yes, therapy helps!
Mules: the weakest link in drug trafficking

Mules: the weakest link in drug trafficking

June 13, 2024

Known by the name of mules, they transport narcotics from one country to another with more and more ingenious and varied methods: in hidden compartments in suitcases, in footwear or clothing, and even within one's own body.

It's about people who they ingest capsules with drugs , usually cocaine or heroin, inside latex gloves, condoms, to prevent normal digestive processes from spoiling the merchandise. The mission consists in ingesting the capsules, transporting them from one country to another, expelling them, cleaning them up and handing them over to another member of the narco organization that is in charge of receiving them.

In this traffic mode we will stop at this article.


  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Mules: who are the chosen ones?

Usually, when recruiting mules, from drug trafficking people with very low resources and poverty are sought , in situations of great vulnerability, marginality, desperation and lack of perception of opportunities to get ahead, among other factors.

By accepting to transport drugs they become criminals while they are victims of criminal organizations that the conditions in which people who access this type of activity are abused are being abused. They give them the assurance that it is not a dangerous activity and that everything is fixed. They cheat them and promise security conditions that are not fulfilled later.


And they do not always agree voluntarily. Many times they are deceived, extorted to make the task concrete, forcing them to take drugs by force and under threat to themselves or their family. In other cases, they are victims of trafficking networks.

A not minor fact is that airport security has a body scanner, which detects the capsules inside the body, which is why It is no accident that many of the mules are pregnant women , to those who can not subject them to X-rays, which is why it is more difficult for them to be stopped. They are like a perfect "container", although the weakest and physically involved.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Biography and personality of Pablo Escobar, the irreducible narco"

Lack of awareness of the risks

The decision to be a mule is usually made in the combination of a vulnerable situation of despair and despair and a false conception that this is an activity that will generate money easily. It is perceived as a possible opportunity and way of subsistence.


But this "work" really easy has nothing: implies first of all risks in the health of the person (intoxication, intestinal obstruction, peritonitis and if a capsule breaks, it is very likely that your transporter dies) and exposes you to commit a crime punishable by imprisonment for possession and trafficking of narcotics. This will depend on the country where the mules are discovered.

There are countries where the sentences reach up to 12 years in prison , according to quantities trafficked and whether or not there is collaboration in detention and in the subsequent investigation. In other countries, such as China and Indonesia, the penalties faced by drug trafficking mules can reach life imprisonment and even the death penalty.

In the case of Argentina, and according to the report "Imprisonment for crimes related to narcotics in Argentina," 7 out of 10 foreign women prisoners are detained after having acted as mules. The vast majority of women prisoners are mothers and have small children, in situations of vulnerability, helplessness and lack of both emotional and economic.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Poverty affects the brain development of children"

Disposable containers

Two months ago, a 19-year-old girl was found dead in a downtown street in the city of Buenos Aires after two capsules of cocaine (out of a total of 80) exploded inside her stomach.

According to the witnesses of the case, the young woman was thrown from a vehicle, so it is believed that other people involved in that network, in front of his death, simply discarded it. A container that no longer serves must be thrown away. The mules stop being human beings for drug traffickers , they are a necessary object in the chain of operations but replaceable.

Many links in the drug chain

When this works and gets the drug to the desired point, thanks to a large network of accomplices, which goes from who gets and stores the product, who recruits, who transports, who delivers the substance, who facilitates the procedures for make the trip, who receives the merchandise, and some corrupt and necessary arrangement with airport or border security personnel.

Both mules and vendors commit crimes for which they are tried and imprisoned, however they are replaceable media by other pairs . For that reason, his detention barely touches the powerful drug traffickers who, free and preserved, will continue to negotiate with the health and lives of the people.

For the narco, each mule is an object that stores its valuable merchandise, its life does not matter, It is only relevant that the capsules reach their destination and without the least economic loss. It is a multi-million dollar business that plays with life and death.

Bibliographic references:

  • Corda, A. (2011). Imprisonment for narcotics-related offenses in Argentina.
  • The drug trade, the prisons and the "reforms in time": the phrases of the Minister of Justice, published on lanueva.com and consulted on 08/09/2017
  • The majority of foreign prisoners are "mules", available at //www.lavoz.com.ar/sucesos/las-mayorias-de-las-extranjeras-presas-son-mulas and consulted on 08/09/2017

Reporters: The Philippines’ ruthless war on drugs (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les mules: le maillon faible du trafic de drogue

Les mules: le maillon faible du trafic de drogue

Août 2, 2022

Connu sous le nom de mulets, ils transportent des stupéfiants d'un pays à l'autre avec des méthodes de plus en plus ingénieuses et variées: dans des compartiments cachés dans des valises, dans des chaussures ou des vêtements, et même dans son propre corps.

C'est à propos des gens qui ils ingèrent des capsules avec des médicaments , généralement de la cocaïne ou de l’héroïne, à l’intérieur de gants en latex, de préservatifs, afin d’empêcher les processus digestifs normaux de détériorer la marchandise. La mission consiste à ingérer les capsules, à les transporter d'un pays à l'autre, à les expulser, à les nettoyer et à les remettre à un autre membre de l'organisation narco chargée de les recevoir.

Dans ce mode de trafic, nous nous arrêterons à cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Mules: qui sont les élus?

Habituellement, lors du recrutement de mules, du trafic de drogue les personnes avec de très faibles ressources et la pauvreté sont recherchées , dans des situations de grande vulnérabilité, marginalité, désespoir et manque de perception des possibilités d’avancer, entre autres facteurs.

En acceptant de transporter des médicaments ils deviennent des criminels alors qu'ils sont victimes d'organisations criminelles que les conditions dans lesquelles les personnes qui accèdent à ce type d'activité sont maltraitées le sont. Ils leur donnent l’assurance que ce n’est pas une activité dangereuse et que tout est réglé. Ils les trompent et promettent des conditions de sécurité qui ne seront pas remplies plus tard.


Et ils ne sont pas toujours d'accord volontairement. Plusieurs fois, ils sont trompés, extorqués pour concrétiser la tâche, les forçant à se droguer par la force et sous la menace d'eux-mêmes ou de leur famille. Dans d'autres cas, ils sont victimes de réseaux de traite.

Un fait non négligeable est que la sécurité de l'aéroport dispose d'un scanner corporel qui détecte les capsules à l'intérieur du corps. Ce n'est pas un hasard si beaucoup de mulets sont des femmes enceintes , à ceux qui ne peuvent pas les soumettre aux rayons X, ce qui explique pourquoi il est plus difficile de les arrêter. Ils sont comme un "conteneur" parfait, bien que les plus faibles et physiquement impliqués.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Biographie et personnalité de Pablo Escobar, l'irréductible narco"

Manque de prise de conscience des risques

La décision d’être muletière est généralement prise en combinant une situation vulnérable de désespoir et de désespoir et une fausse conception selon laquelle il s’agit d’une activité générant facilement de l’argent. Il est perçu comme une opportunité et un moyen de subsistance possibles.


Mais ce "travail" vraiment facile n'a rien: implique tout d'abord des risques pour la santé de la personne (intoxication, obstruction intestinale, péritonite et en cas de rupture d'une capsule, il est très probable que votre transporteur décède) et vous expose à commettre un crime punissable d'emprisonnement pour possession et trafic de stupéfiants. Cela dépendra du pays où les mules sont découvertes.

Il y a des pays où les peines vont jusqu'à 12 ans de prison , en fonction des quantités de trafic et de l'existence ou non d'une collaboration en détention et dans l'enquête ultérieure. Dans d’autres pays, tels que la Chine et l’Indonésie, les peines prévues pour les trafiquants de drogue peuvent aller jusqu’à la réclusion à perpétuité, voire la peine de mort.

Dans le cas de l’Argentine et selon le rapport "Emprisonnement pour des infractions liées aux stupéfiants en Argentine", 7 détenues étrangères sur 10 sont détenues après avoir agi en tant que mulet. La grande majorité des femmes détenues sont des mères et ont de jeunes enfants, dans des situations de vulnérabilité, d’impuissance et d’absence à la fois émotionnelle et économique.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "La pauvreté affecte le développement du cerveau des enfants"

Contenants à usage unique

Il y a deux mois, une jeune fille de 19 ans a été retrouvée morte dans une rue du centre-ville de Buenos Aires après l'explosion de deux capsules de cocaïne (sur un total de 80) dans son estomac.

Selon les témoins de l'affaire, la jeune femme aurait été éjectée d'un véhicule. On pense donc que d'autres personnes impliquées dans ce réseau, devant sa mort, l'ont tout simplement jetée. Un conteneur qui ne sert plus doit être jeté. Les mules cessent d'être des êtres humains pour les trafiquants de drogue , ils sont un objet nécessaire dans la chaîne d’opérations mais remplaçables.

Nombreux maillons de la chaîne du médicament

Lorsque cela fonctionne et amène le médicament au point souhaité, grâce à un vaste réseau de complices, qui va de qui récupère et stocke le produit, qui recrute, qui transporte, qui livre la substance, qui facilite les procédures de faire le voyage, qui reçoit la marchandise, et certains arrangements corrompus et nécessaires avec le personnel de sécurité de l'aéroport ou de la frontière.

Les mules et les vendeurs commettent des crimes pour lesquels ils sont jugés et emprisonnés. ils sont remplaçables par d'autres paires . Pour cette raison, sa détention touche à peine les puissants trafiquants de drogue qui, libres et préservés, vont continuer à négocier avec la santé et la vie des personnes.

Pour le narco, chaque mulet est un objet qui stocke sa précieuse marchandise, peu importe sa durée de vie, Il est seulement important que les capsules atteignent leur destination et sans la moindre perte économique. C'est une entreprise de plusieurs millions de dollars qui joue avec la vie et la mort.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Corda, A. (2011). Emprisonnement pour des infractions liées aux stupéfiants en Argentine.
  • Le commerce de la drogue, les prisons et les "réformes dans le temps": les phrases du ministre de la Justice, publié sur lanueva.com et consulté le 08/09/2017
  • La majorité des prisonniers étrangers sont des "mules", disponible sur //www.lavoz.com.ar/sucesos/las-mayorias-de-las-extranjeras-presas-son-mulas et consulté le 08/09/2017

The Rise of Mexican Black Tar Heroin (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes