yes, therapy helps!

"Multiple" (Split), a film about Dissociative Identity Disorder

July 18, 2024

Multiple personality or dissociative identity disorder (DID) it has been treated in fiction on a recurring basis. The novel "The strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde" by Robert Louis Stevenson, and the film "Psycho" by Alfred Hitchcock, influenced a large number of later works, especially in American cinema.

Multiple (Split), the latest film by M. Night Shyamalan , scriptwriter and director of "The sixth sense" and "The visit", is the most recent example of the use of multiple personality in fiction. However, there is a lot of controversy regarding the films that use TID to tell stories about violence and madness, and about the very existence of the disorder.


  • Related article: "20 films on Psychology and mental disorders"

Dissociative identity disorder

According to the DSM-IV-TR, in dissociative identity disorder Two or more identities coexist in a person . These personalities control thought and movements alternately and may have different memories and thoughts, so each alter ego does not necessarily have the same information as the rest.

Multiple personality would be due to disturbances that would impede the normal development of identity , more than the rupture of a personality formed. While the primary identity of people with DID is usually passive and depressive, the rest tend to be dominance and hostility.


Fine attributes the dissociative identity disorder to a suggestion process similar to hypnosis that causes selective amnesia. However, the personalities can be hierarchized so that some control the rest and can access their memories and thoughts. The change from one identity to another is usually attributed to varying degrees of stress.

Likewise, the different identities can interact with each other, enter into conflict and manifest to others as hallucinations visual or auditory; references to alter egos as voices are typical. This may suggest certain similarities between multiple personality and psychotic disorders such as schizophrenia.

Dissociative identity disorder it is diagnosed more frequently in women than in men. Women also tend to have more personalities. In general, people diagnosed with multiple personality have between 2 and 10 different identities.


  • Related article: "Multiple Personality Disorder"

The controversy surrounding the TID and the dissociation

Dissociative identity disorder is considered to be an extreme manifestation of post-traumatic stress disorder. In these cases there has usually been a trauma in childhood, usually parental abuse or neglect . The symptoms occur as a defense against emotions and sensations that the child is not able to handle consciously. It is also common to occur together with depressive disorders, borderline personality disorder and addictions.

In general, the symptoms of TID are attributed to dissociation or simulation . One fact that seems to reinforce the perspective that multiple personality is feigned is the fact that it is diagnosed much more frequently in the United States, where most of the films that revolve around this phenomenon have been produced.

There are those who affirm that dissociative identity disorder is a chimeric diagnosis used only by Psychoanalysis, which in many cases is condemned from other orientations arguing that it generates false beliefs in patients.

The term "Dissociation" refers to the disintegration of mental life : consciousness, perception, memory, movement or identity. The dissociation, proposed in the late nineteenth century by Pierre Janet, was used by classical theorists of psychoanalysis to explain hysteria.

Even today, dissociation is often used as an explanatory construct. Authors of cognitivist orientation such as Hilgard and Kihlstrom affirm that the human mind is perfectly capable of provoking dissociative phenomena such as multiple personality through a cerebral process similar to the hypnosis focused on consciousness or memory .

The 23 personalities of Kevin in "Multiple"

(Attention: this section contains moderate spoilers.)

Multiple is a psychological thriller in which a man named Kevin kidnaps three teenage girls , apparently with the intention of using them to feed an imaginary or real being known as "the Beast". In Kevin 23 personalities coexist, but the ones we see during most of the film are the most hostile and dangerous, who have managed to take control of their body substituting the most adapted identities.

The leading actor, James McAvoy , he puts himself in the shoes of 9 different characters during the movie. The ones who interact most with the kidnapped girls are Dennis, a man with obsessive-compulsive disorder who enjoys watching naked girls dancing, Patricia, a disturbingly cordial woman, and Hedwig, a nine-year-old child who gives in - and who is a big fan. of the music of Kanye West. These three rejected identities are known by the rest as "the Horde".

Much of the tension of the film, especially during the first minutes, lies in the fact that, like the three girls, the viewer never knows which of the identities will take control in the next place, or when.

Dissociative identity disorder in the film

As described by Kevin's identities, all of them they wait sitting in a dark room until Barry, an extroverted and sensitive man who constitutes the dominant personality, "gives them light," that is, allows them to control the body they share. Patricia and Dennis, the "undesirable personalities", are forbidden to light because of the danger they pose.

By contrast, little Hedwig, who is also rejected by most identities, has the ability to be "in the light" whenever he wishes. Hedwig represents a regression to childhood that occurs at times when Kevin can not face the reality of his actions; It is interesting that, in the personality structure of the protagonist, these regressions take priority not only over "healthy" personalities, but also over violent desires.

