yes, therapy helps!
Mixed couples: what they are and why they have become popular

Mixed couples: what they are and why they have become popular

May 6, 2021

The conformation of mixed couples , that is, those in which there are significant cultural differences between its members (as a country, religious beliefs, language or ethnic group), has had a considerable increase in recent times.

This growth is attributed in the first place to the fact that the possibilities of meeting people from other countries have increased due to the intensification of international mobility and the mass communication through the Internet. In addition to the above, there have been a series of social transformations in the love field that allow older people freedom quotas and autonomy when making the conjugal choice.


Migration for love

Migration in which one of the main motivations is to form a couple or a family is called by some social researchers as migration for love.

This typology of migration is described as a diverse and complex phenomenon that transcends simplifications and prejudices with which it is usually conceived from common sense.

A basically feminine phenomenon

Different ethnographic research highlights that women express much more frequently than men that their feelings and the desire to start or establish a relationship has been one of the main reasons for a geographical displacement . This is attributed to the fact that there are still structural conditions for man to function as a provider in a family and that it is women who prioritize the care of their children and the home, leaving their professional development in the background.


Therefore, it is more common for a woman to leave her country and emigrate to her partner's country or to accompany her partner in a migration for work reasons.

Migration for love it is then described as predominantly female and is mainly directed from Caribbean regions, Latin America , eastern Europe and Southeast Asia to rich countries in Western Europe, North America and the Asia-Pacific region. The ease of mobility for European citizens within the EU has also generated a significant increase in the formation of intra-European binational couples.

Modalities of mixed couples and their reasons

The differences between people of different cultural origin can be softened or intensified if they share or differ in other characteristics such as: urban or rural lifestyle, educational level, professional environment, social class, etc. Sometimes, even though people come from different countries, they share many other factors, resulting in more elements of affinity than distinction. .


For anthropology, it is a verifiable fact that in all cultures people tend to associate with members of their own group and that linking with others is an exception. The choice of a couple that belongs to another culture can come to be interpreted as a transgression of one's own culture and family ideals, since a foreigner will transmit values ​​different from their own.

In binational mixed couples, the borders of the countries are transcended , but the most usual thing is that they continue to maintain the boundaries of socioeconomic class and formative level. It is also possible to observe the existence of a kind of hierarchy of cultural distances, in which certain nationalities or groups of emigrants are considered more or less susceptible to being chosen as a couple. In this hierarchy would be located the nationalities to which it would be considered totally incompatible up to those to which it is admired in its practices and customs.

The exchange of status

Although in smaller proportions, sometimes in mixed couples the socioeconomic or formative level borders are also transcended . In these cases, an exchange of status can be presented. This is the case of people from rich countries (high status) with low educational level (low status) who marry people from poor countries or belonging to marginalized minorities (low status), who have a high educational level.

The exchange can be given by any element that can be considered as a guarantor of a person's status: beauty, age, social status, a nationality that has a certain prestige, etc.

Sociology highlights that Statistically, men usually marry more frequently hypogamously than women . That is, with a partner with a lower socioeconomic level. And, therefore, women usually marry more frequently in a hypergamic manner, that is, with a man who has a higher socioeconomic level. The above is also true for mixed couples, although the educational level reached by women in recent decades is making the statistical difference is increasingly less.

It has also been observed that to the extent that the educational level increases, the chances of forming a couple with people from different countries also increases. Greater inbreeding (that is, the tendency to bond maritally with people of the same culture) occurs more intensely in people with strong religious observance.

The mixed couple as resistance to the transformations in gender relations

It is relevant that, according to different researches, the motivations that have to do with gender are expressed by men and women who decide to establish a relationship with a foreign person.

The motivations related to gender are much more evident in the case of men from rich countries They are looking for a partner abroad, as well as women from those countries where these men focus their search. It arises in relation to the above that the material and sentimental independence acquired by women in the most industrialized countries has generated a resistance of some men with respect to this new female model.

This resistance drives them to look for a partner in a marriage market different from that of their own country, opting for nationalities in which it is assumed that women maintain a more traditional role. That is they keep the family and the home as priority over their profession , and that they would accept gender relations sustained in a certain degree of submission and dependence. This stereotype is given, for example, to women from countries in Latin America or Eastern Europe.

The search for a more traditional woman is more acute in men over 40 years of age, in the younger the prototype of the submissive woman and housewife is less attractive, with more other factors influencing motivation to establish a relationship with a foreigner .

The longing for polarized gender roles

Some men justify their desire to seek relationships with more traditional women because of the conflicts and tensions that, according to them, generated the independence obtained by women in their previous relationships.

Longing for more polarized gender roles is also present in some women from industrialized countries who state that part of their interest in a foreign partner is the desire to relate to men whose way of being is closer to a certain stereotype of traditional masculinity: chivalrous, romantic, passionate, seductive. This type of stereotype is given, for example, to men from Mediterranean or Latin countries. The polarization of the genders in these cases is seen as a value of complementarity and also as part of sexual stimulation.

Marriage with a foreigner as a search for equality

Paradoxically, for many Latin American or Eastern European women One of the outstanding motivations to establish a relationship with a foreign man is the desire to acquire equal shares and emancipation that they do not find in their own context. These women describe gender relations in their countries as more subordinate and inequitable than what they assume occurs in the destination of their migration.

Men in their own country are described as more macho, controlling, possessive, infidels and aggressive. These aspects consider them as rooted in their own culture, and believe that they occur at a much lower intensity in the men of the destination country. Some of the women also express their desire to distance themselves from previous experiences of abuse and alcoholism of their ex-partners. In these cases the polarization of the genders is seen as a manifestation of oppression and inequality .

The physical aspect: the ideal and the exotic

The predominant physical aspect in some nationalities is the subject of attributions that nourish the fantasies of men and women , also becoming a factor that affects as a motivator to establish a relationship with a foreign person. It is, in part, the attributions on the sexuality of certain population groups.

Of the previous they give account realized investigations on the agencies of search of international pair that operate by Internet. This is the case, for example, of those specialized in Latin American or Eastern European women who emphasize the physical characteristics that are supposed to be valued by the possible "boyfriends". One would be the Nordic ideal type (tall, blonde, blue eyes, slender) or the exotic type referred to Latin American women (brunettes, curvaceous and sensual).

Marriage as a way to improve living conditions

The cultural model of couple that predominates in the West is based on the ideal of a relationship established by free love and spontaneous, distanced from any calculation or interest. Therefore, motivations of a material nature, which are sometimes interwoven with sentimental ones, tend to be much more veiled in the discourses of women who decide to formalize a relationship with a foreigner.

In many cases, the countries from which people migrate out of love are characterized by high rates of job insecurity, insecurity or other aspects that promote the search for better living conditions. Marriage to a foreigner is a strategy among others to be able to settle in a place that offers better opportunities.

Despite this expectation, people with high levels of training clash with bureaucratic obstacles to be able to perform in the field of their profession and they are forced to perform jobs that do not require qualification .

Social pressure in mixed couples

One of the situations with which many migrants are often confronted for love is with the resistance of the family and friends of their partners who accuse them, directly or indirectly, of marrying for economic reasons or to legalize residency in the country. Many of them narrate that they constantly have to be demonstrating that their marriage is based on feelings and that it has not only had an instrumental character. Some women consider the arrival of the first child of the couple as a milestone of legitimacy .

In relation to the above, it has been observed that women who migrate out of love do not usually seek to establish links with migrants of their same nationality in the place of destination. This distancing is sometimes encouraged by their local partners, responding to the desire to make a difference with economic migration and the stigmas that surround them.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gaspar, S. (2009). Integration and social satisfaction in mixed intra-European couples, Discourse and Society, 16, 68-101.
  • Roca Girona, J. (2011). [Re] looking for love: Reasons and reasons for the mixed unions of Spanish men with foreign women. Magazine of Dialectology and Popular Traditions, 2011, vol. LXVI, nº2, p.487-514.
  • Roca Girona, J. (2007). Migrants for love. The search and formation of transnational partners. Aibr. Revista de Antropología Iberoamericana, 2007, vol. 3, No. 2, p. 430-458.
  • Roca Girona, J .; Soronellas, M. and Bodoque, Y. (2012). Migrations for love: Diversity and complexity of women's migrations. Papers, vol. 97, No. 3, p. 685- 707.
  • Rodríguez-García, D. (2014). On transnational kinship: contextualization and theoretical-methodological considerations. AIBR-Revista de Antropología Iberoamericana, 9 (2): 183-210.

8 QUESTIONS ALL INTERRACIAL COUPLES GET ASKED (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les couples mixtes: ce qu'ils sont et pourquoi ils sont devenus populaires

Les couples mixtes: ce qu'ils sont et pourquoi ils sont devenus populaires

Février 21, 2019

La conformation de couples mixtes , c’est-à-dire ceux dans lesquels il existe des différences culturelles importantes entre ses membres (en tant que pays, convictions religieuses, langue ou groupe ethnique) ont connu une augmentation considérable ces derniers temps.

Cette croissance est attribuée en premier lieu au fait que les possibilités de rencontrer des personnes d'autres pays ont augmenté en raison de l'intensification de la mobilité internationale et de la communication de masse via Internet. En plus de ce qui précède, il y a eu une série de transformations sociales dans le domaine de l'amour qui permettent aux personnes âgées de bénéficier de quotas de liberté et autonomie lors du choix conjugal.


Migration pour l'amour

Certains chercheurs en sciences sociales appellent migration la migration dans laquelle une des motivations principales est de former un couple ou une famille. migration par amour.

Cette typologie de la migration est décrite comme un phénomène divers et complexe qui transcende les simplifications et les préjugés avec lesquels il est généralement conçu à partir du sens commun.

Un phénomène essentiellement féminin

Différentes études ethnographiques montrent que les femmes expriment beaucoup plus fréquemment que les hommes que leurs sentiments et leurs sentiments. le désir d'établir ou d'établir une relation a été l'une des principales raisons d'un déplacement géographique . Ceci est attribué au fait qu'il existe toujours des conditions structurelles permettant à l'homme de jouer le rôle de prestataire dans une famille et que ce sont les femmes qui accordent la priorité aux soins à leurs enfants et à la maison, laissant de côté leur développement professionnel.


Par conséquent, il est plus courant pour une femme de quitter son pays et d'émigrer dans le pays de son partenaire ou d'accompagner son partenaire dans une migration pour des raisons liées au travail.

Migration pour l'amour il est ensuite décrit comme à prédominance féminine et s’adresse principalement aux régions des Caraïbes, d’Amérique latine l’Europe de l’Est et de l’Asie du Sud-Est aux pays riches d’Europe occidentale, d’Amérique du Nord et de la région Asie-Pacifique. La facilité de mobilité des citoyens européens au sein de l'UE a également généré une augmentation significative de la formation de couples binational intra-européens.

Modalités des couples mixtes et leurs raisons

Les différences entre les personnes d’origine culturelle différente peuvent être atténuées ou intensifiées si elles partagent ou diffèrent par d’autres caractéristiques telles que: le mode de vie urbain ou rural, le niveau d’instruction, le milieu professionnel, la classe sociale, etc. Parfois, même si les gens viennent de pays différents, ils partagent beaucoup d'autres facteurs, ce qui donne plus d'éléments d'affinité que de distinction. .


Pour l’anthropologie, c’est un fait vérifiable que, dans toutes les cultures, les gens ont tendance à s’associer aux membres de leur propre groupe et que les liens avec d’autres sont une exception. Le choix d'un couple appartenant à une autre culture peut être interprété comme une transgression de sa propre culture et de ses idéaux familiaux, puisqu'un étranger transmettra des valeurs différentes des leurs.

Dans les couples mixtes binationaux, les frontières des pays sont transcendées , mais le plus souvent, c’est qu’ils continuent de maintenir les limites de la classe socioéconomique et du niveau de formation. Il est également possible d’observer l’existence d’une sorte de hiérarchie des distances culturelles dans laquelle certaines nationalités ou groupes d’émigrés sont considérés plus ou moins susceptibles d’être choisis en couple. Dans cette hiérarchie se trouveraient les nationalités auxquelles il serait considéré comme totalement incompatible jusqu’à celles auxquelles il est admiré dans ses pratiques et ses coutumes.

L'échange de statut

Bien que dans des proportions plus petites, parfois, dans les couples mixtes, les frontières de niveau socio-économique ou formatif sont également transcendées . Dans ces cas, un échange de statut peut être présenté. C'est le cas des ressortissants de pays riches (statut élevé) à faible niveau d'éducation (bas statut) qui épousent des ressortissants de pays pauvres ou appartenant à des minorités marginalisées (statut bas), qui ont un niveau d'éducation élevé.

L'échange peut être donné par tout élément pouvant être considéré comme garant du statut d'une personne: beauté, âge, statut social, nationalité ayant un certain prestige, etc.

La sociologie souligne que Statistiquement, les hommes se marient généralement plus fréquemment par hypogame que les femmes . C'est-à-dire avec un partenaire avec un niveau socio-économique inférieur. Et, par conséquent, les femmes se marient généralement plus fréquemment de manière hypergamique, c'est-à-dire avec un homme qui a un niveau socioéconomique supérieur. Ceci est également vrai pour les couples mixtes, bien que le niveau d'éducation atteint par les femmes au cours des dernières décennies fasse que la différence statistique soit de moins en moins nette.

Il a également été observé que, dans la mesure où le niveau d'instruction augmente, les chances de former un couple avec des personnes de différents pays augmentent également. Une plus grande consanguinité (c'est-à-dire la tendance à se lier de manière maritale avec des personnes de la même culture) se produit plus intensément chez les personnes ayant une forte observance religieuse.

Le couple mixte en tant que résistance aux transformations des relations de genre

Il est pertinent de noter que, selon différentes recherches, les motivations liées au genre sont exprimées par des hommes et des femmes qui décident d’établir une relation avec une personne étrangère.

Les motivations liées au genre sont beaucoup plus évidentes chez les hommes des pays riches Elles recherchent un partenaire à l'étranger, ainsi que des femmes originaires des pays où ces hommes concentrent leurs recherches. Il découle de ce qui précède que l'indépendance matérielle et sentimentale acquise par les femmes dans les pays les plus industrialisés a généré une résistance de la part de certains hommes vis-à-vis de ce nouveau modèle féminin.

Cette résistance les pousse à chercher un partenaire sur un marché matrimonial différent de celui de leur propre pays, optant pour des nationalités dans lesquelles il est supposé que les femmes conservent un rôle plus traditionnel. C'est que ils font de la famille et du foyer la priorité sur leur profession et qu’ils accepteraient des relations de genre maintenues dans un certain degré de soumission et de dépendance. Ce stéréotype est par exemple donné aux femmes de pays d'Amérique latine ou d'Europe de l'Est.

La recherche d'une femme plus traditionnelle est plus aiguë chez les hommes de plus de 40 ans. Chez les plus jeunes, le prototype de la femme soumise et de la femme au foyer est moins attrayant, d'autres facteurs influant davantage sur la motivation à établir une relation avec un étranger. .

Le désir de rôles de genre polarisés

Certains hommes justifient leur désir de rechercher des relations avec des femmes plus traditionnelles en raison des conflits et des tensions qui, selon eux, ont généré l'indépendance obtenue par les femmes dans leurs relations précédentes.

L'aspiration à des rôles de genre plus polarisés est également présente chez certaines femmes de pays industrialisés qui déclarent qu'une partie de leur intérêt pour un partenaire étranger réside dans le désir de nouer des relations avec des hommes dont la façon d'être est plus proche d'un certain stéréotype de la masculinité traditionnelle: chevaleresque, romantique, passionné, séduisant. Ce type de stéréotype est par exemple réservé aux hommes des pays méditerranéens ou latins. La polarisation des sexes dans ces cas est considérée comme une valeur de complémentarité et également comme une partie de la stimulation sexuelle.

Le mariage avec un étranger en quête d'égalité

Paradoxalement, pour de nombreuses femmes d'Amérique latine ou d'Europe orientale L’une des principales motivations pour établir une relation avec un homme étranger est le désir d’acquérir des parts égales. et une émancipation qu'ils ne trouvent pas dans leur propre contexte. Ces femmes décrivent les relations de genre dans leurs pays comme étant plus subordonnées et inéquitables que ce qu’elles supposent se produit dans la destination de leur migration.

Les hommes de leur propre pays sont décrits comme plus machistes, contrôlant, possessifs, infidèles et agressifs. Ces aspects les considèrent comme enracinés dans leur propre culture et pensent qu’ils se produisent à une intensité beaucoup plus faible chez les hommes du pays de destination. Certaines femmes expriment également leur désir de se démarquer des expériences précédentes d'abus et d'alcoolisme de leurs ex-partenaires. Dans ces cas, la polarisation des sexes est considérée comme une manifestation d'oppression et d'inégalité .

L'aspect physique: l'idéal et l'exotisme

L'aspect physique prédominant chez certaines nationalités fait l'objet d'attributions qui nourrissent les fantasmes des hommes et des femmes , devenant également un facteur déterminant pour établir une relation avec une personne étrangère. Ce sont en partie les attributions sur la sexualité de certains groupes de population.

Des précédents ils rendent compte des enquêtes réalisées sur les agences de recherche de paire internationale qui opèrent par Internet. C’est le cas, par exemple, des femmes spécialisées en Amérique latine ou en Europe de l’Est qui mettent l’accent sur les caractéristiques physiques censées être valorisées par les éventuels "petits amis". L'une serait le type idéal nordique (grands, blonds, yeux bleus, minces) ou le type exotique évoqué chez les femmes latino-américaines (brunes, rondes et sensuelles).

Le mariage comme moyen d'améliorer les conditions de vie

Le modèle culturel du couple qui prédomine en Occident repose sur l'idéal d'une relation établie par l'amour libre et spontané, éloigné de tout calcul ou intérêt. Par conséquent, les motivations de nature matérielle, parfois entremêlées de sentimentales, ont tendance à être beaucoup plus voilées dans les discours des femmes qui décident de formaliser une relation avec un étranger.

Dans de nombreux cas, les pays en provenance desquels les gens émigrent par amour se caractérisent par des taux élevés d'insécurité d'emploi, d'insécurité ou d'autres facteurs qui favorisent la recherche de meilleures conditions de vie. Le mariage avec un étranger est une stratégie parmi d'autres pour pouvoir s'installer dans un endroit qui offre de meilleures opportunités.

Malgré cette attente, les personnes ayant un niveau élevé de formation se heurtent à des obstacles bureaucratiques pour pouvoir exercer dans le domaine de leur profession et ils sont obligés d'effectuer des travaux qui ne nécessitent pas de qualification .

Pression sociale dans les couples mixtes

Une des situations à laquelle de nombreux migrants sont souvent confrontés par amour est la résistance de la famille et des amis de leurs partenaires qui les accusent, directement ou indirectement, de se marier pour des raisons économiques ou de légaliser le séjour dans le pays. Beaucoup d'entre eux racontent qu'ils doivent constamment démontrer que leur mariage est basé sur des sentiments et qu'il n'a pas seulement eu un caractère instrumental. Certaines femmes considèrent l'arrivée du premier enfant du couple comme un jalon de légitimité .

En ce qui concerne ce qui précède, il a été observé que les femmes qui émigrent par amour ne cherchent généralement pas à établir des liens avec des migrants de même nationalité sur le lieu de destination. Cette distanciation est parfois encouragée par leurs partenaires locaux, répondant ainsi au désir de faire la différence avec la migration économique et aux stigmates qui les entourent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gaspar, S. (2009). Intégration et satisfaction sociale dans les couples mixtes intra-européens, Discourse and Society, 16, 68-101.
  • Roca Girona, J. (2011). [Re] recherche de l'amour: Raisons et raisons des unions mixtes d'hommes espagnols avec des femmes étrangères. Revue de dialectologie et traditions populaires, 2011, vol. LXVI, nº2, p.487-514.
  • Roca Girona, J. (2007). Migrants par amour. La recherche et la formation de partenaires transnationaux. Aibr. Revue de anthropologie ibéroaméricaine, 2007, vol. 3, n ° 2, p. 430-458.
  • Roca Girona, J .; Soronellas, M. et Bodoque, Y. (2012). Migrations for love: diversité et complexité des migrations des femmes. Papers, vol. 97, n ° 3, p. 685-707.
  • Rodríguez-García, D. (2014). Sur la parenté transnationale: contextualisation et considérations théorico-méthodologiques. AIBR-Revue de Antropología Iberoamericana, 9 (2): 183-210.

LE GUIDE DU COUPLE MIXTE EN CORÉE (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes