yes, therapy helps!
Miller Fisher syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

Miller Fisher syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

July 19, 2024

Guillain-Barré syndrome is an autoimmune disease that mainly affects the movements of muscles and can manifest itself through many variants.

In this article we will analyze the symptoms, causes and treatment of Miller Fisher syndrome , one of the most frequent forms of this disorder.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

What is Miller Fisher syndrome?

Miller Fisher syndrome is a disease that affects the nervous system, causing symptoms associated with muscular motor and coordination . In some cases it can cause alterations also in other physiological systems.


It is one of the possible manifestations of Guillain-Barré syndrome, a set of diseases that occurs as a result of infections that in turn cause an inadequate functioning of the immune system.

The Miller Fisher syndrome generally has a good prognosis: if proper medical treatment is applied the symptoms tend to remit completely . However, this is not always the case, and if the damage to the nervous system is significant, some sequelae may remain.

Approximately twice as many cases of Miller Fisher syndrome are detected in women as in men, and the prevalence is higher in the spring than in the rest of the year. The average age of onset of the disease is somewhat above 40 years.


  • You may be interested: "Charles Bonnet syndrome: definition, causes and symptoms"

Guillain-Barré syndrome

Guillain-Barré syndrome is an autoimmune disorder ; This means that it consists of a malfunction of the immune system that leads to "attack" healthy cells of the body. In this case the lesions take place in the peripheral nervous system, affecting first the muscles of the extremities, and sometimes leading to complete paralysis.

In the most severe cases, this disease causes death due to the alteration in the functioning of the cardiac and respiratory systems. It is usually caused by viral infections, although the mechanisms by which it is produced are not known exactly.

The differential diagnosis between Miller Fisher syndrome and the other variants of Guillain-Barré syndrome is carried out according to the presence of characteristic signs and symptoms. Let's see what are the peculiarities of the subtype that concerns us.


Symptoms and main signs

There are three essential signs that characterize Miller Fisher syndrome compared to other forms of Guillain-Barré syndrome: ataxia, areflexia and ophthalmoplegia . These alterations usually appear between 5 and 10 days after a viral infection is contracted.

Ophthalmoplegia and ataxia are usually the first signs of the disease. The first consists of the paralysis of the muscles of the eyeball, while Ataxia is defined as a loss of motor coordination . For its part, areflexia, which occurs in third place and mainly in the extremities, is the absence of reflex movements.

The other idiosyncratic feature of this variant of Guillain-Barré syndrome is the involvement of the cranial nerves, which is associated with deficits in nerve conduction.

In some cases, other alterations associated with the same injuries occur, mainly generalized muscle weakness and respiratory deficits , which can lead to death if the symptoms are very intense. However, these problems are more common in other forms of Guillain-Barré syndrome.

Causes of this disease

Although Miller Fisher syndrome is usually attributed to infections by viruses (and to a lesser extent also by bacteria), the truth is that it has not been possible to demonstrate that these are the only possible cause of this disease.

The signs and symptoms are due to the destruction of peripheral nerve myelin sheaths by the immune system. Myelin is a lipid substance that lines the axons of some neurons, allowing the efficient transmission of nerve impulses and increasing their speed.

However, alterations have also been detected in the central nervous system, specifically in the posterior part of the spinal cord and in the trunk of the brain.

On the other hand it has been found the antibody antiganglioside immunoglobulin GBQ1b in most people with the diagnosis of Miller Fisher syndrome. This antibody appears to be particularly associated with the presence of ophthalmoplegia.

Treatment and management

Like the other variants of Guillain-Barré syndrome, Miller Fisher disease is treated by two procedures: plasmapheresis, which involves removing antibodies from the blood by filtration, and administration of immunoglobulins intravenously.

Both techniques are very effective in neutralizing the effects of pathological antibodies and in reducing inflammation, which also causes damage to the nervous system, but combining them does not significantly increase the probability of success of the intervention. But nevertheless, the administration of immunoglobulins carries less risk .

Most people start to recover after two weeks and one month of treatment, as long as it is applied early. After six months the symptoms and signs are usually nil or very scarce, although sometimes there may be sequelae and there is a 3% risk of re-emerging after disappearing.


Guillain Barre Syndrome Web (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Miller Fisher: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome de Miller Fisher: symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 22, 2022

Le syndrome de Guillain-Barré est une maladie auto-immune qui affecte principalement les mouvements des muscles et peut se manifester à travers de nombreuses variantes.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les symptômes, les causes et le traitement du syndrome de Miller Fisher , une des formes les plus fréquentes de ce trouble.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Miller Fisher?

Le syndrome de Miller Fisher est une maladie qui affecte le système nerveux et provoque symptômes associés à la motricité musculaire et à la coordination . Dans certains cas, cela peut également altérer d'autres systèmes physiologiques.


C’est l’une des manifestations possibles du syndrome de Guillain-Barré, un ensemble de maladies résultant d’infections qui, à leur tour, causent un dysfonctionnement du système immunitaire.

Le syndrome de Miller Fisher a généralement un bon pronostic: si un traitement médical approprié est appliqué les symptômes ont tendance à disparaître complètement . Cependant, ce n'est pas toujours le cas et si les dommages au système nerveux sont importants, il peut rester des séquelles.

Environ deux fois plus de cas de syndrome de Miller Fisher sont détectés chez les femmes que chez les hommes, et la prévalence est plus élevée au printemps que le reste de l'année. L'âge moyen d'apparition de la maladie est légèrement supérieur à 40 ans.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Syndrome de Charles Bonnet: définition, causes et symptômes"

Syndrome de Guillain-Barré

Le syndrome de Guillain-Barré est une maladie auto-immune ; Cela signifie qu'il s'agit d'un dysfonctionnement du système immunitaire qui conduit à "attaquer" les cellules saines du corps. Dans ce cas, les lésions ont lieu dans le système nerveux périphérique, affectant d’abord les muscles des extrémités et conduisant parfois à une paralysie complète.

Dans les cas les plus graves, cette maladie entraîne la mort par altération du fonctionnement des systèmes cardiaque et respiratoire. Il est généralement causé par des infections virales, bien que les mécanismes par lesquels il soit produit ne soient pas connus avec précision.

Le diagnostic différentiel entre le syndrome de Miller Fisher et les autres variantes du syndrome de Guillain-Barré est réalisé en fonction de la présence de signes et de symptômes caractéristiques. Voyons quelles sont les particularités du sous-type qui nous concerne.


Symptômes et principaux signes

Trois signes essentiels caractérisent le syndrome de Miller Fisher par rapport aux autres formes de syndrome de Guillain-Barré: ataxie, aréflexie et ophtalmoplégie . Ces altérations apparaissent généralement entre 5 et 10 jours après la contraction d’une infection virale.

L'ophtalmoplégie et l'ataxie sont généralement les premiers signes de la maladie. Le premier consiste en la paralysie des muscles du globe oculaire, tandis que L'ataxie est définie comme une perte de coordination motrice . Pour sa part, l'aréflexie, qui se produit à la troisième place et principalement aux extrémités, est l'absence de mouvements réflexes.

L’autre particularité de cette variante du syndrome de Guillain-Barré est l’implication des nerfs crâniens, associée à des déficits de conduction nerveuse.

Dans certains cas, d’autres modifications associées aux mêmes blessures se produisent, principalement faiblesse musculaire généralisée et déficits respiratoires , ce qui peut entraîner la mort si les symptômes sont très intenses. Cependant, ces problèmes sont plus fréquents dans d'autres formes de syndrome de Guillain-Barré.

Causes de cette maladie

Bien que le syndrome de Miller Fisher soit généralement attribué à des infections par des virus (et dans une moindre mesure également par des bactéries), la vérité est qu’il n’a pas été possible de démontrer qu’il s’agissait de la seule cause possible de cette maladie.

Les signes et les symptômes sont dus à la destruction des gaines de myéline nerveuse périphérique par le système immunitaire. La myéline est une substance lipidique qui tapisse les axones de certains neurones, permettant la transmission efficace de l'influx nerveux et augmentant leur vitesse.

Cependant, des altérations ont également été détectées dans le système nerveux central, en particulier dans la partie postérieure de la moelle épinière et dans le tronc du cerveau.

D'autre part, il a été trouvé l'anticorps antiganglioside immunoglobuline GBQ1b chez la plupart des personnes atteintes du syndrome de Miller Fisher. Cet anticorps semble être particulièrement associé à la présence d'une ophtalmoplégie.

Traitement et gestion

Comme les autres variantes du syndrome de Guillain-Barré, la maladie de Miller Fisher est traitée selon deux procédures: la plasmaphérèse, qui consiste à éliminer les anticorps du sang par filtration et administration d'immunoglobulines par voie intraveineuse.

Les deux techniques sont très efficaces pour neutraliser les effets des anticorps pathologiques et pour réduire l'inflammation, qui provoque également des lésions du système nerveux, mais leur combinaison n'augmente pas significativement la probabilité de réussite de l'intervention. Cependant, l'administration d'immunoglobulines comporte moins de risques .

La plupart des gens commencent à se rétablir après deux semaines et un mois de traitement, à condition que le traitement soit appliqué tôt. Après six mois, les symptômes et les signes sont généralement nuls ou très rares, bien qu'il puisse parfois y avoir des séquelles et qu'il existe un risque de réémergence de 3% après la disparition.


Duchenne & Becker muscular dystrophy - causes, symptoms, treatment & pathology (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes