yes, therapy helps!
Motion sickness (motion sickness): causes and remedies

Motion sickness (motion sickness): causes and remedies

January 22, 2022

In series and movies, or directly in real life, it is common to see how before a boat trip many people get dizzy and end up throwing up overboard.

It is also not uncommon to think of someone who gets dizzy on a car trip and needs to take some type of medicine or gum against seasickness. In both cases, we are facing an annoying problem called Motion sickness or motion sickness .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Asthenia spring: causes, symptoms and remedies to combat it"

What is motion sickness?

Motion sickness, kinetic dizziness or motion sickness is a state of discomfort in the presence of movements acceleration or deceleration.


It is a very frequent phenomenon and that under certain conditions can appear in most of the population, not being something worrying or indicative of a serious problem. However, it is usually more frequent in women than in men, as well as in the population ranging from two to twenty years of age.

Symptoms of motion sickness

Motion sickness is characterized by the presence of Gastric changes such as nausea and vomiting along with sweating, hyperventilation, low tension, headache and feeling of daze and anguish. Afterwards, a great fatigue usually follows.

The discomfort typical of motion sickness usually occurs in situations in which we are moving in a vehicle. Although our body remains still inside it, it is in a constant movement that provokes a contradiction between our balance and our vision . It usually appears when we make a trip by car or boat (it also appears on planes and trains).


curiously it does not usually appear in transport methods like the subway , probably because the perception of external objects is much more limited when circumscribed to the tunnel in question. The presence of motion sickness in virtual reality environments has also been observed, because what we see and our position and balance are not coordinated.

Why is it produced?

Motion sickness is produced mainly by the presence of a mismatch between vestibular information from the inner and visual ear. While the first (which informs us of the position of the body with respect to the ground and allows us to maintain balance) detects that our body is immobile, our visual system reflects the opposite when observing that the environment moves at a great speed. This is especially visible when we try to read or fix the sight in something immobile in a vehicle whose movement is perceptible, at which time the discomfort may appear or accentuate.


Also, aspects such as the emotional state of the subject and the absence of good ventilation (Anyone who suffers from motion sickness or knows someone who does is often faced with the need to open the windows to circulate the air) can influence the presence or intensity of symptoms.

And how do we prevent it?

Motion sickness is a problem that It can be annoying when we should travel or transport us from one place to another in some type of vehicle. Concrete symptoms are difficult to treat once they have started, but they can be prevented by following different strategies.

1. Position

First, the position that we occupy in the vehicle It actively influences the suffering of the symptoms. The person who drives or those who take positions that allow us to focus attention on a fixed point where we do not perceive movement usually do not suffer from the effects of motion sickness. The same occurs when traveling in the direction of the direction of travel (see objects moving away from the tide more than the opposite), and when the subject is placed in the areas with the least amount of movement of the vehicle.

2. Ventilation

Ventilation is, as we have said, a relevant aspect. The perception of unpleasant odors it adds to the contradiction between vision and balance, generating a greater discomfort and gastrointestinal movement. Therefore, one way to prevent it is to place ourselves in an area with constant ventilation. Smoking can also be harmful, so it is recommended not to do it before or during the trip.

3. Ingestion and consumption of alcohol

Another aspect to prevent is excessive intake. It is recommended eat and drink in small quantities if then we are going to make a trip. However, eating too much or not eating can be harmful and cause a greater level of discomfort in the subject. The consumption of alcohol also aggravates the discomfort

4. Medication

Chew gum or consume anti-kinetic drugs such as the well-known Biodramina Before the trip, it is usually effective, although in the case of drugs, special caution must be taken since they tend to cause hypnotic-sedative effects that can alter perception and reflexes, so they should not be taken if driving.

5. Rest

Sleeping during the trip can be a strategy to avoid noticing the effects of motion sickness. And although we do not sleep it is advisable to close your eyes . Likewise, it is recommended to have rested correctly before starting the trip.

6. Vehicle control

The type of movements the vehicle makes is also important. Curves and sudden changes in direction or speed they can generate a higher level of discomfort or initiate symptoms, so that they could try to avoid themselves as much as possible.

7. Activities

Activities that fix the gaze on a specific element while noticing the movement of objects on the outside are contraindicated. For example, reading, sending text messages or watching TV or videos from your mobile phone can generate kinetic dizziness.

8. Habituation

In some cases in which people must by their profession submit to large accelerations that can cause dizziness It is very useful to perform tasks that allow habituation to these conditions.


Motion Sickness Treatment | How To Stop Motion Sickness (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Mal des transports (mal des transports): causes et remèdes

Mal des transports (mal des transports): causes et remèdes

Février 24, 2020

Dans les séries et les films, ou directement dans la vie réelle, il est courant de voir comment, avant un voyage en bateau, de nombreuses personnes sont étourdies et finissent par jeter par-dessus bord.

Il n’est pas rare non plus de penser à une personne qui a la tête qui tourne en voiture et qui doit prendre un médicament ou une gomme contre le mal de mer. Dans les deux cas, nous sommes confrontés à un problème agaçant appelé Mal des transports ou mal des transports .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le printemps de l'asthénie: causes, symptômes et remèdes pour le combattre"

Qu'est-ce que le mal des transports?

Le mal des transports, le vertige cinétique ou le mal des transports est un état d'inconfort en présence de mouvements accélération ou décélération.


Il s’agit d’un phénomène très fréquent qui, dans certaines conditions, peut apparaître dans la majorité de la population sans être préoccupant ni indiquer un problème grave. Cependant, il est généralement plus fréquent chez les femmes que chez les hommes, ainsi que dans la population âgée de deux à vingt ans.

Symptômes du mal des transports

Le mal des transports est caractérisé par la présence de Changements gastriques tels que nausées et vomissements avec transpiration, hyperventilation, basse tension, maux de tête et sensation d'étourdissement et d'angoisse. Ensuite, une grande fatigue s'ensuit.

L'inconfort typique du mal des transports survient généralement lorsque nous nous déplaçons dans un véhicule. Bien que notre corps reste toujours à l’intérieur, c’est dans un mouvement constant qui provoque une contradiction entre notre équilibre et notre vision . Il apparaît généralement lorsque nous faisons un voyage en voiture ou en bateau (il apparaît également dans les avions et les trains).


Intéressant il n'apparaît généralement pas dans les moyens de transport comme le métro , probablement parce que la perception d’objets extérieurs est beaucoup plus limitée lorsqu’elle est circonscrite au tunnel en question. La présence du mal des transports dans les environnements de réalité virtuelle a également été observée, car ce que nous voyons, notre position et notre équilibre ne sont pas coordonnés.

Pourquoi est-il produit?

Le mal des transports est principalement dû à la présence d'un décalage entre les informations vestibulaires de l'oreille interne et visuelle. Alors que le premier (qui nous informe de la position du corps par rapport au sol et nous permet de maintenir l’équilibre) détecte que notre corps est immobile, notre système visuel reflète le contraire en observant que l'environnement se déplace à grande vitesse. Ceci est particulièrement visible lorsque nous essayons de lire ou de fixer le regard dans quelque chose d'immobile dans un véhicule dont le mouvement est perceptible, moment auquel l'inconfort peut apparaître ou s'accentuer.


En outre, des aspects tels que l'état émotionnel du sujet et l'absence de bonne ventilation (Toute personne qui souffre du mal des transports ou qui connaît quelqu'un qui en souffre est souvent confrontée à la nécessité d'ouvrir les fenêtres pour faire circuler l'air) peut influer sur la présence ou l'intensité des symptômes.

Et comment l'évitons-nous?

Le mal des transports est un problème qui Cela peut être agaçant quand on devrait voyager ou nous transporter d'un endroit à un autre dans un type de véhicule. Les symptômes concrets sont difficiles à traiter une fois qu'ils ont commencé, mais ils peuvent être évités en suivant différentes stratégies.

1. Position

En premier lieu, la position que nous occupons dans le véhicule Il influence activement la souffrance des symptômes. Les personnes qui conduisent ou qui prennent des positions nous permettant de focaliser notre attention sur un point précis où nous ne percevons pas de mouvement ne souffrent généralement pas des effets du mal des transports. Il en va de même lorsque vous vous déplacez dans le sens de la marche (voir les objets s'éloignant plus de la marée que le contraire) et lorsque le sujet est placé dans les zones où le véhicule se déplace le moins possible.

2. ventilation

La ventilation est, comme nous l'avons dit, un aspect pertinent. La perception des odeurs désagréables il ajoute à la contradiction entre vision et équilibre, générant un plus grand inconfort et des mouvements gastro-intestinaux. Par conséquent, une façon de l’empêcher est de nous placer dans une zone de ventilation constante. Fumer peut aussi être nocif, il est donc recommandé de ne pas le faire avant ou pendant le voyage.

3. Ingestion et consommation d'alcool

Un autre aspect à prévenir est la consommation excessive. Il est recommandé manger et boire en petite quantité si alors nous allons faire un voyage. Cependant, manger trop ou ne pas manger peut être nocif et causer un plus grand inconfort au sujet. La consommation d'alcool aggrave également le malaise

4. médicaments

Mâcher de la gomme ou consommer médicaments anti-cinétiques tels que le bien connu Biodramina Avant le voyage, il est généralement efficace, bien que dans le cas de médicaments, des précautions particulières doivent être prises, car ils ont tendance à provoquer des effets hypnotiques-sédatifs pouvant altérer la perception et les réflexes. Ils ne doivent donc pas être pris au volant.

5. repos

Dormir pendant le voyage peut être une stratégie pour éviter de remarquer les effets du mal des transports. Et bien que nous ne dormions pas il est conseillé de fermer les yeux . De même, il est recommandé de se reposer correctement avant de commencer le voyage.

6. Contrôle du véhicule

Le type de mouvements effectués par le véhicule est également important. Courbes et changements soudains de direction ou de vitesse ils peuvent générer un niveau d'inconfort plus élevé ou déclencher des symptômes, de sorte qu'ils puissent essayer de s'éviter autant que possible.

7. activités

Les activités qui fixent le regard sur un élément spécifique tout en remarquant le mouvement d'objets à l'extérieur sont contre-indiquées. Par exemple, lire, envoyer des SMS ou regarder la télévision ou des vidéos depuis votre téléphone portable peut générer des vertiges cinétiques.

8. Habituation

Dans certains cas où des personnes doivent, par leur profession, se soumettre à grandes accélérations pouvant causer des vertiges Il est très utile d’effectuer des tâches qui permettent de s’habituer à ces conditions.


Un remède simple et rapide contre le mal du transport (+ conseils) (Février 2020).


Articles Connexes