Among the personalities accepted by Kevin's conscience, the ones we came to know during the film are Barry, already mentioned, Orwell, a man obsessed with history and who speaks grandiloquently, and Jade, the only one of all the identities that have diabetes These alter ego maintain a kind of alliance with those who do not appear; together they have managed to keep "the Horde" out of conscious experience, or at least Kevin's control, until shortly before the Multiple plot begins.

Barry and his allies regularly visit a psychiatrist, Dr. Fletcher. This maintains the hypothesis that people with multiple personality can alter the chemistry of your body through auto-suggestion, due to the beliefs held by each of the identities about their own nature. For the psychiatrist, people with IDD can develop "human potential" to a much greater degree than those who do not have the disorder.

Is the plot realistic?

Many of the characteristics of Kevin's disorder are based on the diagnostic criteria and clinical course usually described for dissociative identity disorder. Alternative identities begin to develop due to the physical abuse that the protagonist receives as a child on the part of his mother, in particular the most hostile, who hold a grudge against the others because they were the ones who endured the suffering during those moments.

Both in posttraumatic stress disorder and in DID it is usual to refer to experiences of dissociation that took place in the traumatic moments ; This would establish the habit of using dissociative mechanisms to escape from reality in times of intense stress. The well-known pianist James Rhodes, author of the autobiographical book "Instrumental", refers to similar dissociative experiences without the presence of multiple personalities.

Kevin's personality structure is quite consistent with those of cases diagnosed as multiple personality. The different identities are hierarchized so that some of them (or at least Barry, the dominant personality) can access the memories of the rest, while, for example, the child Hedwig completely ignores the thoughts of others. These differences in access to mental contents generate memory gaps in each of the identities.

A priori, the possibility of altering neurobiology depending on the personality state is one of the least credible aspects of the film. However, in many cases people with multiple personality not only claim that their different identities have different mental disorders, as in the case of Kevin's selective OCD, but also that some can be right-handed and others left-handed, some need glasses and others do not. , etc.

As we said at the beginning of the article, a large number of professionals question the testimonies and studies that support these possibilities. In any case, in Multiple Shyamalan uses the disorder as an excuse to play with the limits between reality and fiction , as he has done throughout his filmography.

Controversy around the cinema about multiple personality

The Multiple film has been criticized by groups working for mental health, such as the Australian association SANE, and petitions for online signatures have been registered against it. From these platforms it is noticed that Multiple and other similar fiction products, in particular from Hollywood, are harmful to people with mental disorders complex. They argue that people who do not have more information about the disorders than they get through films are induced to think that the people who suffer from them are dangerous and of an aggressive nature.

While it is convenient to know how to separate reality from fiction and understand that cinema is still an entertainment, it is true that the repeated use of multiple personality disorder in horror films has conveyed a biased image of it - in case there is such a reality. diagnostic entity.


SPLIT: All Personalities HD (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!

"Multiple" (Split), un film sur le trouble de l'identité dissociative

Mai 21, 2022

Trouble de la personnalité multiple ou de l'identité dissociative (DID) il a été traité de façon récurrente dans la fiction. Le roman "L'étrange cas du Dr. Jekyll et M. Hyde" de Robert Louis Stevenson et le film "Psycho" d'Alfred Hitchcock ont ​​influencé un grand nombre d'œuvres ultérieures, notamment dans le cinéma américain.

Multiple (Split), le dernier film de M. Night Shyamalan , scénariste et réalisateur de "The sixième sense" et "The visit", est l'exemple le plus récent d'utilisation de la personnalité multiple dans la fiction. Cependant, il y a beaucoup de controverse concernant les films qui utilisent TID pour raconter des histoires sur la violence et la folie, et sur l'existence même du désordre.


  • Article connexe: "20 films sur la psychologie et les troubles mentaux"

Trouble dissociatif de l'identité

Selon le DSM-IV-TR, dans le trouble de l'identité dissociative Deux ou plusieurs identités coexistent dans une personne . Ces personnalités contrôlent la pensée et les mouvements en alternance et peuvent avoir des mémoires et des pensées différentes, de sorte que chaque alter ego n'a pas nécessairement les mêmes informations que les autres.

La personnalité multiple serait due à perturbations qui entraveraient le développement normal de l'identité , plus que la rupture d'une personnalité formée. Bien que l'identité principale des personnes atteintes de DID soit généralement passive et dépressive, le reste a tendance à être la domination et l'hostilité.


Fine attribue le trouble dissociatif de l’identité à un processus de suggestion semblable à l’hypnose qui provoque une amnésie sélective. Cependant, les personnalités peuvent être hiérarchisées de sorte que certains contrôlent le reste et puissent accéder à leurs souvenirs et à leurs pensées. Le changement d'une identité à une autre est généralement attribué à divers degrés de stress.

De même, les différentes identités peuvent interagir, entrer en conflit et manifester aux autres comme des hallucinations visuel ou auditif; les références aux alter egos en tant que voix sont typiques. Cela peut suggérer certaines similitudes entre les troubles de la personnalité multiple et les troubles psychotiques tels que la schizophrénie.

Trouble dissociatif de l'identité il est diagnostiqué plus fréquemment chez les femmes que chez les hommes. Les femmes ont aussi tendance à avoir plus de personnalités. En général, les personnes diagnostiquées avec une personnalité multiple ont entre 2 et 10 identités différentes.


  • Article connexe: "Trouble de la personnalité multiple"

La controverse autour de la TID et de la dissociation

Le trouble identitaire dissociatif est considéré comme une manifestation extrême du trouble de stress post-traumatique. Dans ces cas, il y a généralement eu une Traumatisme dans l'enfance, généralement violence ou négligence parentale . Les symptômes apparaissent comme une défense contre les émotions et les sensations que l'enfant n'est pas capable de gérer consciemment. Il est également fréquent de se produire avec des troubles dépressifs, un trouble de la personnalité limite et des dépendances.

En général, les symptômes de la TID sont attribué à la dissociation ou à la simulation . Un fait qui semble renforcer l’idée que la personnalité multiple est feinte est le fait qu’elle est diagnostiquée beaucoup plus souvent aux États-Unis, où la plupart des films qui gravitent autour de ce phénomène ont été produits.

Il y a ceux qui affirment que le trouble d'identité dissociatif est un diagnostic chimérique utilisé uniquement par la psychanalyse, qui est souvent condamnée par d'autres orientations en faisant valoir qu'il génère de fausses croyances chez les patients.

Le terme "Dissociation" fait référence à la désintégration de la vie mentale : conscience, perception, mémoire, mouvement ou identité. La dissociation, proposée à la fin du XIXe siècle par Pierre Janet, a été utilisée par les théoriciens classiques de la psychanalyse pour expliquer l'hystérie.

Même aujourd'hui, la dissociation est souvent utilisée comme construction explicative. Les auteurs d'orientation cognitiviste tels que Hilgard et Kihlstrom affirment que l'esprit humain est parfaitement capable de provoquer des phénomènes dissociatifs tels que la personnalité multiple par le biais d'un processus cérébral semblable à celui de l'homme. l'hypnose axée sur la conscience ou la mémoire .

Les 23 personnalités de Kevin dans "Multiple"

(Attention: cette section contient des spoilers modérés.)

Multiple est un thriller psychologique dans lequel un homme nommé Kevin enlève trois adolescentes , apparemment dans l’intention de les utiliser pour nourrir un être imaginaire ou réel appelé "la Bête". Dans Kevin, 23 personnalités coexistent, mais celles que nous voyons presque tout au long du film sont les plus hostiles et les plus dangereuses. Elles ont réussi à prendre le contrôle de leur corps en substituant les identités les plus adaptées.

L'acteur principal, James McAvoy , il se met dans la peau de 9 personnages différents pendant le film. Ceux qui interagissent le plus avec les filles kidnappées sont Dennis, un homme souffrant de trouble obsessionnel compulsif qui aime regarder des filles nues danser, Patricia, une femme extrêmement cordiale et Hedwig, un enfant de neuf ans qui cède - et qui est un grand fan. de la musique de Kanye West. Ces trois identités rejetées sont appelées par le reste "la Horde".

Une grande partie de la tension du film, en particulier pendant les premières minutes, réside dans le fait que, comme les trois filles, le spectateur ne sait jamais laquelle des deux identités prendra le contrôle à un moment ou à un autre.

Trouble identitaire dissociatif dans le film

Comme décrit par les identités de Kevin, tous ils attendent assis dans une pièce sombre Jusqu'à ce que Barry, un homme extraverti et sensible qui constitue la personnalité dominante, "leur donne la lumière", c'est-à-dire leur permette de contrôler le corps qu'ils partagent. Patricia et Dennis, les "personnalités indésirables", sont interdits d'allumer en raison du danger qu'ils posent.

En revanche, le petit Hedwige, également rejeté par la plupart des identités, a la capacité d’être "à la lumière" à tout moment. Hedwig représente une régression à l'enfance cela se produit parfois lorsque Kevin ne peut pas faire face à la réalité de ses actes; Il est intéressant de noter que, dans la structure de personnalité du protagoniste, ces régressions sont prioritaires non seulement par rapport aux personnalités "saines", mais également par rapport aux désirs violents.

Parmi les personnalités acceptées par la conscience de Kevin, celles que nous avons connues au cours du film sont Barry, déjà mentionné, Orwell, un homme obsédé par l’histoire et qui parle grandiloquemment, et Jade, la seule de toutes les identités qui avoir le diabète Ces alter ego entretiennent une sorte d'alliance avec ceux qui n'apparaissent pas; ensemble, ils ont réussi à garder "la Horde" hors de la conscience, ou du moins du contrôle de Kevin, jusque peu avant le début du complot Multiple.

Barry et ses alliés rendent régulièrement visite à un psychiatre, le Dr Fletcher. Cela maintient l’hypothèse selon laquelle les personnes à personnalité multiple peut modifier la chimie de votre corps par auto-suggestion, en raison des croyances de chacune des identités sur leur propre nature. Pour le psychiatre, les personnes atteintes de DID peuvent développer un "potentiel humain" bien plus important que celles qui ne le sont pas.

L'intrigue est-elle réaliste?

De nombreuses caractéristiques du trouble de Kevin sont basées sur les critères de diagnostic et l'évolution clinique habituellement décrits pour le trouble dissociatif de l'identité. Des identités alternatives commencent à se développer en raison de la abus physique que le protagoniste reçoit dans son enfance de la part de sa mère, en particulier des plus hostiles, qui en veulent aux autres parce qu’ils sont ceux qui ont enduré les souffrances de ces moments.

À la fois dans le syndrome de stress post-traumatique et dans DID, il est habituel de faire référence aux expériences dissociation qui a eu lieu dans les moments traumatiques ; Cela établirait l'habitude d'utiliser des mécanismes dissociatifs pour fuir la réalité en période de stress intense. Le célèbre pianiste James Rhodes, auteur du livre autobiographique "Instrumental", fait référence à des expériences dissociatives similaires sans la présence de multiples personnalités.

La structure de la personnalité de Kevin est tout à fait conforme à celle des cas diagnostiqués comme ayant une personnalité multiple. Les différentes identités sont hiérarchisées afin que certains d'entre eux (ou du moins Barry, la personnalité dominante) puissent accéder aux souvenirs des autres, tandis que, par exemple, l'enfant Hedwige ignore complètement les pensées des autres. Ces différences d’accès aux contenus mentaux génèrent des lacunes de mémoire dans chacune des identités.

A priori, la possibilité de modifier la neurobiologie en fonction de l'état de la personnalité est l'un des aspects les moins crédibles du film. Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, les personnes à personnalité multiple affirment non seulement que leurs identités diffèrent de troubles mentaux, comme dans le cas du TOC sélectif de Kevin, mais aussi que certaines personnes peuvent être droitières et d'autres gauchères, certaines ont besoin de lunettes et d'autres non. etc.

Comme nous l'avons dit au début de l'article, un grand nombre de professionnels remettent en question les témoignages et les études soutenant ces possibilités. Dans tous les cas, dans Multiple, Shyamalan utilise le trouble comme une excuse pour jouer avec les limites entre réalité et fiction , comme il l'a fait tout au long de sa filmographie.

Controverse autour du cinéma à propos de la personnalité multiple

Le film Multiple a été critiqué par des groupes travaillant pour la santé mentale, tels que l'association australienne SANE, et des pétitions pour des signatures en ligne ont été enregistrées à son encontre. Il ressort de ces plateformes que Multiple et d’autres produits de fiction similaires, en particulier d’Hollywood, sont nocif pour les personnes atteintes de troubles mentaux complexe. Ils font valoir que les personnes qui n’ont pas plus d’informations sur les troubles qu’elles n’en obtiennent par le biais de films sont amenées à penser que les personnes qui en souffrent sont dangereuses et agressives.

S'il est opportun de savoir séparer la réalité de la fiction et de comprendre que le cinéma est toujours un divertissement, il est vrai que l'utilisation répétée de troubles de la personnalité multiple dans les films d'horreur en a véhiculé une image biaisée - au cas où une telle réalité existait. entité de diagnostic.


PsychoVLOG n°12 : Le Trouble Dissociatif de l'Identité (TDI) (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes