yes, therapy helps!
Moyamoya disease: symptoms, causes and treatment

Moyamoya disease: symptoms, causes and treatment

May 2, 2024

Our brain is a fundamental part of the organism , since it regulates the functioning and coordination of most of the body and allows us to be who we are: it controls from the vital signs to the higher processes such as reasoning or motivation, passing among others by perception and motor skills.

But even though it may be our most important organ, it could not work and it would even die in a short time if it did not receive a constant supply of oxygen and nutrients. These come to him through the cerebrovascular system, being the neurons irrigated by different blood vessels.

However, sometimes these vessels can suffer injuries or be affected by diseases that can cause blood to flood part of the brain or not reach the places where it should, which can have very relevant health effects. Among these problems we can find Moyamoya's disease , of which we will see the main characteristics throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Acquired brain damage: its 3 main causes"

The disease of Moyamoya

It receives the name of Moyamoya disease to a rare but dangerous alteration of cerebrovascular type , characterized by an occlusion or progressive stenosis of the internal carotids (usually occurs in both at the same time) and its main branches in their terminal parts of the inside of the skull.

This narrowing in turn provokes the formation and strengthening of an extensive secondary network of smaller vessels that allow the blood to continue to arrive, forming a circuit whose form in neuroimaging is reminiscent of the smoke of a cigarette (This is what the term Moyamoya refers to, which in Japanese refers to smoke).


Although in many cases it can remain silent and asymptomatic, the fact is that since there is progression of the narrowing of the carotid artery, it causes the blood that reaches it to travel at high speed, something to which the fact that the network secondary does not have enough capacity to carry a sufficient supply of oxygen and nutrients.

This can have important repercussions for the subject, being able to experiment from dizziness and mental retardation, discomfort, irritability, vision or language impairments, weakness or paralysis of either side of the body , convulsions and even to be able to provoke the appearance of ischemic strokes or even of cerebral haemorrhages if some glass arrives to break (something that in this disorder is more habitual since the secondary network is much more fragile than the carotid one), something that can take to the loss of physical or mental abilities (depending on the affected area) or even death. The symptoms are usually more noticeable when efforts are made.


Although it can appear in people of any age, the truth is that it is much more frequent in children between five and nine years of age, which could lead to problems and developmental delays or even intellectual disabilities. Another peak of cases has been observed in adults over 45 years of age. When it comes to sex appears in both men and women , although it is more predominant in the latter.

The disease of Moyamoya was discovered by the doctors Takeuchi and Shimizu in 1957, and originally it was thought to be exclusive to the Japanese population . However with the passage of time it has been discovered in people of different ethnicities, although it is still much more prevalent in the population of Asian origin).

With respect to the prognosis it can vary enormously depending on when it is detected and on the application of a treatment. Mortality associated with this disease is around 5% in adults and 2% in children, mostly derived from stroke.

  • You may be interested: "Types of stroke (definition, symptoms, causes and severity)"

Stadiums

As we have indicated, Moyamoya's disease is a progressive alteration that gets worse over time, having established different stages or degrees depending on the stenosis . In this sense we find ourselves with six degrees.

Grade 1

Moyamoya disease is considered grade 1 when only observed a narrowing of the point where the internal carotid artery bifurcates .

Grade 2

A more advanced degree occurs when the collateral vessels or secondary network that give the disorder its name begin to be generated.

3rd grade

At this point of the disease, the collateral vessels begin to intensify at the same time that a Progressive narrowing of the internal carotid and the middle cerebral artery , depending largely on the collateral vascularization ..

Grade 4

The network of collateral vessels that originates in the internal carotid begins to weaken and have worse functionality, while increasing the flow and generate circuits at the level of external carotid (outside the skull).

Grade 5

The network of collateral vessels develop and intensify from the external carotid artery, while in the internal carotid artery the collateral network is greatly reduced.

Grade 6

The internal carotid artery is totally closed and the collateral network of this also ends up disappearing, the initial secondary circuit is stopped . The blood supply becomes dependent on the external carotid and the vertebral artery.

Causes

Moyamoya disease does not have a definite cause, being an idiopathic disease. Despite this the existence of genetic influence has been observed , having studied chromosomes such as 3, 6 and 17 and having observed that it is more frequent in the population of Asian descent and in people with relatives who have suffered it. This aspect is also taken into account because it is sometimes associated with genetic disorders.

In addition, in some cases it can be associated with infectious processes (in which case it would be a syndrome and not a disease, since it would be secondary to it).

Treatment

Moyamoya's disease does not currently have a treatment that cures or reverses it, although it can treat the symptoms and have controlled the level of stenosis or possible damage to blood vessels .

Among other methods, the surgical technique stands out, through which revascularization surgery can be performed, which will improve circulation, although the vessels will have a tendency to narrow again (despite the fact that treatment usually restrains the symptomatology and its progression). It is also possible to use, although it is done in adults but not in children due to the risk of hemorrhages after bumps, use very specific anticoagulants and other substances that allow to regulate the behavior of the blood.

As well the complications that may arise, such as learning delays and intellectual disability, should be addressed , offering guidelines and educational supports when needed. Speech therapy and / or physiotherapy can be useful in cases with speech or movement impairment, as well as occupational therapy and psychoeducation to the family.

Bibliographic references:

  • Acuña, A.R. and from Godoy, C.O. (2010). Moya-Moya disease. Pediatr. (Asunción), 37 (1).
  • Bretón, A., Gómez, J., Ramos, R., Martín, V., Pérez, J. and Alayón, A. (1999). Moya-Moya disease. Case report and literature review. An.Esp.Pediatr., 50: 65-68.
  • Buller, E., Luzuriaga, C. and Soler, M.G. (2016). Moyamoya disease. Clinical Journal of Family Medicine, 9 (3). Albacete
  • Takeuchi, K. & Shimizu, K. (1957). Hypogenesis of bilateral internal carotid arteries. No To Shinkei, 9: 7-43.

Moyamoya disease diagnosis and treatment | Boston Children’s Hospital (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Maladie de Moyamoya: symptômes, causes et traitement

Maladie de Moyamoya: symptômes, causes et traitement

Août 10, 2022

Notre cerveau est une partie fondamentale de l'organisme , car il régit le fonctionnement et la coordination de la plus grande partie du corps et nous permet d’être qui nous sommes: il contrôle les signes vitaux jusqu’aux processus plus élevés tels que le raisonnement ou la motivation, en passant notamment par la perception et la motricité.

Mais même s’il s’agit peut-être de notre organe le plus important, il ne pourrait pas fonctionner et il mourrait même dans un court laps de temps s’il ne recevait pas un apport constant en oxygène et en nutriments. Celles-ci lui parviennent par le système cérébrovasculaire, soit les neurones irrigués par différents vaisseaux sanguins.

Cependant, ces navires peuvent parfois subir des blessures ou être affectés par des maladies susceptibles d'inonder le cerveau de sang ou de ne pas atteindre les endroits appropriés, ce qui peut avoir des effets très importants sur la santé. Parmi ces problèmes, nous pouvons trouver la maladie de Moyamoya , dont nous verrons les principales caractéristiques tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Lésions cérébrales acquises: ses 3 causes principales"

La maladie de Moyamoya

Il reçoit le nom de maladie de Moyamoya à un altération rare mais dangereuse de type cérébro-vasculaire , caractérisée par une occlusion ou une sténose progressive des carotides internes (qui survient généralement à la fois) et de ses branches principales dans leurs parties terminales de l’intérieur du crâne.

Ce rétrécissement provoque à son tour la formation et le renforcement d’un vaste réseau secondaire de vaisseaux plus petits permettant au sang de continuer à arriver, formant ainsi un circuit. dont la forme en neuroimagerie rappelle la fumée d'une cigarette (C’est ce à quoi se réfère le terme Moyamoya, qui en japonais fait référence à la fumée).


Bien que, dans de nombreux cas, il puisse rester silencieux et asymptomatique, le fait est qu’en raison du rétrécissement du rétrécissement de l’artère carotide, le sang qui y parvient se déplace à grande vitesse, ce à quoi le réseau le secondaire n’a pas la capacité suffisante pour transporter un apport suffisant en oxygène et en nutriments.

Cela peut avoir des répercussions importantes sur le sujet, car il peut expérimenter des vertiges et un retard mental. inconfort, irritabilité, troubles de la vision ou du langage, faiblesse ou paralysie des deux côtés du corps , convulsions et même pouvoir provoquer l’apparition d’accidents ischémiques ou même d’hémorragies cérébrales si un verre venait à casser (ce qui, dans ce trouble, est plus habituel puisque le réseau secondaire est beaucoup plus fragile que celui carotidien), qui peut prendre à la perte de capacités physiques ou mentales (selon la région touchée) ou même de la mort. Les symptômes sont généralement plus apparents lorsque des efforts sont déployés.


Bien qu'il puisse apparaître chez les personnes de tout âge, la vérité est qu'il est beaucoup plus fréquent chez les enfants de cinq à neuf ans, ce qui pourrait entraîner des problèmes et des retards de développement, voire une déficience intellectuelle. Un autre pic de cas a été observé chez les adultes de plus de 45 ans. Quand il s'agit de sexe apparaît chez les hommes et les femmes , bien qu’il soit plus prédominant dans le dernier cas.

La maladie de Moyamoya a été découverte par les médecins Takeuchi et Shimizu en 1957, et à l'origine, on pensait être exclusif à la population japonaise . Cependant, avec le temps, il a été découvert chez des personnes d'ethnies différentes, bien qu'il soit encore beaucoup plus répandu dans la population d'origine asiatique).

En ce qui concerne le pronostic, il peut varier énormément en fonction du moment où il est détecté et de l'application du traitement. La mortalité associée à cette maladie est d'environ 5% chez les adultes et 2% chez les enfants, principalement à la suite d'un AVC.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Types d'accident vasculaire cérébral (définition, symptômes, causes et gravité)"

Stades

Comme nous l’avons indiqué, la maladie de Moyamoya est une altération progressive qui s’aggrave avec le temps, ayant différents stades ou degrés en fonction de la sténose . En ce sens, nous nous trouvons avec six degrés.

1 re année

La maladie de Moyamoya est considérée de grade 1 quand elle n’est observée que un rétrécissement du point où l'artère carotide interne se bifurque .

2e année

Un degré plus avancé se produit lorsque les navires collatéraux ou le réseau secondaire qui donnent son nom à la maladie commencent à être générés.

3 e année

À ce stade de la maladie, les vaisseaux collatéraux commencent à s’intensifier en même temps Rétrécissement progressif de la carotide interne et de l'artère cérébrale moyenne , dépendant largement de la vascularisation collatérale.

4 e année

Le réseau de vaisseaux collatéraux qui prend naissance dans la carotide interne commence à s’affaiblir et à présenter des dysfonctionnements tout en augmentant le débit et en générant des circuits au niveau de la carotide externe (à l’extérieur du crâne).

5 e année

Le réseau de vaisseaux collatéraux se développe et s'intensifie à partir de l'artère carotide externe, tandis que dans l'artère carotide interne, le réseau collatéral est fortement réduit.

6 e année

L’artère carotide interne est totalement fermée et le réseau collatéral de celle-ci finit également par disparaître, le circuit secondaire initial est arrêté . L'approvisionnement en sang devient dépendant de la carotide externe et de l'artère vertébrale.

Les causes

La maladie de Moyamoya n’a pas de cause précise, étant une maladie idiopathique. Malgré cela l'existence d'une influence génétique a été observée , ayant étudié les chromosomes tels que 3, 6 et 17 et constaté qu’il est plus fréquent dans la population d’ascendance asiatique et chez les personnes ayant des proches qui en ont souffert. Cet aspect est également pris en compte car il est parfois associé à des troubles génétiques.

En outre, dans certains cas, il peut être associé à des processus infectieux (auquel cas ce serait un syndrome et non une maladie, car il serait secondaire).

Traitement

La maladie de Moyamoya n’a actuellement pas de traitement qui la guérit ou l’inverse, bien qu’elle puisse traiter les symptômes et ont contrôlé le niveau de sténose ou d'éventuels dommages aux vaisseaux sanguins .

Parmi les autres méthodes, on distingue la technique chirurgicale, qui permet de pratiquer une revascularisation, ce qui améliore la circulation sanguine, bien que les vaisseaux aient tendance à se rétrécir à nouveau (malgré le fait que le traitement freine généralement la symptomatologie et sa progression). Il est également possible d’utiliser, bien que cela se fasse chez les adultes mais pas chez les enfants en raison du risque d’hémorragies après des bosses, d’utiliser des anticoagulants très spécifiques et d’autres substances permettant de réguler le comportement du sang.

Aussi les complications qui peuvent survenir, telles que les retards d’apprentissage et la déficience intellectuelle, doivent être traitées , offrant des directives et du soutien pédagogique au besoin. L'orthophonie et / ou la physiothérapie peuvent être utiles dans les cas de troubles de la parole ou de la mobilité, ainsi que d'ergothérapie et de psychoéducation à la famille.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Acuña, A.R. et de Godoy, C.O. (2010). Maladie de Moya-Moya. Pédiatr. (Asunción), 37 (1).
  • Bretón, A., J. Gómez, R. Ramos, V. Martín, J. Pérez et A. Alayón (1999). Maladie de Moya-Moya. Présentation d'un cas et revue de la littérature. An.Esp.Pediatr., 50: 65-68.
  • Buller, E., Luzuriaga, C. et Soler, M.G. (2016). Maladie de Moyamoya. Journal clinique de médecine familiale, 9 (3). Albacete
  • Takeuchi, K. & Shimizu, K. (1957). Hypogenèse des artères carotides internes bilatérales. Non à Shinkei, 9: 7-43.
Articles Connexes