yes, therapy helps!
Multiple Personality Disorder: causes and symptoms

Multiple Personality Disorder: causes and symptoms

May 27, 2020

Dissociative identity disorder (TID), popularly known as "Multiple personality disorder ", Is one of the psychopathologies most frequently represented in fiction.

Multiple Personality: what is it?

From The strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde until Psychosis or Fight club , going through the character of Gollum of The Lord of the Rings and even the character played by Jim Carrey in the comedy Me, myself and Irene , there are dozens of works that have used the TID as inspiration due to the striking of its symptomatology.


It is by this type of disclosure that the multiple personality is one of the most well-known psychological disorders, although not one of the best understood, not even within the world of Psychology, in which there is an important controversy regarding the same existence of this disorder as such.

symptom

The fourth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV) defines the TID as «the presence of two or more identities - sometimes more than ten - that take control of a person's behavior in a recurrent manner, each one having its own memories, relationships and attitudes » In general, the different identities do not remember what is experienced by the rest, for which reason they are not aware of its existence, although this is not always the case. The change between personalities usually occurs as a result of stress.


The primary personality (or the "real") tends to be passive and depressive, while the rest are more dominant and hostile. It is the most passive identities that manifest amnesia to a greater extent and, in case they are aware of the existence of the most dominant personalities, they can be directed by these, which can even manifest themselves in the form of visual or auditory hallucinations, giving orders to the other identities.

Currently, both in the DSM like in the International classification of diseases (ICD-10), DID is categorized within dissociative disorders, that is, those that occur due to failures in the integration of consciousness, perception, movement, memory or identity (in the case of personality). multiple, disintegration would occur in all these aspects) as a direct consequence of psychological trauma.


Causes of Dissociative Identity Disorder

It is this relationship with traumatic experiences that links DID with stress disorder post-traumatic , which is characterized by the presence of anxiety and reexperiencing (through nightmares or flashbacks) after life-threatening events, such as sexual abuse or natural catastrophes. An element of particular interest in this case is the fact that post-traumatic stress disorder can include dissociative symptoms, such as the lack of memory of important aspects of the traumatic event or the inability to experience emotions.

These symptoms are conceived as a protection against feelings of pain and terror that the person is not able to handle properly, which is normal in the initial moments of the process of adaptation to the traumatic experience, but which in the case of post-traumatic stress becomes pathological by becoming chronic and interfering in the life of the person.

Following the same logic, DID would be an extreme version of post-traumatic stress in childhood (Kluft, 1984, Putnam, 1997): early, intense and prolonged traumatic experiences, in particular negligence or abuse by parents, would lead to dissociation, that is, the isolation of memories, beliefs, etc., in alternative identities rudimentary, that would develop over the course of life, progressively giving rise to a greater number of identities, more complex and separated from the rest. There are rarely cases of DID with onset in adulthood. Thus, the TID would not arise from the fragmentation of a nuclear personality, but rather from a failure in the normal development of the personality that would result in the presence of relatively separate mental states that would end up becoming alternative identities.

Evaluation and Treatment

The number of TID diagnoses has increased in recent years; while some authors attribute this to a greater awareness of the disorder by clinicians , others consider that it is due to an overdiagnosis. It has even been proposed that DID is due to the suggestion of the patient due to the clinician's questions and the influence of the media.Likewise, there are also those who believe that there is a lack of training on the manifestations of IDD and an underestimation of its prevalence, leading to many cases of IDD not being detected, partly due to inadequate exploration.

In this regard, it should be kept in mind that, according to Kluft (1991), only 6% of multiple personality cases are detectable in their pure form : a typical case of DID would be characterized by a combination of dissociative symptoms and symptoms of post-traumatic stress with other non-defining symptoms of DID, such as depression, panic attacks, substance abuse or eating disorders. The presence of this last group of symptoms, much more obvious than the other symptoms of DID and very frequent by themselves, would lead clinicians to ignore a deeper exploration that would allow the detection of multiple personality. In addition, it is obvious that people with IDD find it difficult to recognize their disorder by shame, fear of punishment or because of skepticism from others.

The treatment of DID, which usually requires years, is directs fundamentally to the integration or fusion of the identities or, at least, to coordinate them to achieve the best possible functioning of the person . This is carried out progressively. In the first place, the safety of the person is guaranteed, given the tendency of people with DID to self-aggravate and attempt suicide, and the most interfering symptoms are reduced with daily life, such as depression or drug abuse. Subsequently, the confrontation of traumatic memories is worked on, as would be the case in post-traumatic stress disorder, for example through exposure in the imagination.

Finally, identities are integrated, for which it is important that the therapist respect and validate the adaptive role of each one in order to facilitate that the person accepts those parts of herself as their own. For a more detailed description of the TID treatment, see the text Guidelines for treating dissociative disorders in adults, third revision , of the International Society for the Study of Trauma and Dissociation (2011).

Bibliographic references:

  • Freyd, J. J. (1996). Betrayal trauma: The logic of forgetting childhood abuse. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.
  • International Society for the Study of Trauma and Dissociation (2011). Guidelines for Treating Dissociative Identity Disorder in Adults, Third Revision. Journal of Trauma & Dissociation, 12: 2, 115-187
  • Kluft, R. P. (1984). Treatment of multiple personality disorders: A study of 33 cases. Psychiatric Clinics of North America, 7, 9-29.
  • Kluft, R. P. (1991). Multiple personality disorder. In A. Tasman & S.M. Goldfinger (Eds.), American Psychiatric Press review of psychiatry (Vol. 10, pp. 161-188). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Press.
  • Putnam, F. W. (1997). Dissociation in children and adolescents: A developmental perspective. New York, NW: Guilford Press.

How to Test for Borderline Personality Disorder (May 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble de la personnalité multiple: causes et symptômes

Trouble de la personnalité multiple: causes et symptômes

Janvier 22, 2021

Trouble dissociatif de l'identité (TID), communément appelé "Trouble de la personnalité multiple ", Est l'une des psychopathologies les plus fréquemment représentées dans la fiction.

Personnalité multiple: de quoi s'agit-il?

De l'étrange cas de Dr. Jekyll et Mr. Hyde en haut Psychose o Le club de combat , en passant par le personnage de Gollum du Seigneur des Anneaux et même le personnage joué par Jim Carrey dans la comédie Moi, moi et Irene , des dizaines d’œuvres ont utilisé la TID comme source d’inspiration en raison du caractère frappant de sa symptomatologie.


C’est par ce type de divulgation que la personnalité multiple est l’un des troubles psychologiques les plus connus, bien qu’il ne soit pas l’un des mieux compris, pas même dans le monde de la psychologie, dans lequel il existe une importante controverse concernant la même existence. de ce trouble en tant que tel.

Les symptômes

La quatrième édition du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM-IV) définit le TID comme «la présence de deux identités ou plus - parfois plus de dix - qui contrôlent le comportement d'une personne de manière récurrente, chacune ayant ses propres souvenirs, relations et attitudes » En général, les différentes identités ne se souviennent pas de ce que vivent les autres, raison pour laquelle elles ne sont pas conscientes de son existence, bien que ce ne soit pas toujours le cas. Le changement entre les personnalités se produit généralement à la suite d'un stress.


Le personnalité primaire (ou le "réel") a tendance à être passive et dépressive, tandis que les autres sont plus dominants et hostiles. Ce sont les identités les plus passives qui manifestent davantage l’amnésie et, si elles sont conscientes de l’existence des personnalités les plus dominantes, elles peuvent être dirigées par celles-ci, qui peuvent même se manifester sous la forme d’hallucinations visuelles ou auditives, en donnant les autres identités.

Actuellement, à la fois dans le DSM comme dans le Classification internationale des maladies (CIM-10), DID est classé dans les troubles dissociatifs, c’est-à-dire ceux qui se produisent en raison d’échecs dans l’intégration de la conscience, de la perception, du mouvement, de la mémoire ou de l’identité (dans le cas de la personnalité). multiple, la désintégration se produirait sous tous ces aspects) comme conséquence directe du traumatisme psychologique.


Causes de trouble dissociatif de l'identité

C’est cette relation avec des expériences traumatiques qui relie DID au trouble de stress. post-traumatique , qui se caractérise par la présence d'anxiété et de revivre (à travers des cauchemars ou des flashbacks) après des événements mettant la vie en danger, tels que des abus sexuels ou des catastrophes naturelles. Un élément particulièrement intéressant dans ce cas est le fait que le trouble de stress post-traumatique peut inclure des symptômes dissociatifs, tels que le manque de mémoire d'aspects importants de l'événement traumatique ou l'incapacité à ressentir des émotions.

Ces symptômes sont conçus comme une protection contre les sentiments de douleur et de terreur que la personne n'est pas en mesure de gérer correctement, ce qui est normal aux premiers instants du processus d'adaptation au vécu traumatique, mais qui dans le cas du stress post-traumatique devient pathologique en devenant chronique et en interférant dans la vie de la personne.

En suivant la même logique, DID serait une version extrême du stress post-traumatique chez l'enfant (Kluft, 1984, Putnam, 1997): des expériences traumatiques précoces, intenses et prolongées, en particulier une négligence ou un abus par les parents, conduiraient à la dissociation, c'est-à-dire à l'isolement des souvenirs, des croyances, etc., dans des identités alternatives. rudimentaire, qui se développerait au cours de la vie, donnant progressivement naissance à un plus grand nombre d'identités, plus complexes et séparées du reste. Il y a rarement des cas de DID apparaissant à l'âge adulte. Ainsi, le DID ne résulterait pas de la fragmentation d'une personnalité nucléaire, mais plutôt d'un échec dans le développement normal de la personnalité qui aurait pour résultat la présence d'états mentaux relativement séparés qui finiraient par devenir des identités alternatives.

Évaluation et traitement

Le nombre de diagnostics de TID a augmenté ces dernières années; alors que certains auteurs attribuent cela à une plus grande prise de conscience du trouble par les cliniciens , d’autres considèrent que cela est dû à un surdiagnostic. Il a même été suggéré que DID soit dû à la suggestion du patient en raison des questions du clinicien et de l'influence des médias.De même, certains pensent également qu’il ya un manque de formation sur les manifestations du DID et une sous-estimation de sa prévalence, ce qui a pour conséquence que de nombreux cas de TDI ne sont pas détectés, en partie à cause d’une exploration inadéquate.

À cet égard, il convient de garder à l’esprit que, selon le Kluft (1991), seuls 6% des cas de personnalité multiple sont détectables sous leur forme pure : un cas typique de DID serait caractérisé par une combinaison de symptômes dissociatifs et de stress post-traumatique et d’autres symptômes non déterminants de DID, tels que dépression, attaques de panique, toxicomanie ou troubles de l’alimentation. La présence de ce dernier groupe de symptômes, beaucoup plus évident que les autres symptômes de DID et très fréquente par eux-mêmes, amènerait les cliniciens à ignorer une exploration plus profonde permettant de détecter la personnalité multiple. En outre, il est évident que les personnes atteintes de TDI ont du mal à reconnaître leur trouble par honte, par peur des punitions ou par le scepticisme des autres.

Le traitement de DID, qui nécessite généralement des années, est dirige fondamentalement à l'intégration ou à la fusion des identités ou, au moins, à les coordonner pour atteindre le meilleur fonctionnement possible de la personne . Ceci est effectué progressivement. En premier lieu, la sécurité de la personne est garantie, étant donné la tendance des personnes avec TDA à s’auto-aggraver et à tenter de se suicider, et les symptômes les plus gênants sont réduits au quotidien, tels que la dépression ou la toxicomanie. Ensuite, on travaille sur la confrontation des souvenirs traumatiques, comme ce serait le cas dans le syndrome de stress post-traumatique, par exemple par exposition à l'imagination.

Enfin, les identités sont intégrées, pour lesquelles il est important que le thérapeute respecte et valide le rôle adaptatif de chacun afin de permettre à la personne d'accepter ces parties d'elle-même comme étant les leurs. Pour une description plus détaillée du traitement TID, voir le texte Lignes directrices pour le traitement des troubles dissociatifs chez l'adulte, troisième révision , de la Société internationale pour l'étude des traumatismes et de la dissociation (2011).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Freyd, J. J. (1996). Traumatismes liés à la trahison: la logique d'oubli Cambridge, MA: Presses universitaires de Harvard.
  • Société internationale pour l'étude des traumatismes et de la dissociation (2011). Lignes directrices pour le traitement des troubles de l'identité dissociative chez les adultes, troisième révision. Journal of Trauma & Dissociation, 12: 2, 115-187
  • Kluft, R. P. (1984). Traitement des troubles de la personnalité multiple: Une étude de 33 cas. Cliniques psychiatriques d'Amérique du Nord, 7, 9-29.
  • Kluft, R. P. (1991). Trouble de la personnalité multiple. Dans A. Tasman & S.M. Goldfinger (Eds.), Revue psychiatrique de la American Psychiatric Press (vol. 10, p. 161-188). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Press.
  • Putnam, F. W. (1997). Dissociation chez les enfants et les adolescents: une perspective développementale. New York, NW: Presse de Guilford.

Plusieurs Dans Un Corps - Le Trouble Dissociatif de l'Identité, C'est Quoi ? (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes