yes, therapy helps!
Nefazodone: uses and side effects of this antidepressant

Nefazodone: uses and side effects of this antidepressant

September 6, 2022

There have been multiple psychopharmaceuticals that have been developed throughout history in order to treat different disorders and diseases, both physical and mental. Among the different mental disorders, depression is one of the most common, which has led to the synthesis of multiple types of substance in order to combat their symptoms.

One of them is nefazodone, a little-known antidepressant and used of which we are going to talk about in this article.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

Nefazodone: basic characteristics of the drug

Nefazodone is an antidepressant-type psychotropic drug, derived from phenylpiperazines and synthesized with the purpose of alleviating and treating the symptomatology of depression: low mood, lack of motivation, anhedonia, passivity and sleep problems, among others.


It is part of the so-called atypical antidepressants, as its mechanism of action does not coincide with that of other antidepressants. Specifically, it would be part of the group of drugs known as weak inhibitors of the reuptake of serotonin, noradrenaline and dopamine or SDRI, like the Mazindol. Other substances have a similar functioning although they act through different mechanisms of action, such as ketamine, cocaine and ecstasy.

As with most antidepressants, it takes time to make the necessary brain changes to visualize a real effect, this time being around four weeks. This drug is an effective antidepressant, which also has with the advantage of not producing hardly alterations at a sexual level, weight increases or alterations of appetite.


However, although it is an effective antidepressant, its prescription is not usual and in fact between 2003 and 2004 its marketing was suspended in different countries (including Spain and the United States) because it was shown that it could pose a high risk to health Being highly toxic at the liver level, it can even lead to death.

  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

Mechanism of action

The main mechanism of action of nefazodone is its action on the receptors of the different monoamines: serotonin, dopamine and noradrenaline. In a similar way to non-selective MAOIs, the action of the three main monoamines increases but at a weaker and controlled level.

It mainly acts as an antagonist of the 5-HT2 receptors of serotonin at postsynaptic level at the same time that it inhibits the reuptake of the same. This generates an increase in brain serotonin levels. It also helps to inhibit the reuptake of noradrenaline and dopamine, although at a much lower level. Finally, also has a slight effect at the level of histamine and acetylcholine , but these last ones are practically inappreciable.


Uses and applications of this medicine

Nefazodone is mainly known as an antidepressant, with major depression being its main indication. It is also used in premenstrual syndrome or in other types of depression, such as that associated with the suffering of various pathologies. But nevertheless, in addition to the activity on depressive disorders , this drug can be useful in the treatment of other psychopathologies and problems.

Among them we can see that nefazodone is useful in the treatment of various anxiety problems and in post-traumatic stress disorder, as well as in the face of insomnia problems, although it increases the latency of REM sleep.

Side effects of this antidepressant

Despite its great utility, the consumption of nefazodone can generate various side effects and in some cases may have its risks, there are different contraindications.

The most common side effects of nefazodon they are dry mouth and drowsiness, along with nausea and dizziness. The presence of confusion, vision problems and asthenia are also relatively common. Rarely, hypotension and bradycardia have been observed, something dangerous especially for those subjects who already suffer cardiac pathologies.

However, the most serious problem associated with this drug (and which in fact led to interrupting its commercialization) is its high hepatotoxicity. In some cases liver failures have been observed that can even lead to death, or jaundice. That is why if prescribed (something not very usual), a continuous control over the state of hepatic health must be exercised of the patient, performing tests periodically. It can also have kidney effects, by eliminating the drug mainly by this route.

Another aspect to consider is the risk of suffering a serotonin syndrome, a problem derived from an excess of serotonin (often caused by overdose or interactions with other drugs and drugs) can cause anxiety, disturbances of consciousness, hyperactivity, tremors, vomiting , tachycardia, incoordination, mydriasis, seizures, respiratory problems or even death.

Contraindications

Regarding the contraindications, one of the main ones occurs in those people who already suffer from liver problems, as well as coronary disorders. As well is contraindicated to people who use certain drugs and especially MAOIs, as it could generate serotonin syndrome and even cause death.

Its administration with SSRI is not recommended , since they interact. Likewise, some retrovirals such as those used with HIV interact with this substance, being necessary that if nefazodone is used (to treat depressions associated with the condition of this disease) the doses and the possible interaction are regulated to a great extent.

Children and pregnant women should not take this medicine. In addition, people with epilepsy or a history of suicide attempts should not use this medicine or do so with special caution. Generally, it is not recommended in bipolar disorders.

Bibliographic references:

  • Jufe, G. (2001). Practical Psychopharmacology. Buenos Aires, Editorial Polemos.
  • McConville, B.J .; Chaney, R.O .; Browne, K.L. et al. (1998). Newer antidepressants-beyond selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor antidepressants. Ped Clin North Am. 45: 1157-71.
  • Tatsumi, M .; Groshan, K .; Blakely, R.D. & Richelson, E. (1997). «Pharmacological Profile of Antidepressants and Related Compounds at Human Monoamine Transporters.». Eur J Pharmacol.340 (2-3): 249-258.

Pharmacology - ANTIDEPRESSANTS - SSRIs, SNRIs, TCAs, MAOIs, Lithium ( MADE EASY) (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Néfazodone: utilisations et effets secondaires de cet antidépresseur

Néfazodone: utilisations et effets secondaires de cet antidépresseur

Août 2, 2022

De nombreux produits psychopharmaceutiques ont été développés au cours de l'histoire pour traiter différents troubles et maladies, tant physiques que mentales. Parmi les différents troubles mentaux, la dépression est l’un des plus courants, ce qui a conduit à la synthèse de multiples types de substances afin de lutter contre leurs symptômes.

L'un d'eux est la néfazodone, un antidépresseur peu connu. et utilisé dont nous allons parler dans cet article.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Néfazodone: caractéristiques de base du médicament

La néfazodone est un psychotrope de type antidépresseur, dérivé de phénylpipérazines et synthétisés dans le but de soulager et de traiter la symptomatologie de la dépression: humeur basse, manque de motivation, anhédonie, problèmes de passivité et de sommeil, entre autres.


Il fait partie des antidépresseurs dits atypiques, car son mécanisme d'action ne coïncide pas avec celui des autres antidépresseurs. Plus précisément, il ferait partie du groupe de médicaments appelé inhibiteurs faibles de la recapture de la sérotonine, de la noradrénaline et de la dopamine ou SDRI, comme le Mazindol. D'autres substances ont un fonctionnement similaire bien qu'elles agissent par le biais de différents mécanismes d'action, tels que la kétamine, la cocaïne et l'ecstasy.

Comme avec la plupart des antidépresseurs, il faut du temps pour apporter les changements cérébraux nécessaires à la visualisation d'un effet réel, cette fois-ci autour de quatre semaines. Ce médicament est un antidépresseur efficace, qui possède également avec l'avantage de ne pas produire à peine de modifications au niveau sexuel, le poids augmente ou des modifications de l'appétit.


Cependant, bien qu’il s’agisse d’un antidépresseur efficace, sa prescription n’est pas habituelle et, de fait, entre 2003 et 2004, sa commercialisation a été suspendue dans différents pays (dont l’Espagne et les États-Unis) car il a été démontré qu’elle pouvait présenter un risque élevé pour la santé. Très toxique au niveau du foie, il peut même entraîner la mort.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Mécanisme d'action

Le principal mécanisme d'action de la néfazodone est son action sur les récepteurs des différentes monoamines: sérotonine, dopamine et noradrénaline. De la même manière que les IMAO non sélectifs, l'action des trois monoamines principales augmente mais à un niveau plus faible et contrôlé.

Il agit principalement comme un antagoniste des récepteurs 5-HT2 de la sérotonine au niveau postsynaptique, tout en inhibant la recapture de celui-ci. Cela génère une augmentation des niveaux de sérotonine dans le cerveau. Il contribue également à inhiber la recapture de la noradrénaline et de la dopamine, bien qu’à un niveau beaucoup plus bas. Enfin, aussi a un léger effet au niveau de l'histamine et de l'acétylcholine , mais ces derniers sont pratiquement inappréciables.


Utilisations et applications de ce médicament

La néfazodone est principalement connue en tant qu'antidépresseur, la dépression majeure étant son indication principale. Il est également utilisé dans le syndrome prémenstruel ou dans d'autres types de dépression, tels que ceux associés à la souffrance de diverses pathologies. Cependant, en plus de l'activité sur les troubles dépressifs , ce médicament peut être utile dans le traitement d’autres psychopathologies et problèmes.

Parmi ceux-ci, on peut voir que la néfazodone est utile dans le traitement de divers problèmes d'anxiété et de trouble de stress post-traumatique, ainsi que dans les problèmes d'insomnie, bien qu'elle augmente la latence du sommeil paradoxal.

Effets secondaires de cet antidépresseur

Malgré sa grande utilité, la consommation de néfazodone peut générer divers effets secondaires et, dans certains cas, présenter des risques, il existe différentes contre-indications.

Les effets secondaires les plus communs de nefazodon ils ont la bouche sèche et la somnolence, ainsi que des nausées et des vertiges. La présence de confusion, les problèmes de vision et l'asthénie sont également relativement fréquents. Une hypotension et une bradycardie ont rarement été observées, ce qui est particulièrement dangereux pour les sujets déjà atteints de pathologies cardiaques.

Cependant, le problème le plus grave associé à ce médicament (et qui a en fait conduit à en interrompre la commercialisation) est sa grande hépatotoxicité. Dans certains cas, des insuffisances hépatiques pouvant même entraîner la mort ou la jaunisse ont été observées. C'est pourquoi si prescrit (quelque chose de pas très habituel), un contrôle continu de l'état de santé hépatique doit être exercé du patient, effectuant des tests périodiquement. Il peut également avoir des effets sur les reins, en éliminant le médicament principalement par cette voie.

Un autre aspect à considérer est le risque de souffrir d'un syndrome de sérotonine, un problème lié à un excès de sérotonine (souvent causé par une surdose ou des interactions avec d'autres médicaments et drogues). peut provoquer anxiété, troubles de la conscience, hyperactivité, tremblements, vomissements , tachycardie, incoordination, mydriase, convulsions, problèmes respiratoires ou même la mort.

Contre-indications

En ce qui concerne les contre-indications, l’une des principales est celle des personnes souffrant déjà de problèmes de foie, ainsi que de troubles coronariens. Aussi est contre-indiqué aux personnes qui utilisent certaines drogues et surtout les IMAO, car ils pourraient générer un syndrome sérotoninergique et même causer la mort.

Son administration avec ISRS n'est pas recommandée , car ils interagissent. De même, certains rétroviraux, tels que ceux utilisés avec le VIH, interagissent avec cette substance. Si la néfazodone est utilisée (pour traiter les dépressions liées à l’état de cette maladie), les doses et l’interaction possible sont régulées dans une large mesure.

Les enfants et les femmes enceintes ne doivent pas prendre ce médicament. De plus, les personnes souffrant d'épilepsie ou ayant déjà tenté de se suicider ne doivent pas utiliser ce médicament ou le faire avec prudence. En règle générale, il n'est pas recommandé dans les troubles bipolaires.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Jufe, G. (2001). Psychopharmacologie pratique. Buenos Aires, Éditorial Polemos.
  • McConville, B.J .; Chaney, R.O .; Browne, K.L. et al. (1998). Antidépresseurs plus récents - au-delà des antidépresseurs inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine. Ped Clin North Am. 45: 1157-71.
  • Tatsumi, M .; Groshan, K .; Blakely, R.D. & Richelson, E. (1997). «Profil pharmacologique des antidépresseurs et des composés apparentés chez des transporteurs de monoamine humaine». Eur J Pharmacol.340 (2-3): 249-258.
Articles Connexes