yes, therapy helps!
Moral relativism: definition and philosophical principles

Moral relativism: definition and philosophical principles

January 5, 2023

A lot of Hollywood movies, superhero comics and fantasy novels talk about good and evil as if they were two clearly differentiated things and that they exist as they are in all parts of the world.

However, the reality is much more complex than that: the boundaries between what is right and what is not right are often confusing . How to know, then, what is the criterion to know what is correct? Giving an answer to this question is already complicated in itself, but it is even more so when something that is known as moral relativism comes into play.

What is moral relativism?

What we call moral relativism is an ethical theory according to which there is no universal way of knowing what is good and what is not . That means that from the perspective of moral relativism there are different moral systems that are equivalent, that is, equally valid or not valid.


You can not judge a moral system from an external point of view because there is no universal moral (that is, that is valid regardless of the situation, place or time).

Examples in the history of philosophy

Moral relativism has been expressed in very diverse ways throughout history. These are some examples.

The sophists

One of the best known cases of moral relativism is found in the Sophists of Ancient Greece. This group of philosophers understood that you can not know any objective truth and you can not find a universally valid code of ethics .

Bearing that in mind, it is not surprising that they used their discursive ability and ease of thought to defend one or other ideas depending on who paid them. Philosophy was understood as a game of rhetoric, a set of strategies to convince others.


This attitude and philosophical position made the sophists win the contempt of great thinkers such as Socrates or Plato, who considered the relativism of the sophists was a kind of mercenary trade of the intelligentsia.

Friedrich Nietzsche

Nietzsche was not characterized by defending moral relativism, but he did denied the existence of a universal moral system valid for all .

In fact, he pointed out that the origin of morality is in religion, that is, in a collective invention to imagine something that is above nature. If we discard that there is something above the functioning of the cosmos, that is, if faith disappears, morality also disappears, because there is no vector that indicates the direction our actions should take.

The postmoderns

Postmodern philosophers point out that there is no separation between what we would call "objective facts" and the way in which we interpret them, which means that they reject the idea of ​​an objective order both when describing reality and at the time of establish a moral code. That's why they point out that every conception of good and evil is simply a paradigm as valid as any other , which is a sample of moral relativism.


The facets of moral relativism

This system of beliefs based on the relative are expressed through three aspects.

Description

The moral relativism can be limited to pointing out a situation: that there are several groups with moral systems that contradict and that collide head-on.

Metaethic position

Starting from moral relativism, one can get to affirm something that goes beyond the description of these moral systems opposed to each other: that there is nothing above them, and that for that reason no moral position can be objective.

Normative position

This position is characterized by establishing a norm: all moral systems must be tolerated. Ironically, a norm is used to try to prevent behaviors from being regulated, which is why it is often criticized that there are many contradictions in this system.


Metaethics: Crash Course Philosophy #32 (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le relativisme moral: définition et principes philosophiques

Le relativisme moral: définition et principes philosophiques

Septembre 18, 2019

Beaucoup de films hollywoodiens, de bandes dessinées de super-héros et de romans fantastiques parlent du bien et du mal comme s’il s’agissait de deux choses clairement différenciées et qu’elles existent comme elles le sont dans le monde entier.

Cependant, la réalité est beaucoup plus complexe que cela: les frontières entre ce qui est juste et ce qui ne l'est pas sont souvent source de confusion . Comment savoir, alors, quel est le critère pour savoir ce qui est correct? Donner une réponse à cette question est déjà compliqué en lui-même, mais il l'est encore plus lorsque l'on parle de relativisme moral.

Qu'est-ce que le relativisme moral?

Ce que nous appelons le relativisme moral est une théorie éthique selon laquelle il n'y a pas de moyen universel de savoir ce qui est bon et ce qui ne l'est pas . Cela signifie que, du point de vue du relativisme moral, différents systèmes moraux sont équivalents, c’est-à-dire qu’ils soient également valables ou non.


Vous ne pouvez pas juger un système moral d'un point de vue externe car il n'y a pas de morale universelle (c'est-à-dire valable quelle que soit la situation, le lieu ou l'heure).

Exemples dans l'histoire de la philosophie

Le relativisme moral a été exprimé de manières très diverses au cours de l'histoire. Voici quelques exemples.

Les sophistes

L'un des cas les plus connus de relativisme moral se trouve chez les sophistes de la Grèce antique. Ce groupe de philosophes a compris que vous ne pouvez connaître aucune vérité objective et vous ne pouvez pas trouver un code d'éthique valable universellement .

Gardant cela à l’esprit, il n’est pas surprenant qu’ils aient utilisé leur capacité discursive et leur facilité de réflexion pour défendre l’une ou l’autre des idées, en fonction de la personne qui les payait. La philosophie a été comprise comme un jeu de rhétorique, un ensemble de stratégies pour convaincre les autres.


Cette attitude et cette position philosophique ont fait gagner aux sophistes le mépris de grands penseurs tels que Socrates ou Platon, qui considéraient que le relativisme des sophistes était une sorte de commerce mercenaire de l'intelligentsia.

Friedrich Nietzsche

Nietzsche n'était pas caractérisé par la défense du relativisme moral, mais il l'a fait. nié l'existence d'un système moral universel valable pour tous .

En fait, il a souligné que l'origine de la moralité est dans la religion, c'est-à-dire dans une invention collective pour imaginer quelque chose qui dépasse la nature. Si nous écartons qu'il y a quelque chose au-dessus du fonctionnement du cosmos, c'est-à-dire que si la foi disparaît, la moralité disparaît également, car aucun vecteur n'indique la direction que nos actions devraient prendre.

Les postmodernes

Les philosophes postmodernes soulignent qu'il n'y a pas de séparation entre ce que nous appellerions des "faits objectifs" et la manière dont nous les interprétons, ce qui signifie qu'ils rejettent l'idée d'un ordre objectif à la fois pour décrire la réalité et au moment de établir un code moral. C'est pourquoi ils soulignent que chaque conception du bien et du mal est simplement un paradigme aussi valable que n'importe quel autre , qui est un échantillon de relativisme moral.


Les facettes du relativisme moral

Ce système de croyances basé sur le relatif s'exprime à travers trois aspects.

Description

Le relativisme moral peut se limiter à souligner une situation: il existe plusieurs groupes avec des systèmes moraux qui se contredisent et qui se heurtent de front.

Position métaethic

À partir du relativisme moral, on peut affirmer quelque chose qui va au-delà de la description de ces systèmes moraux opposés: qu’il n’y a rien qui les dépasse, et que, pour cette raison, aucune position morale ne peut être objective.

Position normative

Cette position se caractérise par l’établissement d’une norme: tous les systèmes moraux doivent être tolérés. Ironiquement, on utilise une norme pour empêcher la réglementation des comportements, raison pour laquelle il est souvent reproché aux nombreuses contradictions de ce système.


À CHACUN SA MORALE ? | Relativisme vs. réalisme | Grain de philo #12 (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes