yes, therapy helps!
Noam Chomsky: biography of an anti-system linguist

Noam Chomsky: biography of an anti-system linguist

May 6, 2021

Today there are few thinkers and researchers with the reputation of Noam Chomsky . His interventions in the media are constantly circulating on the Internet, the interviews he offers have massive audience levels and he has even sneaked into the odd song, like this one from Espaldamaceta.

It is not strange. Chomsky is a controversial person, and curiously it is not for selling his life in pieces of exclusives or for having a breakthrough aesthetic, as is frequent in today's celebrity. Noam Chomsky is known for his ideas in two seemingly disconnected fields: politics and linguistics (wave psycholinguistics).


Then we will go over the details of his life trajectory to this day.

Chomsky's childhood

Noam Chomsky was born in 1928 in the American city of Philadelphia, within the family formed by the marriage of William Chomsky and Elsie Simonofsky, both scholars of the Hebrew language and originating in Eastern Europe (the current Ukraine and Belarus, respectively) . Both Noam Chomsky and his younger brother, David Eli Chomsky, they were educated in an environment of respect for the Jewish roots of their lineage , and also impregnated the activist spirit of their parents, very influenced by the left Zionism that in Israel was reflected in the emergence of kibbutz communes.


During his childhood and his entry into adolescence, Noam Chomsky developed a vocational habit based on reading essays on politics. This, together with the fact that from a very young age he frequented environments related to the anti-system left, led him to situate himself ideologically in anarchism . Like researchers like Viktor Frankl, he began writing his reflections at a very young age, before he was 13 years old.

The entrance to the university

In 1945, Chomsky began a university career in the world of the humanities and, specifically, philosophy and Semitic languages, all from the classrooms of the University of Philadelphia. The contact with the linguist Zellig Harris during his university years made him decide to focus his studies on linguistics. In 1949, in addition, it would marry with Carol Doris Schatz (soon well-known like Carol Chomsky), that would get to be also a well-known linguist.


But the studies and interests of Noam Chomsky went far beyond the study of languages ​​themselves. His first research, conducted from Harvard between 1951 and 1955, came to have implications on other issues of the concern of psychology, such as the processes by which language and mental structures may appear. This led him to face the behavioral explanation of the appearance and learning of the languages ​​held by B. F. Skinner, among others.

In the field of psycholinguistics, Noam Chomsky is known for his theory of Universal Grammar and his ideas on the development of language based on genetic inheritance, something that was used by evolutionary psychologists like Steven Pinker to explain the nature of language in the Humans. You can read more about this topic in this article about Chomsky's theories.

The activist Noam Chomsky

In parallel to all these research activities, the curiosity that Noam Chomsky felt about the issues related to politics and the development of capitalism did not cease. That's why this researcher was combining his studies on linguistics with the reading of political essays , the writing of reflections and articles and the holding of conferences in which he has been fiercely criticizing the system of structural relations and the distribution of wealth that he relates to the essence of capitalism, while also criticizing certain aspects from the left that he calls authoritarian.

Noam Chomsky has also placed the objective of his dialectic darts on the policy of the United States and its repressive role at the international level, favoring coups and intervening militarily in foreigners for reasons that can hardly be related to self-defense. No wonder he was directly opposed to the participation of his country in the Vietnam War, for which he was arrested .

Noam Chomsky today

In recent years, due to his advanced age, Noam Chomsky has withdrawn from teaching, but continues appearing before the media to support new initiatives of the left . Since the 1990s, especially, Noam Chomsky has been focusing on the commentary on the political agenda and the development of inequalities, something that has won him many enmities in a country as liberal as the United States.

The fact that it offers visibility to ideologies related to anarchism and that has shown support for movements such as Occupy Wall Street has turned him into a person who, despite not being overly pampered by the mainstream media, arouses a lot of interest.

Noam Chomsky has also remarried, after the death of his first wife in 2008. His current partner is Valeria Wasserman.


How the Great Intellect of Noam Chomsky Was Shaped: Biography, University, Political History (1997) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Noam Chomsky: biographie d'un linguiste anti-système

Noam Chomsky: biographie d'un linguiste anti-système

Mai 21, 2019

Aujourd'hui, il y a peu de penseurs et de chercheurs ayant la réputation Noam Chomsky . Ses interventions dans les médias circulent constamment sur Internet, les interviews qu'il propose ont un public énorme et il s'est même glissé dans une chanson étrange, comme celle d'Espaldamaceta.

Ce n'est pas étrange. Chomsky est une personne controversée et, curieusement, ce n'est pas pour avoir vendu sa vie en exclusivité, ni pour avoir une esthétique révolutionnaire, comme c'est souvent le cas dans la célébrité d'aujourd'hui. Noam Chomsky est connu pour ses idées dans deux domaines apparemment déconnectés: la politique et la linguistique (ou le psycholinguistique).


Ensuite, nous passerons en revue les détails de sa trajectoire de vie à ce jour.

L'enfance de Chomsky

Noam Chomsky est né en 1928 dans la ville américaine de Philadelphie, au sein de la famille formée par le mariage de William Chomsky et Elsie Simonofsky, tous deux érudits de la langue hébraïque et originaires d'Europe orientale (l'actuelle Ukraine et la Biélorussie, respectivement). . Noam Chomsky et son frère cadet, David Eli Chomsky, ils ont été éduqués dans un environnement de respect pour les racines juives de leur lignée , et imprègnent également l’esprit activiste de leurs parents, très influencés par le sionisme de gauche qui, en Israël, se reflétait dans l’émergence des communes kibboutz.


Au cours de son enfance et de son entrée dans l'adolescence, Noam Chomsky a développé une habitude vocationnelle basée sur la lecture d'essais sur la politique. Ceci, ajouté au fait que très jeune, il a fréquenté des environnements liés à la gauche anti-système, l'a amené à se situer idéologiquement dans l'anarchisme . À l'instar de chercheurs comme Viktor Frankl, il a commencé à écrire ses réflexions dès son plus jeune âge, avant l'âge de 13 ans.

L'entrée à l'université

En 1945, Chomsky commença une carrière universitaire dans le monde des sciences humaines et plus particulièrement dans la philosophie et les langues sémitiques, le tout à partir des salles de classe de l'Université de Philadelphie. Le contact avec le linguiste Zellig Harris au cours de ses années d’université l’a incité à se concentrer sur la linguistique. En 1949, en plus, il se marierait avec Carol Doris Schatz (bientôt connue comme Carol Chomsky), qui deviendrait aussi un linguiste bien connu.


Mais les études et les intérêts de Noam Chomsky allaient bien au-delà de l’étude des langues elles-mêmes. Ses premières recherches, menées de Harvard entre 1951 et 1955, ont fini par avoir des implications sur d'autres questions relevant du domaine de la psychologie, telles que les processus par lesquels le langage et les structures mentales peuvent apparaître. Cette l'a amené à faire face à l'explication comportementale de l'apparition et de l'apprentissage des langues détenues par B. F. Skinner, entre autres.

Dans le domaine de la psycholinguistique, Noam Chomsky est connu pour sa théorie de la grammaire universelle et ses idées sur le développement d’un langage fondé sur le patrimoine génétique, ce que des psychologues de l’évolution comme Steven Pinker ont utilisé pour expliquer la nature du langage dans le monde. êtres humains. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce sujet dans cet article sur les théories de Chomsky.

Le militant Noam Chomsky

Parallèlement à toutes ces activités de recherche, la curiosité de Noam Chomsky vis-à-vis des questions liées à la politique et au développement du capitalisme n'a pas cessé. Voilà pourquoi ce chercheur combinait ses études de linguistique avec la lecture d'essais politiques , la rédaction de réflexions et d'articles et la tenue de conférences au cours desquelles il a vivement critiqué le système de relations structurelles et la répartition de la richesse qu'il relie à l'essence du capitalisme, tout en critiquant certains aspects de la gauche qu'il appelle autoritaire.

Noam Chomsky a également placé l'objectif de son jeu dialectique sur la politique des États-Unis et son rôle répressif au niveau international, en favorisant les coups d'État et en intervenant militairement auprès des étrangers pour des raisons qui peuvent difficilement être liées à la légitime défense. Pas étonnant qu'il soit directement opposé à la participation de son pays à la guerre du Vietnam, pour laquelle il a été arrêté .

Noam Chomsky aujourd'hui

En raison de son âge avancé, Noam Chomsky s’est retiré de l’enseignement, mais continue de comparaître devant les médias pour soutenir les nouvelles initiatives de la gauche . Depuis les années 1990 en particulier, Noam Chomsky s'est concentré sur les commentaires sur l'agenda politique et le développement des inégalités, ce qui lui a valu de nombreuses inimitiés dans un pays aussi libéral que les États-Unis.

Le fait qu’elle offre une visibilité aux idéologies liées à l’anarchisme et au soutien de mouvements tels que Occupy Wall Street en a fait un personnage qui, sans être trop choyé par les médias traditionnels, suscite beaucoup d’intérêt.

Noam Chomsky s'est également remarié après le décès de sa première femme en 2008. Sa partenaire actuelle est Valeria Wasserman.


Istanbul like you have never seen it before - Documentary (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes