yes, therapy helps!
Nitric oxide (neurotransmitter): definition and functions

Nitric oxide (neurotransmitter): definition and functions

January 25, 2022

Some of you certainly think that nitric oxide is a laughing gas, better known as "laughing gas". Well, that's nitrous oxide (N2O).

In this article we will talk about nitric oxide, also called nitrogen monoxide or NO (for its acronym in English), is a fat-soluble gas molecule that acts in the brain as a neurotransmitter and carries out different functions within our body.

Since its discovery, nitric oxide has become one of the most studied molecules in human physiology. The studies confirm the natural capacity of nitric oxide to prevent coagulation, regulate inflammation, revitalize tissues, improve erectile dysfunction or kill invading microorganisms and even eradicate cancer cells.


  • Related article: "Types of cancer: definition, risks and how they are classified"

In addition, nitric oxide favors the erection, and as a supplement it is consumed in the circuits of sports training and muscle building, since it favors resistance to fatigue and improves muscle development.

Characteristics of nitric oxide

And it is that this gas has aroused great scientific interest. Already in 1970, an American doctor, named Ferid Murad, noticed that nitrates that are used when people suffer chest pains or cardiovascular problems release nitric oxide, because This substance has a dilator effect for blood vessels and relaxes the muscular layer in the endothelium .


A few years later, in 1987, studies confirmed that the human body produces nitric oxide, which led to research on how it is formed, what it does and what are the functions of this compound in the human body. In 1998, the authors of these discoveries, Robert Furchgott, Ferid Murad and Louis J. Ignarro, received the Nobel Prize.

How nitric oxide is synthesized

Nitric oxide is synthesized from the protein amino acid arginine and L-citrulline , a non-protein amino acid, thanks to the action of an enzyme called nitric oxide synthase (NOS). In addition, for the synthesis to occur, the presence of oxygen and a coenzyme (an organic molecule that binds to the enzyme) is necessary. the reduced nad-phosphate (NADPH). In most beings, NO is produced in different types of cells.

  • Do you want to know the types of cells that exist in the human body? You can do it by visiting our post: "Types of major cells of the human body"

Functions in our organism

In addition to the studies that I mentioned before and that won the Nobel Prize for their authors, in the last three decades there are more than 60,000 investigations carried out on this gas.


Nitric oxide performs different functions in both the central and peripheral nervous systems , among which are:

  • Reduces inflammation and blood clotting
  • Improves the performance of the immune system by defending against bacteria and fighting cancer.
  • Increases the recognition of the senses (for example, smell)
  • Increase endurance and strength and muscle development
  • It has a positive effect on gastric motility
  • It enhances sleep quality
  • Improve memory
  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

Nitric oxide as a neurotransmitter

Neurotransmitters are chemical molecules that send signals within the nervous system. Nitric oxide, being a gas, does not fit with the classic definition of other neurotransmitters such as dopamine or serotonin.

But nevertheless, This gaseous molecule performs functions as neurotransmitter and neuromodulator .

According to the authors Fernández-Álvarez and Abudara Morales, neurotransmitters, classically, should meet these requirements:

  1. It should be present at the presinapsis
  2. It should be stored in the presynaptic terminal
  3. Should be released before presynaptic nerve stimulation
  4. Exogenous administration of the substance would elicit an identical response to that caused by presynaptic nerve stimulation and drugs should elicit the same modifications in the response caused by presynaptic nerve stimulation.
  5. In the synapse there must be mechanisms that allow the end of the action of said neurotransmitter substance on the postsynaptic neuron

Since the NO is one is a gas and its physico-chemical functions are different from other neurotransmitters, it does not fulfill all of the above criteria. But nevertheless, this does not mean that it does not act as a chemical messenger , but this type of transmission constitutes a particular form of transmission.

Generally, neurotransmitters are produced, stored and used when the nervous system requires them. Once they are used, an enzyme acts on them, often degrading them. In the case of NO this does not happen, because it does not occur in advance. It is synthesized at the time it is needed.

In addition, unlike other neurotransmitters, it does not have a localized effect, but diffuses in many directions and, being a gas, can affect many cells. Therefore, although both classical neurotransmitters and NO send information, they do so differently.

  • Would you like to know more about classic neurotransmitters? In our article "Types of neurotransmitters: functions and classification" we explain them to you.

Nitric oxide and its relation with Viagra

Research on this gaseous compound has also concluded that Nitric oxide is of utmost importance in male erection . In fact, the drugs used to treat erectile dysfunction act on the path of nitric oxide that allows the flow of blood to the male organ.

One of the best known medicines to treat this problem is Sildenafil, which you will probably know by its commercial name: "Viagra". But what is the relationship between Viagra and nitric oxide? Well, when we think about having intimate relationships with someone or we are in a situation where intimate stimulation occurs, Nitric oxide is released in the nerve endings of the male organ .

This compound causes the relaxation relaxation of the muscles, the dilation of the cavernous bodies and blood vessels in this area, and this relaxation allows blood to enter the arteries and, consequently, the erection. When nitric oxide is mobilized towards the smooth muscle cells present in the blood vessels, it causes different chemical reactions by increasing the cGMP chemical messenger, this produces the dilation of the vessels that allows the flow of blood. Once cGMP has performed its function, it is degraded by the enzyme phosphodiesterase (PDE). Viagra blocks phosphodiesterase, thus preventing the degradation of cGMP and improves erection.


Mechanism of Smooth Muscle Relaxation | Role of Nitric Oxide | IP3 Pathway (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Monoxyde d'azote (neurotransmetteur): définition et fonctions

Monoxyde d'azote (neurotransmetteur): définition et fonctions

Août 10, 2022

Certains d'entre vous pensent certainement que l'oxyde nitrique est un gaz hilarant, mieux connu sous le nom de "gaz hilarant". Eh bien, c'est l'oxyde nitreux (N2O).

Dans cet article, nous allons parler de l'oxyde nitrique, également appelé monoxyde d'azote ou NO (pour son acronyme en anglais), est une molécule de gaz liposoluble qui agit dans le cerveau en tant que neurotransmetteur et remplit différentes fonctions au sein de notre corps.

Depuis sa découverte, l'oxyde nitrique est devenu l'une des molécules les plus étudiées en physiologie humaine. Les études confirment la capacité naturelle de l'oxyde nitrique de prévenir la coagulation, de réguler l'inflammation, de revitaliser les tissus, d'améliorer le dysfonctionnement érectile ou de tuer les micro-organismes envahisseurs et même d'éradiquer les cellules cancéreuses.


  • Article connexe: "Types de cancer: définition, risques et classification"

De plus, l'oxyde nitrique favorise l'érection et, en tant que complément, il est consommé dans les circuits d'entraînement sportif et de musculation, puisqu'il favorise la résistance à la fatigue et améliore le développement musculaire.

Caractéristiques de l'oxyde nitrique

Et c’est que ce gaz a suscité un grand intérêt scientifique. Déjà en 1970, un médecin américain, nommé Ferid Murad, avait remarqué que les nitrates utilisés en cas de douleurs thoraciques ou de problèmes cardiovasculaires libèrent de l'oxyde nitrique, car Cette substance a un effet dilatateur sur les vaisseaux sanguins et détend la couche musculaire de l'endothélium. .


Quelques années plus tard, en 1987, des études ont confirmé que le corps humain produisait de l'oxyde nitrique, ce qui a conduit à des recherches sur son mode de formation, son fonctionnement et les fonctions de ce composé dans le corps humain. En 1998, les auteurs de ces découvertes, Robert Furchgott, Ferid Murad et Louis J. Ignarro, ont reçu le prix Nobel.

Comment l'oxyde nitrique est synthétisé

L’oxyde nitrique est synthétisé à partir de la protéine acide aminé arginine et L-citrulline , un acide aminé non protéique, grâce à l'action d'une enzyme appelée oxyde nitrique synthase (NOS). De plus, pour que la synthèse se déroule, la présence d'oxygène et d'un coenzyme (une molécule organique qui se lie à l'enzyme) est nécessaire. le nad-phosphate réduit (NADPH). Chez la plupart des êtres, NO est produit dans différents types de cellules.

  • Voulez-vous connaître les types de cellules qui existent dans le corps humain? Vous pouvez le faire en visitant notre post: "Types de cellules majeures du corps humain"

Fonctions dans notre organisme

Outre les études que j'ai mentionnées précédemment et qui ont remporté le prix Nobel pour leurs auteurs, plus de 60 000 enquêtes ont été effectuées sur ce gaz au cours des trois dernières décennies.


L'oxyde nitrique remplit différentes fonctions dans les systèmes nerveux central et périphérique parmi lesquels:

  • Réduit l'inflammation et la coagulation du sang
  • Améliore les performances du système immunitaire en luttant contre les bactéries et en luttant contre le cancer.
  • Augmente la reconnaissance des sens (par exemple, l'odorat)
  • Augmente l'endurance, la force et le développement musculaire
  • Il a un effet positif sur la motilité gastrique
  • Améliore la qualité du sommeil
  • Améliorer la mémoire
  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

L'oxyde nitrique comme neurotransmetteur

Les neurotransmetteurs sont des molécules chimiques qui envoient des signaux dans le système nerveux. L'oxyde nitrique, étant un gaz, ne correspond pas à la définition classique des autres neurotransmetteurs tels que la dopamine ou la sérotonine.

Cependant, Cette molécule gazeuse remplit des fonctions de neurotransmetteur et de neuromodulateur .

Selon les auteurs Fernández-Álvarez et Abudara Morales, les neurotransmetteurs devraient, de manière classique, répondre aux exigences suivantes:

  1. Il devrait être présent à la presinapsis
  2. Il devrait être stocké dans le terminal présynaptique
  3. Devrait être libéré avant la stimulation nerveuse présynaptique
  4. L'administration exogène de la substance induirait une réponse identique à celle provoquée par une stimulation nerveuse présynaptique et les médicaments devraient provoquer les mêmes modifications de la réponse provoquée par une stimulation nerveuse présynaptique.
  5. Dans la synapse, il doit exister des mécanismes permettant de mettre fin à l'action de ladite substance neurotransmetteur sur le neurone postsynaptique

Comme le NO est un gaz et que ses fonctions physico-chimiques sont différentes de celles des autres neurotransmetteurs, il ne répond pas à tous les critères ci-dessus. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas qu'il n'agit pas comme un messager chimique , mais ce type de transmission constitue une forme particulière de transmission.

Généralement, les neurotransmetteurs sont produits, stockés et utilisés lorsque le système nerveux en a besoin. Une fois qu'ils sont utilisés, une enzyme agit sur eux, les dégradant souvent. Dans le cas de NON, cela ne se produit pas, car cela ne se produit pas à l'avance. Il est synthétisé au moment où il est nécessaire.

De plus, contrairement aux autres neurotransmetteurs, il n’a pas d’effet localisé, mais diffuse dans de nombreuses directions et, en tant que gaz, peut affecter de nombreuses cellules. Par conséquent, bien que les neurotransmetteurs classiques et NO envoient des informations, ils le font différemment.

  • Souhaitez-vous en savoir plus sur les neurotransmetteurs classiques? Dans notre article "Types de neurotransmetteurs: fonctions et classification", nous vous les expliquons.

L'oxyde nitrique et sa relation avec le Viagra

La recherche sur ce composé gazeux a également conclu que L'oxyde nitrique est d'une importance capitale dans l'érection masculine . En fait, les médicaments utilisés pour traiter la dysfonction érectile agissent sur le trajet de l'oxyde nitrique, qui permet l'écoulement du sang vers l'organe masculin.

Le sildénafil est l'un des médicaments les plus connus pour traiter ce problème. Vous le connaissez probablement sous son nom commercial: "Viagra". Mais quelle est la relation entre le Viagra et l'oxyde nitrique? Eh bien, lorsque nous pensons avoir des relations intimes avec quelqu'un ou que nous sommes dans une situation de stimulation intime, L'oxyde nitrique est libéré dans les terminaisons nerveuses de l'organe mâle .

Ce composé provoque la relaxation, la relaxation des muscles, la dilatation des corps caverneux et des vaisseaux sanguins dans cette zone, et cette relaxation permet au sang de pénétrer dans les artères et, par conséquent, l'érection. Lorsque l'oxyde nitrique est mobilisé vers les cellules musculaires lisses présentes dans les vaisseaux sanguins, il provoque différentes réactions chimiques en augmentant le messager chimique de la GMPc, ce qui produit la dilatation des vaisseaux permettant la circulation du sang. Une fois que le GMPc a rempli sa fonction, il est dégradé par l’enzyme phosphodiesterase (PDE). Le Viagra bloque la phosphodiesterase, empêchant ainsi la dégradation du GMPc et améliorant l'érection.


La Dysfonction Erectile 5 Solutions | Dysfonction Rectile Impuissance (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes