yes, therapy helps!
Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo

Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo

May 6, 2021

In several articles of Psychology and Mind we have talked about the different forms that machismo takes. In different areas of life (work, family, social ...), women have suffered, historically, a series of palpable discriminations that have relegated the female sex to stereotypes and secondary roles in society.

  • For example, we recommend you read: "Psychology of sexism: 5 macho ideas that exist today"

Micromachismos: what are they? How do they manifest?

The micromachismos they are subtle manifestations, which often go completely unnoticed, of machismo. It is an underground machismo, which does not raise our alarms most of the time.


The heteropatriarchal system in which we live permeates domestic life, work life and even the way we communicate. In today's article we have proposed to analyze the main micromachisms suffered by women and some men who do not fulfill heteropatriarchal gender roles.

1. Sexism in the language

A classic demonstration of machismo that it is enclosed in our everyday language, in our language , could be the pre-eminence of the masculine gender over the feminine, among other things. For example, let's look at a fictional conversation that illustrates it:

- Master teacher, how can I make a word feminine?


- Starting from his masculine formula, and adding an "a" instead of the original "o".

- Understood, teacher. And the masculine, how is it formed?

- The masculine is not formed, the masculine exists.

This dialogue was written by Victoria Sau, and is a good example of the subtle machismo that houses our everyday language. It is a machismo that does not kill, which is difficult to detect, and which is therefore commonly accepted culturally.

2. Gender roles

Micromachisms also come to light in the media and in advertising. As we know, the media try to generate impact on us, trying to sell us certain contents and, also, certain notions about how we should behave and what we should think.

Recently, hypermarket chain Hipercor committed a gazapo that revolutionized social networks : put on sale two baby shirts, one in blue and one in pink. In the blue, you could read: "Smart as a dad", and in the roses, "Pretty as a mom".


The case jumped to the media and Hipercor had to remove those articles, since it offended not only the feminist collective but also anyone with common sense. It was a micromachism that fortunately was not culturally tolerated, and that placed women within the aesthetic stereotype.

Without leaving the news, it was also a scandal when El Corte Ingl├ęs offered in its facilities a product designated as "special for them", a pack that consisted of a broom and a dustpan. The same chain sold vacuum cleaners under the motto: "Mom, you are the best" . As if the vacuum cleaners were products designed exclusively for women.

More examples of micromachismos related to gender roles: in the vast majority of public toilets, the place to change babies is located in the women's bathroom . Maybe we can assume that this is a trend that is not very important, but the truth is that this is precisely a micromachism: a role that we have assumed culturally as natural, unquestionable. But have we stopped to think about it? These gender stereotypes are capable of persisting generation after generation precisely because of the naturalness with which we experience them.

3. Hypersexualization

Another flagrant case of sexism occurred when Carrefour brought to the market a bathing suit for girls aged ten to fourteen years of age with padding in the part of the bra. It is difficult to imagine that they could have tried to sell swimsuits with padding for children.

Not to mention the number of times that advertising uses female bodies to sell anything: cologne, alcohol, videogames, clothing ... The female body is more frequently hypersexualized and used as a claim for the big brands in relation to the male body.

A micromachism that is starting to blow up our alarms (and it was about time) is the fact that women are used as a sex appeal to attract audiences to the nightclubs. There have been some cases in this regard, which fortunately have outraged a large part of the population, causing several campaigns to be withdrawn and their authors asking for forgiveness.

4. Use of public space

Machismo does not only affect how we use language, how we sell certain products or how we place each gender within certain roles and stereotypes. Many women also warn that the use of public space contains a certain sexism .

For example, it is usually discussed openly in forums about the tendency of men to sit with their legs wide open in public seats , for example in the subway, preventing people sitting next to them from being minimally comfortable, and seeing their space invaded. It is something that can be reason for debate, since it is not very clear that only men are those who feel invading other people's space, and if so, could be due to certain anatomical characteristics of men. Well the trend could be explained, simply, by a matter of bad manners. It is difficult to clarify.

In any case, it is possible that this type of phenomena occur, in which women are undervalued and little taken into account in public. Of course, it would not fit within the category of micromachismo the constant harassment suffered by women when they walk on the street, compliments and other behaviors that, in my opinion, constitute a clear machismo and, fortunately, are increasingly recognized and repudiated for society.

Where does the concept of 'micromachism' come from?

The history of the term micromachismo goes back to the year 1990, when the Argentine psychologist Luis Bonino He used it to define "those masculine behaviors that overlap the authority of men over that of women". In this sense, Bonino points out that micromachisms "are everyday tyrannies, a kind of soft and invisible violence, of low intensity", that cover reality in an imperceptible way and that travel parallel to the patriarchal logic of our society.

Precisely is the ease with which these micromachisms are camouflaged where their danger lies , because it generates an invisible damage to the female sex and to anyone who does not adapt to the role of gender that has been socially assigned. In the case of women, this role is usually that of caregivers, weak, submissive, secondary ...

Another way to classify micromachisms

Luis Bonino and other psychologists have proposed another criterion to classify these machismos from day to day:

1. Utilities

They are used in the domestic sphere and refers to the fact that men tend to hold women responsible for care tasks and domestic chores . They usually do so by appealing to their "greater capacity" to iron, wash, care for the elderly or cook.

This might seem a clear machismo, and not a micromachism, but it can occur in very subtle ways, such as the husband who says to his wife: "Wait, I'll help you hang clothes" or "I love how you cook, I prefer you to do it because it works out very well "

2. Subtleties with a macho bias

They are micromachismos especially subtle, that They seek to impose the sexist ideology and underestimate the role of women in society (whether in the workplace, in relationships, at work ...).

Mental subtleties are the silences, using a paternalistic communication or ignoring a woman contemptuously for the fact of being a woman. It is also to use a demeaning mood towards the female gender.

  • Related article: "Women are underestimated at work (and it seems normal)"

3. Coercive

In this type of micromachismos, man exerts a moral, psychological or economic pressure to impose his power over that of women .

They can be observed when the man sits in the best armchair in the living room of the house, controls the control of the television or takes up more space in public places (such as the metro, as we have already mentioned).


Micro Machismo - MGTOW (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme quotidien

Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme quotidien

Juin 29, 2022

Dans plusieurs articles de Psychologie et esprit nous avons parlé des différentes formes que prend le machisme. Dans différents domaines de la vie (travail, famille, société, etc.), les femmes ont subi historiquement une série de discriminations palpables qui ont relégué le sexe féminin aux stéréotypes et aux rôles secondaires de la société.

  • Par exemple, nous vous recommandons de lire: "Psychologie du sexisme: 5 idées machistes qui existent aujourd'hui"

Micromachismos: que sont-ils? Comment se manifestent-ils?

Le micromachismos ce sont des manifestations subtiles du machisme qui passent souvent complètement inaperçues. C'est un machisme souterrain, qui ne déclenche pas nos alarmes la plupart du temps.


Le système hétéropatriarcal dans lequel nous vivons imprègne la vie domestique, la vie professionnelle et même la façon dont nous communiquons. Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui nous avons proposé d'analyser les principaux micromachismes aux femmes et à certains hommes qui ne remplissent pas les rôles de genre hétéropatriarcaux.

1. Sexisme dans la langue

Une démonstration classique du machisme qui il est enfermé dans notre langue de tous les jours, dans notre langue , pourrait être la prééminence du genre masculin sur le féminin, entre autres choses. Par exemple, regardons une conversation fictive qui l’illustre:

- Maître professeur, comment puis-je rendre un mot féminin?


- A partir de sa formule masculine, et en ajoutant un "a" au lieu de l'original "o".

- Compris, professeur. Et le masculin, comment est-il formé?

- Le masculin n'est pas formé, le masculin existe.

Ce dialogue a été écrit par Victoria Sau et est un bon exemple du machisme subtile qui abrite notre langage quotidien. C'est un machisme qui ne tue pas, qui est difficile à détecter et qui est donc communément accepté culturellement.

2. Rôles de genre

Les micromachismes apparaissent également dans les médias et dans la publicité. Comme nous le savons, les médias tentent de générer un impact sur nous, en essayant de nous vendre certains contenus et également certaines notions sur la façon dont nous devrions nous comporter et ce que nous devrions penser.

Récemment, La chaîne d'hypermarchés Hipercor a publié un journal qui a révolutionné les réseaux sociaux : mettre en vente deux chemises bébé, une en bleu et une en rose. Dans le bleu, vous pouvez lire "Smart en tant que papa", et dans les roses, "Pretty en tant que maman".


L'affaire a été renvoyée aux médias et Hipercor a dû retirer ces articles, car elle offensait non seulement le collectif féministe, mais également tous ceux qui avaient du sens commun. C’était un micromachisme qui, heureusement, n’était pas toléré par la culture et qui plaçait les femmes dans le stéréotype de l’esthétique.

Sans quitter les nouvelles, le fait que El Corte Inglés ait offert dans ses locaux un produit désigné comme "spécial pour eux", un paquet composé d’un balai et d’une pelle à poussière a également été un scandale. La même chaîne a vendu des aspirateurs sous la devise: "Maman, tu es la meilleure" . Comme si les aspirateurs étaient des produits conçus exclusivement pour les femmes.

Autres exemples de micromachismes liés aux rôles de genre: dans la grande majorité des toilettes publiques, le lieu pour changer de bébé se trouve dans la salle de bain des femmes . Peut-être pouvons-nous supposer que cette tendance n’est pas très importante, mais la vérité est qu’il s’agit précisément d’un micromachisme: un rôle que nous avons culturellement reconnu comme naturel, incontestable. Mais avons-nous arrêté d'y penser? Ces stéréotypes de genre sont capables de persister génération après génération précisément à cause du naturel avec lequel nous les vivons.

3. Hypersexualisation

Un autre cas flagrant de sexisme s’est produit lorsque Carrefour a mis sur le marché un maillot de bain pour filles de 10 à 14 ans, rembourré dans la partie du soutien-gorge. Il est difficile d’imaginer qu’ils auraient pu essayer de vendre des maillots de bain rembourrés pour les enfants.

Sans parler du nombre de fois où la publicité utilise des corps féminins pour vendre n'importe quoi: eau de cologne, alcool, jeux vidéo, vêtements ... Le corps de la femme est plus fréquemment hypersexualisé et utilisé comme une revendication pour les grandes marques par rapport au corps masculin.

Un micro-ordinateur qui commence à faire exploser nos alarmes (et il était temps) est le fait que les femmes sont utilisées comme sex-appeal pour attirer le public dans les boîtes de nuit. Certains cas à cet égard ont heureusement indigné une grande partie de la population, provoquant le retrait de plusieurs campagnes et le pardon de leurs auteurs.

4. Utilisation de l'espace public

Le machisme n'affecte pas seulement la manière dont nous utilisons la langue, nous vendons certains produits ou plaçons chaque sexe dans certains rôles et stéréotypes. De nombreuses femmes avertissent également que l'utilisation de l'espace public contient un certain sexisme .

Par exemple, il est généralement discuté ouvertement dans les forums sur la tendance des hommes à s'asseoir les jambes grandes ouvertes dans les sièges publics , par exemple dans le métro, empêchant les personnes assises à côté d’eux d’être à l’aise avec un minimum de confort et de voir leur espace envahi. Cela peut constituer un motif de débat, car il n’est pas très clair que seuls les hommes sont ceux qui se sentent envahir l’espace des autres et, dans l’affirmative, pourraient être dus à certaines caractéristiques anatomiques de l’homme. Eh bien, la tendance pourrait s’expliquer, simplement, par une question de mauvaises manières. C'est difficile à clarifier.

En tout état de cause, il est possible que ce type de phénomène se produise, dans lequel les femmes sont sous-évaluées et peu prises en compte en public. Bien sûr, cela ne rentrerait pas dans la catégorie du micromachisme du harcèlement constant subi par les femmes lorsqu'elles marchent dans la rue, compliments et autres comportements qui, à mon avis, constituent un machisme clair et, heureusement, sont de plus en plus reconnus et répudiés pour la société.

D'où vient le concept de «micromachisme»?

L’histoire du terme micromachismo remonte à l’année 1990, lorsque le psychologue argentin Luis Bonino Il l'utilisait pour définir "ces comportements masculins qui chevauchent l'autorité des hommes sur celle des femmes". En ce sens, Bonino souligne que les micromachismes "sont des tyrannies de tous les jours, une sorte de violence douce et invisible, de faible intensité", qui recouvrent la réalité de manière imperceptible et évoluent parallèlement à la logique patriarcale de notre société.

Précisément est la facilité avec laquelle ces micromachismes sont camouflés là où leur danger , car elle génère des dommages invisibles au sexe féminin et à quiconque ne s’adapte pas au rôle de genre attribué socialement. Dans le cas des femmes, ce rôle est généralement celui de dispensateur de soins, faible, soumis, secondaire ...

Une autre façon de classer les micromachismes

Luis Bonino et d'autres psychologues ont proposé un autre critère pour classer ces machismos au jour le jour:

1. Utilitaires

Ils sont utilisés dans la sphère domestique et fait référence au fait que les hommes ont tendance à tenir les femmes responsables des tâches de soins et des tâches domestiques . Ils le font généralement en faisant appel à leur "plus grande capacité" à repasser, à laver, à soigner les personnes âgées ou à cuisiner.

Cela peut sembler un machisme clair, et non un micro-ordinateur, mais cela peut se produire de manière très subtile, comme le mari qui dit à sa femme: "Attends, je vais t'aider à suspendre les vêtements" ou "J'aime la façon dont tu cuisine, Je préfère que tu le fasses parce que ça marche très bien "

2. Subtilités avec un biais macho

Ils sont micromachismos particulièrement subtils, que Ils cherchent à imposer l'idéologie sexiste et à sous-estimer le rôle de la femme dans la société (que ce soit sur le lieu de travail, dans les relations, au travail ...).

Les subtilités mentales sont les silences, en utilisant une communication paternaliste ou en ignorant une femme avec mépris pour le fait d'être une femme. C'est aussi utiliser une humeur humiliante envers le genre féminin.

  • Article connexe: "Les femmes sont sous-estimées au travail (et cela semble normal)"

3. coercitif

Dans ce type de micromachismos, l'homme exerce une pression morale, psychologique ou économique pour imposer son pouvoir sur celui des femmes .

Ils peuvent être observés lorsque l'homme est assis dans le meilleur fauteuil du salon de la maison, contrôle la télévision ou prend plus de place dans des lieux publics (comme le métro, comme nous l'avons déjà mentionné).

Articles Connexes