yes, therapy helps!
Neurosciences: the new way of understanding the human mind

Neurosciences: the new way of understanding the human mind

January 25, 2022

The brain study is one of the most important facing science today. Thanks to various technologies such as scanners that let us know what our brain is like and how it works, Human Genome Project, to the application of genetics in behavior , have been able to discover incredible things of that small organ of less than a kilo and a half that we have in our heads.

Things that we could not discover until the "decade of the brain" began in the 90s, with which a wave of new sciences called cognitive psychology and neurosciences, which includes the aforementioned, was unleashed. These are disciplines that remain in force and that are revolutionizing all areas of our lives.


What are they and why approach the study of neurosciences?

The two greatest mysteries of nature are the mind and the universe.

-Michio Kaku

One of the last emerging paradigms within the field of psychology is that of cognitive psychology . This was developed in three stages. The first was characterized by its institutionalization, which ranged from its inception until the eighties. In this phase, the metaphor of the brain dominates as a computational computer. The second stage is that of connectionism in the eighties; and the last one was the emotional cognitivism, in the framework of the so-called "decade of the brain". The latter was also the bridge for the emergence of neurosciences .


It is important to mention cognitivism because most of the neurosciences are based on human cognition (learning, memory, perception, etc.) which gives rise to the appearance of cognitive neuroscience , which I will explain later.

Antecedents of the neurosciences

The so-called "brain sciences" have their antecedents in the first locations of cognitive functions of the brain, which occurred in the first years of the 19th century, experimental psychology , the psychophysiology and the great contribution of computer science and in particular to the development of Artificial Intelligence, as well as the incorporation of molecular genetics in the 80s, although pioneering incursions had already been made of great importance in the use of genetic approaches for the study of the brain and behavior since the 60s.


Within the context of genetics, another of the antecedents and tool of the neurosciences was the Human Genome Project, whose importance is incalculable, since it allowed to recognize the so important role played by genes in the construction and codification of the brain.

In the words of Philip J. Corr , "the Human Genome Project It has opened a completely new perspective on the role of genetics in psychology. "And not only in psychology but in all the sciences that interact and work with the brain, because as the biological science professor once mentioned. and neurology at Stanford University Robert Sapolsky , we can not talk about behavior (and I add, about the brain) without taking into account biology.

Approaching a definition of neuroscience

As a formal definition (based on different readings), I would define neurosciences as the study of the biological basis of human behavior . I want, now, to add another definition, that of Cognitive Neuroscience; defined by Carles as "the discipline that seeks to understand how brain function gives rise to mental activities, such as perception, memory, language and even consciousness". Despite its few years of existence, this discipline has experienced the multiplication in its studies that, among its examples, include visual attention, vision, memory, and consciousness.

Following the so-called "decade of the brain" (although perhaps the most appropriate is going to be called "the twentieth or century of the brain"), Cognitive Neuroscience and neurosciences in general have seen their branches of research flourish, thus extending to fields such as law, economics, psychology, gastronomy, etc. The rich variety of applications of the neurosciences are a symptom of the presence of these investigations in all areas of our lives.

The neurosciences they have been in charge of explaining how the mind works based on its biological condition rooted in the brain . Its importance lies in that now, thanks to high-tech scanners designed by other branches of science, have revealed secrets of the brain that make what was once part of science fiction; today it is of formal science.Now we know that it is necessary to know the brain in order to understand it and design strategies to improve our behavior and, thus, solve the big problems in terms of public policies related to psychological problems .

Discovering how we think and feel

In the same way, the neurosciences have allowed us to show ourselves as we are, as is our being biological (I make this separation to suggest the relationship between our animal side and our rational part). Denying the role and responsibility of the brain in our behavior will not change our condition.

Further, the discoveries about our brain have moral implications . Just as it says Steven Pinker in The Rasa Tábula"The refusal to recognize human nature is like the shame that sex produced in Victorian society, and even worse: it distorts science and study, public discourse and everyday life." That is why we must support a science that is allowing us to know ourselves, to know how we are and why we are like that. And we must do it without fear and betting on improving our human condition in terms of knowing our human condition, that is, seeing our human nature with a human face.

Another reason why people, scientists and, especially, psychologists should approach the study of neurosciences is because this field of study is breaking myths and replaces classical problems, but now with a more rigorous approach from the point of scientific sight. One of those problems is that of the mind-brain relationship, this has stopped being "a monopoly of philosophy" (in the words of Giménez-Amaya), to become a subject where multiple disciplines try to give a solution, always taking Consider the function of the brain.

These new sciences included in neuroscience are revolutionizing all aspects of daily life, for example, now public policies that take into account the brain in education, law, medicine, technologies are made . Countries like the United States of America have complete projects, similar to the Human Genome, related to neurosciences.

The neurosciences as a tool of the psychologist: we understand better the machine

"The brain, like it or not, is a machine, scientists have come to that conclusion, not because they are mechanistic spoilers, but because they have accumulated evidence that any aspect of consciousness can be linked to the brain."

-Steven Pinker

Of course, the organ that we have inside the skull is so difficult to understand that until now it is considered practically the most complex object in the solar system. As Carl Jung expressed it: "In each one of us there is another we do not know".

That capricious animal addicted to carbohydrates is the most complex material in the universe and that same animal is the object of some disciplines such as neurosciences, which may well be a tool for others such as psychology. The neurosciences show us the biological side of the mind and the brain, and in it there are some issues such as consciousness, cognition. The object of study of this discipline is responsible for our behaviors and other issues more than those in charge of studying psychology, and that is why it is important to rely on these tools that bring us closer to that biological part responsible for most of our behavior .

Our brain weighs one kilo two hundred grams and is composed of two types of cells: neurons and the glia . All people harbor hundreds of billions of these microscopic bodies. And, as Eagleman says, "each of these cells is as complicated as a city. And each of them contains the entire human genome and circulates billions of molecules in intricate economies. "

Since the consolidation of neurosciences, psychologists have undertaken the challenge of developing a psychology based on concrete and isolatable biological data.

Conclusions and contextualization

Neurosciences have had a long history through the history of brain understanding. For most of the history of humanity we have been unable to understand how the brain and mind work. The ancient Egyptians considered the brain a useless organ, Aristotle believed that the soul inhabited the heart and others, as Descartes believed that the soul entered the body through the tiny pineal gland. After the "decade of the brain" everything changed and we finally started, thanks to new technologies and discoveries, to really know the brain. What we did not learn in the history of mankind, after the nineties, we began to discover and learn, but we are hardly understanding and assimilating it.

However, there are still many people, in the academic, culture and common people, who they refuse to recognize their nature and accept new ways of understanding us, of understanding our brain, our machine . The negation and resistance of many people to the neurosciences is in the belief that biology comes to strip us of our human condition, it would end our moral part and reduce us to no more than animals guided by our impulses and in that case they could justify things like rape, incest or murder.

But contrary to those beliefs are those that say such renowned scientists as Steven Pinker or David Eagleman who propose that by showing the human being without fear what it is, they can make real programs of recovery, predict and control behaviors that could harm the society and themselves. The refusal to recognize what happens in our machine will not help to give answers about what happens in it, and that can have a social cost.

Bibliographic references:

  • Avedaño, C. (2002). Neuroscience, neurology and psychiatry: An inevitable encounter. Asoc. ESp. Neuropsiq. Retrieved from Scielo: //scielo.isciii.es/pdf/neuropsiq/n83/n83a05.p ...
  • Carles, E. (2004). Historical and conceptual approach to Cognitive Neuroscience. Cognitive, 141-162.
  • Corr, P. J. (2008). Psychogenomics In P. J. Corr, Biological Psychology. Mcgrawhill.
  • Eagleman, D. (2013). There's someone in my head, but it's not me. In D. Eagleman, Incognito. The secret lives of the brain (page 9). Anagram.
  • Giménez-Amaya, J. m. (May-August 2007). Dialnet. Retrieved from Dialnet: //dadun.unav.edu/handle/10171/10926
  • Kaku, M. (2014). Introduction. In M. Kaku, The future of our mind (page 22). Penguin Random House.
  • Pinker, S. (2003). The Blank Slate. In S. Pinker, The Blank Slate (page 703). Paidós.
  • Tortosa, G. and. (2006). History of Psychology. In G. and. Tortosa, History of Psychology. Macgrawhill.
  • Zapata, L. F. (August-December 2009). Evolution, brain and cognition. Retrieved from Scielo: //www.scielo.org.co/pdf/psdc/n24/n24a06.pdf

The Craving Brain: Neuroscience of Uncontrollable Urges (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurosciences: la nouvelle façon de comprendre l'esprit humain

Neurosciences: la nouvelle façon de comprendre l'esprit humain

Janvier 27, 2023

Le étude du cerveau est l'un des plus importants de la science d'aujourd'hui. Grâce à diverses technologies telles que les scanners qui nous permettent de connaître notre cerveau et son fonctionnement, Projet du génome humain, à l'application de la génétique dans le comportement , ont pu découvrir des choses incroyables sur ce petit organe de moins d’un kilo et demi que nous avons dans la tête.

Des choses que nous n'avions pas pu découvrir avant le début de la "décennie du cerveau" dans les années 90, avec laquelle une vague de nouvelles sciences appelée psychologie cognitive et neurosciences, comprenant ce qui précède, a été déchaînée. Ce sont des disciplines qui restent en vigueur et qui révolutionnent tous les domaines de notre vie.


Qu'est-ce qu'ils sont et pourquoi aborder l'étude des neurosciences?

Les deux plus grands mystères de la nature sont l'esprit et l'univers.

-Michio Kaku

Un des derniers paradigmes émergents dans le domaine de la psychologie est celui de psychologie cognitive . Cela a été développé en trois étapes. La première était caractérisée par son institutionnalisation, qui allait de sa création aux années quatre-vingt. Dans cette phase, la métaphore du cerveau domine en tant qu'ordinateur de calcul. La deuxième étape est celle du connexionnisme dans les années quatre-vingt; et le dernier était le cognitivisme émotionnel, dans le cadre de la soi-disant "décennie du cerveau". Ce dernier était aussi le pont pour l’émergence de neurosciences .


Il est important de mentionner le cognitivisme car la plupart des neurosciences sont basées sur la cognition humaine (apprentissage, mémoire, perception, etc.) qui donne lieu à l'apparition de neuroscience cognitive , que je vais expliquer plus tard.

Antécédents des neurosciences

Les "sciences du cerveau" ont leurs antécédents dans les premiers emplacements des fonctions cognitives du cerveau, qui se sont produits dans les premières années du 19e siècle, psychologie expérimentale , le psychophysiologie et la grande contribution de l'informatique et en particulier du développement de l'intelligence artificielle, ainsi que de l'intégration de la génétique moléculaire dans les années 80, bien que des incursions novatrices aient déjà revêtu une grande importance dans l'utilisation des approches génétiques. pour l'étude du cerveau et du comportement depuis les années 60.


Dans le contexte de la génétique, un autre des antécédents et outil des neurosciences était la Projet du génome humain, dont l’importance est incalculable, car elle a permis de reconnaître le rôle si important joué par les gènes dans la construction et la codification du cerveau.

En mots de Philip J. Corr , "le Projet du génome humain Il a ouvert une perspective complètement nouvelle sur le rôle de la génétique en psychologie. "Et non seulement en psychologie, mais dans toutes les sciences qui interagissent et travaillent avec le cerveau, parce que le professeur de sciences biologiques l’a déjà mentionné. et neurologie à l'Université de Stanford Robert Sapolsky , on ne peut pas parler de comportement (et j'ajoute, de cerveau) sans prendre en compte la biologie.

Approcher une définition de neuroscience

En tant que définition formelle (basée sur différentes lectures), je définirais les neurosciences comme l'étude de la base biologique du comportement humain . Je veux maintenant ajouter une autre définition, celle de la neuroscience cognitive; Carles définit comme "la discipline qui cherche à comprendre comment le fonctionnement du cerveau donne lieu à des activités mentales telles que la perception, la mémoire, le langage et même la conscience". Malgré ses quelques années d'existence, cette discipline a connu une multiplication dans ses études, parmi lesquelles figurent l'attention visuelle, la vision, la mémoire et la conscience.

Après la soi-disant "décennie du cerveau" (bien que le plus approprié soit peut-être le "vingtième ou le siècle du cerveau"), les neurosciences cognitives et les neurosciences en général ont vu leurs branches de recherche s'épanouir, s'étendant ainsi droit, économie, psychologie, gastronomie, etc. La riche variété d'applications des neurosciences est un symptôme de la présence de ces investigations dans tous les domaines de notre vie.

Les neurosciences ils ont été chargés d'expliquer le fonctionnement de l'esprit en fonction de son état biologique enraciné dans le cerveau . Son importance réside dans le fait qu’à présent, grâce à des scanners de haute technologie conçus par d’autres branches de la science, ont révélé des secrets du cerveau qui font autrefois partie de la science-fiction; aujourd'hui c'est de la science formelle.Nous savons maintenant qu'il est nécessaire de connaître le cerveau pour le comprendre et concevoir des stratégies pour améliorer notre comportement et ainsi résoudre les grands problèmes en termes de politiques publiques liées à problèmes psychologiques .

Découvrir ce que nous pensons et ressentons

De la même manière, les neurosciences nous ont permis de nous montrer tels que nous sommes, comme notre être bio-logique (Je fais cette séparation pour suggérer la relation entre notre côté animal et notre partie rationnelle). Nier le rôle et la responsabilité du cerveau dans notre comportement ne changera pas notre condition.

En outre, les découvertes sur notre cerveau ont des implications morales . Comme il est dit Steven Pinker dans Le Rasa Tábula"Le refus de reconnaître la nature humaine est comme la honte que le sexe produit dans la société victorienne, et même pire: il déforme la science et l'étude, le discours public et la vie quotidienne." C'est pourquoi nous devons soutenir une science qui nous permet de nous connaître nous-mêmes, de savoir comment nous sommes et pourquoi nous sommes comme ça. Et nous devons le faire sans crainte et parier sur l'amélioration de notre condition humaine en termes de connaissance de notre condition humaine, c'est-à-dire de voir notre nature humaine avec un visage humain.

Une autre raison pour laquelle les hommes, les scientifiques et, en particulier, les psychologues devraient aborder l’étude des neurosciences, c’est que ce domaine d’étude rompt les mythes et remplace les problèmes classiques, mais il faut maintenant adopter une approche plus rigoureuse à partir de ce point. de vue scientifique. L’un de ces problèmes est celui de la relation esprit-cerveau, qui a cessé d’être "un monopole de la philosophie" (selon les termes de Giménez-Amaya), pour devenir un sujet où de multiples disciplines tentent de donner une solution, en prenant Considérons la fonction du cerveau.

Les nouvelles sciences incluses dans les neurosciences révolutionnent tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne, par exemple: maintenant, les politiques publiques qui tiennent compte du cerveau dans l'éducation, le droit, la médecine, les technologies sont mises au point . Des pays comme les États-Unis d’Amérique ont des projets complets, similaires au génome humain, liés aux neurosciences.

Les neurosciences en tant qu'outil du psychologue: nous comprenons mieux la machine

"Le cerveau, que cela plaise ou non, est une machine, les scientifiques en sont arrivés à cette conclusion, non pas parce qu'ils sont des spoilers mécanistes, mais parce qu'ils ont accumulé la preuve que tout aspect de la conscience peut être lié au cerveau."

-Steven Pinker

Bien entendu, l'organe que nous avons à l'intérieur du crâne est si difficile à comprendre que jusqu'à présent, il était considéré pratiquement comme l'objet le plus complexe du système solaire. Comme l'a exprimé Carl Jung: "Dans chacun de nous, il y en a un autre que nous ne connaissons pas".

Cet animal capricieux dépendant des glucides est le matériau le plus complexe de l'univers et ce même animal fait l'objet de disciplines telles que les neurosciences, qui pourraient bien constituer un outil pour d'autres comme la psychologie. Les neurosciences nous montrent l’aspect biologique de l’esprit et du cerveau, dans lesquels se trouvent des problèmes tels que la conscience, la cognition. L'objet d'étude de cette discipline est plus responsable de nos comportements et d'autres problèmes que ceux en charge d'étudier la psychologie, et c'est pourquoi il est important de compter sur ces outils qui nous rapprochent de la partie biologique responsable de la plupart de nos comportements. .

Notre cerveau pèse un kilo deux cent grammes et est composé de deux types de cellules: les neurones et le glie . Tout le monde abrite des centaines de milliards de ces corps microscopiques. Et, comme le dit Eagleman, "chacune de ces cellules est aussi compliquée qu'une ville. Et chacun d’eux contient le génome humain tout entier et fait circuler des milliards de molécules dans des économies complexes. "

Depuis la consolidation des neurosciences, les psychologues ont relevé le défi de développer une psychologie basée sur des données biologiques concrètes et isolables.

Conclusions et contextualisation

Les neurosciences ont une longue histoire à travers l'histoire de la compréhension du cerveau. Pendant la plus grande partie de l’histoire de l’humanité, nous n’avons pas pu comprendre le fonctionnement du cerveau et de l’esprit. Les anciens Égyptiens considéraient le cerveau comme un organe inutile, Aristote pensait que l’âme habitait le cœur et d’autres, comme le croyait Descartes. que l'âme est entrée dans le corps à travers la glande pinéale minuscule. Après la "décennie du cerveau", tout a changé et nous avons enfin commencé, grâce aux nouvelles technologies et découvertes, à vraiment connaître le cerveau. Ce que nous n’avons pas appris dans l’histoire de l’humanité, après les années 90, nous avons commencé à découvrir et à apprendre, mais nous ne le comprenons pas et ne l’assimilons pas.

Cependant, il y a encore beaucoup de gens, parmi les universitaires, les gens de la culture et les gens ordinaires, qui ils refusent de reconnaître leur nature et acceptent de nouvelles façons de nous comprendre, de comprendre notre cerveau, notre machine . La négation et la résistance de nombreuses personnes aux neurosciences reposent sur la conviction que la biologie vient nous dépouiller de notre condition humaine, elle mettrait fin à notre partie morale et ne nous réduirait pas plus que des animaux guidés par nos pulsions et dans ce cas. ils pourraient justifier des choses comme le viol, l'inceste ou le meurtre.

Mais contrairement à ces idées reçues, des scientifiques de renom tels que Steven Pinker ou David Eagleman suggèrent que, en montrant à l’être humain sans crainte ce qu’il est, ils peuvent créer de véritables programmes de rétablissement, prévoir et contrôler les comportements susceptibles de nuire au bien-être humain. la société et eux-mêmes. Le refus de reconnaître ce qui se passe dans notre machine ne nous aidera pas à donner des réponses sur ce qui s'y passe, et cela peut avoir un coût social.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Avedaño, C. (2002). Neurosciences, neurologie et psychiatrie: une rencontre inévitable. Asoc. ESp. Neuropsiq. Extrait de Scielo: //scielo.isciii.es/pdf/neuropsiq/n83/n83a05.p ...
  • Carles, E. (2004). Approche historique et conceptuelle des neurosciences cognitives. Cognitive, 141-162.
  • Corr, P. J. (2008). Psychogénomique Dans P. J. Corr, Biological Psychology. Mcgrawhill.
  • Eagleman, D. (2013). Il y a quelqu'un dans ma tête, mais ce n'est pas moi. Dans D. Eagleman, Incognito. La vie secrète du cerveau (page 9). Anagramme
  • Giménez-Amaya, J. m. (Mai-août 2007). Dialnet. Extrait de Dialnet: //dadun.unav.edu/handle/10171/10926
  • Kaku, M. (2014). Introduction Dans M. Kaku, L'avenir de notre esprit (page 22). Penguin Random House.
  • Pinker, S. (2003). L'ardoise vierge. Dans S. Pinker, l’ardoise vierge (page 703). Paidós.
  • Tortosa, G. et. (2006). Histoire de la psychologie Dans G. et. Tortosa, Histoire de la psychologie. Macgrawhill.
  • Zapata, L. F. (août-décembre 2009). Evolution, cerveau et cognition. Extrait de Scielo: //www.scielo.org.co/pdf/psdc/n24/n24a06.pdf

132.LES NOUVELLES NEUROSCIENCES : L INTUITION : RÉCENTES révélations .... (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes