yes, therapy helps!
Neophobia (fear of the new): symptoms, causes and treatment

Neophobia (fear of the new): symptoms, causes and treatment

November 28, 2022

Facing the new, everything that is unknown to us always generates a feeling of tension and even some nervousness. This response can be completely natural as long as it is within limits, due to not knowing what we are going to find or whether we will like it or not.

However, when this response becomes disproportionate and excessive, to the point of interfering with the person's daily life, we may be facing a case of neophobia . In this article we will discuss the characteristics that define it as well as the existing relationship with food neophobia.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

What is neophobia?

Within the long list of anxiety disorders or specific phobias, we find some conditions as curious as neophobia. This disorder is characterized by the experimentation of a disproportionate, persistent, irrational and uncontrollable fear of all those situations that are perceived as novel .


For these people, events such as facing the first day of work or school, as well as having to go to an unknown place or an experience that they had never before faced is practically impossible since the anguish and torment suffered make it impossible to face such situations.

There are a lot of situations that can generate fear and anxiety in neophobic people, including any type of change in their life or routine.

Patients with neophobia are characterized by being very routine, with very established patterns of life and preferences towards everything that is familiar. Therefore, this anxiety disorder becomes a protective shield for all those people who they feel afraid to break their routines .


On the other hand, nosophobia can manifest itself as a means to control what surrounds them, since a new situation necessarily implies a certain margin of uncertainty, which generates a fear of not being able to control the situation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

And the food neophobia?

Within the category of neophobia we find a special situation that, owing to its high incidence, has its own name. This is the food nosophobia. This type of alteration consists of constant, insistent and stressed resistance to try new foods .

That is, those people with food neophobia, avoid in all possible ways try or eat foods that have not tasted before. Although not always because, in the most severe cases, food neophobia can become an eating disorder, specifically it is presented as a symptom of the avoidance / restriction disorder of food intake.


This disorder occurs especially in young children , which manifest a strong resistance to eat some fruits or vegetables. In this specific case of infant feeding neophobia, this is associated with certain personality factors such as irritability, sadness or discomfort and tends to accentuate between two and 6 years of age.

After this stage, the symptoms of neophobia diminish, although they can remain until adulthood, being most of the time accompanied by other emotional symptoms such as anxiety and anguish.

What are the symptoms?

The main symptoms of neophobia are those of any specific anxiety disorder , which include the experimentation of high levels of anxiety when facing the feared situation or even only when imagining it.

However, there are a large number of symptoms related to neophobia. These can be classified into physical symptoms, cognitive symptoms and behavioral symptoms. Although they do not have to arise in the same way and with the same intensity in all people, they will have to experience signs of the three categories.

1. Physical symptoms

The experimentation of high levels of anxiety and anxiety caused by a phobic fear they usually bring about a series of changes and alterations in the organism. This is due to hyperactivity of the nervous system, which can cause the following symptoms:

  • Increase in the cardiac rate
  • Increase in the respiratory rate .
  • Feeling of suffocation or shortness of breath.
  • Increased sweating .
  • Increase in muscle tension
  • Headaches
  • Gastric alterations .
  • Dizziness and feeling dizzy.
  • Nausea and / or vomiting
  • Fainting.

2. Cognitive symptoms

Along with the physical symptomatology, neophobia is characterized by presenting a series of distorted beliefs and irrational thoughts about the feared situation.In this case, to everything that is perceived as novel.

This cognitive symptomatology appears as follows:

  • Intrusive and uncontrollable ideas about the supposed danger or risks of phobic stimulation.
  • Obsessive speculations .
  • Catastrophic imagination.
  • Fear of losing control and not being able to manage the situation effectively.

3. Behavioral symptoms

Finally, the behavioral symptoms include all that repertoire of behaviors that the person carries out with the intention of avoiding or escaping from the feared situation. These behaviors are known as Avoidance behaviors or escape behaviors .

The first type, the avoidance behaviors, include all those acts that have as objective to avoid the encounter with a novel situation. Following the daily routine inflexibly or avoiding contact with everything that is not familiar makes it possible for the person to temporarily avoid experiencing feelings of anguish and anxiety characteristic of a phobia.

In contrast, escape behaviors appear when the person with neophobia has not been able to avoid the feared situation, so he will do everything possible to escape from the situation in the fastest way.

What causes does it have?

The task of concisely determining the origin of a phobia can be highly complicated, since there is not always an event that triggers it. In any case, the existence of a genetic predisposition, together with the experimentation of experiences and highly traumatic events , can favor the appearance of a specific phobia such as neophobia.

Likewise, there are many other factors that can predispose the person to develop a specific phobia. Among them are some personality types, cognitive styles or the influence of vicarious learning.

Is there a treatment?

In cases in which neophobia interferes significantly with the person's day-to-day life, it is advisable to go to a mental health professional . Currently you can find different psychological interventions that can promote the remission of symptoms until they disappear.

Psychological treatments of a cognitive-behavioral nature they use cognitive restructuring techniques that can help eliminate irrational beliefs and ideas, which often form the basis of this disorder.

This cognitive intervention is more effective if it is accompanied by treatments such as systematic desensitization or exposure in vivo which expose the patient, gradually and accompanied by a training in relaxation techniques, to the thoughts or situations that cause this fear.


1411 Fear of Food | "Food Neophobia" | How to Heal Food Neophobia Naturally | Eating Healthy (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Néophobie (peur du nouveau): symptômes, causes et traitement

Néophobie (peur du nouveau): symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 22, 2020

Face au nouveau, tout ce qui nous est inconnu génère toujours un sentiment de tension et même de nervosité. Cette réponse peut être complètement naturelle tant qu'elle est dans les limites, faute de savoir ce que nous allons trouver ou si cela nous plaira ou non.

Cependant, lorsque cette réaction devient disproportionnée et excessive, au point d’interférer dans la vie quotidienne de la personne, nous sommes peut-être confrontés à un cas de néophobie . Dans cet article, nous discuterons des caractéristiques qui le définissent ainsi que de la relation existante avec la néophobie alimentaire.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Qu'est-ce que la néophobie?

Parmi la longue liste de troubles anxieux ou de phobies spécifiques, nous trouvons certaines conditions aussi curieuses que la néophobie. Ce trouble se caractérise par l’expérimentation d’une peur de la peur disproportionnée, persistante, irrationnelle et incontrôlable. toutes ces situations qui sont perçues comme nouvelles .


Pour ces personnes, des événements tels que le premier jour de travail ou d'école, ainsi que le fait de devoir se rendre dans un lieu inconnu ou une expérience inédite sont pratiquement impossibles, car l'angoisse et le tourment subis rendent impossible l'affrontement. des situations.

Il y a beaucoup de situations qui peuvent générer de la peur et de l'anxiété chez les personnes néophobes, y compris tout type de changement dans leur vie ou leur routine.

Les patients atteints de néophobie se caractérisent par une routine, des habitudes de vie bien établies et des préférences pour tout ce qui leur est familier. Par conséquent, ce trouble anxieux devient un bouclier protecteur pour tous ceux qui ils ont peur de casser leurs routines .


D'autre part, la nosophobie peut se manifester en tant que moyen de contrôler ce qui les entoure, car une situation nouvelle implique nécessairement une certaine marge d'incertitude, ce qui fait craindre de ne pas pouvoir contrôler la situation.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Et la néophobie alimentaire?

Dans la catégorie de la néophobie, nous trouvons une situation particulière qui, en raison de son incidence élevée, porte son propre nom. C'est la nosophobie alimentaire. Ce type de modification consiste en résistance constante, insistante et stressée pour essayer de nouveaux aliments .

C'est-à-dire que les personnes atteintes de néophobie alimentaire évitent autant que possible d'essayer ou de manger des aliments qui n'ont pas encore goûté. Bien que pas toujours parce que, dans les cas les plus graves, la néophobie alimentaire peut devenir un trouble de l’alimentation, elle est en particulier présentée comme un symptôme du trouble d’évitement / restriction de la prise alimentaire.


Ce trouble survient surtout chez les jeunes enfants , qui manifestent une forte résistance à la consommation de fruits ou de légumes. Dans ce cas particulier de néophobie de l'alimentation du nourrisson, ceci est associé à certains facteurs de la personnalité tels que l'irritabilité, la tristesse ou la gêne et tend à s'accentuer entre deux et six ans.

Après cette étape, les symptômes de la néophobie diminuent, bien qu'ils puissent rester jusqu'à l'âge adulte, accompagnés la plupart du temps de symptômes émotionnels tels que l'anxiété et l'angoisse.

Quels sont les symptômes?

Les principaux symptômes de la néophobie sont ceux de tout trouble anxieux spécifique , qui incluent l’expérimentation de niveaux élevés d’anxiété face à la situation redoutée ou même lorsqu’elle l’imagine.

Cependant, il existe un grand nombre de symptômes liés à la néophobie. Ceux-ci peuvent être classés en symptômes physiques, symptômes cognitifs et symptômes comportementaux. Bien qu'ils n'aient pas à surgir de la même manière et avec la même intensité chez toutes les personnes, ils devront faire l'expérience de signes des trois catégories.

1. symptômes physiques

L'expérimentation de niveaux élevés d'anxiété et d'anxiété causés par une peur phobique ils entraînent généralement une série de changements et d'altérations de l'organisme. Cela est dû à l'hyperactivité du système nerveux, qui peut provoquer les symptômes suivants:

  • Augmentation du rythme cardiaque
  • Augmentation de la fréquence respiratoire .
  • Sensation de suffocation ou d'essoufflement.
  • Transpiration accrue .
  • Augmentation de la tension musculaire
  • Maux de tête
  • Altérations gastriques .
  • Vertiges et sensations vertigineuses.
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements
  • Évanouissement

2. symptômes cognitifs

Outre la symptomatologie physique, la néophobie se caractérise par la présentation une série de croyances déformées et de pensées irrationnelles à propos de la situation redoutée.Dans ce cas, à tout ce qui est perçu comme roman.

Cette symptomatologie cognitive se présente comme suit:

  • Idées intrusives et incontrôlables sur le danger ou les risques supposés de la stimulation phobique.
  • Spéculations obsessionnelles .
  • Imagination catastrophique.
  • Peur de perdre le contrôle et ne pas être capable de gérer la situation efficacement.

3. symptômes comportementaux

Enfin, les symptômes comportementaux englobent tout ce répertoire de comportements que la personne adopte dans le but d'éviter ou d'éviter la situation redoutée. Ces comportements sont connus comme Comportements d'évitement ou de fuite .

Le premier type, les comportements d'évitement, comprend tous les actes ayant pour objectif d'éviter la rencontre avec une situation nouvelle. Suivre la routine quotidienne de manière inflexible ou éviter le contact avec tout ce qui n'est pas familier permet à la personne d'éviter temporairement d'éprouver des sentiments d'angoisse et d'anxiété caractéristiques d'une phobie.

En revanche, les comportements d'évasion apparaissent lorsque la personne atteinte de néophobie n'a pas été en mesure d'éviter la situation redoutée. Elle fera donc tout son possible pour s'en sortir le plus rapidement possible.

Quelles sont les causes?

Déterminer de manière concise l’origine d’une phobie peut être très compliqué, puisqu’il n’ya pas toujours un événement qui la déclenche. En tout état de cause, l’existence d’une prédisposition génétique, associée à l'expérimentation d'expériences et d'événements hautement traumatisants , peut favoriser l'apparition d'une phobie spécifique telle que la néophobie.

De même, de nombreux autres facteurs peuvent prédisposer la personne à développer une phobie spécifique. Parmi eux figurent certains types de personnalité, des styles cognitifs ou l'influence de l'apprentissage par procuration.

Y a-t-il un traitement?

Dans les cas où la néophobie perturbe considérablement la vie quotidienne de la personne, il est conseillé de consulter un professionnel de la santé mentale . Actuellement, vous pouvez trouver différentes interventions psychologiques pouvant favoriser la rémission des symptômes jusqu'à leur disparition.

Traitements psychologiques de nature cognitivo-comportementale ils utilisent des techniques de restructuration cognitive qui peuvent aider à éliminer les croyances et les idées irrationnelles, qui constituent souvent la base de ce trouble.

Cette intervention cognitive est plus efficace si elle est accompagnée de traitements tels que la désensibilisation systématique ou l'exposition in vivo qui expose le patient, progressivement et accompagné d'un entraînement aux techniques de relaxation, aux pensées ou aux situations qui causent cette peur.


IACAPAP MOOC: 11. Eating disorders (Evelyn Attia & Matthew Shear, USA) (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes