yes, therapy helps!
Morphine: characteristics and effects in the short and long term

Morphine: characteristics and effects in the short and long term

November 27, 2021

Whether it has been administered to us by a general culture or because we have read or seen it on some occasion, most of the population knows what morphine is. This substance derived from opiates It produces a deep anesthesia at the same time that it usually generates pleasurable sensations. However, most people usually have a vague and general idea of ​​its effects.

In this article they are going to present the effects of morphine, both short and long term .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Marijuana: science reveals its effects on the brain in the long term"

Morphine as a psychoactive substance

Morphine is a psychoactive substance derived from the opium plant or opium poppy . This drug is like the rest of the opium derivatives a powerful depressant agent of the nervous system, forming part of the group of psycholeptic substances.


In this way, morphine has effects that mainly they are associated with decreased brain activity and that cause a powerful relaxing, analgesic and narcotic effect. In fact its own name evokes these effects, since it comes from the Greek figure of Morpheus.

In addition, apart from this narcotic effect it also causes pleasurable sensations, such as the feeling of being floating and a certain euphoria .

  • Related article: "Profile of the dependent person, in 9 traits and habits"

Its use

The use of morphine It is very widespread at the medical level as an anesthetic and analgesic when it comes to fighting the pain of some surgeries or diseases such as cancer.


It has also been used occasionally to treat addiction and withdrawal syndrome to heroin, a drug derived from morphine. However, there is a risk of acquire dependency and addiction to this substance, so its use must be very regulated.

On the other hand, in some cases it has come to be used recreationally. Consumption is usually through an intravenous line , although there are presentations in the form of ingestible tablets.

You have to bear in mind that your consumption can generate powerful side effects that can even endanger the life of the subjects if the dose is not adequately controlled.

Mechanism of action

Morphine, like most opiate derivatives, has its action in the body due to its interaction with the endogenous opioid receptors present in our organism, of which it is agonist.


In the same way it causes an effect in the synthesis and transmission of noradrenaline, producing a lower transmission of this substance.

Effects of morphine in the short term

The short-term effects of morphine are many and varied, being generally the reason why they are applied both at a medical level and in other situations. However, side effects or harmful effects can also be generated if the dose is excessive. Some of them are the following.

1. Analgesia

Morphine It is one of the most powerful analgesics that are known , causing the absence of pain perception in most cases. The pain caused by cancers, injuries, heart attacks or surgeries can be treated medically with morphine or some derivative of it.

2. Sedation

Another of the main effects of morphine is sedation, which can range from mild relaxation to drowsiness excessive and prolonged. In fact, such is its power in this sense that excessive administration could cause the patient's coma.

3. Initial euphoria

Opium derivatives, such as morphine, initially generate a high level of euphoria and later cause sensations of relaxation and drowsiness.

4. Gastrointestinal and digestive tract disorders

It is not strange that people who consume morphine have gastrointestinal discomfort, as well as constipation, dry mouth, nausea and vomiting .

5. Effects on the muscles: feeling of heaviness, heat or stiffness

It is common for one of the effects of morphine to be the sensation of heaviness in the muscles of the extremities. But nevertheless when the doses are high , morphine can cause high rigidity in the abdominal and thoracic muscles, as well as in other muscle groups.

6. Effects on the respiratory system

As we have said, morphine causes a depression of the nervous system which generates the analgesia and sedation described above. One of the nuclei that reduces its activity is that linked to respiration, which it becomes slower and shallower .

It can also cause a depression of cardiorespiratory function that can lead to the death of the consumer if the dose used is not controlled.

7. Reduce blood pressure

Another effect of morphine occurs at the level of blood pressure, which reduces by reducing the performance of the autonomic nervous system. As well can cause bradycardia or arrhythmias .

  • Related article: "Types of arrhythmias: symptoms, causes and severity"

8. Pupillary miosis

As with heroin, morphine usually causes alterations such as miosis or contraction of the pupils.

9. Hallucinations

Sometimes the consumption of morphine produces the perception of elements that do not find a correlate in the real world.

However, outside of hospital contexts in which the dose is being controlled this effect usually indicates the presence of serious poisoning .

10. Seizures

Sometimes, and especially in case of overdose, they can be generated reactions in the form of agitation, tremor and even convulsions uncontrolled

Long-term effects

Generally the use of morphine occurs in specific and controlled contexts in which a large number of doses are not used, or is used as a palliative element in terminal patients. In these cases, the existence of serious long-term effects is not usually considered.

However, sometimes the consumption of morphine has to be prolonged for some time, or the user uses it frequently, regardless of the professional indications. In these cases, in addition to the possible short-term effects, those that have accumulated consumption over time should be added, being the main risk the acquisition of tolerance and dependence to the substance. In this aspect we can consider the following effects.

1. Dependence

One of the possible effects of morphine in the long term if there is a more or less frequent consumption, as with the rest of opiates, is the acquisition of dependence towards it. Morphine is a substance with a high addictive potential , like heroin, which can cause serious consequences both mental and behavioral.

2. Cognitive and impulse control effects

One of the long-term effects of morphine in those cases in which prolonged and continuous use is made and dependence occurs is to cause alterations such as Decreased judgment, dysphoria and decreased impulse control .

3. Severe constipation

One of the effects of morphine is the presence of intestinal discomfort and difficulties in excretion. In the long term, severe constipation can occur for the habitual consumer.

4. Social problems and risk behaviors

The dependence and abstinence of this substance or other types of opiates can generate impulsive and antisocial behaviors, which can come from the disconnection and loss of relationships even the commission of robberies or even blood crimes in order to obtain resources to get a dose.

Risk behaviors can also be carried out the sharing of syringes among dependent people, which can cause the spread of diseases such as HIV and hepatitis.

5. Withdrawal syndrome

The cessation of consumption in dependent consumers, if carried out abruptly, can generate serious effects on health. At the physiological level it usually produces dysphoria or emotional distress, anxiety, craving or desire for consumption, vomiting and diarrhea, pain, mydriasis or pupillary dilation, insomnia, fever and even convulsions.

  • Related article: "Craving: causes and symptoms of the desire for substance use"

Alterations in pregnant and lactating

Morphine can be transmitted through blood or breast milk, so it should not be used in pregnant or lactating women. It can generate dependence on the offspring, which in addition to the possible short-term effects can have serious repercussions for the development of the baby .

Bibliographic references:

  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

9 Signs Someone You Love is Addicted to Opioids (Pain Medications) (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Morphine: caractéristiques et effets à court et long terme

Morphine: caractéristiques et effets à court et long terme

Décembre 7, 2022

Qu'il nous ait été administré par une culture générale ou que nous l'ayons lu ou vu à une certaine occasion, la plupart de la population sait ce qu'est la morphine. Cette substance dérivée d'opiacés Il produit une anesthésie profonde tout en générant habituellement des sensations agréables. Cependant, la plupart des gens ont généralement une idée vague et générale de ses effets.

Dans cet article, ils vont présenter les effets de la morphine, à court et à long terme .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Marijuana: la science révèle ses effets sur le cerveau à long terme"

Morphine en tant que substance psychoactive

La morphine est une substance psychoactive dérivée de la plante ou du pavot à opium . Ce médicament est, comme le reste des dérivés de l'opium, un puissant agent dépresseur du système nerveux faisant partie du groupe des substances psycholeptiques.


De cette manière, la morphine a des effets principalement ils sont associés à une activité cérébrale réduite et qui provoquent un puissant effet relaxant, analgésique et narcotique. En fait, son propre nom évoque ces effets puisqu'il provient de la figure grecque de Morphée.

En outre, outre cet effet narcotique, il provoque également des sensations agréables, telles que le sentiment de flotter et une certaine euphorie .

  • Article connexe: "Profil de la personne dépendante, en 9 traits et habitudes"

Son utilisation

L'utilisation de la morphine Il est très répandu au niveau médical en tant qu'anesthésique et analgésique quand il s'agit de lutter contre la douleur de certaines chirurgies ou de maladies comme le cancer.


Il a également été utilisé occasionnellement pour traiter la dépendance et le syndrome de sevrage à l'héroïne, un médicament dérivé de la morphine. Cependant, il existe un risque de acquérir la dépendance et la dépendance à cette substance, son utilisation doit donc être très réglementée.

D'autre part, dans certains cas, il a été utilisé pour les loisirs. La consommation se fait généralement par voie intraveineuse , bien qu'il existe des présentations sous la forme de comprimés ingérables.

Vous devez garder à l'esprit que votre consommation peut générer des effets secondaires puissants cela peut même mettre en danger la vie des sujets si la dose n'est pas suffisamment contrôlée.

Mécanisme d'action

La morphine, comme la plupart des dérivés opiacés, a son action dans le corps en raison de son interaction avec les récepteurs opioïdes endogènes présent dans notre organisme, dont il est agoniste.


De la même manière, il provoque un effet sur la synthèse et la transmission de la noradrénaline, produisant une transmission plus faible de cette substance.

Effets de la morphine à court terme

Les effets à court terme de la morphine sont nombreux et variés, ce qui explique généralement leur application à la fois au niveau médical et dans d’autres situations. Cependant, des effets secondaires ou des effets nocifs peuvent également être générés si la dose est excessive. Certains d'entre eux sont les suivants.

1. Analgésie

La morphine C'est l'un des analgésiques les plus puissants connus , causant l'absence de perception de la douleur dans la plupart des cas. Les douleurs causées par les cancers, les blessures, les crises cardiaques ou les chirurgies peuvent être traitées médicalement avec de la morphine ou un dérivé de celle-ci.

2. la sédation

Un autre des effets principaux de la morphine est la sédation, qui peut aller de la relaxation légère à la somnolence excessif et prolongé. En fait, son pouvoir est tel qu'une administration excessive pourrait causer le coma du patient.

3. euphorie initiale

Les dérivés de l'opium, tels que la morphine, génèrent initialement un niveau élevé d'euphorie, puis provoquent des sensations de relaxation et de somnolence.

4. Troubles gastro-intestinaux et digestifs

Il n’est pas étonnant que les consommateurs de morphine souffrent d’inconfort gastro-intestinal, ainsi que la constipation, la bouche sèche, les nausées et les vomissements .

5. Effets sur les muscles: sensation de lourdeur, de chaleur ou de raideur

Il est fréquent que l'un des effets de la morphine soit la sensation de lourdeur dans les muscles des extrémités. Cependant quand les doses sont élevées , la morphine peut causer une grande rigidité dans les muscles abdominaux et thoraciques, ainsi que dans d’autres groupes musculaires.

6. Effets sur le système respiratoire

Comme nous l'avons dit, la morphine provoque une dépression du système nerveux qui génère l'analgésie et la sédation décrites ci-dessus. L’un des noyaux qui réduit son activité est celui lié à la respiration, qui il devient plus lent et moins profond .

Il peut également provoquer une dépression de la fonction cardiorespiratoire pouvant entraîner la mort du consommateur si la dose utilisée n'est pas contrôlée.

7. réduire la pression artérielle

Un autre effet de la morphine se produit au niveau de la pression artérielle, ce qui diminue en diminuant les performances du système nerveux autonome. Aussi peut causer une bradycardie ou une arythmie .

  • Article connexe: "Types d'arythmie: symptômes, causes et gravité"

8. Myosis pupillaire

Comme avec l'héroïne, la morphine provoque généralement des altérations telles que le myosis ou la contraction des pupilles.

9. hallucinations

Parfois, la consommation de morphine produit la perception d'éléments qui ne trouvent pas de corrélat dans le monde réel.

Cependant, en dehors des contextes hospitaliers dans lesquels la dose est contrôlée, cet effet indique généralement la présence d'une intoxication grave .

10. Saisies

Parfois, et surtout en cas de surdosage, ils peuvent être générés réactions sous forme d'agitation, de tremblements et même de convulsions incontrôlé

Effets à long terme

Généralement, l'utilisation de la morphine se produit dans des contextes spécifiques et contrôlés dans lesquels un grand nombre de doses n'est pas utilisé, ou est utilisée comme élément palliatif chez les patients en phase terminale. Dans ces cas, l’existence d’effets graves à long terme n’est généralement pas prise en compte.

Cependant, la consommation de morphine doit parfois être prolongée pendant un certain temps, ou l'utilisateur l'utilise fréquemment, quelles que soient les indications professionnelles. Dans ces cas, en plus des effets possibles à court terme, il convient d’ajouter ceux qui ont accumulé la consommation au fil du temps, étant le risque principal l'acquisition de la tolérance et de la dépendance à la substance. Dans cet aspect, nous pouvons considérer les effets suivants.

1. dépendance

L’un des effets possibles à long terme de la morphine en cas de consommation plus ou moins fréquente, comme pour le reste des opiacés, est l’acquisition de la dépendance à son égard. La morphine est une substance à fort potentiel de dépendance , comme l’héroïne, qui peut avoir de graves conséquences tant sur le plan mental que comportemental

2. Effets cognitifs et de contrôle des impulsions

L’un des effets à long terme de la morphine dans les cas d’utilisation prolongée et continue et de dépendance entraîne des modifications telles que: Diminution du jugement, dysphorie et diminution du contrôle des impulsions .

3. constipation sévère

L'un des effets de la morphine est la présence d'une gêne intestinale et de difficultés d'excrétion. À long terme, une constipation grave peut survenir chez le consommateur habituel.

4. Problèmes sociaux et comportements à risque

La dépendance et l’abstinence de cette substance ou d’autres types d’opiacés peuvent générer des comportements impulsifs et antisociaux, qui peuvent provenir de la déconnexion et perte de relations même la commission de vols ou même de crimes de sang afin d'obtenir des ressources pour obtenir une dose.

Les comportements à risque peuvent également être effectués le partage de seringues parmi les personnes dépendantes, ce qui peut provoquer la propagation de maladies telles que le VIH et l'hépatite.

5. syndrome de sevrage

La cessation de la consommation chez les consommateurs dépendants, si elle est effectuée brusquement, peut avoir des effets graves sur la santé. Au niveau physiologique, il produit habituellement une dysphorie ou une détresse émotionnelle, une anxiété, un besoin impérieux de manger, des vomissements et une diarrhée, une douleur, une mydriase ou une dilatation pupillaire, une insomnie, une fièvre et même des convulsions.

  • Article connexe: "Craving: causes et symptômes du désir de consommer de la drogue"

Altérations chez les femmes enceintes et allaitantes

La morphine pouvant être transmise par le sang ou le lait maternel, elle ne doit pas être utilisée chez la femme enceinte ou allaitante. Elle peut générer une dépendance vis-à-vis de la progéniture, ce qui, outre les éventuels effets à court terme, peut graves répercussions sur le développement du bébé .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

Potentiel d'action (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes