yes, therapy helps!
Neurohypophysis: structure, functions and associated diseases

Neurohypophysis: structure, functions and associated diseases

October 23, 2020

Our body and the organs that compose it work in harmony, just as a watchmaking machinery would, in order to maintain our physical health and that all the functions and activities of the organism can be developed effectively.

One of the pieces of this machinery is the neurohypophysis, a small organ of the endocrine system It has an essential role in the regulation and release of some of the most important hormones for proper human functioning, both physical and psychological.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the neurohypophysis?

Within the endocrine system, formed by a large number of organs and structures that produce hormones, we find the neurohypophysis. This organ forms the back of the pituitary gland.


One of the main differences between the neurohypophysis and the rest of the pituitary gland to which it belongs is that, due to its different embryological origin, its structure is not glandular as the anterior pituitary gland is. In addition, this it has a growth directed towards the hypothalamus , so their functions also differ from those of the rest of the structure.

On the contrary, the neurohypophysis is, to a large extent, a collection of axonal projections of the hypothalamus that flow into the posterior area of ​​the anterior pituitary. The main parts in which the pituitary gland is divided are the middle eminence, the infundibulum and the pars nervosa, which we will discuss in the next point.


As for the elements or pieces that make up the mass of the neurohypophysis, this is composed of a series of cells called pituicitos , which can be considered as glial cells of support.

Finally, although at first glance the neurohypophysis may seem like a hormone-secreting gland, it is actually a kind of storehouse for substances secreted in the hypothalamus.

While it is true, the neuronal cells of the supraoptic and paraventricular hypothalamic nuclei secrete vasopressin and oxytocin that is stored in the vesicles of axons of the neurohypophysis, which releases these hormones in response to electrical impulses coming from the hypothalamus.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Pituitary gland (hypophysis): the nexus between neurons and hormones"

Structure

As mentioned above, the posterior zone of the pituitary, or neurohypophysis, consists mainly of projections neurons of magnocellular neurosecretory cells that extend from the supraoptic and paraventricular nuclei of the hypothalamus.


In the axons of these neurosecretory cells are stored and released neurohipofisarias hormones known as oxytocin and vasopressin. These are released to the neurohypophyseal capillaries . From there part of them enter the circulation of the bloodstream, while others return to the pituitary system.

Although the differentiation of the various parts of the pituitary gland may vary according to the classifications, most sources include the following three structures:

1. Average Eminence

The area of ​​the neurohypophysis known as the middle eminence is that which is attached to the infundibulum. This takes the form of a small swelling and is one of the seven areas of the brain that do not have a blood-brain barrier, which means that It is an organ with permeable capillaries .

The main function of the middle eminence is to act as the gateway for the release of hypothalamic hormones. However, it also shares continuous perivascular spaces with the adjacent hypothalamic arcuate nucleus, indicating a possible sensory role.

2. Infundibulum

The infundibulum is the connection between the hypothalamus and the posterior pituitary. It carries the axons from the magnocellular neurosecretory cells of the hypothalamus to the posterior pituitary, where they release their neurohypophyseal hormones (oxytocin and vasopressin) in the blood.

3. Pars nervosa

Also known as neural lobule or posterior lobe , this region constitutes most of the neurohypophysis and is the place of storage of oxytocin and vasopressin. In many occasions this is considered as synonymous with the neurohypophysis, however it is only a part of it.

Finally, some classifications also include the middle pituitary gland as part of the neurohypophysis, but this is not usual.

Functions

Although, as mentioned at the beginning of the article, in many cases the neurohypophysis is mistakenly considered as a hormone-producing gland, Its main function is not to synthesize these substances, but to store and release the two hormones classically related to this organ: oxytocin and vasopressin.

Initially, these hormones are synthesized in the hypothalamus, transported and released in the posterior pituitary gland. After their production, they are stored in the regrouped neurosecretory vesicles, before being secreted in the neurohypophysis through the bloodstream.

1. Oxytocin

Oxytocin is a neuropeptide hormone which is characterized by its an essential role in social bonds, sexual reproduction in both sexes and in being of vital importance both during and after delivery.

2. Vasopressin

Also known as antidiuretic hormone (ADH), arginine vasopressin (AVP) or argipressin. The main functions of this peptide hormone include the increase in the amount of water without solute reabsorbed in the circulation and the contraction of the arterioles, which increases peripheral vascular resistance and increases blood pressure .

In addition, it is also granted a possible third function related to the release of vasopressin in certain areas of the brain. This release could play an important role in social behavior, sexual motivation, the bond between people and the mother's response to stress.

What happens if it fails? Associated diseases

A lesion, degeneration or alteration in the functioning of the neurohypophysis may result in a deregulation of the secretion of the two hormones described in the previous section.

Insufficient secretion of vasopressin may lead to the appearance of diabetes insipidus , a condition in which the body loses the ability to store and concentrate urine and causes the person to excrete up to 20 liters of diluted urine per day.

On the other hand, an increase in the amount of vasopressin released in the blood is the main cause of the Syndrome of inappropriate secretion of antidiuretic hormone (SIADH), a disease of the neurohypophysis caused mostly by drugs and that causes all kinds of gastrointestinal, neuromuscular, respiratory and neurological symptoms.


The hypothalamus and pituitary gland | Endocrine system physiology | NCLEX-RN | Khan Academy (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurohypophyse: structure, fonctions et maladies associées

Neurohypophyse: structure, fonctions et maladies associées

Septembre 20, 2022

Notre corps et les organes qui le composent fonctionnent en harmonie, comme le ferait une machine horlogère, afin de maintenir notre santé physique et de faire en sorte que toutes les fonctions et activités de l'organisme puissent être développées efficacement.

Une des pièces de cette machine est la neurohypophyse, un petit organe du système endocrinien Il joue un rôle essentiel dans la régulation et la libération de certaines des hormones les plus importantes pour le bon fonctionnement humain, tant physique que psychologique.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quelle est la neurohypophyse?

Dans le système endocrinien, formé par un grand nombre d'organes et de structures produisant des hormones, on trouve la neurohypophyse. Cet organe constitue l'arrière de l'hypophyse.


L'une des principales différences entre la neurohypophyse et le reste de l'hypophyse à laquelle elle appartient réside dans le fait que, en raison de la diversité de son origine embryologique, sa structure n'est pas glandulaire, contrairement à l'hypophyse antérieure. De plus, cela il a une croissance dirigée vers l'hypothalamus , leurs fonctions diffèrent donc également de celles du reste de la structure.

Au contraire, la neurohypophyse est, dans une large mesure, un ensemble de projections axonales de l'hypothalamus qui se déversent dans la région postérieure de l'hypophyse antérieure. Les principales parties dans lesquelles l'hypophyse est divisée sont l'éminence moyenne, l'infundibulum et le pars nervosa, que nous aborderons dans le point suivant.


Quant aux éléments ou pièces qui constituent la masse de la neurohypophyse, cette est composé d'une série de cellules appelées pituicitos , qui peuvent être considérés comme des cellules gliales de soutien.

Enfin, bien que la neurohypophyse puisse à première vue sembler être une glande sécrétant des hormones, il s’agit en réalité d’une sorte d’entrepôt pour les substances sécrétées par l’hypothalamus.

Bien qu’il soit vrai, les cellules neuronales des noyaux hypothalamiques supraoptiques et paraventriculaires sécréter de la vasopressine et de l'ocytocine qui est stockée dans les vésicules des axones de la neurohypophyse, qui libère ces hormones en réponse aux impulsions électriques provenant de l'hypothalamus.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "l'hypophyse: le lien entre les neurones et les hormones"

La structure

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, la zone postérieure de l'hypophyse, ou neurohypophyse, est principalement constituée de projections de neurones de cellules neurosécrétrices magnocellulaires qui s'étendent des noyaux supraoptique et paraventriculaire de l'hypothalamus.


Dans les axones de ces cellules neurosécrétoires sont stockées et libérées des hormones neurohipofisarias connues sous le nom d'ocytocine et de vasopressine. Ceux-ci sont libérés dans les capillaires neurohypophysaires . De là, une partie d'entre eux pénètre dans la circulation sanguine, tandis que d'autres retournent dans le système hypophysaire.

Bien que la différenciation des différentes parties de l'hypophyse puisse varier en fonction des classifications, la plupart des sources incluent les trois structures suivantes:

1. Éminence moyenne

La zone de la neurohypophyse appelée éminence moyenne est celle qui est attachée à l'infundibulum. Cela prend la forme d’un petit gonflement et est l’une des sept régions du cerveau qui n’ont pas de barrière hémato-encéphalique, ce qui signifie que C'est un organe à capillaires perméables .

La principale fonction de l'éminence moyenne est d'agir comme une passerelle pour la libération des hormones hypothalamiques. Cependant, il partage également des espaces périvasculaires continus avec le noyau arqué hypothalamique adjacent, ce qui indique un rôle sensoriel possible.

2. Infundibulum

L'infundibulum est la connexion entre l'hypothalamus et l'hypophyse postérieure. Il transporte les axones des cellules neurosécrétoires magnocellulaires de l'hypothalamus jusqu'à l'hypophyse postérieure, où ils libèrent leurs hormones neurohypophysaires (oxytocine et vasopressine) dans le sang.

3. Pars nervosa

Aussi appelé lobule neural ou lobe postérieur , cette région constitue la majeure partie de la neurohypophyse et constitue le lieu de stockage de l’ocytocine et de la vasopressine. Cela est souvent considéré comme synonyme de neurohypophyse, mais ce n’est qu’une partie de celle-ci.

Enfin, certaines classifications incluent également l'hypophyse moyenne dans le cadre de la neurohypophyse, mais cela n'est pas habituel.

Fonctions

Comme mentionné au début de l'article, la neurohypophyse est souvent considérée à tort comme une glande produisant des hormones, Sa fonction principale n'est pas de synthétiser ces substances, mais de stocker et libèrent les deux hormones classiquement liées à cet organe: l'ocytocine et la vasopressine.

Initialement, ces hormones sont synthétisées dans l'hypothalamus, transportées et libérées dans l'hypophyse postérieure. Après leur production, elles sont stockées dans les vésicules neurosécrétrices regroupées, avant d’être sécrétées dans la neurohypophyse par la circulation sanguine.

1. Oxytocine

L’ocytocine est une hormone neuropeptidique caractérisée par son un rôle essentiel dans les liens sociaux, la reproduction sexuée chez les deux sexes et d'être d'une importance vitale pendant et après l'accouchement.

2. vasopressine

Également appelée hormone antidiurétique (ADH), arginine vasopressine (AVP) ou argipressine. Les principales fonctions de cette hormone peptidique comprennent l’augmentation de la quantité d’eau sans soluté réabsorbé dans la circulation et la contraction des artérioles, qui augmente la résistance vasculaire périphérique et augmente la pression artérielle .

En outre, une troisième fonction est également attribuée à la libération de vasopressine dans certaines zones du cerveau. Cette libération pourrait jouer un rôle important dans le comportement social, la motivation sexuelle, le lien entre les personnes et la réponse de la mère au stress.

Que se passe-t-il si cela échoue? Maladies associées

Une lésion, une dégénérescence ou une altération du fonctionnement de la neurohypophyse peuvent entraîner une dérégulation de la sécrétion des deux hormones décrites dans la section précédente.

Sécrétion insuffisante de vasopressine peut conduire à l'apparition de diabète insipide , une condition dans laquelle le corps perd la capacité de stocker et de concentrer l'urine et oblige la personne à excréter jusqu'à 20 litres d'urine diluée par jour.

D'autre part, une augmentation de la quantité de vasopressine libérée dans le sang est la principale cause du syndrome de sécrétion inappropriée d'hormone antidiurétique (SIADH). une maladie de la neurohypophyse causée principalement par des médicaments et qui provoque toutes sortes de symptômes gastro-intestinaux, neuromusculaires, respiratoires et neurologiques.


système endocrinien: l'hypophyse (1) (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes