yes, therapy helps!
Narcissistic people with psychopathic traits are more attractive, according to a study

Narcissistic people with psychopathic traits are more attractive, according to a study

June 24, 2021

They say that first impressions are crucial, and rightly so . Taking into account that time is gold in decision-making, the first minutes in which we come into contact with an unknown person will lead us to decide to what extent this is attractive or rejects us.

We simply can not afford to examine each person in all their depth, attending to all their details and nuances, if we do not even know if it is worthwhile to spend our time on that.

Are narcissists and psychopaths more attractive?

When what we have to decide is whether or not the person in front of us is a potential partner, however, there is a paradox that we are trying to judge whether we can plan a life (or a few years) together from information we collect in very little time, with the first conversations. maybe this apparent contradiction is what makes it possible for us to be attractive to people with whom we should least expect when creating common projects.


And it is that, although it seems strange, a study published in the European Journal of Personality has reached the conclusion that narcissists and people with psychopathic traits are advantageous to speed dating and are perceived as more attractive than the rest.

The seductive power of the Dark Triad

For several years it has been known that there are three personality traits that, despite having bad press and being badly seen on paper, are especially attractive. These three personality traits form the so-called Dark Triad, or dark triad, and are the following:

  • Narcissism: related to the constant search for attention, the undertaking of actions to try to please others, the firm rejection of criticism and potentially harmful messages for self-esteem, and the tendency to manipulate other people.
  • Machiavellianism : related to the constant search for wealth, power and fame, the establishment of long-term personal relationships aimed at manipulating others, and cold and dispassionate thinking focused on how to achieve one's own benefit independently of the common well-being.
  • Psychopathy: tendency to impulsivity, antisocial behavior, manipulation of others and the constant search for strong emotions.

You will have noticed that these traits do not fit very well with anything that has to do with collective projects and the establishment of common objectives, which are fundamental pillars of family stability. However, from an evolutionary point of view, it is very possible that people who only care for themselves have reproductive success: they only have to manage enough people to generate offspring and make them reproduce.


In this way, these personality traits could be inherited from generation to generation .

In the present study, a team of researchers wanted to see to what extent these three personality traits could be related to greater success in a series of quick appointments carried out under their supervision.

How does the study was realized?

First, the researchers selected 90 people (44 men and 46 women) between 18 and 32 years old. After specifying this group of volunteers, they were given a questionnaire in which their scores were measured both in the Dark Triad traits and in the personality traits of the Big Five test (extraversion, responsibility, kindness, emotional stability and openness to the experience), that in other studies have been related to the success in the long-term maintenance of the couple relationships.


After completing the questionnaires, the participants went on to make a series of quick appointments among them. In total, 691 quick appointments were made, lasting three minutes each. After each appointment, the participants filled out a form in which they punctuated the other person in several aspects, among which were their physical attractiveness, the desire they had to start a friendship with her and the degree in which she would be of agree to have casual sex with her.

Results: narcissists are more desired

The scientists found a significant correlation between the score in psychopathy and narcissism and the chances of being chosen or chosen for short relationships , both in men and women, and regardless of their degree of physical attractiveness. That is to say, that more narcissistic people with more psychopathic traits were more desired as couples for short-term relationships. However, the correlation was reversed in the case of the Machiavellian trait.

In addition, the results showed that women who obtained higher scores in physical attractiveness also tended to obtain high scores in narcissism. As expected, the variable of physical attractiveness had a strong relationship with the possibilities of being chosen or chosen as a couple, especially in the case of women.


10 Traits of a Psychopath (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les narcissiques présentant des traits psychopathiques sont plus attrayants, selon une étude

Les narcissiques présentant des traits psychopathiques sont plus attrayants, selon une étude

Mai 22, 2019

Ils disent que les premières impressions sont cruciales, et à juste titre . Tenant compte du fait que le temps est décisif pour la prise de décision, les premières minutes au cours desquelles nous entrons en contact avec une personne inconnue nous amèneront à décider dans quelle mesure cela nous attire ou nous rejette.

Nous ne pouvons tout simplement pas nous permettre d’examiner chaque personne de manière approfondie, en tenant compte de tous ses détails et de ses nuances, si nous ne savons même pas s’il vaut la peine de passer notre temps là-dessus.

Les narcissiques et les psychopathes sont-ils plus attrayants?

Lorsque nous devons décider si la personne devant nous est un partenaire potentiel ou non, il est paradoxal d'essayer de juger si nous pouvons planifier une vie (ou quelques années) ensemble à partir d'informations que nous recueillons dans très peu de temps, avec les premières conversations. Peut-être cette apparente contradiction est ce qui nous permet d’attirer des gens avec qui nous devrions le moins nous attendre lors de la création de projets communs.


Et c’est que, bien que cela semble étrange, une étude publiée dans le European Journal of Personality a conclu que les narcissistes et les personnes présentant des traits psychopathiques sont avantageux pour le speed dating et sont perçus comme plus attrayants que les autres.

Le pouvoir de séduction de la triade noire

Depuis plusieurs années, on sait qu'il existe trois traits de personnalité qui, malgré une mauvaise presse et une mauvaise image sur papier, sont particulièrement attrayants. Ces trois traits de personnalité forment la soi-disant triade sombre, ou triade noire, et sont les suivants:

  • Narcissisme: lié à la recherche constante d'attention, à la mise en place d'actions visant à satisfaire les autres, au rejet catégorique des critiques et aux messages potentiellement préjudiciables pour l'estime de soi et à la tendance à manipuler les autres.
  • Machiavélisme : liés à la recherche constante de richesse, de pouvoir et de renommée, à l'établissement de relations personnelles à long terme visant à manipuler les autres et à une pensée froide et impartiale axée sur la manière de réaliser ses propres avantages indépendamment du bien-être commun.
  • Psychopathie: tendance à l’impulsivité, comportement antisocial, manipulation des autres et recherche constante d’émotions fortes.

Vous aurez remarqué que ces traits ne vont pas très bien avec tout ce qui a à voir avec des projets collectifs et l'établissement d'objectifs communs, qui sont des piliers fondamentaux de la stabilité de la famille. Cependant, d’un point de vue évolutif, il est très possible que les personnes qui se soucient uniquement d’eux-mêmes aient un succès en matière de procréation: elles doivent seulement gérer suffisamment de personnes pour générer de la progéniture et la faire se reproduire.


De cette façon, ces traits de personnalité pourraient être hérités de génération en génération .

Dans la présente étude, une équipe de chercheurs a voulu voir dans quelle mesure ces trois traits de personnalité pouvaient être associés à une plus grande réussite dans une série de rendez-vous rapides effectués sous leur supervision.

Comment s'est déroulée l'étude?

Premièrement, les chercheurs ont sélectionné 90 personnes (44 hommes et 46 femmes) âgées de 18 à 32 ans. Après avoir précisé ce groupe de volontaires, ils ont reçu un questionnaire dans lequel leurs scores ont été mesurés à la fois dans les traits de la Triade noire et dans les traits de personnalité du test des Cinq grands (extraversion, responsabilité, gentillesse, stabilité émotionnelle et ouverture au dialogue). l'expérience), que dans d'autres études ont été liées au succès dans le maintien à long terme des relations de couple.


Après avoir rempli les questionnaires, les participants ont ensuite organisé une série de rendez-vous rapides. Au total, 691 rendez-vous rapides ont été pris, d'une durée de trois minutes chacun. Après chaque rendez-vous, les participants remplissaient un formulaire dans lequel ils ponctuaient leur interlocuteur de plusieurs manières: son attrait physique, son désir de nouer une amitié avec elle et son degré d'intelligence. accepter d'avoir des rapports sexuels occasionnels avec elle.

Résultats: les narcissiques sont plus désirés

Les scientifiques ont trouvé une corrélation significative entre le score en psychopathie et en narcissisme et les chances d'être choisi ou choisi pour des relations courtes , tant chez les hommes que chez les femmes, et quel que soit leur degré d’attractivité physique. C'est-à-dire que les personnes plus narcissiques présentant davantage de traits psychopathes étaient plus désirées en tant que couples pour des relations à court terme. Cependant, la corrélation s'est inversée dans le cas du trait machiavélique.

En outre, les résultats ont montré que les femmes qui obtenaient des scores plus élevés d’attractivité physique avaient également tendance à obtenir des scores élevés de narcissisme. Comme on pouvait s'y attendre, la variable d'attractivité physique avait un lien étroit avec les possibilités d'être choisi ou choisi en couple, en particulier dans le cas des femmes.


Macron est un psychopathe: l'analyse dun psychiatre italien (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes