yes, therapy helps!
Multipolar neurons: types and operation

Multipolar neurons: types and operation

September 14, 2022

One of the most common classifications of neurons is the one that is carried out according to their morphology; in a more particular way, they are usually divided according to the number of dendrites and axons that their cell body presents.

In this article we will describe the characteristics of the main types of multipolar neurons, much more common than bipolar and pseudounipolar in the central nervous system of humans.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

Characteristics of multipolar neurons

Multipolar neurons are characterized mainly by presenting a single axon together with a multiple dendrite , prolongations whose main function is the reception of synaptic impulses. This kind of neuron specializes in the integration of information from other nerve cells.


This type of neuron is the most numerous in the central nervous system; its quantity is very high in the cerebral cortex, in the spinal cord and in the ganglia (sets of cellular bodies) of the autonomic nervous system. Technically any neuron with an axon and at least two dendrites is considered a multipolar neuron.

As a general rule, multipolar neurons have a soma with an approximately ovoid shape. From this cell body arise multiple dendrites that extend in all directions, forming branches of tangled appearance. These dendritic trees cause the neuron to have a larger area to receive nervous stimuli.

The axons of this type of neuron are usually very long, which facilitates the transmission of impulses throughout the central nervous system. They are often covered by Schwann cells, a type of neuroglia that forms the myelin sheaths in this part of the nervous system; This substance allows neuronal transmission to be efficient and rapid.


Multipolar neurons can be divided into two subtypes: those of class A and those of class B . Type A have very dense branched dendritic trees and many dendritic spines. In contrast, both characteristics are much less marked in multipolar class B neurons, which also have a larger soma.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Types of multipolar neurons

Next, we will describe three of the most relevant and numerous multipolar neuron types of the human organism: Purkinje cells, pyramidal cells and Dogiel cells. Each of them has its own peculiarities, locations and functions.

1. Purkinje cells

The Purkinje cells are located in the cerebellum, the back of the brain, responsible for the coordination and monitoring of movements. The appearance of these neurons is very characteristic because of the density of your dendritic trees , which explains the strong role of reception of neural impulses that they carry out.


2. Pyramidal cells

The pyramidal cells or upper motor neurons originate in the motor cortex. This type of multipolar neuron transmits action potentials through the corticospinal tract to the lower motoneurons of the spinal cord, which allow the movement to synaptar with muscle cells .

In addition, pyramidal cells are fundamentally involved in cognition. This function is associated with the connections between the pyramidal neurons and the prefrontal cortex of the brain. It has also been hypothesized about its possible role in the visual recognition of objects.

3. Dogiel cells

Dogiel cells are a type of multipolar neuron that is located in the prevertebral sympathetic ganglia. They are part of the enteric nervous system, which regulates the functioning of the gastrointestinal tract.

Other kinds of neurons

Neurons can be classified according to different criteria. For example, if we divide them according to their function we find sensory neurons, motor neurons and interneurons or association neurons. Also, we find excitatory, inhibitory and modulating neurons if we consider the type of synapses they carry out.

The term "multipolar" is framed in the Classification of neuron types according to their external morphology . More specifically, dividing neurons by the number of extensions (ie, dendrites and axons) we can distinguish between multipolar, bipolar, pseudounipolar, unipolar, and anaxonic neurons.

1. Bipolar

The cytoplasm of bipolar neurons has two extensions; one of them acts as a dendrite, receiving impulses from other neurons, and the second fulfills the axon role, sending them. They act mainly as sensory neurons and they are located in the spinal ganglia, in the vestibulocochlear nerve, in the retina or in the olfactory epithelium.

2. Unipolar

In these neurons, both the axon and the dendrites originate in a single extension of the cell body. They do not exist in the human organism, although they do exist in other living beings.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Unipolar neurons: characteristics, location and functions"

3. Pseudo-unipolar

Pseudounipolar neurons are a type of bipolar neuron whose axon is divided into two when forming the dendrites and the axon, so that they seem unipolar, although they are not . Unlike the true unipolar neurons, these are found in the human body.

4. Anaxonic

We say that a neuron is anaxonic when it has no axon or when it can not be distinguished from the dendrites. Cells of this type act mainly as interneurons.

Bibliographic references:

  • Heise, C. & Kayalioglu, G. (2009). Cytoarchitecture of the Spinal Cord. In Watson, C., Paxinos, G. & Kayalioglu, G. (Eds.), "The Spinal Cord: A Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation Text and Atlas." San Diego: Elsevier.
  • Lima, D. & Coimbra, A. (1986). A Golgi study of the neuronal population of the marginal zone (sheet I) of the rat spinal cord. Journal of Comparative Neurology, 244 (1): 53-71.

The Neuron (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurones multipolaires: types et fonctionnement

Neurones multipolaires: types et fonctionnement

Janvier 14, 2023

L'une des classifications les plus courantes des neurones est celle qui est réalisée en fonction de leur morphologie; de manière plus particulière, ils sont généralement divisés en fonction du nombre de dendrites et d'axones que leur corps cellulaire présente.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les caractéristiques des principaux types de neurones multipolaires, beaucoup plus commun que bipolaire et pseudounipolaire dans le système nerveux central de l'homme.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Caractéristiques des neurones multipolaires

Les neurones multipolaires se caractérisent principalement par la présentation un seul axone avec une dendrite multiple , prolongements dont la fonction principale est la réception des impulsions synaptiques. Ce type de neurone est spécialisé dans l'intégration d'informations provenant d'autres cellules nerveuses.


Ce type de neurone est le plus nombreux du système nerveux central; sa quantité est très élevée dans le cortex cérébral, dans la moelle épinière et dans les ganglions (ensembles de corps cellulaires) du système nerveux autonome. Techniquement, tout neurone à axone et au moins deux dendrites est considéré comme un neurone multipolaire.

En règle générale, les neurones multipolaires ont un soma de forme approximativement ovoïde. De ce corps cellulaire naissent de multiples dendrites qui s'étendent dans toutes les directions, formant des branches d'aspect enchevêtré. Ces arbres dendritiques font que le neurone a une plus grande surface pour recevoir des stimuli nerveux.

Les axones de ce type de neurones sont généralement très longs, ce qui facilite la transmission des impulsions dans tout le système nerveux central. Ils sont souvent recouverts de cellules de Schwann, un type de névroglie qui forme les gaines de myéline dans cette partie du système nerveux; Cette substance permet une transmission neuronale efficace et rapide.


Neurones multipolaires peut être divisé en deux sous-types: ceux de la classe A et ceux de la classe B . Type A ont des arbres dendritiques ramifiés très denses et de nombreuses épines dendritiques. En revanche, les deux caractéristiques sont beaucoup moins marquées dans les neurones multipolaires de classe B, qui ont également un plus grand soma.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Types de neurones multipolaires

Nous allons ensuite décrire trois des types de neurones multipolaires les plus pertinents et les plus nombreux de l'organisme humain: les cellules de Purkinje, les cellules pyramidales et les cellules de Dogiel. Chacun d'eux a ses particularités, ses lieux et ses fonctions.

1. Cellules de Purkinje

Les cellules de Purkinje sont situées dans le cervelet, à l'arrière du cerveau, chargées de la coordination et du suivi des mouvements. L’apparition de ces neurones est très caractéristique à cause de la densité de vos arbres dendritiques , ce qui explique le rôle important de réception des impulsions neurales qu’elles réalisent.


2. Cellules pyramidales

Les cellules pyramidales ou motrices supérieures sont originaires du cortex moteur. Ce type de neurone multipolaire transmet les potentiels d’action par l’intermédiaire du tractus corticospinal aux motoneurones inférieurs de la moelle épinière, qui permettre le mouvement à synaptar avec les cellules musculaires .

De plus, les cellules pyramidales sont fondamentalement impliquées dans la cognition. Cette fonction est associée aux connexions entre les neurones pyramidaux et le cortex préfrontal du cerveau. On a également émis des hypothèses sur son rôle éventuel dans la reconnaissance visuelle des objets.

3. Cellules Dogiel

Les cellules Dogiel sont un type de neurone multipolaire situé dans les ganglions sympathiques prévertébraux. Ils font partie du système nerveux entérique, qui régule le fonctionnement du tractus gastro-intestinal.

Autres types de neurones

Les neurones peuvent être classés selon différents critères. Par exemple, si nous les divisons en fonction de leur fonction, nous trouvons des neurones sensoriels, des neurones moteurs et des interneurones ou des neurones d'association. En outre, nous trouvons des neurones excitateurs, inhibiteurs et modulateurs si nous considérons le type de synapses qu'ils réalisent.

Le terme "multipolaire" est encadré dans la Classification des types de neurones en fonction de leur morphologie externe . Plus spécifiquement, en divisant les neurones par le nombre d'extensions (c.-à-d. Dendrites et axones), nous pouvons distinguer les neurones multipolaires, bipolaires, pseudounipolaires, unipolaires et anaxoniques.

1. bipolaire

Le cytoplasme des neurones bipolaires a deux extensions; l'un d'eux agit comme une dendrite, recevant les impulsions d'autres neurones, et le second remplit le rôle d'axone, en les envoyant. Ils agissent principalement en tant que neurones sensoriels et ils sont situés dans les ganglions spinaux, dans le nerf vestibulocochléaire, dans la rétine ou dans l'épithélium olfactif.

2. unipolaire

Dans ces neurones, l'axone et les dendrites prennent leur origine dans une seule extension du corps cellulaire. Ils n'existent pas dans l'organisme humain, bien qu'ils existent chez d'autres êtres vivants.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les neurones unipolaires: caractéristiques, localisation et fonctions"

3. Pseudo-unipolaire

Les neurones pseudounipolaires sont un type de neurone bipolaire dont l'axone est divisé en deux lors de la formation des dendrites et de l'axone, de sorte que ils semblent unipolaires, bien qu'ils ne soient pas . Contrairement aux vrais neurones unipolaires, ceux-ci se trouvent dans le corps humain.

4. Anaxonic

Nous disons qu'un neurone est anaxonique lorsqu'il n'a pas d'axone ou qu'il ne peut pas être distingué des dendrites. Les cellules de ce type agissent principalement comme des interneurones.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Heise, C. & Kayalioglu, G. (2009). Cytoarchitecture de la moelle épinière. Dans Watson, C., Paxinos, G. & Kayalioglu, G. (Eds.), "La moelle épinière: un texte et un atlas de la Fondation Christopher et Dana Reeve." San Diego: Elsevier.
  • Lima, D. & Coimbra, A. (1986). Etude de Golgi sur la population neuronale de la zone marginale (feuille I) de la moelle épinière de rat. Journal of Comparative Neurology, 244 (1): 53-71.

Les neurones et la communication nerveuse - SVT - 3e - Les Bons Profs (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes