yes, therapy helps!
Mobbing: psychological harassment at work

Mobbing: psychological harassment at work

January 23, 2023

The "mobbing "Or occupational psychological harassment it is a situation that occurs in the workplace, in which an individual or several, exercise psychological violence systematically and repeatedly (at least once a week) on another individual or individuals, for a prolonged period of time (at least 6 months).

This causes the communication networks and the reputation of the victim to be destroyed, and causes the disturbance of the exercise of their work and their demotivation at work.

Mobbing: psychological harassment at work

Mobbing actors can be co-workers, superiors or subordinates, and this behavior can affect workers of any type of organization, including small and medium-sized companies.


The characteristics of mobbing

The methodology used by the actors responsible for mobbing in the company can be varied. For example, the spreading of rumors to favor the marginalization of the victim (even outside of work) and to make life difficult within the organization; or bullying and humiliation in front of other employees. Whatever the behavior that takes place, the result is psychological and emotional damage to the victim.

Victims are often the most creative, ethical and competent people in the workplace. These individuals suffer mobbing because the harasser may consider them a threat to their own position within the company. Supervisors can also be victims of mobbing. In these cases, the subordinates act together to undermine him. Women, younger workers and those with more longevity have a high risk of mobbing. Mobbing is growing in sectors such as services, health and education.


The psychological impact on the victims of mobbing

Mobbing can have a devastating effect on the morale and performance of victims, and causes intense discomfort. Below are the consequences of mobbing for those who suffer:

  • Impairment of self-esteem and self-confidence, both personally and at work
  • Feelings of guilt
  • Insomnia
  • Hypervigilance
  • Fatigue
  • Personality changes
  • Difficulties of concentration irritability
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Memories and recurring dreams of traumatic events
  • Feeling of reliving the traumatic experience, hallucinations, flashbacks ...
  • Intense discomfort when starting a new job
  • Reduction of interest in daily, social or leisure activities
  • Sense of detachment from others and restriction of emotions and emotional life
  • Pessimism
  • Feelings of failure and frustration

Physical impact on victims of workplace harassment

Mobbing does not include collective physical harassment of the worker who is the victim. Instead, it focuses on disturbing your inner life. But The emotional toll is so great that it can have physical consequences, because it can cause stress , and therefore its physical symptoms. For example, headaches, gastrointestinal problems, hypertension, etc.


What to do in case of suffering mobbing?

In case of suffering mobbing it is essential to take action as soon as possible , because the psychological damage can be increased as time goes by. Since mobbing is a phenomenon that takes place within the company, it is important to report if the harasser continues to insist on causing harm. In case of suffering mobbing is necessary not only is it necessary to have legal support, but also psychological.

First and foremost, it is necessary communicate to the occupational risk prevention department or to the superior so that he has knowledge of the case. If you are being harassed, this should be your first move.

Due to the complexity of these events, support can be requested from trade union organizations, the Health and Safety Committee of the company, and the situation can be reported to the Labor Inspectorate as a preliminary step to the prosecution of the case.

Once these routes are exhausted, and if mobbing continues to exist, then it will be necessary to denounce . It is important to be clear that it is difficult to gather evidence for different reasons (there is no physical evidence, there is no written evidence or the partners do not commit themselves for fear of reprisals), but the complaint of harassment is proven through any of the means admitted. by law, be it confession, documents, witnesses, experts, etc. Therefore, it will be necessary to gather documents, medical reports and seek witnesses.

Psychological support in cases of mobbing

Due to the psychological and emotional damage suffered by the victim, in many cases it is necessary to go to a psychologist to recover the well-being . Not any professional is accredited to carry out this problem, because it is necessary to go to a professional specialized in psychological and occupational health problems (not a doctor). That is, the symptoms should not be treated only (such as acting on anxiety or depression), but the phenomenon should be understood in its entirety.

It is usual that in this type of cases there is a misdiagnosis and they end up using incorrect treatment strategies (for example, only treating stress or anxiety with drugs). This usually happens when you go to the family doctor instead of an expert psychologist. Unfortunately, this is more common than people think.


Mobbing/psychological harassment in the workplace ❖ Stéphanie TIGG (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mobbing: harcèlement psychologique au travail

Mobbing: harcèlement psychologique au travail

Mai 11, 2021

Le "mobbing "Ou harcèlement psychologique au travail il s’agit d’une situation qui se produit sur le lieu de travail et dans laquelle une personne ou plusieurs personnes exercent la violence psychologique de manière systématique et répétée (au moins une fois par semaine) sur une ou plusieurs personnes, pendant une période prolongée (au moins une fois par semaine). 6 mois).

Cela détruit les réseaux de communication et la réputation de la victime, et perturbe l'exercice de son travail et sa démotivation au travail.

Mobbing: harcèlement psychologique au travail

Les acteurs de mobbing peuvent être des collègues, des supérieurs ou des subordonnés, et ce comportement peut affecter les travailleurs de tout type d’organisation, y compris les petites et moyennes entreprises.


Les caractéristiques du mobbing

La méthodologie utilisée par les acteurs responsables du mobbing dans l'entreprise peut être variée. Par exemple, la propagation de rumeurs pour favoriser la marginalisation de la victime (même en dehors du travail) et rendre la vie difficile au sein de l'organisation; ou l'intimidation et l'humiliation devant d'autres employés. Quel que soit le comportement, il en résulte des dommages psychologiques et émotionnels chez la victime.

Les victimes sont souvent les personnes les plus créatives, éthiques et compétentes sur le lieu de travail. Le harceleur peut considérer ces personnes comme une menace pour leur propre position au sein de l'entreprise. Les superviseurs peuvent également être victimes de mobbing. Dans ces cas, les subordonnés agissent ensemble pour le saper. Les femmes, les jeunes travailleurs et ceux qui ont plus de longévité courent un risque élevé de mobbing. Le mobbing se développe dans des secteurs tels que les services, la santé et l’éducation.


L'impact psychologique sur les victimes du mobbing

Mobbing peut avoir un effet dévastateur sur le moral et la performance des victimes et provoque un inconfort intense. Ci-dessous sont les conséquences du mobbing pour ceux qui souffrent:

  • Dépréciation de l'estime de soi et de la confiance en soi, tant personnellement que sur le lieu de travail
  • Sentiments de culpabilité
  • L'insomnie
  • L'hypervigilance
  • Fatigue
  • Changements de personnalité
  • Difficultés de concentration irritabilité
  • La dépression
  • Anxiété
  • Souvenirs et rêves récurrents d'événements traumatiques
  • Sentiment de revivre l'expérience traumatique, hallucinations, flashbacks ...
  • Inconfort intense au début d'un nouvel emploi
  • Réduction de l'intérêt pour les activités quotidiennes, sociales ou de loisirs
  • Sentiment de détachement des autres et de limitation des émotions et de la vie émotionnelle
  • Le pessimisme
  • Sentiments d'échec et de frustration

Impact physique sur les victimes de harcèlement au travail

Le mobbing ne comprend pas le harcèlement physique collectif du travailleur victime. Au lieu de cela, il se concentre sur la perturbation de votre vie intérieure. Mais Le bilan émotionnel est si important qu'il peut avoir des conséquences physiques, car il peut causer du stress et donc ses symptômes physiques. Par exemple, maux de tête, problèmes gastro-intestinaux, hypertension, etc.


Que faire en cas de souffrance de mobbing?

En cas de souffrance mobbing il est essentiel d'agir dès que possible , parce que les dommages psychologiques peuvent être augmentés avec le temps. Comme le harcèlement moral est un phénomène qui se produit au sein de l'entreprise, il est important de signaler si le harceleur continue d'insister pour causer un préjudice. En cas de souffrance, le mobbing est nécessaire non seulement pour obtenir un soutien juridique, mais aussi psychologique.

D'abord et avant tout, il faut communiquer au service de prévention des risques professionnels ou au supérieur pour qu'il ait connaissance de l'affaire. Si vous êtes harcelé, cela devrait être votre premier geste.

En raison de la complexité de ces événements, un soutien peut être demandé aux organisations syndicales, au comité de santé et de sécurité de l'entreprise, et la situation peut être signalée à l'inspection du travail en tant qu'étape préliminaire à la poursuite du cas.

Une fois ces routes épuisées, et si le harcèlement existe toujours, alors il faudra dénoncer . Il est important de préciser qu'il est difficile de réunir des preuves pour différentes raisons (aucune preuve matérielle, aucune preuve écrite ou les partenaires ne s'engagent pas par peur des représailles), mais la plainte de harcèlement est prouvée par tous les moyens admis. selon la loi, qu'il s'agisse d'aveux, de documents, de témoins, d'experts, etc. Par conséquent, il sera nécessaire de rassembler des documents, des rapports médicaux et de rechercher des témoins.

Soutien psychologique en cas de mobbing

En raison des dommages psychologiques et émotionnels subis par la victime, dans de nombreux cas il faut aller chez un psychologue pour recouvrer le bien-être . Aucun professionnel n’est accrédité pour résoudre ce problème, car il est nécessaire de consulter un professionnel spécialisé dans les problèmes de santé psychologique et professionnelle (pas un médecin). Autrement dit, les symptômes ne doivent pas être traités uniquement (par exemple en agissant sur l'anxiété ou la dépression), mais le phénomène doit être compris dans son intégralité.

Il est habituel que dans ce type de cas, le diagnostic soit erroné et que les stratégies de traitement utilisées soient incorrectes (par exemple, traiter uniquement le stress ou l’anxiété avec des médicaments). Cela se produit généralement lorsque vous consultez un médecin de famille plutôt qu'un expert en psychologie. Malheureusement, cela est plus commun que les gens pensent.


Manipulation et harcèlement moral au travail (le magazine de la santé-France5) (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes