yes, therapy helps!
Nissl bodies: anatomy, characteristics and functions

Nissl bodies: anatomy, characteristics and functions

June 17, 2024

Research and exploration of the human brain and the structures that are part of it have been constant since antiquity. The neuron as a basic unit of the nervous system has been specially researched, using strategies such as the use of different stains to observe its structure.

The German neurologist Franz Nissl elaborated a staining based on dyes such as toluidine blue or cresyl violet, and before his application he could observe how this substance clearly showed the existence of different structures in the neuronal cytoplasm. They had discovered what we now know as corpuscles or bodies of Nissl .

Nissl's bodies: what are they?

The bodies of Nissl or ergastoplasma are small structures in the form of corpuscles or granules present in neurons of the nervous system. These structures are located in the cytoplasm of the cell, and are located in specific parts of the neuron. They can be found especially in the soma or nucleus of the neuron and also in the dendrites, not found in the neuronal axon.


Nissl bodies are considered to be cumulative rough endoplasmic reticulum . In other words, they are structures formed by parallel cisterns with ribosomes (enzymatic structures made of ribosomal RNA) adhered in a spiral, in which, in addition, free polyribosomes can also be seen. These bodies only appear in eukaryotic cells, that is to say those that have a nucleus such as neurons, and have the function of secreting proteins.

They are also basophil structures, characterized by the affinity and ease of staining by dyes. In these structures there a high concentration of both ribosomal and messenger RNA , the active ribosomes being attached to the latter.


They can have different sizes and be presented in different amounts depending on the type of neuron. Those that are part of the ganglia of the autonomic nervous system tend to be small, while other large neurons tend to have larger Nissl bodies.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between DNA and RNA"

Function of these structures

Nissl bodies, as conglomerates of rough endoplasmic reticulum in which ribosomes are observed and in which both ribosomal and messenger RNA can be found, Their main function is the synthesis and transport of proteins inside the cell. Specifically, the part of the Nissl bodies that have the most action when generating proteins to be used inside the cell are free polyribosomes.

The proteins secreted by these bodies are fundamental in the face of transmit nerve impulses between neurons , as well as participate in the generation of neurotransmitters.


In addition, Nissl's body plays an important role in maintaining the health of the cell, by allowing the regeneration of structures damaged by the neuron's own activity or by external factors.

Chromatolysis as a defense against neuronal damage

Nissl bodies can be damaged by possible injuries or pathologies. Neural damages such as those caused by trauma and diseases they can generate damage to the axon.

The presence of damage to the axon causes the neuron to react by swelling and displacing the nucleus to move it away from the lesion. It also acts by giving a response called chromatolysis, in which the Nissl bodies move from the neuronal cytoplasm to the injured area in order to repair it. The reorganization and regeneration of the axon is allowed, so that the functionality of the neuron is recovered, but while this occurs Nissl bodies dissolve . Fortunately, if recovery of the neuron is achieved, chromatolysis ceases and the cytoplasm can recover and form new bodies.

This reaction may appear as we have said before injuries caused by trauma, but they have also been observed in various disorders. It is common to observe its appearance in neurodegenerative processes such as dementia due to Pick disease or Alzheimer's disease (in fact, the changes in the cytoplasm that cause this event is usually considered as a sign of neuronal degeneration, so that its occurrence can be a possible sign of danger), in Wernicke encephalopathy of Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, diseases such as porphyria or some infectious diseases. It can also be observed in normative aging or in the face of a situation of great continuing stress for the individual.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid-
  • Ramón y Cajal, S. (2007). Histology of the nervous system of man and vertebrates.Volume i. Ministry of Health. Madrid.

Neuron Structure - Neuroanatomy Basics - Anatomy Tutorial (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nissl corps: anatomie, caractéristiques et fonctions

Nissl corps: anatomie, caractéristiques et fonctions

Novembre 27, 2022

La recherche et l'exploration du cerveau humain et des structures qui en font partie sont constantes depuis l'Antiquité. Le neurone en tant qu’unité de base du système nerveux a été spécialement étudié, en utilisant des stratégies telles que l’utilisation de différentes taches pour observer sa structure.

Le neurologue allemand Franz Nissl a élaboré une coloration à base de colorants tels que le bleu de toluidine ou le violet de crésyl. Avant son application, il pouvait observer comment cette substance montrait clairement l'existence de structures différentes dans le cytoplasme neuronal. Ils avaient découvert ce que nous savons maintenant corpuscules ou corps de Nissl .

Les corps de Nissl: que sont-ils?

Les corps de Nissl ou ergastoplasma sont de petites structures sous la forme de corpuscules ou de granules présents dans les neurones du système nerveux. Ces structures sont situées dans le cytoplasme de la cellule et dans des parties spécifiques du neurone. Ils peuvent être trouvés en particulier dans le soma ou le noyau du neurone et également dans les dendrites, non trouvés dans l'axone neuronal.


Les corps nissl sont considérés comme du réticulum endoplasmique rugueux cumulatif . En d'autres termes, il s'agit de structures formées par des citernes parallèles avec des ribosomes (structures enzymatiques constituées d'ARN ribosomal) collées en spirale dans lesquelles, en outre, on peut également voir des polyribosomes libres. Ces corps n'apparaissent que dans les cellules eucaryotes, c'est-à-dire celles qui possèdent un noyau tel que les neurones et ont pour fonction de sécréter des protéines.

Ce sont également des structures basophiles, caractérisées par l’affinité et la facilité de coloration par les colorants. Dans ces structures là une concentration élevée d'ARN ribosomal et d'ARN messager , les ribosomes actifs étant attachés à ces derniers.


Ils peuvent avoir différentes tailles et être présentés en différentes quantités en fonction du type de neurone. Celles qui font partie des ganglions du système nerveux autonome ont tendance à être petites, tandis que les autres grands neurones ont tendance à avoir des corps de Nissl plus grands.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Différences entre l'ADN et l'ARN"

Fonction de ces structures

Corps nissl, en tant que conglomérats de réticulum endoplasmique rugueux dans lesquels on observe des ribosomes et dans lesquels on trouve des ARN ribosomal et messager, Leur fonction principale est la synthèse et le transport des protéines à l'intérieur de la cellule. Spécifiquement, les polyribosomes libres sont la partie des corps de Nissl qui a le plus d’action lorsqu’elle génère des protéines à utiliser à l’intérieur de la cellule.

Les protéines sécrétées par ces organismes sont fondamentales face aux transmettre les impulsions nerveuses entre les neurones , ainsi que participer à la génération de neurotransmetteurs.


De plus, le corps de Nissl joue un rôle important dans le maintien de la santé de la cellule en permettant la régénération de structures endommagées par l'activité du neurone ou par des facteurs externes.

La chromatolyse comme défense contre les dommages neuronaux

Les corps nissl peuvent être endommagés par des blessures ou des pathologies possibles. Dommages neurologiques tels que ceux causés par des traumatismes et des maladies ils peuvent générer des dommages à l'axone.

La présence de dommages à l'axone fait réagir le neurone en gonflant et en déplaçant le noyau pour l'éloigner de la lésion. Il agit également en donnant une réponse appelée chromatolyse, dans laquelle les corps de Nissl se déplacent du cytoplasme neuronal à la zone lésée afin de le réparer. La réorganisation et la régénération de l'axone sont autorisées, de sorte que la fonctionnalité du neurone soit récupérée, mais tant que cela se produit Les corps nissl se dissolvent . Heureusement, si la récupération du neurone est obtenue, la chromatolyse cesse et le cytoplasme peut récupérer et former de nouveaux corps.

Cette réaction peut apparaître, comme nous l’avons dit avant les blessures causées par un traumatisme, mais elle a également été observée dans divers troubles. Il est courant d'observer son apparition dans des processus neurodégénératifs tels que la démence due à la maladie de Pick ou à la maladie d'Alzheimer (en fait, les modifications du cytoplasme qui causent cet événement sont généralement considérées comme un signe de dégénérescence neuronale, de sorte que leur survenue peut être un signe possible. de danger), dans l'encéphalopathie de Wernicke du syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff, des maladies telles que la porphyrie ou certaines maladies infectieuses. On peut également l'observer dans le vieillissement normatif ou face à une situation de stress permanent important pour l'individu.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid-
  • Ramón y Cajal, S. (2007). Histologie du système nerveux de l'homme et des vertébrés.Volume i. Ministère de la santé et de la consommation. Madrid

Physiologie du système nerveux : Neurone - partie 1 (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes