yes, therapy helps!
Misogyny: 9 attitudes that portray misogynists

Misogyny: 9 attitudes that portray misogynists

May 6, 2021

Misogyny is a concept used to refer to the hatred, more or less disguised, towards women and girls .

Keep in mind that misogyny is only an idea that describes real behaviors of real people, and therefore only exists through the actions of certain people.

Characteristics and attitudes of misogynists

Recognizing misogynists is necessary in order to relativize their behavior and to educate respect for all people, regardless of their physical characteristics.

Below you can see what are the main characteristics, attitudes and propensities of misogynistic individuals .


1. Cosification of the woman's body

Perceiving women as objects is one of the main characteristics of misogynists . The reification causes that, on the one hand, the woman is considered as an object used to obtain pleasure and to raise, and on the other, she is reduced value as a human being, making that in the eyes of the misogynistic people the woman only worth because of their "functions" and not because of their human condition.

It should be noted that reifying is not recognizing the physical attractiveness of a person, but reducing their entire identity to aesthetic or functional properties, as would be the case with any tool in the home.


2. Selective Puritanism

Another characteristic of misogynists is his tendency to selectively use a puritanical morality when it comes to sexuality ; specifically, they apply it only when judging the behavior of women. That is why they denigrate women who dress or act in a way that is considered provocative, while ignoring this phenomenon in the case of men.

The logic behind these types of thoughts is simple: as the value of women is basically related to the aesthetic and their ability to give offspring, everything that can be interpreted as a tendency to "share" these two qualities with someone other than the couple dilutes the value of the one who does it. Man, however, has value beyond his appearance and reproductive role, so nothing happens if he expresses his sexuality in a more or less visible way.


3. Tendency to encourage other people to cosify

Misogyny is not something that is used to living in isolation, but rather is linked to a way of seeing the things that you try to share with others . That makes, for example, that in misogynists it is usual to encourage other people to make derogatory or unpleasant comments about strangers passing by.

4. Use of sexist violence

The use of sexist violence, be it physical, verbal or symbolic, is the most obvious manifestation of misogyny. This type of violence is directed towards women in a systematic way because it is so, and is one of the main reasons why feminism vindicates the need to guarantee women's rights.

5. Systematic criminalization of victims of sexist violence

Misogynists tend to seek responsibility for sexist violence in victims. They understand that these episodes of aggression are due to the fact that the woman does not care enough or provoke others with her way of dressing, or, simply, it is assumed that the accusations of violence are false without having consistent evidence that suggest that possibility.

In this way, a double objective is achieved. On the one hand, Violence against women is hidden , and on the other, the power that one has over the body of these is legitimized, by defending the idea that they must adapt to very defined gender roles.

6. Marginalization of women

It is not strange that misogynists tend to reject the idea of ​​relating to women beyond the professional sphere or economic transactions. At present there is even a movement called Men Go Their Own Way in which a lifestyle away from women and traditional marriage is claimed .

7. Authoritarian trends with women

Whenever there is the possibility of imposing one's will on a woman, misogynists do it . This does not mean that they use force; they can simply make capricious or absurd requests for the simple pleasure of seeing how they obey. In some way, it takes advantage of contexts in which man has power over women (such as at work) to use it far beyond what is justifiable. In the same way, there is a tacit agreement according to which the woman obeys, even in informal contexts in which there is no higher and lower charge.

8. Rejection of female leadership

Under the influence of misogyny, female leadership, or everything that implies giving visibility to women beyond their traditional roles, is seen with bad eyes . This can be reflected both in the business and organizational environment and, for example, in the criticism of works of fiction. Last year, for example, there was some controversy when part of the Internet community called for the boycott of the movie Mad Max: Fury Road for giving prominence and the role of hero to a character played by Charlize Theron.

In this way, a traditional view of things is defended in which the most important decisions are always made by men, and attempts to change this are seen as strident attempts to attract attention.

9. Tendency to relate the low forms of culture with the feminine

Another characteristic of misogynists is the propensity to consider that women consume minor forms of culture : bad novels, bad TV shows, bad songs, etc. This critical view of what most women consume does not apply when analyzing the forms of culture that men consume massively.


The Complicity of Geek Masculinity on the Big Bang Theory (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Misogynie: 9 attitudes dépeignant les misogynes

Misogynie: 9 attitudes dépeignant les misogynes

Janvier 17, 2022

La misogynie est un concept utilisé pour désigner la haine, plus ou moins déguisée, à l'égard des femmes et des filles. .

N'oubliez pas que la misogynie n'est qu'une idée qui décrit les comportements réels de personnes réelles et n'existe donc que par les actions de certaines personnes.

Caractéristiques et attitudes des misogynes

Reconnaître les misogynes est nécessaire pour relativiser leur comportement et éduquer au respect à toutes les personnes, quelles que soient leurs caractéristiques physiques.

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir quels sont les principales caractéristiques, attitudes et tendances des individus misogynes .


1. Cosification du corps de la femme

Percevoir les femmes comme des objets est l’une des principales caractéristiques des misogynes . La réification fait en sorte que, d'une part, la femme est considérée comme un objet utilisé pour obtenir du plaisir et pour s'élever, et d'autre part, elle perd de sa valeur en tant qu'être humain, faisant ainsi aux yeux du peuple misogyne la seule femme. valeur en raison de leurs "fonctions" et non en raison de leur condition humaine.

Il convient de noter que réifier ne consiste pas à reconnaître l’attrait physique d’une personne, mais à réduire toute son identité à des propriétés esthétiques ou fonctionnelles, comme ce serait le cas avec n’importe quel outil de la maison.


2. Puritanisme sélectif

Une autre caractéristique des misogynes est sa tendance à utiliser sélectivement une morale puritaine en matière de sexualité ; en particulier, ils ne l'appliquent que pour juger du comportement des femmes. C’est la raison pour laquelle ils dénigrent les femmes qui s’habillent ou agissent d’une manière jugée provocante, tout en ignorant ce phénomène chez les hommes.

La logique derrière ces types de pensées est simple: comme la valeur des femmes est fondamentalement liée à l'esthétique et à leur capacité à donner des enfants, tout ce qui peut être interprété comme une tendance à "partager" ces deux qualités avec quelqu'un autre que le couple dilue la valeur de celui qui le fait. L’homme, cependant, a de la valeur au-delà de son apparence et de son rôle reproductif, ainsi rien ne se passe s’il exprime sa sexualité de manière plus ou moins visible.


3. Tendance à encourager les autres à se cosifier

La misogynie n’est pas une habitude de vivre en isolation, mais plutôt est lié à une façon de voir les choses que vous essayez de partager avec les autres . Cela fait, par exemple, que chez les misogynes, il est habituel d’encourager d’autres personnes à faire des commentaires désobligeants ou déplaisants au sujet du passage d’étrangers.

4. Recours à la violence sexiste

L'utilisation de la violence sexiste, qu'elle soit physique, verbale ou symbolique, est la manifestation la plus évidente de la misogynie. Ce type de violence vise les femmes de manière systématique parce qu’il en est ainsi et c’est l’une des principales raisons pour lesquelles le féminisme défend la nécessité de garantir les droits des femmes.

5. Criminalisation systématique des victimes de violences sexistes

Les misogynes ont tendance à rechercher la responsabilité de la violence sexiste chez les victimes. Ils comprennent que ces épisodes d'agression sont dus au fait que la femme ne se soucie pas assez de la manière dont elle s'habille ou ne provoque pas les autres cela suggère cette possibilité.

De cette façon, un double objectif est atteint. D'un côté, La violence à l'égard des femmes est cachée et de l'autre, le pouvoir que l'on a sur le corps de ceux-ci est légitimé, en défendant l'idée qu'ils doivent s'adapter à des rôles de genre bien définis.

6. Marginalisation des femmes

Il n'est pas étonnant que les misogynes aient tendance à rejeter l'idée de relations avec les femmes au-delà de la sphère professionnelle ou des transactions économiques. À l’heure actuelle, il existe même un mouvement appelé «Les hommes vont à leur manière» dans lequel un mode de vie loin des femmes et le mariage traditionnel est revendiqué .

7. Tendances autoritaires chez les femmes

Chaque fois qu'il est possible d'imposer sa volonté à une femme, les misogynes le font . Cela ne signifie pas qu'ils utilisent la force; ils peuvent simplement faire des demandes capricieuses ou absurdes pour le simple plaisir de voir comment ils obéissent. D'une certaine manière, il profite des contextes dans lesquels l'homme a le pouvoir sur les femmes (comme au travail) pour l'utiliser au-delà de ce qui est justifiable. De la même façon, il existe un accord tacite selon lequel la femme obéit, même dans des contextes informels dans lesquels il n'y a pas de charge plus élevée ou moins élevée.

8. Rejet du leadership féminin

Sous l’influence de la misogynie, du leadership féminin ou tout ce qui implique de donner de la visibilité aux femmes au-delà de leurs rôles traditionnels est mal vu . Cela peut se refléter à la fois dans l'environnement commercial et organisationnel et, par exemple, dans la critique d'œuvres de fiction. L'année dernière, par exemple, il y a eu une certaine controverse lorsqu'une partie de la communauté Internet a appelé au boycott du film Mad Max: Fury Road pour avoir mis en avant le rôle du héros joué par Charlize Theron.

De cette façon, on défend une vision traditionnelle des choses dans laquelle les décisions les plus importantes sont toujours prises par les hommes, et les tentatives pour changer cela sont perçues comme des tentatives stridentes d'attirer l'attention.

9. Tendance à relier les formes de culture basses au féminin

Une autre caractéristique des misogynes est la propension à considérer que les femmes consomment des formes de culture mineures : mauvais romans, mauvaises émissions de télévision, mauvaises chansons, etc. Cette vision critique de ce que consomment la plupart des femmes ne s'applique pas à l'analyse des formes de culture que les hommes consomment massivement.


Le Plus Grand Secret, Tome 1 - DAVID ICKE (Partie 2) (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes