yes, therapy helps!
Montessori method: its 8 educational principles

Montessori method: its 8 educational principles

January 20, 2023

The Montessori educational method, which was developed in the early twentieth century for use in children and preadolescents, has been popularized and extended to a large extent since its emergence.

In this article we will describe the 8 fundamental principles of the Montessori method , among which we can highlight the prepared environment and self-education.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 9 best masters in education"

What is the Montessori method?

Maria Montessori (1870-1952) was an Italian physician and educator whose work, mainly focused on the philosophy of education and pedagogy, constitutes an antecedent to constructivism and continues to have a strong influence today.


The educational method proposed by Montessori emphasizes the need to favor the natural development of students' aptitudes through self-direction, exploration, discovery, practice, collaboration, play, deep concentration, imagination or communication.

This pedagogical philosophy moves sharply away from traditional educational methods since is based on spontaneity and the choice of students instead of rigid systems and based on the fulfillment of certain criteria of academic evaluation. For Montessori, the respect and promotion of the independence of the child is key.

In turn, the Montessori proposal is considered a theoretical model of human development. In this sense, we must frame the principles of the following section in the core postulates of his theory: people we build ourselves psychologically through interaction with the environment , and we have an innate tendency to personal development.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Waldorf Pedagogy: its educational keys and philosophical foundations"

Fundamental educational principles

Although the Montessori method has been applied in different ways because of its popularity, it is possible to find at least 8 fundamental principles of this pedagogical style based on the work of the Montessori itself and later popular developments.

1. Learning by discovery

The educational philosophy of Montessori has a markedly constructivist character. It is understood that people in general we learn better through direct contact, practice and discovery than through direct instruction. However, certain subjects, especially from the age of 6, require specific master classes.

2. Preparation of the educational environment

In the Montessori method a "prepared environment" is used; this means that it is intended to be adapted to the needs of the students according to their age. It must also encourage movement and the realization of activities, be clean and orderly, be aesthetically attractive and have natural elements such as plants inside and outside the classroom .


  • Maybe you're interested: "The differences between a psychologist and an educational psychologist"

3. Use of specific materials

One of the most important components of the Monte Montessori environment is the inclusion of certain materials that were developed by Montessori herself and her collaborators. It is preferable to use natural materials, such as wood, than other, more artificial ones.

4. Student's personal choice

Although the prepared environment entails limitations in the range of activities that students can access, it is still greater than that of traditional education and during most of the class time you are free to choose any material, game or educational content among those available in the classroom.

Montessori spoke of "self-education" to refer to the active participation of students in their own learning. In this sense, the role of teachers is related more to preparation, supervision and help, as we will see later.

5. Classrooms for age groups

A very important aspect of the Montessori method is the fact that it is recommended that the classrooms contain a high number of students and that they have different ages, although they are divided by age groups because of the specificities of development in each period. Generally the separation is carried out in groups of 3 years (for example from 6 to 9).

This is because Montessori argued that there are sensitive periods in which children have a greater facility to acquire some or other types of skills and knowledge. Thus, in early childhood it is important to develop language or the senses, while abstract thinking is encouraged especially after age 6.

6. Collaborative learning and play

Since students are free to choose how they are educated, they will very often decide to collaborate with their peers. This allows peer tutoring , is especially relevant in relation to the game (which fulfills important functions in sociocultural development) and must be promoted by the teaching staff.

  • Related article: "30 interesting games to learn to read"

7. Classes without interruptions

Another of the most characteristic features of the Montessori method is the presence of classes of 3 hours uninterrupted. Since they are based mainly on self-direction on the part of students, they should be much less bored than in traditional teaching; what is sought is to favor the achievement of a state of concentration that enhances learning.

8. Teacher as a guide and supervisor

In the Montessori method the teacher guides the learning of the students avoiding hindering their process of self-education . Thus, their roles are related to the preparation of the academic environment, the observation of children to promote individualized learning, the introduction of new educational materials or the provision of information.


8 Principles of Montessori (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Méthode Montessori: ses 8 principes pédagogiques

Méthode Montessori: ses 8 principes pédagogiques

Décembre 9, 2021

La méthode pédagogique Montessori, mise au point au début du XXe siècle pour les enfants et les préadolescents, a été popularisée et largement étendue depuis son apparition.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les 8 principes fondamentaux de la méthode Montessori , parmi lesquels on peut souligner l’environnement préparé et l’auto-éducation.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 9 meilleurs maîtres en éducation"

Quelle est la méthode Montessori?

Maria Montessori (1870-1952) était une médecin et éducatrice italienne. Son travail, principalement axé sur la philosophie de l'éducation et de la pédagogie, constitue un antécédent du constructivisme et continue d'exercer une forte influence aujourd'hui.


La méthode pédagogique proposée par Montessori insiste sur la nécessité de favoriser le développement naturel des aptitudes des élèves par l'autodétermination, l'exploration, la découverte, la pratique, la collaboration, le jeu, une concentration profonde, l'imagination ou la communication.

Cette philosophie pédagogique s’éloigne nettement des méthodes pédagogiques traditionnelles depuis est basé sur la spontanéité et le choix des étudiants au lieu de systèmes rigides et basé sur le respect de certains critères d'évaluation académique. Pour Montessori, le respect et la promotion de l'indépendance de l'enfant sont essentiels.

À son tour, la proposition de Montessori est considérée comme un modèle théorique du développement humain. En ce sens, nous devons encadrer les principes de la section suivante dans les postulats centraux de sa théorie: nous nous construisons psychologiquement par interaction avec l'environnement et nous avons une tendance innée au développement personnel.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "La pédagogie Waldorf: ses clés pédagogiques et ses fondements philosophiques"

Principes éducatifs fondamentaux

Bien que la méthode Montessori ait été appliquée de différentes manières en raison de sa popularité, il est possible de trouver au moins 8 principes fondamentaux de ce style pédagogique basés sur le travail de Montessori lui-même et sur les développements populaires ultérieurs.

1. Apprendre par la découverte

La philosophie éducative de Montessori a un caractère nettement constructiviste. Il est entendu que les gens en général nous apprenons mieux par contact direct, pratique et découverte que par l'instruction directe. Cependant, certaines matières, notamment à partir de 6 ans, nécessitent des master classes spécifiques.

2. Préparation de l'environnement éducatif

Dans la méthode Montessori, un "environnement préparé" est utilisé; cela signifie qu'il est destiné à être adapté aux besoins des étudiants en fonction de leur âge. Il doit également encourager le mouvement et la réalisation d'activités, être propre et ordonné, être esthétiquement attrayant et avoir éléments naturels tels que les plantes à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de la classe .


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les différences entre un psychologue et un psychologue de l'éducation"

3. Utilisation de matériaux spécifiques

L'un des composants les plus importants de l'environnement de Monte Montessori est l'inclusion de certains matériaux développés par Montessori elle-même et ses collaborateurs. Il est préférable d'utiliser des matériaux naturels, tels que le bois, plutôt que d'autres, plus artificiels.

4. Choix personnel de l'étudiant

Bien que l’environnement préparé limite l’éventail des activités auxquelles les élèves peuvent accéder, il reste toutefois supérieur à celui de l’enseignement traditionnel et pendant la majeure partie du temps de classe. vous êtes libre de choisir n'importe quel matériel, jeu ou contenu éducatif parmi ceux disponibles dans la salle de classe.

Montessori a parlé d '"auto-éducation" pour parler de la participation active des étudiants à leur propre apprentissage. En ce sens, le rôle des enseignants est davantage lié à la préparation, à la supervision et à l’aide, comme nous le verrons plus tard.

5. Salles de classe pour groupes d'âge

Un aspect très important de la méthode Montessori est le fait qu'il est recommandé que les salles de classe contiennent un nombre élevé d'élèves et qu'ils ont des âges différents, bien que ils sont divisés en groupes d'âge en raison des spécificités du développement à chaque période. Généralement, la séparation est effectuée par groupes de 3 ans (par exemple de 6 à 9 ans).

En effet, Montessori a fait valoir qu'il existe des périodes sensibles pendant lesquelles les enfants ont plus de facilité à acquérir certains types de compétences et de connaissances. Ainsi, dans la petite enfance, il est important de développer le langage ou les sens, tandis que la pensée abstraite est encouragée, en particulier après l'âge de 6 ans.

6. Apprentissage collaboratif et jeu

Étant donné que les étudiants sont libres de choisir leur formation, ils décident très souvent de collaborer avec leurs pairs. Cela permet au tutorat entre pairs , est particulièrement pertinent par rapport au jeu (qui remplit des fonctions importantes dans le développement socioculturel) et doit être promu par le personnel enseignant.

  • Article connexe: "30 jeux intéressants pour apprendre à lire"

7. Cours sans interruption

Une autre des caractéristiques les plus caractéristiques de la méthode Montessori est la présence de classes de 3 heures ininterrompues. Étant donné qu'ils reposent principalement sur l'autodétermination des étudiants, ils devraient s'ennuyer beaucoup moins que dans l'enseignement traditionnel; ce qui est recherché est de favoriser la réalisation d'un état de concentration qui améliore l'apprentissage.

8. Enseignant en tant que guide et superviseur

Dans la méthode Montessori l'enseignant guide l'apprentissage des élèves en évitant d'entraver leur processus d'auto-éducation . Ainsi, leurs rôles sont liés à la préparation de l'environnement universitaire, à l'observation des enfants pour promouvoir un apprentissage individualisé, à l'introduction de nouveaux matériels pédagogiques ou à la fourniture d'informations.


La Pédagogie de Maria Montessori expliquée en 3 minutes (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes