yes, therapy helps!
Mindfulness in school: benefits for both teachers and students

Mindfulness in school: benefits for both teachers and students

May 24, 2022

The practice of Full attention or Mindfulness, more than a set of techniques to be in the present moment, it is an attitude towards life . It is a style of coping that promotes personal strengths, and within the classroom, provides benefits for both students and teachers.

The goal of Mindfulness in the educational context is that the participants acquire a state of consciousness and calmness that helps them to self-regulate their behavior and to know each other better , in addition to creating an environment conducive to learning.

Teaching with Mindfulness fosters the pedagogical community, in which students flourish academically, emotionally and socially; and in which Teachers take full advantage of the climate that is created within this educational environment . Mindfulness is a conscious and intentional way of tuning in to what is happening inside us and around us, and allows us to unmask automatisms and promote integral development.


Mindfulness is increasingly popular in schools

Mindfulness became popular in the West thanks to the physician Jon Kabat-Zinn of the University of Massachusetts, who in 1978 began using Mindfulness with patients suffering from chronic stress. Since then, Mindfulness is applied in different areas, such as clinical, work or sports.

Scientific studies show that Regular Full Attention practitioners have more neuronal density, greater well-being, are more efficient in their work and are less likely to suffer depression or anxiety In recent years, Google gives Mindfulness training to its employees with the program Search Inside Yourself, and many leading companies have followed in their footsteps.


In the educational context, Mindfulness has also been put into practice in many schools and institutes. In Spain, there are several autonomies that are participating in the development of this practice. The Government of the Canary Islands implanted for the first time a compulsory subject that is called Emotional Education, and that includes Full Attention as part of its agenda. In Andalucia, the trainer and researcher in the field of Full Consciousness and Emotional Intelligence, Olivia Recondo, teaches Emotional Intelligence courses through full attention for trainers in collaboration with the Junta de Andalucía. In Aragón the Happy Classrooms Program is carried out, in Catalonia the Treva Program, and in the Valencian Community the Conscious Schools Program.

Only a conscious educator can educate consciously

Teachers are people who play a fundamental role in society, as they are responsible for the important role of educating future generations. His work is not only focused on teaching theoretical knowledge, but also they are also responsible for promoting a series of values ​​and skills in students for their development within society .


Being a teacher is not always an easy task, and the great demand that comes with being a teacher can cause chronic stress, emotional fatigue and relationship problems with students. Mindfulness has proven its effectiveness in these situations. For example, reducing teaching stress, sick leave, depression, anxiety or Burnout.

The regular practice of Mindfulness gives teachers tools that allow them to face problematic situations and help improve their quality of life and well-being. This, in turn, has an impact on their performance and their relationship with their students, which creates an optimal educational environment for learning.

Benefits of Mindfulness in teachers

Some of the benefits that Mindfulness brings to teachers are the following:

  • Improves attentional focus and awareness
  • Increase receptivity to the needs of students
  • Encourages emotional balance
  • Supports management and stress reduction
  • Promotes good health of personal relationships at work
  • Improves the climate of the classroom and fosters an optimal environment for learning
  • It promotes general well-being and self-esteem

Benefits of Mindfulness in students

The ability to reflect on one's inner world, and on one's own emotions and thoughts with an attitude of compassion towards oneself, brings benefits for the well-being of students, and is an essential part of Mindfulness training.

A meta-analysis carried out in 2011 by Joseph Durlak, in which 270,000 students from all the academic stages participated, concluded that those students who had carried out socio-emotional education programs in primary school not only showed significant improvements as adolescents in behavioral issues (for example, being less violent), but that they also obtained an improvement in their academic results compared to those who did not receive that training .

But not only emotional regulation is an essential part of Mindfulness training, and there are many studies that have contributed scientific evidence on the positive influence of Mindfulness on the so-called executive functions of the brain , such as attention, memory or mental flexibility, all essential for good personal and academic performance.

The usual practice of mindfulness is beneficial for students for many reasons. Below are the benefits that Mindfulness brings to students:

  • Improves academic performance
  • Improve self-concept
  • Reduces aggression and violence
  • Increase creativity
  • Improve participation in the classroom by promoting impulse control
  • Boost memory
  • Improve concentration and attention
  • Reduces test anxiety
  • It favors the willingness to learn
  • Promotes self-reflection and self-complacency
  • Enhance empathy and understanding towards others
  • Promotes prosocial behaviors and healthy interpersonal relationships
  • Improves social and emotional learning
  • Improve overall health

Bibliographic references:

  • Durlak, J. A., Weissberg, R. P., Dymnicki, A. B., Taylor, R. D. & Schellinger, K. B. (2011). The impact of enhancing students' social and emotional learning: A meta-analysis of school-based universal interventions. Child Development, 82 (1): 405-432.
  • Frank J. et al. (2015): "The effectiveness of mindfulness-based stress reduction on educator stress and well-being: results from a pilot study". Mindfulness 6, 208-216.
  • Hassed Craig and Chambers, Richard (2014). Mindful learning: reduces stress and improve brain performance for effective learning. Exisle Publishing

Mindfulness in Schools: Richard Burnett at TEDxWhitechapel (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La pleine conscience à l'école: des avantages pour les enseignants et les étudiants

La pleine conscience à l'école: des avantages pour les enseignants et les étudiants

Octobre 19, 2020

La pratique de Toute l'attention ou Mindfulness, plus qu'un ensemble de techniques pour être dans le moment présent, c'est une attitude envers la vie . Il s’agit d’un style d’adaptation qui met en valeur les forces de chacun et offre des avantages pour la classe et les enseignants.

L’objectif de la pleine conscience dans le contexte éducatif est que les participants acquièrent un état de conscience et de calme les aidant à s'autoréguler et à mieux se connaître , en plus de créer un environnement propice à l’apprentissage.

Enseigner avec Pleine Conscience favorise la communauté pédagogique au sein de laquelle les élèves s'épanouissent sur les plans académique, émotionnel et social. et dans lequel Les enseignants tirent pleinement parti du climat créé dans cet environnement éducatif . La pleine conscience est une manière consciente et intentionnelle de nous adapter à ce qui se passe en nous et autour de nous, et nous permet de démasquer les automatismes et de promouvoir le développement intégral.


La pleine conscience est de plus en plus populaire dans les écoles

La conscience est devenue populaire en Occident grâce au médecin Jon Kabat-Zinn de l'Université du Massachusetts, qui a commencé à utiliser Mindfulness en 1978 avec des patients souffrant de stress chronique. Depuis lors, la pleine conscience est appliquée dans différents domaines, tels que la clinique, le travail ou le sport.

Des études scientifiques montrent que Les praticiens de pleine attention réguliers ont plus de densité neuronale, un plus grand bien-être, sont plus efficaces dans leur travail et sont moins susceptibles de souffrir dépression ou anxiété Au cours des dernières années, Google a dispensé une formation à Mindfulness à ses employés grâce au programme. Rechercher à l'intérieur de vous-mêmeet de nombreuses grandes entreprises ont suivi leurs traces.


Dans le contexte éducatif, la pleine conscience a également été mise en pratique dans de nombreuses écoles et instituts. En Espagne, plusieurs autonomies participent au développement de cette pratique. Le gouvernement des îles Canaries a implanté pour la première fois un sujet obligatoire appelé éducation émotionnelle, qui inclut la pleine attention dans son programme. En Andalousie, Olivia Recondo, formatrice et chercheuse dans le domaine de la pleine conscience et de l'intelligence émotionnelle, donne des cours sur l'intelligence émotionnelle en accordant une attention particulière aux formateurs, en collaboration avec la Junta de Andalucía. Le programme Happy Classrooms est mis en œuvre à Aragón, le programme Treva en Catalogne et le programme des écoles de conscience dans la Communauté valencienne.

Seul un éducateur conscient peut éduquer consciemment

Les enseignants sont des personnes qui jouent un rôle fondamental dans la société, car ils sont responsables du rôle important que joue l'éducation des générations futures. Son travail n’est pas seulement axé sur l’enseignement de connaissances théoriques, mais aussi ils sont également responsables de la promotion d'une série de valeurs et de compétences chez les étudiants pour leur développement au sein de la société .


Être enseignant n'est pas toujours une tâche facile, et la forte demande qui en découle peut entraîner un stress chronique, une fatigue émotionnelle et des problèmes de relation avec les étudiants. Mindfulness a prouvé son efficacité dans ces situations. Par exemple, réduire le stress enseignant, les congés de maladie, la dépression, l’anxiété ou Burnout.

La pratique régulière de Mindfulness offre aux enseignants des outils leur permettant de faire face aux situations problématiques et d’améliorer leur qualité de vie et leur bien-être. Ceci, à son tour, a un impact sur leurs performances et leurs relations avec leurs étudiants, ce qui crée un environnement éducatif optimal pour l'apprentissage.

Avantages de la pleine conscience chez les enseignants

Certains des avantages que Mindfulness apporte aux enseignants sont les suivants:

  • Améliore l'attention et la concentration de l'attention
  • Augmenter la réceptivité aux besoins des étudiants
  • Encourage l'équilibre émotionnel
  • Soutient la gestion et la réduction du stress
  • Favorise la bonne santé des relations personnelles au travail
  • Améliore le climat de la salle de classe et favorise un environnement d'apprentissage optimal
  • Il favorise le bien-être général et l'estime de soi

Avantages de la pleine conscience chez les étudiants

La capacité à réfléchir sur son monde intérieur et sur ses propres émotions et pensées avec une attitude de compassion envers soi-même apporte des avantages pour le bien-être des étudiants et constitue un élément essentiel de la formation à la pleine conscience.

Une méta-analyse réalisée en 2011 par Joseph Durlak, à laquelle 270 000 élèves de tous les niveaux ont participé, a conclu que les élèves qui avaient mis en place des programmes d'éducation socio-affective à l'école primaire montraient non seulement des améliorations significatives chez les adolescents exemple, être moins violent), mais que ils ont également obtenu une amélioration de leurs résultats scolaires par rapport à ceux qui n'ont pas suivi cette formation .

Mais non seulement la régulation émotionnelle est une partie essentielle de la formation à la pleine conscience, et de nombreuses études ont contribué preuves scientifiques sur l'influence positive de Mindfulness sur les fonctions dites exécutives du cerveau , tels que l’attention, la mémoire ou la flexibilité mentale, tous essentiels au bon rendement personnel et scolaire.

La pratique habituelle de la pleine conscience est bénéfique pour les étudiants pour plusieurs raisons. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les avantages que Mindfulness apporte aux étudiants:

  • Améliore les performances scolaires
  • Améliorer son image de soi
  • Réduit l'agression et la violence
  • Augmenter la créativité
  • Améliorer la participation en classe en favorisant le contrôle des impulsions
  • Stimuler la mémoire
  • Améliorer la concentration et l'attention
  • Réduit l'anxiété du test
  • Cela favorise la volonté d'apprendre
  • Favorise la réflexion sur soi et l'autosatisfaction
  • Augmenter l'empathie et la compréhension envers les autres
  • Favorise les comportements prosociaux et les relations interpersonnelles saines
  • Améliore l'apprentissage social et émotionnel
  • Améliorer la santé globale

Références bibliographiques:

  • Durlak, J.A., Weissberg, R.P., Dymnicki, A.B., Taylor, R.D. et Schellinger, K.B. (2011). L'impact de l'amélioration de l'apprentissage social et émotionnel des élèves: une méta-analyse d'interventions universelles en milieu scolaire. Développement de l'enfant, 82 (1): 405-432.
  • Frank J. et al. (2015): "L'efficacité de la réduction du stress basée sur la conscience sur le stress et le bien-être des éducateurs: résultats d'une étude pilote". Pleine conscience 6, 208-216.
  • Hassed Craig et Chambers, Richard (2014). Apprentissage conscient: réduit le stress et améliore les performances cérébrales pour un apprentissage efficace. Exisle Publishing

Mieux-être, SANTÉ et joie de vivre ! - Line Bolduc (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes