yes, therapy helps!
Neuroleptic malignant syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

Neuroleptic malignant syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment

May 2, 2024

The use of antipsychotic medication within the scope of mental health is one of the most used remedies when intervening in a patient with some type of disorder or illness in which there are a series of psychotic symptoms. Also, it is increasingly common prescription for changes in mood and personality disorders.

However, sometimes the consumption of this antipsychotic medication is associated with certain side effects, which interfere with the proper functioning of the central nervous system. A strange disease associated with the effects of this medication is the neuroleptic malignant syndrome , which can lead to numerous complications in the body and even death.


Definition of neuroleptic malignant syndrome

Neuroleptic malignant syndrome is a rare condition caused by an adverse response to the effects of antipsychotic medication in the first place, or other drugs associated in the second. This response may be caused by the action of the medication or by abrupt withdrawal of it.

This unusual syndrome is distinguished by complications such as dysautonomia, elevation of body temperature, changes in the state of consciousness and death in those cases in which there is no intervention in time.

This syndrome has to affect to a greater extent male and young people who are administered a neuroleptic prolonged release . As well as in Parkinson's patients who are moderate in dosage or the usual dopaminergic treatment is canceled.


Symptomatology

Symptoms associated with neuroleptic malignant syndrome tend to appear during the first three days after the patient begins treatment . These symptoms begin with the appearance of anxiety sensation which precedes the alterations of the state of consciousness.

The most characteristic manifestations of this syndrome are hyperthermia and muscular rigidity. With regard to hyperthermia, the person can suffer fevers of between 38.5º and more than 40º, which is considered an essential requirement for the diagnosis of this condition.

On the other hand, muscle rigidity can cause complications such as dysarthria or difficulty in articulating sounds, swallowing problems and excessive secretion of saliva. As well as hypoventilation and asphyxia or breathing difficulties.

Other symptoms found in person suffering from this syndrome include:


  • Tachycardia
  • Diaphoresis or excessive sweating
  • Cutaneous pallor
  • Incontinence
  • Hypertension
  • Obesity, dullness or coma
  • Alteration of reflexes
  • Generalized seizures
  • Tremors
  • Kidney failure

Causes of this syndrome

The main theories in the study of neuroleptic malignant syndrome point to the different effects that neuroleptics can have on the correct articulation of the pyramidal system and on the hypothalamus.

The hypothesis most supported by the scientific and medical community proposes that a decrease in the dopaminergic activity of the central nervous system can interfere in the correct functioning of the basal nuclei and the hypothalamus.

  • The basis of this theory is based on two justifications:
  • The syndrome originates after the administration of antidopaminergic medication
  • Dopamine is a neurotransmitter that mediates pathologies in the central nervous system that include alterations in muscle tone and thermoregulation

Likewise, Other symptoms such as muscle stiffness, slow movements, mutism and jerking or palpitations are likely to be caused by an instability or alteration of the dopaminergic system in the hypothalamus.

Finally, it has been observed that the administration of dopamine agonist drugs, such as bromocriptine, are effective in reducing the symptoms associated with neuroleptic malignant syndrome.

Diagnosis and differential diagnosis

There are a series of firmly established criteria for the diagnosis of this disorder. These criteria are classified into major and minor and the person must meet, at least, the three major criteria, or two major and four minor.

Major criteria

The major criteria include hyperthermia, muscle tension, increase in the enzyme creatine kinase (CPK).

Minor criteria

Tachycardia, abnormal blood pressure, increased respiratory rate, changes in consciousness, sweating and leukocytosis.

However, there are discrepancies within the medical community when it comes to pointing out the increase in creatine kinase (CPK) as a criterion of greater importance.From this point of view, a series of alternative diagnostic criteria have been designed according to which, for an effective diagnosis, the person must suffer from these three symptoms:

  • Hyperthermia or elevation of the temperature above 37.5º, without there being another pathology that justifies it.
  • Severe extrapyramidal manifestations such as muscle tension, dysphagia, excessive secretion of saliva, alterations in eye movement, arching of the spine or grinding of teeth.
  • Depression of the autonomic nervous system

Since the mortality potential of the neuroleptic malignant syndrome is considerably high, It is necessary to rule out any other type of condition or disease, as well as current in the fastest possible way .

For the differential diagnosis, the possibility that the person suffers any of the following alterations should be ruled out:

Symptoms caused by the development of an infection in the central nervous system

  • Lethal catatonia
  • Malignant hyperthermia produced by anesthetic medication or by muscle relaxants
  • Heatstroke
  • Atropinism or overdose poisoning of anticholinergic medication

Treatment

In cases in which the syndrome is produced by the effects of neuroleptics will be necessary, first of all, withdraw medication and provide support and relief care both to lower body temperature and to reverse arterial hypotension by restoring fluids and the use of vasoactive medications.

In most cases in which the syndrome is detected in time the intervention of support is effective and it is enough for the syndrome to refer and to lead the patient to a recovery without any type of sequela .

  • The reference medication used to treat neuroleptic malignant syndrome includes:
  • Anticholinergic drugs to treat extrapyramidal symptoms.
  • Dantrolene sodium to relax the muscles and end muscle tension
  • Benzodiazepines to reduce anxiety and lower levels of agitation
  • Clozapine to restore neuroleptic medication

Prognosis and possible complications

At the moment when the medication is suspended and the treatment for the neuroleptic malignant syndrome begins, the evolution of the symptoms should be positive, that is, the patient should progressively improve.

However, there are a relatively frequent series of complications that could hinder this recovery. These difficulties include:

  • Renal insufficiency
  • Respiratory failure or pulmonary embolism
  • Setbacks such as liver failure, heart failure or seizures

Despite the severity of the symptoms and possible complications the person can get over the disease as long as it is treated in time . Otherwise, the probability of death increases considerably, being the most common causes of death: heart failure, pneumonia, pulmonary embolism, sepsis and hepatorenal failure.


Neuroleptic Malignant Syndrome ¦ Treatment and Symptoms (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome malin des neuroleptiques: symptômes, causes et traitement

Syndrome malin des neuroleptiques: symptômes, causes et traitement

Mai 20, 2019

L’utilisation des antipsychotiques dans le cadre de la santé mentale est l’un des remèdes les plus utilisés lorsqu’on intervient chez un patient présentant un type de trouble ou une maladie caractérisée par une série de symptômes psychotiques. En outre, il est de plus en plus courant de prescrire des changements dans les troubles de l'humeur et de la personnalité.

Cependant, la consommation de ce médicament antipsychotique est parfois associée à certains effets secondaires, qui entravent le bon fonctionnement du système nerveux central. Le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques est une maladie étrange associée aux effets de ce médicament. , ce qui peut entraîner de nombreuses complications dans le corps et même la mort.


Définition du syndrome malin des neuroleptiques

Le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques est une affection rare causée par une réponse indésirable aux effets des antipsychotiques en premier lieu, ou à d'autres médicaments associés en deuxième lieu. Cette réaction peut être provoquée par l'action du médicament ou par son retrait brusque.

Ce syndrome inhabituel se distingue par des complications telles que la dysautonomie, l'élévation de la température corporelle, des modifications de l'état de conscience et la mort dans les cas où il n'y a pas d'intervention dans le temps.

Ce syndrome doit toucher davantage les hommes et les jeunes à qui on administre une libération prolongée de neuroleptiques . De même que chez les patients atteints de Parkinson dont la posologie est modérée ou le traitement dopaminergique habituel est annulé.


Symptomatologie

Les symptômes associés au syndrome malin des neuroleptiques ont tendance à apparaître pendant les trois premiers jours suivant le début du traitement. . Ces symptômes commencent par l'apparition d'une sensation d'anxiété qui précède les modifications de l'état de conscience.

Les manifestations les plus caractéristiques de ce syndrome sont l'hyperthermie et la rigidité musculaire. En ce qui concerne l'hyperthermie, la personne peut souffrir de fièvres comprises entre 38,5 et plus de 40 °, ce qui est considéré comme une condition essentielle pour le diagnostic de cette affection.

D'autre part, la rigidité musculaire peut entraîner des complications telles que la dysarthrie ou une difficulté à articuler les sons, des problèmes de déglutition et une sécrétion excessive de salive. Ainsi que l'hypoventilation et l'asphyxie ou des difficultés respiratoires.

Les autres symptômes rencontrés chez une personne souffrant de ce syndrome comprennent


  • Tachycardie
  • Diaphorèse ou transpiration excessive
  • Pâleur cutanée
  • L'incontinence
  • L'hypertension
  • L'obésité, la matité ou le coma
  • Altération des réflexes
  • Crises généralisées
  • Tremblements
  • Insuffisance rénale

Causes de ce syndrome

Les principales théories dans l'étude du syndrome malin des neuroleptiques indiquent les différents effets que les neuroleptiques peuvent avoir sur l'articulation correcte du système pyramidal et sur l'hypothalamus.

L’hypothèse la plus appuyée par la communauté scientifique et médicale suggère qu’une diminution de l’activité dopaminergique du système nerveux central peut interférer dans le bon fonctionnement des noyaux basaux et de l’hypothalamus.

  • La base de cette théorie repose sur deux justifications:
  • Le syndrome prend naissance après l'administration d'un médicament antidopaminergique
  • La dopamine est un neurotransmetteur responsable des pathologies du système nerveux central, notamment des altérations du tonus musculaire et de la thermorégulation.

De même D'autres symptômes, tels que raideur musculaire, mouvements lents, mutisme et tremblements ou palpitations sont susceptibles d'être causés par une instabilité ou une altération du système dopaminergique. dans l'hypothalamus.

Enfin, il a été observé que l'administration de médicaments agonistes de la dopamine, tels que la bromocriptine, réduit efficacement les symptômes associés au syndrome malin des neuroleptiques.

Diagnostic et diagnostic différentiel

Il existe une série de critères bien établis pour le diagnostic de ce trouble. Ces critères sont classés en majeur et mineur et la personne doit satisfaire au moins les trois critères majeurs, ou deux majeurs et quatre mineurs.

Critères majeurs

Les principaux critères incluent l'hyperthermie, la tension musculaire, l'augmentation de l'enzyme créatine kinase (CPK).

Critères mineurs

Tachycardie, tension artérielle anormale, augmentation du rythme respiratoire, modification de la conscience, transpiration et leucocytose.

Cependant, il existe des divergences au sein de la communauté médicale en ce qui concerne l'augmentation de la créatine kinase (CPK) en tant que critère plus important.De ce point de vue, une série de critères de diagnostic alternatifs ont été conçus selon lesquels, pour un diagnostic efficace, la personne doit souffrir de ces trois symptômes:

  • Hyperthermie ou élévation de la température au-dessus de 37,5º, sans qu'il y ait une autre pathologie qui la justifie.
  • Manifestations extrapyramidales sévères telles que tension musculaire, dysphagie, sécrétion excessive de salive, altération des mouvements oculaires, cambrure de la colonne vertébrale ou grincement des dents.
  • Dépression du système nerveux autonome

Le potentiel de mortalité du syndrome malin des neuroleptiques est considérablement élevé, Il est nécessaire d'éliminer tout autre type d'affection ou de maladie, ainsi que l'actualité le plus rapidement possible. .

Pour le diagnostic différentiel, la possibilité que la personne subisse l'une des altérations suivantes doit être exclue:

Symptômes causés par le développement d'une infection dans le système nerveux central

  • Catatonie létale
  • Hyperthermie maligne produite par un médicament anesthésique ou par des relaxants musculaires
  • Coup de chaleur
  • Atropinisme ou intoxication par surdose de médicaments anticholinergiques

Traitement

Dans les cas où le syndrome est produit par les effets des neuroleptiques sera nécessaire, tout d'abord, arrêtez la médication et fournissez le support et le soin de soulagement pour abaisser la température du corps et pour renverser l'hypotension artérielle en restaurant et l'utilisation de médicaments vasoactifs.

Dans la plupart des cas où le syndrome est détecté à temps l'intervention de soutien est efficace et il suffit que le syndrome renvoie et conduise le patient à une guérison sans aucun type de séquelle .

  • Le médicament de référence utilisé pour traiter le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques comprend:
  • Anticholinergiques pour traiter les symptômes extrapyramidaux.
  • Dantrolène sodique pour détendre les muscles et éliminer les tensions musculaires
  • Benzodiazépines pour réduire l'anxiété et réduire les niveaux d'agitation
  • La clozapine pour restaurer le traitement neuroleptique

Pronostic et complications possibles

Au moment où le médicament est suspendu et que le traitement du syndrome malin des neuroleptiques commence, l'évolution des symptômes doit être positive, c'est-à-dire que le patient doit s'améliorer progressivement.

Cependant, il existe une série relativement fréquente de complications qui pourraient entraver cette récupération. Ces difficultés incluent:

  • Insuffisance rénale
  • Insuffisance respiratoire ou embolie pulmonaire
  • Échecs tels que l'insuffisance hépatique, l'insuffisance cardiaque ou les convulsions

Malgré la sévérité des symptômes et des complications possibles la personne peut surmonter la maladie tant qu'elle est traitée à temps . Autrement, la probabilité de décès augmente considérablement, constituant les causes les plus courantes de décès: insuffisance cardiaque, pneumonie, embolie pulmonaire, septicémie et insuffisance hépatorénale.


2/2 - Soigner, prendre le problème à l'envers ? Mireille, la psychiatrie - Autour de la psyché ???????????????? (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes