yes, therapy helps!
Neurofeedback: what is and how is this therapeutic tool used?

Neurofeedback: what is and how is this therapeutic tool used?

March 1, 2021

In recent times we are witnessing an authentic revolution in the development of diagnostic and therapeutic tools that allow us to evaluate brain function and influence it. And among all of them, Biofeedback stands out and more specifically Neurofeedback, a form of Biofeedback that acts through the registration and regulation of brain electrical activity (electroencephalogram).

Neurofeedback, therefore, is a type of neurotherapy, that is, a treatment that seeks to modify brain function by acting directly on it.

Unlike psychotherapy, which influences, through the relationship between therapist and patient, on different psychological processes, neurotherapy arises from the brain-machine relationship , and does not address the psychological processes themselves, but the underlying neurobiological state. Let's see then what are the keys of Neurofeedback.


  • Related article: "Biofeedback: what is it and what is it for?"

A form of neurotherapy

Obviously, all psychotherapy will produce, if effective, changes at the neurobiological level, because the mind is based on neurochemical and neurophysiological processes of the nervous system. And vice versa, in any type of neurotherapy the therapist-patient relationship will have its role and will condition its effectiveness.

However, to simplify, we will say that psychotherapy works on psychological processes, and has as one of its central elements the therapeutic relationship, and neurotherapy works by seeking the direct modification of the function of the nervous system , through specifically designed devices. That is, neurotherapy is a therapy centered on the neurobiological level, and through its influence at that level, it will also modify psychological processes underlying them.


What is Neurofeedback?

Technically, therefore, Neurofeedback is a treatment that acts on brain waves to allow the person to be aware of their brain activity and modify it . Starting from an electroencephalographic record (EEG), the Neurofeedback devices extract a series of parameters that will be used to evaluate the bioelectrical function, transforming the analog signal (the classic EEG that we all know) into data whose modification we can program.

In any case, the Neurofeedback is a non-invasive method that influences brain function passively , through the reinforcement or inhibition of certain brain waves by means of images or sounds. In other words, Neurofeedback devices do not emit any type of wave or energy.

According to the International Alliance for Certification in Biofeedback (BCIA), Neurofeedback is used to modify the electrical activity of the CNS including the EEG, evoked potentials, slow cortical potentials and other electrical activity either cortical or subcortical . Neurofeedback is a type of biofeedback that works with brain wave measurements through a paradigm of operant conditioning.


Its use in mental health

Biofeedback in general, and Neurofeedback in particular, they have a clinical aspect, and another aimed at improving performance . Regarding its clinical applications, the most recognized is the treatment of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), having been included in several clinical guidelines of this table and endorsed by scientific groups such as the American Pediatric Association. Apart from ADHD, favorable results have been published with disorders as diverse as brain damage, epilepsy, anxiety, OCD, headache, etc.

Regarding its use in improving performance, has been applied in the preparation of elite athletes , artists and in the improvement of cognitive function in healthy subjects.

The bet of Vitaliza for the use of Neurofeedback as a therapeutic tool, either as a final choice therapy or complementary to other forms of intervention, is final. The experience of the last twenty years has been very encouraging and this has encouraged us to promote, together with other health professionals, the creation of the Spanish Society of Bio and Neurofeedback (SEBINE), authentic regulator and engine of the sector in our country.


My QEEG brain map interpretation | Neurofeedback therapy (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurofeedback: quel est et comment cet outil thérapeutique est-il utilisé?

Neurofeedback: quel est et comment cet outil thérapeutique est-il utilisé?

Septembre 17, 2022

Ces derniers temps, nous assistons à une véritable révolution dans la mise au point d’outils diagnostiques et thérapeutiques nous permettant d’évaluer et d’influencer le fonctionnement du cerveau. Et parmi tous, le biofeedback se démarque et plus particulièrement Neurofeedback, une forme de biofeedback qui agit par l'enregistrement et la régulation de l'activité électrique du cerveau (électroencéphalogramme)

Le neurofeedback est donc un type de neurothérapie, c’est-à-dire un traitement qui vise à modifier la fonction cérébrale en agissant directement sur celle-ci.

Contrairement à la psychothérapie, qui influence, par le biais de la relation entre thérapeute et patient, différents processus psychologiques, la neurothérapie découle de la relation cerveau-machine , et ne traite pas des processus psychologiques eux-mêmes, mais de l’état neurobiologique sous-jacent. Voyons maintenant quelles sont les clés du neurofeedback.


  • Article connexe: "Le biofeedback: de quoi s'agit-il et à quoi sert-il?"

Une forme de neurothérapie

De toute évidence, toute psychothérapie produira, si elle est efficace, des changements au niveau neurobiologique, car l’esprit est basé sur les processus neurochimiques et neurophysiologiques du système nerveux. Et inversement, dans tout type de neurothérapie, la relation thérapeute-patient aura son rôle et conditionnera son efficacité.

Cependant, pour simplifier, nous dirons que la psychothérapie fonctionne sur des processus psychologiques et a comme élément central la relation thérapeutique, et la neurothérapie agit en recherchant la modification directe de la fonction du système nerveux , à travers des dispositifs spécialement conçus. En d'autres termes, la neurothérapie est une thérapie centrée sur le niveau neurobiologique et, par son influence à ce niveau, elle modifiera également les processus psychologiques sous-jacents.


Qu'est-ce que le neurofeedback?

Le neurofeedback est donc techniquement un traitement qui agit sur les ondes cérébrales. permettre à la personne de prendre conscience de son activité cérébrale et de la modifier . À partir d’un enregistrement électroencéphalographique (EEG), les dispositifs Neurofeedback extraient une série de paramètres qui serviront à évaluer la fonction bioélectrique, transformant le signal analogique (l’EEG classique connu de tous) en données dont nous pouvons programmer la modification.

Dans tous les cas, le neurofeedback est une méthode non invasive qui influence passivement le fonctionnement du cerveau , par le renforcement ou l’inhibition de certaines ondes cérébrales au moyen d’images ou de sons. En d'autres termes, les dispositifs de neurofeedback n'émettent aucun type d'onde ni d'énergie.

Selon l'Alliance internationale pour la certification en biofeedback (BCIA), le neurofeedback est utilisé pour modifier l'activité électrique du SNC, y compris l'EEG, les potentiels évoqués, les potentiels corticaux lents et toute autre activité électrique. corticale ou sous-corticale . Le neurofeedback est un type de biofeedback qui fonctionne avec les mesures des ondes cérébrales à travers un paradigme de conditionnement opérant.


Son utilisation en santé mentale

Le biofeedback en général et le neurofeedback en particulier, ils ont un aspect clinique et un autre visant à améliorer les performances . Parmi ses applications cliniques, le plus reconnu est le traitement du trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH), qui a été inclus dans plusieurs recommandations cliniques de ce tableau et approuvé par des groupes scientifiques tels que l'American Pediatric Association. Outre le TDAH, des résultats favorables ont été publiés avec des troubles aussi divers que les lésions cérébrales, l'épilepsie, l'anxiété, les TOC, les maux de tête, etc.

En ce qui concerne son utilisation pour améliorer les performances, a été appliqué à la préparation d'athlètes d'élite , artistes et dans l'amélioration de la fonction cognitive chez des sujets sains.

Le pari de Vitaliza pour l'utilisation du neurofeedback en tant qu'outil thérapeutique, en tant que traitement de choix final ou en complément d'autres formes d'intervention, est définitif. L’expérience des vingt dernières années a été très encourageante et nous a encouragés à promouvoir, avec d’autres professionnels de la santé, la création de la Société espagnole de bio et de neurofeedback (SEBINE), véritable régulateur et moteur du secteur dans notre pays.


Gary Groesbeck, spécialiste du neuro-feedback énergétique (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes