yes, therapy helps!
Mindfulness: this way it helps cancer patients

Mindfulness: this way it helps cancer patients

September 6, 2022

Before the diagnosis of cancer arise very diverse feelings such as sadness, fear, anger, impotence, or injustice. When the disease is known, most people are accompanied by their relatives, friends and close relatives, either sooner or later.

However, do they really show what they feel when they talk to them? Do they let themselves be invaded by emotion when it knocks on their door? The answer in most cases is 'no'.

While it is true that in some people let their emotions flow, whether of sadness, anger or injustice, in most cases people make useless efforts to be good to others. In fact, in many occasions they can get to experience what is known as Experiential Avoidance Disorder , manifested by the avoidance of everything related to the disease. This avoidance reflects a lack of acceptance of the disease.


All these efforts to put aside the discomfort are in vain, the person ends up seeing himself in a spiral of thoughts that are avoided with daily activities and that, beyond promoting a high mood, the intensity of the malaise increases. In this way, the welfare and the quality of life of the person are affected.

What is Mindfulness and how does it help cancer patients?

From psychology these aspects are worked through different techniques and therapies. In recent years, Mindfulness has proven to be effective in the work of some relevant issues during cancer:

  • Facilitates the modulation of pain
  • It enhances sleep quality
  • Reduces stress and anxiety
  • Improve personal satisfaction
  • Improves quality of life

Mindfulness is a practice from Tibetan Buddhist meditation and, at present, it is framed within the Therapy of Acceptance and Commitment. Its objective is to be aware of every physical and psychological sensation that our body sends us. However, the purpose of Mindfulness is not to eliminate the pain or the thoughts or emotions that create discomfort, but to hear what they have to say without judging them, giving them the attention they need.


This is because our body talks to us constantly, every pain, thought, emotion or pain we have is a message from our body. When day after day we insist on not hearing it, it stalks us when we least expect it and with a greater intensity, since we are not listening to what it has to say to us. Mindfulness facilitates the acceptance, understanding and regulation of such emotions, thoughts or physical sensations.

Basic pillars of this therapeutic philosophy

There are several types of Mindfulness and a multitude of activities to implement full consciousness, but it must be taken into account that the most important thing is the attitude that is taken when performing these exercises .

Shapiro and Carlson pointed out seven factors to consider for practice:

  • Not judge : be aware of all experiences, both internal and external, without limiting them.
  • Be patient : be open to discovering what our body has to show us without having to press it.
  • Have confidence : trust in the information that our senses give us without the intention of hurting us.
  • Do not fight : do not try to avoid emotions, thoughts or physical sensations.
  • Let go : all thoughts and emotions come and go. Sometimes we have the need to remain in a state of well-being. However, Mindfulness intends to pay attention at every moment, being fully aware of what happens, as well as the changes that occur.
  • Beginner's mind : if we want to perform the Mindfulness exercises properly, we must place ourselves in an inexperienced position, similar to that of a baby. Babies discover their world little by little, they watch and listen attentively, they feel it, they suck it and even smell it. Mindfulness aims to place you in a similar position, where your inexperience allows you to perceive each experience with all the senses before categorizing it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Collete, N. (2011). Art therapy and Cancer. Psycho-oncology, 8 (1), 81-99.
  • Hart, S.L., Hoyt, M.A., Diefenbach, M., Anderson, D.R., Kilbourn, K.M., Craft, L.L., ... and Stanton, A.L. (2012). Meta-analysis of efficacy of interventions for elevated depressive 36
  • symptoms in adults diagnosed with cancer. Journal of the National Cancer Institute, 104 (13), 990-1004.
  • Hopko, D.R., Clark, C.G., Cannity, K., and Bell, J.L. (2015). Pretreatment Depression Severity in Breast Cancer Patients and Its Relation to Treatment Response to Behavior Therapy. Health Psychology.35 (1), 10-18.
  • Kabat-Zinn, J. (2003).Mindfulness based interventions in context: past, present and future. Clinical Psychology: Science and Practice, 10, 144-156.
  • Shapiro, S.L., Bootzin, R.R., Figuerdo, A.J., Lopez, A.M. and Schwartz, G.E. (2003). The efficacy of mindfulness-based stress reduction in the treatment of sleep disturbance in women with breast cancer: an exploratory study. Journal of Psychosomatic Research, 54 (1), 85-91.
  • Shapiro, S. L., and Carlson, L. E. (2009). The art of science of Mindfulness. Washington D.C: American Psychological Association.

Mindfulness Meditation for People Living with Cancer (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mindfulness: de cette façon, il aide les patients cancéreux

Mindfulness: de cette façon, il aide les patients cancéreux

Décembre 9, 2021

Avant le diagnostic de cancer, des sentiments très divers tels que la tristesse, la peur, la colère, l’impuissance ou l’injustice se manifestent. Lorsque la maladie est connue, la plupart des gens sont accompagnés tôt ou tard de leurs parents, amis et parents proches.

Cependant, montrent-ils vraiment ce qu'ils ressentent quand ils leur parlent? Se laissent-ils envahir par l'émotion quand elle frappe à leur porte? La réponse dans la plupart des cas est «non».

S'il est vrai que chez certaines personnes laissent leurs émotions couler, qu'il s'agisse de tristesse, de colère ou d'injustice, dans la plupart des cas, les gens font des efforts inutiles pour être bons envers les autres. En fait dans de nombreuses occasions, ils peuvent faire l'expérience de ce qu'on appelle le trouble d'évitement expérientiel , se manifeste par l’évitement de tout ce qui a trait à la maladie. Cet évitement reflète un manque d'acceptation de la maladie.


Tous ces efforts pour mettre de côté le malaise sont vains, la personne finit par se voir dans une spirale de pensées que l'on évite avec les activités quotidiennes et que, au-delà de la promotion d'une humeur forte, l'intensité du malaise augmente. De cette manière, le bien-être et la qualité de vie de la personne sont affectés.

Qu'est-ce que la pleine conscience et comment aide-t-elle les patients atteints de cancer?

De la psychologie, ces aspects sont travaillés à travers différentes techniques et thérapies. Au cours des dernières années, Mindfulness s’est révélée efficace dans le traitement de certaines questions pertinentes liées au cancer:

  • Facilite la modulation de la douleur
  • Améliore la qualité du sommeil
  • Réduit le stress et l'anxiété
  • Améliorer la satisfaction personnelle
  • Améliorer la qualité de vie

La pleine conscience est une pratique de la méditation bouddhiste tibétaine et, à l'heure actuelle, il s'inscrit dans le cadre de la thérapie de l'acceptation et de l'engagement. Son objectif est d'être conscient de toutes les sensations physiques et psychologiques que notre corps nous envoie. Cependant, le but de Mindfulness n'est pas d'éliminer la douleur, les pensées ou les émotions qui créent un inconfort, mais d'entendre ce qu'ils ont à dire sans les juger, en leur accordant l'attention dont ils ont besoin.


C'est parce que notre corps nous parle constamment, chaque douleur, pensée, émotion ou douleur que nous ressentons est un message de notre corps. Quand, jour après jour, nous insistons pour ne pas l'entendre, cela nous guette quand nous l'attendons le moins et avec une plus grande intensité, puisque nous n'écoutons pas ce qu'il a à nous dire. La pleine conscience facilite l'acceptation, la compréhension et la régulation de telles émotions, pensées ou sensations physiques.

Piliers de base de cette philosophie thérapeutique

Il existe plusieurs types de Mindfulness et une multitude d’activités pour mettre en œuvre la pleine conscience, mais il faut tenir compte du fait que la chose la plus importante est l’attitude adoptée lors de la réalisation de ces exercices. .

Shapiro et Carlson ont souligné sept facteurs à prendre en compte pour la pratique:

  • Ne pas juger : être conscient de toutes les expériences, internes et externes, sans les limiter.
  • Soyez patient : être ouvert à découvrir ce que notre corps doit nous montrer sans avoir à appuyer dessus.
  • Avoir confiance : faites confiance aux informations que nos sens nous donnent sans l’intention de nous faire du mal.
  • Ne pas se battre : n'essayez pas d'éviter les émotions, les pensées ou les sensations physiques.
  • Laisse aller : toutes les pensées et les émotions vont et viennent. Nous avons parfois besoin de rester dans un état de bien-être. Cependant, Mindfulness entend faire attention à chaque instant, étant pleinement conscient de ce qui se passe ainsi que des changements qui se produisent.
  • Esprit débutant : si nous voulons effectuer correctement les exercices de pleine conscience, nous devons nous placer dans une position inexpérimentée, semblable à celle d'un bébé. Les bébés découvrent leur monde petit à petit, ils regardent et écoutent attentivement, ils le sentent, ils le sucent et même le sentent. La pleine conscience vise à vous placer dans une position similaire, où votre inexpérience vous permet de percevoir chaque expérience avec tous les sens avant de la catégoriser.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Collete, N. (2011). Art thérapie et cancer. Psycho-oncologie, 8 (1), 81-99.
  • Hart, S.L., Hoyt, M.A., Diefenbach, M., Anderson, D.R., Kilbourn, K.M., Craft, L.L., ... et Stanton, A.L. (2012). Méta-analyse de l'efficacité des interventions pour le traitement de la dépression dépressive 36
  • symptômes chez les adultes diagnostiqués avec le cancer. Journal de l'Institut national du cancer, 104 (13), 990-1004.
  • Hopko, D. R., Clark, C. G., Cannity, K. et Bell, J. L. (2015). Prétraitement Dépression La gravité chez les patientes atteintes d'un cancer du sein et sa relation avec le traitement Réponse à la thérapie comportementale. Psychologie de la santé. 35 (1), 10-18.
  • Kabat-Zinn, J. (2003).Interventions basées sur la conscience dans le contexte: passé, présent et futur. Psychologie clinique: science et pratique, 10, 144-156.
  • Shapiro, S. L., Bootzin, R. R., Figuerdo, A. J., Lopez, A. M. et Schwartz, G. E. (2003). L'efficacité de la réduction du stress basée sur la conscience dans le traitement des troubles du sommeil chez les femmes atteintes d'un cancer du sein: une étude exploratoire. Journal of Psychosomatic Research, 54 (1), 85-91.
  • Shapiro, S. L. et Carlson, L. E. (2009). L'art de la science de la pleine conscience. Washington D.C: American Psychological Association.

Comment guérir le cancer du col de l'utérus rapidement (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes