yes, therapy helps!
Nocturnal Dining Syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment of this eating disorder

Nocturnal Dining Syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment of this eating disorder

July 19, 2024

The most well-known Eating Disorders (AEDs) are anorexia and bulimia, but in recent years the possibility of including new disorders in the DSM is being considered. (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders).

One of them is the Nocturnal Dining Syndrome , which together with Binge Eating Disorder (this one is included in the DSM-V) predominates in obese patients, although they can also develop in patients with normal weight.

One of the main characteristics of this disorder is that the person who suffers it ingests a large amount of calories after dinner, even waking up at night to eat . During the morning, presents morning anorexia, that is, practically does not eat; and during the rest of the day, until the night comes, eat few calories. The Night Dining Syndrome (NES) causes serious health problems, so it is necessary to treat it as soon as possible.


Characteristics and symptoms of the Night Dining Syndrome

In this disorder, the individual eats little throughout the day because the big consumption arrives after night, with the consequence that he appears overweight and sleep disturbances.

Some data

Nutrition experts recommend that the daily intake should be distributed in five meals . Breakfast and lunch should be strong meals, providing between 50-60% of the daily calorie intake between them. The mid-morning "snack" and the snack must contribute 10-15% each and dinner 20%.

Individuals suffering from the nocturnal eater syndrome can get to eat at least 50 percent of calories at night , causing a decompensation regarding these recommendations.


symptom

The Night Dining Syndrome It is characterized by presenting the following symptoms :

  • Morning Anorexia : Individuals with NES do not eat or practically do not eat during breakfast.
  • Nightly hyperphagia : Consume at least 25% of the daily calories after dinner. These foods are usually rich in carbohydrates (such as sweets, pastries, pasta or rice).
  • Alterations of the dream : They suffer insomnia or wake up frequently in the middle of the night to eat at least three days a week.

Causes of the Night Dining Syndrome

There is not much research on this disorder, but in the different analyzes carried out in some studies there seems to be a modification of the neuroendocrine pattern (for example, cortisol, pituitary adrenal pituitary, melatonin and leptin) that participates in the regulatory function of own circadian rhythms that modulate various metabolic and psychological functions.


Stresses the high presence of cortisol at night (but not during the day), the hormone related to stress, so one of the main causes would be the increase in nighttime stress.

Other studies, They associate this disorder with environmental and sociocultural factors, as well as a certain genetic predisposition . In addition, in some cases, the onset of this syndrome is related to anxiety disorders or depression, which can lead to an increase in dietary intake to reduce anxious and depressive symptoms.

Treatment of the Night Dining Syndrome

The treatment of this pathology may require a multidisciplinary intervention with different professionals: dietitian, endocrine and psychologist or psychiatrist .

The dietitian should design a diet according to the characteristics of the subject, the endocrinologist should follow up on the hormonal characteristics of the patient, and the psychologist will work on the aspects related to the feelings, emotions or beliefs and the well-being of the person with Syndrome Night Dining

Regarding psychotherapy, Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, Acceptance and Commitment Therapy or Mindfulness can be of great help for the patient to overcome the disorder. Further, psychology can provide the patient with the tools to learn how to face their problem and change their attitudes and habits towards food , and it will be necessary to overcome anxiety or depression.

In severe cases, pharmacological treatment may be necessary. Certain medications, such as SSRI (Selective Reuptake Inhibitors Serotonin) have shown their efficacy for treatment.


6 Types of Eating Disorders (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome culinaire nocturne: causes, symptômes et traitement de ce trouble de l'alimentation

Syndrome culinaire nocturne: causes, symptômes et traitement de ce trouble de l'alimentation

Septembre 18, 2019

Les troubles de l'alimentation les plus connus sont l'anorexie et la boulimie, mais ces dernières années, la possibilité d'inclure de nouveaux troubles dans le DSM est à l'étude. (Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux).

L'un d'eux est le Syndrome de repas nocturne , qui, avec le syndrome de frénésie alimentaire (ce dernier est inclus dans le DSM-V), prédomine chez les patients obèses, bien qu'ils puissent également se développer chez les patients de poids normal.

L'une des principales caractéristiques de ce trouble est que la personne qui en souffre ingère une grande quantité de calories après le dîner, même au réveil le soir pour manger . Au cours de la matinée, des cadeaux anorexie matinalec'est-à-dire ne mange pratiquement pas; et pendant le reste de la journée, jusqu'à la nuit venue, consommez peu de calories. Le syndrome des dîners de nuit (NDA) provoque de graves problèmes de santé, il est donc nécessaire de le traiter le plus tôt possible.


Caractéristiques et symptômes du syndrome nocturne

Dans ce trouble, l'individu mange peu tout au long de la journée car la grande consommation arrive après la nuit, avec pour conséquence qu'il apparaît en surpoids et des troubles du sommeil.

Certaines données

Experts en nutrition recommander que l'apport quotidien soit réparti en cinq repas . Le petit-déjeuner et le déjeuner doivent être des repas copieux, fournissant entre 50 et 60% de l'apport calorique quotidien entre eux. Le "goûter" du matin et le goûter doivent contribuer chacun à 10-15% et le dîner à 20%.

Personnes souffrant du syndrome du mangeur nocturne peut arriver à manger au moins 50 pour cent de calories la nuit , provoquant une décompensation par rapport à ces recommandations.


Les symptômes

Le syndrome des repas de nuit Il est caractérisé en présentant les symptômes suivants :

  • Anorexie du matin : Les personnes atteintes de NDA ne mangent pas ou ne mangent pratiquement pas pendant le petit-déjeuner.
  • Hyperphagie nocturne : Consommez au moins 25% des calories quotidiennes après le dîner. Ces aliments sont généralement riches en glucides (tels que des sucreries, des pâtisseries, des pâtes ou du riz).
  • Altérations du rêve : Ils souffrent d'insomnie ou se réveillent fréquemment au milieu de la nuit pour manger au moins trois jours par semaine.

Causes du syndrome des repas de nuit

Il n’ya pas beaucoup de recherche sur ce trouble, mais dans les différentes analyses effectuées dans certaines études il semble y avoir une modification du schéma neuroendocrinien (par exemple, cortisol, hypophyse surrénalienne hypophysaire, mélatonine et leptine) participant à la fonction régulatrice de ses propres rythmes circadiens qui modulent diverses fonctions métaboliques et psychologiques.


Souligne la forte présence de cortisol la nuit (mais pas le jour), hormone liée au stress, l’une des principales causes étant donc l’augmentation du stress nocturne.

Autres études, Ils associent ce désordre à des facteurs environnementaux et socioculturels, ainsi qu’à une certaine prédisposition génétique. . De plus, dans certains cas, l’apparition de ce syndrome est liée à des troubles anxieux ou à une dépression, ce qui peut entraîner une augmentation de l’apport alimentaire pour réduire les symptômes anxieux et dépressifs.

Traitement du syndrome de repas de nuit

Le traitement de cette pathologie peut nécessiter une intervention multidisciplinaire avec différents professionnels: diététiste, endocrinien, psychologue ou psychiatre .

Le diététicien devrait concevoir un régime en fonction des caractéristiques du sujet, l’endocrinologue devrait faire un suivi des caractéristiques hormonales du patient et le psychologue travaillerait sur les aspects liés aux sentiments, aux émotions ou aux convictions et au bien-être de la personne atteinte du syndrome. Dîner de nuit

En ce qui concerne la psychothérapie, la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, la thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement ou la pleine conscience peuvent être d'une grande aide pour le patient afin de surmonter le trouble. En outre, la psychologie peut fournir au patient les outils lui permettant d'apprendre à faire face à son problème et à changer ses attitudes et ses habitudes vis-à-vis de l'alimentation et il sera nécessaire de surmonter l’anxiété ou la dépression.

Dans les cas graves, un traitement pharmacologique peut être nécessaire. Certains médicaments, tels que ISRS (Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture Sérotonine) ont montré leur efficacité pour le traitement.


Que faire contre les sueurs nocturnes ? - Causes possibles - Marc-Welter - blog-sans-gluten.com (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes