yes, therapy helps!
Neurulation: the process of formation of the neural tube

Neurulation: the process of formation of the neural tube

April 29, 2024

Neurulation is the process by which the neural tube is formed during intrauterine development. The neural tube is fundamental for the differentiation of the cells of the central nervous system, while the neural crests, associated structures to which we are concerned, are for the formation of the peripheral nervous system.

In this article we will describe the two phases of neurulation or formation of the neural tube : the primary, in which the neural plate begins to retract on itself, and the secondary, which culminates this process and allows the further development of the nervous system.

  • Related article: "The development of the nervous system during pregnancy"

What is the neural tube?

The neural tube is an embryonic structure that forms during the first month of gestation; specifically, the tube has just closed around week 28 after fertilization. It is the precursor of the central nervous system , composed of the brain and spinal cord.


As the embryonic development progresses, the neural tube is divided into four sections: the anterior brain (forebrain), the middle (mesencephalon), the hindbrain (hindbrain), and the spinal cord. Each of these parts will progress to give rise to the different elements that make up the adult central nervous system.

While most of the nervous system develops from the walls of the neural tube , the gap between the walls is also relevant: the neurocele or neural channel. This structure will progressively transform into the ventricles and the rest of the brain cavities, through which the cerebrospinal fluid circulates.


Primary neurulation

After fertilization, the zygote is formed, the primitive cell composed of the fusion of an egg and a sperm. The zygote divides successively, becoming a set of cells called a morula. Subsequently the blastocoel appears, a cavity filled with fluid, within this structure; when this happens we speak of "blastula".

Later The blastula is divided into three layers: the endoderm, the mesoderm and the ectoderm . Each of these sections will lead to different parts of the body. The ectoderm is the most important for the subject that concerns us, since from it the nervous system develops, both central and peripheral.

The notochord, a structure that is located in the mesoderm, sends signals to the cells that are around it. Those that do not receive these signals are transformed into the neural plate or neuroectoderm, a set of cells that have already specialized in nerve functions. The word "plaque" refers to the flattened appearance of the neuroectoderm.


Primary neurulation consists of the proliferation of nerve cells in the neural plate . These make the plaque transform into the neural tube, a fundamental step in the development of the organism of human beings.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to take care during the first month of pregnancy: 9 tips"

Formation and closure of the neural tube

During the process of neurulation, the neural plate flattens, lengthens and folds over itself around the neural groove, which ends up being U-shaped as the walls rise, forming the neural crests and the neural tube . At this moment of the process the tube is open at both ends; we refer to the caudal and rostral neuroporos.

The normal thing is that these openings close after a few days; but nevertheless, Sometimes the tube does not close properly , which leads to disorders such as spina bifida (which affects the spine) and anencephaly (associated with very serious malformations in the brain).

It is important to differentiate the neural tube from the neural crest because the former is transformed in most structures of the central nervous system, while the peripheral is a progression of the neural crest.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Secondary neurulation

Secondary neurulation is the process that culminates the formation of the neural tube . This is not due to the signals sent by certain cells, as happens with primary neurulation, but occurs as a result of the development of the neural tube.

This process is associated with the division of neural tube cells between mesenchymal and epithelial cells. The first are located in the central part of the tube, and the second in its peripheral region. As these cells differentiate, cavities form between the two sets.

The mesenchymal cells that are located in this part of the embryo condense and form what we know as cord medulla; This, in turn, hollows inside to make way for the cavity of the neural tube. This phenomenon It starts in the sacral region of the spine .

Thus, while the primary neurulation consists in the retraction of the neural plate on itself, the secondary one corresponds to the emptying of the cavity of the neural tube, very associated with the differentiation of the cells of the nervous system of the embryo.


General Embryology - Detailed Animation On Neurulation (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurulation: processus de formation du tube neural

Neurulation: processus de formation du tube neural

Juin 21, 2022

La neurulation est le processus par lequel le tube neural est formé au cours du développement intra-utérin. Le tube neural est fondamental pour la différenciation des cellules du système nerveux central, tandis que les crêtes neurales, structures associées qui nous intéressent, sont destinées à la formation du système nerveux périphérique.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les deux phases de neurulation ou de formation du tube neural : le primaire, dans lequel la plaque neurale commence à se rétracter sur lui-même, et le secondaire, qui termine ce processus et permet le développement ultérieur du système nerveux.

  • Article connexe: "Le développement du système nerveux pendant la grossesse"

Quel est le tube neural?

Le tube neural est une structure embryonnaire qui se forme au cours du premier mois de gestation. spécifiquement, le tube vient de fermer environ 28 semaines après la fécondation. C'est le précurseur du système nerveux central , composé du cerveau et de la moelle épinière.


À mesure que le développement embryonnaire progresse, le tube neural est divisé en quatre sections: le cerveau antérieur (cerveau antérieur), le milieu (mésencéphale), le cerveau postérieur (cerveau postérieur) et la moelle épinière. Chacune de ces parties progressera pour donner naissance aux différents éléments qui composent le système nerveux central adulte.

Tandis que la plus grande partie du système nerveux se développe à partir des parois du tube neural , l’écart entre les parois est également important: la neurocèle ou canal neural. Cette structure se transformera progressivement en ventricules et dans le reste des cavités cérébrales, à travers lesquelles le liquide céphalo-rachidien circule.


Neurulation primaire

Après fécondation, le zygote est formé, la cellule primitive composée de la fusion d'un ovule et d'un spermatozoïde. Le zygote se divise successivement pour devenir un ensemble de cellules appelé morula. Ensuite apparaît le blastocèle, une cavité remplie de liquide, au sein de cette structure; quand cela arrive, on parle de "blastula".

Plus tard La blastula est divisée en trois couches: l'endoderme, le mésoderme et l'ectoderme. . Chacune de ces sections mènera à différentes parties du corps. L'ectoderme est le plus important pour le sujet qui nous concerne, puisque le système nerveux se développe à la fois central et périphérique.

La notochorde, une structure située dans le mésoderme, envoie des signaux aux cellules qui l’entourent. Celles qui ne reçoivent pas ces signaux sont transformées en plaque neurale ou neuroectoderme, un ensemble de cellules déjà spécialisées dans les fonctions nerveuses. Le mot "plaque" fait référence à l'aspect aplati du neuroectoderme.


La neurulation primaire consiste en prolifération de cellules nerveuses dans la plaque neurale . Celles-ci transforment la plaque en tube neural, une étape fondamentale dans le développement de l'organisme des êtres humains.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment faire attention pendant le premier mois de grossesse: 9 conseils"

Formation et fermeture du tube neural

Au cours du processus de neurulation, la plaque neurale s’aplatit, s’allonge et se replie sur elle-même autour du sillon neural, qui finit par être en forme de U lorsque les parois s’élèvent. formant les crêtes neurales et le tube neural . A ce moment du processus, le tube est ouvert aux deux extrémités; nous nous référons au neuroporos caudal et rostral.

La chose normale est que ces ouvertures se ferment après quelques jours; cependant, Parfois, le tube ne se ferme pas correctement , conduisant à des troubles tels que le spina bifida (qui affecte la colonne vertébrale) et l’anencéphalie (associée à de très graves malformations du cerveau).

Il est important de différencier le tube neural de la crête neurale car celle-ci est transformée dans la plupart des structures du système nerveux central, alors que le périphérique est une progression de la crête neurale.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Neurulation secondaire

La neurulation secondaire est le processus qui aboutit à la formation du tube neural . Cela n'est pas dû aux signaux envoyés par certaines cellules, comme c'est le cas avec la neurulation primaire, mais résulte du développement du tube neural.

Ce processus est associé à la division des cellules du tube neural entre les cellules mésenchymateuses et épithéliales. Les premiers sont situés dans la partie centrale du tube et les seconds dans sa région périphérique. Lorsque ces cellules se différencient, des cavités se forment entre les deux ensembles.

Les cellules mésenchymateuses situées dans cette partie de l'embryon se condensent et forment ce que nous appelons la moelle épinière; Ceci, à son tour, creuse à l'intérieur pour faire place à la cavité du tube neural. Ce phénomène Il commence dans la région sacrée de la colonne vertébrale .

Ainsi, alors que la neurulation primaire consiste en la rétraction de la plaque neurale sur elle-même, la secondaire correspond à la vidange de la cavité du tube neural, très associée à la différenciation des cellules du système nerveux de l'embryon.


General Embryology - Detailed Animation On Neurulation (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes