yes, therapy helps!
Narrative Therapy: the form of psychotherapy based on stories about the patient's life

Narrative Therapy: the form of psychotherapy based on stories about the patient's life

October 28, 2020

Surely you have noticed that, depending on the way in which a story is explained to us, we value in one way or another the characters that intervene in it and judge in a different way the nature of the problem raised in these narrations.

Works of fiction as Rant: the life of a murderer or the movie Memento explore the possibilities through which the narrative form can affect the content of what is being told , the way of portraying the moral background of the characters or even the type of antagonisms that exist in these stories.

However, it is easy to tell a few facts in several ways when the author can hide information about key moments. What happens, however, when the narrator is us? Are we capable of generating and at the same time experiencing the different ways in which we can narrate our lives?


There is a type of psychotherapy that not only responds affirmatively to this last question, but also transfers this potentiality to the core of its therapeutic proposal. Is called Narrative Therapy .

What is Narrative Therapy?

Narrative Therapy it is a type of therapy in which it is assumed that the client (usually called "coauthor" or "coauthor"), and not the therapist, is the expert in the history of his life .

It is also known to be a form of therapy in which the use of letters, invitations and personal written accounts is proposed, both in relation to the client's life and in those things that refer to the course of the therapy, not as way to provide information to the therapist, but as part of the treatment of the client's problems .


Michael White and David Epston, the pioneers of this kind of psychotherapy

This form of therapy was initially developed by therapists Michael White Y David Epston , who made their proposals known internationally through the publication of the book Narrative Means to Therapeutic Ends, although it was not his first work on the subject. Together, they laid theoretical foundations that decades later other people would continue to develop .

Today, there are several proposals for approaching therapy that can be framed within the limits of Narrative Therapy. However, if we want to understand what Narrative Therapy is, we can hardly do it from a description of its techniques. We must also talk about the worldview from which it starts, its philosophical bases.

Narrative Therapy as a result of postmodernity

The postmodern philosophy It has crystallized into different ways of thinking, many of which influence the way in which the inhabitants of Western countries think about reality today. All these thought styles inheriting postmodernity have in common, on the one hand, the assumption that there is different ways of explaining the same thing, and on the other , the of the no single valid explanation . It is assumed that our bodies are not made to perceive and internalize reality as it occurs in nature, and that to interact with the environment we must build by ourselves stories about the functioning of the world.


This is what the thinker Alfred Korzybsky called the relationship between the map and the territory. It is impossible for each one of us to imagine the planet Earth with all its details, and that is why we have to relate to this terrain by creating mental abstractions that can be assumed by our mind: maps. Of course, there are many possible maps that can represent the same area, and although its use may be practical, that does not mean that we know the territory itself.

Narrative Therapy starts from these philosophical assumptions and places the client or co-author of the therapies at the center of the focus of the sessions. It is not a subject that is limited to providing information for the therapist to generate a diagnosis and a treatment program, but rather both work by weaving a useful and adaptive way of presenting the story of the client's life.

Understanding Narrative Therapy

Human beings, as agents that create narrations, we live life through several stories that contradict each other in many points of friction . At one time, one may be more important, and for other aspects, another may be predominant.

The important thing is that, from the philosophical background of Narrative Therapy, there is no narrative that has the power to completely suppress the others, although there are stories that we pay more attention to in certain contexts and given certain conditions. That is why we will always be able to generate alternative stories to explain, to others as well as to ourselves, what happens to us .

For what has been said above, Narrative Therapy proposes a therapeutic approach in which the experiences of the client are challenged and reformulated through the narration of events , so that they are posed in a way in which the problem does not define the person and limit their ways of perceiving reality.

This type of therapy is not sought a way to access "reality" (something inaccessible if we assume the postmodernity postulates), but the possibility of opening the story in which the person is narrating their experiences to generate alternative stories in those that the problem does not "soak" everything. If there is a problem that disturbs the way in which the client experiences his life, since Narrative Therapy is proposed create the possibility that the dominant narrative in which the present conception of the problem is installed loses prominence in favor of other alternative narrations .

The externalization of the problem

In Narrative Therapy, ways of relating the problem as if it were something that, in itself, does not define the identity of the person are enhanced. This is done so that the problem does not become the "filter" through which all those things we perceive pass (something that would only feed the discomfort and make it perpetuate in time). In this way, By externalizing the problem, it is introduced into the narrative of the person's life as if it were one more element, something separate from the person itself .

This objective can be achieved through the use of a externalizing language. By linguistically separating the problem and the conception that the person has of himself, the latter has the power to express stories in which the experience of the problem is experienced differently.

Narrative thinking

The narrations are the placement of a series of events narrated in a time frame so that they make sense and take us from the introduction of a story to the resolution of it.

All narrative has some elements that define it as such: a specific location, a time lapse during which events take place, some actors, a problem, some objectives and some actions that make history advance . According to some psychologists like Jerome Bruner, narration is one of the most present discursive forms in our way of approaching reality.

Narrative Therapy is born, among other things, from the distinction between logical-scientific thinking and the narrative thinking. While the first serves to bring truth to things from a series of arguments, narrative thinking brings realism to events, by placing them in a time frame and creating a story with them . That is to say: while the logical-scientific thought investigates abstract laws about the functioning of the environment, the narrations deal with the particularities of the concrete experience, the changing points of view and the subjection of some facts to a specific space and time.

Narrative Therapy is ascribed to narrative thinking so that both the therapist and the client can deal with each other's experiences and negotiate between them the elaboration of these specific and credible stories.

The role of the therapist in Narrative Therapy

The client is the maximum expert in their experiences, and this role is reflected in the approach used during Narrative Therapy. It is understood that only the person who attends the consultation can implement an alternative narration to the one that is already living, since it is the one that has direct access to their experiences plus.

The therapist who implements Narrative Therapy, meanwhile, is guided by two main precepts :

1. Staying in a state of curiosity .

2. Ask questions that you really do not know the answer .

Thus, the role of the co-author is to generate the history of his life, while the therapist acts as a facilitator agent posing the right questions and bringing up specific topics. In this way, the problem is dissolved in an alternative narrative.

Other guidelines followed by therapists who work with Narrative Therapy are:

  • Facilitate the establishment of a therapeutic relationship in which your own point of view is not imposed on the client.
  • Actively work to recognize the narrative style that the client makes his story unfold.
  • Ensure that your contributions are designed to be collected and reformulated by the client , not to be accepted simply by this.
  • Accept customer complaints about sessions and not take them as a sign of ignorance or incomprehension.
  • Recognize those alternative narratives in which the problem is losing weight.

The non-blaming of the client

In Narrative Therapy the possibility of narrating an experience in many different ways is assumed (necessarily generating several experiences where before there only seemed to be one), giving the client the maximum power to generate his narrative about what happens to him and not blaming him on the difficulties that arise.

From this approach rejected or closed discourses on what is happening are rejected, and the need to create narratives open to change is underlined , flexibility that will allow the person to introduce changes, give importance to some facts and take it away from others. It is understood that where there is a feeling of guilt originating in therapy, there is a perception of not knowing how to adapt to a narrative thread that is given from the outside, which means that the client has not been involved in his generation.

summarizing

In short, Narrative Therapy is a framework of relationships between therapist and client (co-author) in which the second It has the power to generate alternative narratives of what happens to it, so as not to be limited by its perception of the problems s . The theory related to this therapeutic approach is prolific in methods and strategies to facilitate the appearance of these alternative narratives and, of course, its explanation far exceeds the claims deposited in this article.

I invite you to, if you think this topic is interesting, investigate on your own and start, for example, by reading some of the works that appear in the bibliography section.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bruner, L. (1987). Life as Narrative. Social Research, 54 (1), pp. 11 - 32.
  • White and Epston (1993). Narrative means for therapeutic purposes. Barcelona: Paidós.
  • White, M. (2002). The narrative approach in the experience of the therapists. Barcelona: Gedisa.

What is NARRATIVE THERAPY? What does NARRATIVE THERAPY mean? NARRATIVE THERAPY meaning (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie narrative: la forme de psychothérapie basée sur des histoires sur la vie du patient

Thérapie narrative: la forme de psychothérapie basée sur des histoires sur la vie du patient

Mai 20, 2019

Vous avez sûrement remarqué que, selon la manière dont une histoire nous est expliquée, nous valorisons d’une manière ou d’une autre les personnages qui y interviennent et jugeons de manière différente la nature du problème soulevé dans ces récits.

Œuvres de fiction comme Rant: la vie d'un meurtrier ou le film Mémento explorer les possibilités par lesquelles la forme narrative peut affecter le contenu de ce qui est dit , la manière de décrire l’arrière-plan moral des personnages ou même le type d’antagonismes présents dans ces histoires.

Cependant, il est facile de dire quelques faits de plusieurs manières lorsque l’auteur peut cacher des informations sur des moments clés. Qu'est-ce qui se passe, cependant, quand le narrateur est nous? Sommes-nous capables de générer et en même temps de faire l'expérience des différentes manières de raconter nos vies?


Il existe un type de psychothérapie qui non seulement répond positivement à cette dernière question, mais transfère également cette potentialité au cœur de sa proposition thérapeutique. Il s'appelle Thérapie narrative .

Qu'est-ce que la thérapie narrative?

Thérapie narrative c'est un type de thérapie dans lequel on suppose que le client (généralement appelé "co-auteur" ou "co-auteur"), et non le thérapeute, est l'expert de l'histoire de sa vie .

Il est également connu qu’il s’agit d’une forme de thérapie dans laquelle l’utilisation de lettres, d’invitations et de récits personnels écrits est proposée, à la fois en relation avec la vie du client et en ce qui concerne le cours de la thérapie, et non comme façon de fournir des informations au thérapeute, mais dans le cadre du traitement des problèmes du client .


Michael White et David Epston, les pionniers de ce type de psychothérapie

Cette forme de thérapie a été initialement développée par des thérapeutes Michael White et David Epston , qui a fait connaître ses propositions au niveau international par la publication du livre Des moyens narratifs à des fins thérapeutiques, bien que ce ne soit pas son premier travail sur le sujet. Ensemble ils ont jeté les bases théoriques que des décennies plus tard, d'autres personnes continueraient à se développer .

Aujourd’hui, plusieurs propositions d’approche thérapeutique peuvent être encadrées dans les limites de la thérapie narrative. Cependant, si nous voulons comprendre ce qu'est la thérapie narrative, nous pouvons difficilement le faire à partir d'une description de ses techniques. Nous devons également parler de la vision du monde à partir de laquelle il commence, de son bases philosophiques.

Thérapie narrative à la suite de la postmodernité

Le philosophie postmoderne Il s'est cristallisé en différentes façons de penser, dont beaucoup influencent la façon dont les habitants des pays occidentaux envisagent la réalité aujourd'hui. Tous ces styles de pensée hérités de la postmodernité ont en commun, d’une part, l’hypothèse qu’il existe différentes façons d'expliquer la même chose, et de l'autre , le de la pas d'explication valable unique . Il est supposé que nos corps ne sont pas conçus pour percevoir et intérioriser la réalité telle qu'elle se produit dans la nature et que, pour interagir avec l'environnement, nous devons construire nous-mêmes des récits sur le fonctionnement du monde.


C’est ce que le penseur Alfred Korzybsky a appelé le relation entre la carte et le territoire. Il est impossible pour chacun d’entre nous d’imaginer la planète Terre avec tous ses détails. C’est pourquoi nous devons nous rapporter à ce terrain en créant des abstractions mentales pouvant être assumées par notre esprit: des cartes. Bien sûr, il existe de nombreuses cartes possibles qui peuvent représenter la même zone. Bien que son utilisation puisse être pratique, cela ne signifie pas que nous connaissons le territoire lui-même.

La thérapie narrative part de ces hypothèses philosophiques et place le client ou le co-auteur des thérapies au centre des débats. Ce n’est pas un sujet qui se limite à fournir des informations au thérapeute pour générer un diagnostic et un programme de traitement, mais les deux travaillent en tissant une manière utile et adaptative de présenter l'histoire de la vie du client.

Comprendre la thérapie narrative

Les êtres humains, en tant qu'agents qui créent des narrations, nous vivons la vie à travers plusieurs histoires qui se contredisent dans de nombreux points de friction . À un moment donné, l'un peut être plus important, et pour d'autres aspects, un autre peut être prédominant.

Ce qui est important, c’est que, du point de vue philosophique de la thérapie narrative, il n’existe aucun récit qui ait le pouvoir de supprimer complètement les autres, même s’il existe des histoires auxquelles nous prêtons plus d’attention dans certains contextes et dans certaines conditions. C'est pour ça que nous serons toujours capables de générer des histoires alternatives pour expliquer, aux autres comme à nous-mêmes, ce qui nous arrive .

Pour ce qui a été dit ci-dessus, la thérapie narrative propose une approche thérapeutique dans laquelle les expériences du client sont remises en question et reformulées à travers la narration d'événements , de sorte qu'ils se posent de manière à ce que le problème ne définisse pas la personne et ne limite pas sa façon de percevoir la réalité.

Ce type de thérapie n’est pas un moyen d’accéder à la "réalité" (chose inaccessible si l’on suppose les postulats postmodernes), mais la possibilité d’ouvrir le récit dans lequel la personne raconte ses expériences pour générer des récits alternatifs. ceux que le problème ne "trempe" pas tout. S'il y a un problème qui perturbe la façon dont le client vit sa vie, puisque la thérapie narrative est proposée créer la possibilité que le récit dominant dans lequel la conception actuelle du problème est installée perd de l'importance au profit d'autres récits alternatifs .

L'externalisation du problème

Dans la thérapie narrative, les moyens de relier le problème comme s'il s'agissait de quelque chose qui, en soi, ne définit pas l'identité de la personne sont améliorés. Ceci est fait pour que le problème ne devienne pas le "filtre" à travers lequel passent toutes les choses que nous percevons (quelque chose qui ne ferait que nourrir l'inconfort et le faire se perpétuer dans le temps). De cette façon, En externalisant le problème, il est introduit dans le récit de la vie de la personne comme s'il s'agissait d'un élément supplémentaire, distinct de la personne elle-même. .

Cet objectif peut être atteint par le recours à un langage extériorisé. En séparant linguistiquement le problème et la conception que la personne a de lui-même, cette dernière a le pouvoir d'exprimer des histoires dans lesquelles l'expérience du problème est vécue différemment.

Pensée narrative

Les narrations sont le placement d'une série d'événements relatés dans un cadre temporel afin qu'ils aient un sens et nous conduisent de l'introduction d'une histoire à sa résolution.

Tout récit a quelques éléments qui le définissent comme tel: un lieu spécifique, un laps de temps pendant lequel se déroulent des événements, des acteurs, un problème, des objectifs et des actions qui font avancer l'histoire . Selon certains psychologues comme Jerome Bruner, la narration est l'une des formes discursives les plus présentes dans notre approche de la réalité.

La thérapie narrative est née, entre autres, de la distinction entre pensée logique et scientifique et le pensée narrative. Alors que le premier sert à apporter la vérité aux choses à partir d'une série d'arguments, la pensée narrative donne du réalisme aux événements, en les plaçant dans un laps de temps et en créant une histoire avec eux . En d'autres termes, alors que la pensée logico-scientifique étudie les lois abstraites relatives au fonctionnement de l'environnement, les récits traitent des particularités de l'expérience concrète, des points de vue changeants et de la soumission de certains faits à un espace et à un temps spécifiques.

La thérapie narrative est attribuée à la pensée narrative afin que le thérapeute et le client puissent faire face aux expériences de chacun et négocier entre eux l'élaboration de ces histoires spécifiques et crédibles.

Le rôle du thérapeute en thérapie narrative

Le client est le plus grand expert dans leurs expériences, et ce rôle est reflété dans l'approche utilisée lors de la thérapie narrative. Il est entendu que seulement la personne qui assiste à la consultation peut mettre en œuvre une narration alternative à celle qui vit déjà, puisque c'est celle qui a un accès direct à leurs expériences et aussi.

Le thérapeute qui met en œuvre la thérapie narrative, pendant ce temps, est guidé par deux préceptes principaux :

1. Rester dans la curiosité .

2. Posez des questions dont vous ne connaissez vraiment pas la réponse .

Ainsi, le rôle du co-auteur est de générer l'histoire de sa vie, tandis que le thérapeute agit en tant qu'agent facilitateur en posant les bonnes questions et en abordant des sujets spécifiques. De cette façon, le problème est dissous dans un récit alternatif.

Les autres directives suivies par les thérapeutes qui travaillent avec la thérapie narrative sont:

  • Faciliter l'établissement d'une relation thérapeutique dans lequel votre propre point de vue n'est pas imposé au client.
  • Travailler activement à reconnaître le style narratif que le client raconte son histoire.
  • Assurez-vous que vos contributions sont conçues pour être collectées et reformulées par le client. , ne pas être accepté simplement par cela.
  • Accepter les plaintes des clients concernant les sessions et ne les prenez pas comme un signe d'ignorance ou d'incompréhension.
  • Reconnaître ces récits alternatifs dans lequel le problème est de perdre du poids.

Le non-blâme du client

En thérapie narrative la possibilité de raconter une expérience de différentes façons est supposée (générant nécessairement plusieurs expériences là où auparavant il semblait n'y en avoir qu’une seule), donnant au client le maximum de pouvoir pour générer son récit de ce qui lui arrive et ne le blâme pas pour les difficultés qui surgissent.

De cette approche les discours rejetés ou fermés sur ce qui se passe sont rejetés et la nécessité de créer des récits ouverts au changement est soulignée , flexibilité qui permettra à la personne d’introduire des changements, de donner de l’importance à certains faits et de les soustraire à d’autres. Il est entendu que lorsqu'il existe un sentiment de culpabilité né de la thérapie, il existe une perception de ne pas savoir comment s'adapter à un fil narratif donné de l'extérieur, ce qui signifie que le client n'a pas été impliqué dans sa génération.

En résumé

En bref, la thérapie narrative est un cadre de relations entre thérapeute et client (co-auteur) dans lequel le second Il a le pouvoir de générer des récits alternatifs de ce qui lui arrive, afin de ne pas être limité par sa perception des problèmes s . La théorie liée à cette approche thérapeutique est prolifique en termes de méthodes et de stratégies pour faciliter l’apparition de ces récits alternatifs et, bien sûr, son explication dépasse de loin les revendications déposées dans cet article.

Si vous pensez que ce sujet est intéressant, je vous invite à vous renseigner et à commencer, par exemple, en lisant certaines des œuvres figurant dans la section bibliographie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bruner, L. (1987). La vie comme récit. Social Research, 54 (1), pp. 11 - 32.
  • White et Epston (1993). Narrative signifie à des fins thérapeutiques. Barcelone: ​​Paidós.
  • White, M. (2002). L'approche narrative dans l'expérience des thérapeutes. Barcelone: ​​Gedisa.

Osmosis Recap - DIVINITY ORIGINAL SIN 2, Larian et l'histoire du JDR! (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes