yes, therapy helps!
Mindfulness in young people: is it really effective?

Mindfulness in young people: is it really effective?

October 1, 2022

After the spectacular rise of Mindfulness in the last decade, there are many researches generated in order to prove its effectiveness in every time a greater number of areas on physical and mental health of the human being.

Thus, Mindfulness has extended from the original medical practice (application in patients with chronic pain and cancer) to the different aspects of psychology, such as the clinical, organizational / business, educational or those related to the field of sports, mainly.

Focusing the focus of attention in the area of ​​education and in the application of Mindfulness techniques in children and adolescents , let's see how the effectiveness of this type of interventions can be proven by exposing the findings obtained from two recent meta-analysis works.


  • Related article: "What is Mindfulness? The 7 answers to your questions"

What is a meta-analysis?

A meta-analysis is a scientific and statistical work that brings together a large group of research conducted on the same subject in order to analyze them together. Thus, it could be said that a meta-analysis would be equivalent to a review of all the published literature that, by way of summary, compares the scientific rigor of all the studies in their entirety.

Thus, The validity and reliability of a meta-analysis is very high and provides data with greater consistency, greater statistical power and greater precision in relation to all the variables that may be playing a significant role in the results because the experimental population samples (the groups of subjects that participate) are very broad.


In addition, it allows to observe if there are methodological issues in the studies that may be conditioning the data obtained in them.

The effectiveness of Mindfulness in young people

Next, the results of the two meta-analyzes indicated, found in the recent databases, both of international origin (Germany and USA respectively) will be presented. on the effectiveness of Mindfulness techniques in children and adolescents .

  • Maybe you're interested: "5 Mindfulness exercises to improve your emotional well-being"

Interventions based on mindfulness in schools

In the meta-analysis elaborated by Zenner et al. (2014) the selection of publications made in 12 databases was used and through contact with expert figures in the field in question. 24 investigations were taken , of which 13 were published and 9 of them had comparative measures between experimental group and control group. Thus, the sample related to the first group amounted to 1348 students and the second to 876 students.


The comparative analysis of these works was complex since the methodology, the objectives and the data analysis carried out for each of them was very heterogeneous. From an initial total of the 42 works found initially, the following inclusion criteria were applied to perform the meta-analysis:

  • The interventions they were based on content of mindfulness .
  • The implementation of the program was carried out at the school.
  • The students belong to courses located between 1st and 12th grade .
  • The results presented were quantitative.

After the application of these criteria, 24 of the 42 initial articles were selected. The components of the interventions made in the 24 finalist studies included mainly: observation of breathing, psychoeducation and group discussions . The areas that were valued together were cognitive performance, emotional problems, stress and coping, and resilience.

Results

The results threw a strongly positive correlation in the increase of academic performance ; moderately significant (although sufficiently significant) in resilience and stress reduction; small but significant correlation in the resilience variable; and small and not significant for the measures of emotional problems.

Thus, this review concludes that the greatest benefits occur in the area of ​​cognitive domain although it also seems to influence (with less intensity) stress level, coping with adverse situations and recovering them.

Assessment of the quality of the study

Regarding the assessment of the scientific rigor indicated by the researchers, among the strengths of this review we can highlight the breadth in the search for the work done on this subject to date, the use of databases and criteria of inclusion have allowed an exhaustive and complete compilation of existing publications until the start date of the meta-analysis.

Finally, the text proposes the need to carry out interventions for the teaching team in order to equip them with the necessary training on these contents and thus facilitate greater integration by the students receiving these Mindfulness programs.

However, in reference to the limitations presented by the same, those responsible for the text remember the heterogeneity between the studies included in the review, so the results of the same should be taken as guidance. Thus, the implementation and typology of specific contents of each of the interventions based on Mindfulness that have been carried out in each of the schools present insufficient uniformity, which makes a totally objective comparison difficult.

Finally, it is also pointed out that The samples that form the studies reviewed are not very broad , with which it is deduced that the results are provisional and must be supported by greater evaluations.

  • Related article: "Educational psychology: definition, concepts and theories"

Full-attention interventions with young people: a meta-analysis

In the work of Zoogman et al. (2014) is the first that aims to shed light on the review of studies published between 2004 and 2011 in which full-attention programs have been applied in a population located within the vital stage of youth (under 18 years of age).

Prior to the presentation of the results obtained, it is worth highlighting the data provided in the introductory part of the text, since the state of development of Mindfulness research in children and / or young people is synthesized at a quantitative level. More specifically, the authors mention that there are very few studies that have taken as experimental sample subjects in adolescent age without clinical diagnosis.

Thus, the works that have tried to prove the effectiveness of mindfulness in this age group have been based on groups with learning difficulties and various disorders. In addition, it is indicated that the age range most studied covers from pre-school to high school, focusing on school population .

On the other hand, the variables that have most popularly appeared in the publications analyzed refer to academic performance, social skills (Beauchemin et al., 2008), level of stress and anxiety (Liehr and Diaz 2010), depression (Mendelson et al., 2010), aggressive behavior (Singh et al., 2011a, b) and substance abuse (Bootzin and Stevens 2005, Britton et al., 2010).

Methodology

The texts were extracted, in this case, from articles of an English-speaking magazine. After filtering the works through inclusion criteria, 20 investigations were selected, in which it was not possible to discriminate according to different sub-populations due to the scarcity of data gathered to date. The objectives of this meta-analysis are aimed at evaluating:

  • What is the overall effect of the interventions based on full attention on youth?
  • What treatment moderating factors (structuring, recipients, clinical / non-clinical sample, duration of treatment, frequency of sessions, etc.) are the most effective?
  • ¿What results and what level of effectiveness Has it been obtained in the target sample (psychological symptoms, attention, general functioning of the individual) after the intervention through mindfulness?

Results

The results derived from the statistical procedures of data analysis show that the interventions based on full attention studied in young population present a small effect compared to the effectiveness of other alternative interventions , although they significantly outweigh the effect of the control groups contemplated.

When clinical samples have been observed, the effect has been considered moderate and has tripled the magnitude in non-clinical samples. All this seems to indicate that mindfulness may be particularly beneficial in clinical populations .

A single variable was substantial and yielded relevant results: clinical sample vs. not clinical; The rest, such as frequency, duration, frequency of sessions, age of the sample, sample size, sex of the sample, etc., did not yield differential data. It was found, however, a substantial effect on the measures of the psychological symptoms presented, much greater than in other types of results such as care or general functioning of the individual, etc.

However, the meta-analysis does state that meditation has specifically demonstrated its effectiveness in the capacity of concentration in adolescents (for example Baijal et al., 2011 among many others), although in this review a great correlation between both variables has not been found, as it has happened with respect to the clinical symptomatology variable. Even so, the low number of publications included in the meta-analysis and the heterogeneity of the same indicates that the findings should be assessed with caution.

Bibliographic references:

  • Zenner, C., Herrnleben-Kurz S. and Walach, H. (2014). Mindfulness-based interventions in schools-a systematic review and meta-analys. Institute for Transcultural Health Studies, European University Viadrina, Frankfurt Oder (Germany). June 2014 | Volume 5 | Article 603, Frontiers in Psychology.
  • Zoogman, Goldberg S., Hoyt, W. T. & Miller, L. (2014) Mindfulness Interventions with Youth: A Meta-Analysis.Mindfulness, Springer Science (New York).

Relax Music for Children ???? Stress Relief, Study Music, Sleep Music, Meditation Music ???? 528Hz (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La pleine conscience chez les jeunes: est-ce vraiment efficace?

La pleine conscience chez les jeunes: est-ce vraiment efficace?

Avril 15, 2021

Après la montée spectaculaire de la pleine conscience au cours de la dernière décennie, de nombreuses recherches ont été générées afin de prouver son efficacité dans de nombreux domaines relatifs à la santé physique et mentale de l'être humain.

Ainsi, Mindfulness s’est étendu de la pratique médicale initiale (application chez les patients souffrant de douleur chronique et de cancer) aux différents aspects de la psychologie, tels que les aspects clinique, organisationnel / commercial, éducatif ou ceux liés au domaine du sport, principalement

Concentrer l'attention sur le secteur de l'éducation et sur l'application des Techniques de pleine conscience chez les enfants et les adolescents , voyons comment l’efficacité de ce type d’interventions peut être prouvée en exposant les résultats de deux travaux de méta-analyse récents.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la pleine conscience? Les 7 réponses à vos questions"

Qu'est-ce qu'une méta-analyse?

Une méta-analyse est un travail scientifique et statistique qui regroupe un grand nombre de recherches menées sur le même sujet afin de les analyser ensemble. Ainsi, on pourrait dire qu'une méta-analyse équivaudrait à une revue de toute la littérature publiée qui, en résumé, compare la rigueur scientifique de toutes les études dans leur intégralité.

Pour lui, La validité et la fiabilité d'une méta-analyse sont très élevées et fournit des données plus cohérentes, plus puissantes sur le plan statistique et plus précises pour toutes les variables pouvant jouer un rôle important dans les résultats, car les échantillons de population expérimentale (les groupes de sujets participants) sont très vastes.


En outre, cela permet d’observer s’il existe des problèmes méthodologiques dans les études susceptibles de conditionner les données obtenues.

L'efficacité de la pleine conscience chez les jeunes

Ensuite, les résultats des deux méta-analyses indiquées, trouvées dans les bases de données récentes, d’origine internationale (Allemagne et États-Unis respectivement), seront présentés. sur l'efficacité des techniques de pleine conscience chez les enfants et les adolescents .

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "5 exercices de pleine conscience pour améliorer votre bien-être émotionnel"

Interventions basées sur la pleine conscience dans les écoles

Dans la méta-analyse élaborée par Zenner et al. (2014), la sélection de publications effectuée dans 12 bases de données a été utilisée et par le biais de contacts avec des experts du domaine en question. 24 enquêtes ont été menées , dont 13 ont été publiés et 9 d'entre eux avaient des mesures comparatives entre le groupe expérimental et le groupe témoin. Ainsi, l'échantillon lié au premier groupe était constitué de 1348 étudiants et le second de 876 étudiants.


L'analyse comparative de ces travaux était complexe car la méthodologie, les objectifs et l'analyse des données réalisée pour chacun d'entre eux étaient très hétérogènes. Sur un total initial de 42 travaux trouvés initialement, les critères d'inclusion suivants ont été appliqués pour effectuer la méta-analyse:

  • Les interventions ils étaient basés sur le contenu de la pleine conscience .
  • La mise en œuvre du programme a été réalisée à l'école.
  • Les étudiants appartiennent à cours situés entre la 1ère et la 12ème année .
  • Les résultats présentés étaient quantitatifs.

Après l’application de ces critères, 24 des 42 articles initiaux ont été sélectionnés. Les composantes des interventions effectuées dans les 24 études finalistes comprenaient principalement: observation de la respiration, psychoéducation et discussions de groupe . Les domaines qui ont été évalués ensemble sont la performance cognitive, les problèmes émotionnels, le stress et l’adaptation, et la résilience.

Les résultats

Les résultats ont jeté une corrélation fortement positive dans l'augmentation du rendement scolaire ; moyennement significatif (bien que suffisamment significatif) en résilience et réduction du stress; corrélation faible mais significative dans la variable de résilience; et petit et non significatif pour les mesures de problèmes émotionnels.

Ainsi, cet examen conclut que les plus grands avantages se produisent dans le domaine du domaine cognitif bien que cela semble également influencer (avec moins d’intensité) le niveau de stress, faire face aux situations défavorables et les récupérer.

Évaluation de la qualité de l'étude

En ce qui concerne l’évaluation de la rigueur scientifique indiquée par les chercheurs, parmi les points forts de cette revue, nous pouvons souligner l’ampleur de la recherche du travail effectué à ce sujet à ce jour, l’utilisation de bases de données et de critères de l'inclusion ont permis une compilation exhaustive et complète des publications existantes jusqu'à la date de début de la méta-analyse.

Enfin, le texte propose la nécessité d'effectuer des interventions pour l'équipe pédagogique afin de les doter de la formation nécessaire sur ces contenus et de faciliter ainsi une plus grande intégration des étudiants bénéficiant de ces programmes de pleine conscience.

Cependant, en référence aux limitations présentées par le même, les responsables du texte se souviennent de l'hétérogénéité entre les études incluses dans la revue, de sorte que leurs résultats devraient être pris pour guide. Ainsi, la mise en œuvre et la typologie des contenus spécifiques de chacune des interventions basées sur la pleine conscience qui ont été effectuées dans chacune des écoles présentent une uniformité insuffisante, ce qui rend difficile une comparaison totalement objective.

Enfin, il est également souligné que Les échantillons constituant les études examinées ne sont pas très larges , avec lequel on déduit que les résultats sont provisoires et doivent être étayés par de plus grandes évaluations.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de l'éducation: définition, concepts et théories"

Interventions à pleine attention auprès des jeunes: une méta-analyse

Dans le travail de Zoogman et al. (2014) est le premier qui vise à faire la lumière sur la revue des études publiées entre 2004 et 2011 dans lesquelles des programmes faisant l'objet d'une attention soutenue ont été appliqués dans une population située dans la phase vitale de la jeunesse (moins de 18 ans).

Avant de présenter les résultats obtenus, il convient de souligner les données fournies dans la partie introductive du texte, étant donné que l’état de développement de la recherche sur la pleine conscience chez les enfants et / ou les jeunes est synthétisé au niveau quantitatif. Plus spécifiquement, les auteurs mentionnent que très peu d'études ont été prises comme sujets expérimentaux chez l'adolescent sans diagnostic clinique.

Ainsi, les travaux qui ont essayé de prouver l'efficacité de la pleine conscience dans ce groupe d'âge ont été basés sur des groupes ayant des difficultés d'apprentissage et divers troubles. En outre, il est indiqué que la tranche d'âge la plus étudiée couvre de la maternelle au lycée, en se concentrant sur la population scolaire .

Par ailleurs, les variables les plus fréquemment citées dans les publications analysées concernent le rendement scolaire, les compétences sociales (Beauchemin et al., 2008), le niveau de stress et d'anxiété (Liehr et Diaz 2010), la dépression (Mendelson et al., 2010), comportement agressif (Singh et al., 2011a, b) et toxicomanie (Bootzin et Stevens 2005, Britton et al., 2010).

La méthodologie

Les textes ont été extraits, dans ce cas, d'articles d'un magazine anglophone. Après avoir filtré les œuvres au moyen de critères d’inclusion, 20 enquêtes ont été sélectionnées, dans lesquelles il n’était pas possible de discriminer en fonction des différentes sous-populations en raison de la rareté des données collectées à ce jour. Les objectifs de cette méta-analyse visent à évaluer:

  • Quel est l'effet global des interventions basé sur toute l'attention sur la jeunesse?
  • Quoi facteurs modérateurs du traitement (structuration, receveurs, échantillon clinique / non clinique, durée du traitement, fréquence des séances, etc.) sont les plus efficaces?
  • ¿Quels résultats et quel niveau d'efficacité At-il été obtenu dans l'échantillon cible (symptômes psychologiques, attention, fonctionnement général de l'individu) après l'intervention par la pleine conscience?

Les résultats

Les résultats tirés des procédures statistiques d’analyse des données montrent que les interventions fondées sur une attention totale étudiées auprès de la population jeune présente un petit effet par rapport à l'efficacité d'autres interventions alternatives , même s’ils compensent largement l’effet des groupes de contrôle envisagés.

Lorsque des échantillons cliniques ont été observés, l’effet a été considéré comme modéré et son intensité a triplé dans les échantillons non cliniques. Tout cela semble indiquer que la pleine conscience peut être particulièrement bénéfique dans les populations cliniques .

Une seule variable était importante et donnait des résultats pertinents: échantillon clinique vs. pas clinique; Le reste, comme la fréquence, la durée, la fréquence des séances, l'âge de l'échantillon, la taille de l'échantillon, le sexe de l'échantillon, etc., n'a pas produit de données différentielles. Cependant, il a été constaté un effet substantiel sur les mesures des symptômes psychologiques présentés, beaucoup plus important que pour d’autres types de résultats tels que les soins ou le fonctionnement général de la personne, etc.

Cependant, la méta-analyse indique que la méditation a spécifiquement démontré son efficacité. dans la capacité de concentration chez les adolescents (par exemple Baijal et al., 2011 parmi beaucoup d'autres), bien que dans cette revue, aucune corrélation importante n'ait été trouvée entre les deux variables, comme cela a été le cas pour la variable de symptomatologie clinique. Même dans ce cas, le faible nombre de publications incluses dans la méta-analyse et son hétérogénéité indiquent que les résultats doivent être évalués avec prudence.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Zenner, C., Herrnleben-Kurz S. et Walach, H. (2014). Interventions basées sur la conscience dans les écoles - une revue systématique et une méta-analyse. Institut d'études sur la santé transculturelle, Université européenne Viadrina, Francfort-sur-l'Oder (Allemagne). Juin 2014 | Volume 5 | Article 603, Frontières en psychologie.
  • Zoogman, Goldberg S., Hoyt, W.T. & Miller, L. (2014) Interventions de pleine conscience avec les jeunes: une méta-analyse.Mindfulness, Springer Science (New York).

PAS ASSEZ INTELLIGENT POUR COMPRENDRE ! (Jour 27) (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes