certain nutrients). Of the same some drugs and the abusive use of alcohol can cause this alteration. Malnutrition also makes it difficult for the future child to develop normally.

Complications during childbirth

Even if the fetal development concludes adequately, complications such as anoxia can arise during delivery, which can alter the functioning and development capacity of the brain.

Also, although in general the size of the skull increases throughout development thanks to the growth of the brain, being the size of the second which generates that the first is smaller in cases of microcephaly, there are cases in which a suture occurs premature of the bones of the skull that do not allow the brain to grow, medical condition known as craniosynostosis .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Anencephaly: causes, symptoms and prevention"

Treatment

The microcephaly does not have a treatment that reverses this condition . The treatments that are carried out are based on occupational therapy, stimulation and educational practice. It is necessary and very useful to offer therapies focused on speech and psychomotricity so that these children improve their basic skills, as well as work the emotional sphere of the child. It is about achieving that they can take the best possible level of life by optimizing their skills and exploiting their potential.

Likewise, psychoeducation and counseling to the family and the surrounding environment it is fundamental in order that it can help the child to develop in the most adaptive way possible, at the same time that it allows to grant information and allow the expression of doubts and fears to the family.

One of the conditions that can cause microcephaly is the premature hardening of the skull bone plates or craniosynostosis, which prevents the growth and normative development of the brain by physically limiting it. This concrete condition, if detected in time, yes, it can be reversed by surgery , so as to avoid harmful effects on the brain.

Prevention is also fundamental. The consumption of drugs and certain substances by the mother, malnutrition, the non-treatment of medical conditions such as phenylketonuria or the transmission of certain viruses such as toxoplasmosis (which can be spread through the stool of cats or consumption of uncooked food, in poor condition or contaminated) can be possible causes of the appearance of microcephaly, and in some cases can be avoided.

  • Related article: "How to take care during the first month of pregnancy: 9 tips"

Bibliographic references:

  • Kinsman, S.L. & Johnston, M.V. (2016). Congenital anomalies of the central nervous system. In: Kliegman RM, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, Schor NF, eds. Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 20th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier.

Zika virus - causes, outbreak, symptoms & pathology (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Microcéphalie: symptômes, caractéristiques et traitement

Microcéphalie: symptômes, caractéristiques et traitement

Septembre 12, 2022

Le système nerveux est l’un des premiers systèmes de notre corps à se développer pendant la grossesse. Tout au long de la grossesse et même tout au long de la vie de l'individu, ce système va être modifié et développé, en particulier de la gestation au début de l'âge adulte.

Cependant, dans certains cas, le cerveau ne se développe pas comme il se doit ni aussi rapidement que d'habitude depuis la grossesse, ce qui entraîne la naissance d'enfants à la tête d'un périmètre bien inférieur à la moyenne, souvent liée à la présence de différentes altérations et un certain degré de déficience intellectuelle. C'est ce qu'on appelle la microcéphalie .

  • Article connexe: "Macrocéphalie: causes, symptômes et traitement"

Microcéphalie: concept et symptômes

On entend par microcéphalie la situation, l’état ou la participation néonatale dans laquelle le crâne et le cerveau de l'enfant montrent une absence ou un retard de développement évident à la naissance ou au cours des premières années, par rapport aux autres individus du même âge. C'est un trouble rare qui peut provenir de différentes causes. On considère généralement que le périmètre crânien d'un enfant atteint de microcéphalie est compris entre deux et trois écarts types inférieurs à la moyenne.


Bien que, dans certains cas, les enfants atteints de microcéphalie puissent avoir un niveau d’intelligence normative, en règle générale, cette affectation se produit. avec un degré variable de déficience intellectuelle . Diverses altérations peuvent également se produire, telles que perte de vision, difficultés d'alimentation, ralentissement généralisé du développement et convulsions.

Au fil du temps et à mesure que l'enfant grandit, le visage et le reste du corps se développent, mais le crâne ne pousse toujours pas . Par conséquent, ce type de nourrisson a généralement un front creux et un visage allongé.

Généralement cette situation est détecté tout au long de la grossesse , ou après les premières heures après l'accouchement. Cependant, il peut parfois s'écouler des années avant qu'un développement atypique soit identifié, ce qui n'est pas évident dans les premiers mois de la vie.


  • Article connexe: "Types de déficience intellectuelle (et caractéristiques)"

Origine de ce type d'affection médicale

Il n’existe pas de cause unique pouvant générer une microcéphalie, mais on peut trouver différents troubles et conditions qui peuvent le générer . La plupart d'entre elles sont des affections et des maladies produites ou transmises pendant le développement du fœtus ou lors de l'accouchement.

Certains troubles, mutations et altérations génétiques peuvent générer une microcéphalie. Ceux-ci incluent les trisomies 18 (syndrome d'Edwards) et 21 (syndrome de Down).

Les autres causes les plus fréquentes de microcéphalie sont liées à la transmission de divers virus par la mère au foetus . Il a été prouvé que la toxoplasmose, le cytomégalovirus, la rubéole ou le virus Zika bien connu provoquent des altérations du fœtus pouvant entraîner une microcéphalie.


En outre, les femmes enceintes devraient prendre soin de leur état de santé et traiter des maladies telles que la phénylcétonurie ou le diabète (qui, s'ils ne sont pas contrôlés, peuvent également altérer le développement du fœtus en raison de l’absence de certains nutriments). De même, certaines drogues et l’abus d’alcool peuvent provoquer cette altération. La malnutrition empêche également le futur enfant de se développer normalement.

Complications pendant l'accouchement

Même si le développement fœtal se termine correctement, des complications telles que l'anoxie peuvent survenir pendant l'accouchement, ce qui peut altérer le fonctionnement et la capacité de développement du cerveau.

En outre, bien que la taille du crâne augmente en général tout au long du développement grâce à la croissance du cerveau, étant la taille de la seconde qui génère que le premier est plus petit en cas de microcéphalie, il existe des cas dans lesquels une suture se produit prématuré des os du crâne qui ne permettent pas au cerveau de se développer, condition médicale connue sous le nom de craniosynostose .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Anencéphalie: causes, symptômes et prévention"

Traitement

La microcéphalie n'a pas un traitement qui renverse cette condition . Les traitements effectués sont basés sur l'ergothérapie, la stimulation et la pratique éducative. Il est nécessaire et très utile de proposer des thérapies axées sur la parole et la psychomotricité afin que ces enfants améliorent leurs compétences de base, tout en travaillant dans la sphère émotionnelle de l'enfant. Il s'agit d'atteindre le meilleur niveau de vie possible en optimisant leurs compétences et en exploitant leur potentiel.

De même psychoéducation et conseil à la famille et à l'environnement c'est fondamental pour aider l'enfant à se développer de la manière la plus adaptative possible, tout en permettant d'octroyer des informations et en permettant l'expression de doutes et de peurs à la famille.

Une des conditions pouvant causer une microcéphalie est le durcissement prématuré des plaques d'os du crâne ou craniosynostose, qui empêche la croissance et le développement normatif du cerveau en le limitant physiquement. Cette condition concrète, si elle est détectée à temps, oui, il peut être inversé par chirurgie , afin d’éviter des effets nocifs sur le cerveau.

La prévention est également fondamentale. La consommation de drogues et de certaines substances par la mère, la malnutrition, le non traitement de pathologies telles que la phénylcétonurie ou la transmission de certains virus tels que la toxoplasmose (pouvant se transmettre par les selles des chats ou par la consommation) des aliments non cuits, en mauvais état ou contaminés) peuvent être des causes possibles de l’apparition d’une microcéphalie, et dans certains cas, ils peuvent être évités.

  • Article connexe: "Comment prendre soin de soi pendant le premier mois de grossesse: 9 astuces"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kinsman, S.L. & Johnston, M.V. (2016). Anomalies congénitales du système nerveux central. Dans: RM Kliegman, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, Schor NF, éds. Nelson Manuel de pédiatrie. 20ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier.

Zika : premier nouveau-né atteint de microcéphalie due au virus en Europe (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes