yes, therapy helps!
Nootropics: what are they and how do they enhance your intelligence?

Nootropics: what are they and how do they enhance your intelligence?

May 6, 2021

Time and ago that psychology has turned around in its approaches .

To deal mainly with psychological disorders and harmful alterations in the functioning of mental processes, has moved to propose lines of research and intervention that lead to improve human potential. Drugs and supplements known as nootropics They represent a similar paradigm shift in the field of neuroscience and psychopharmacology.

The idea that makes the nootropics something so promising is simple: could give us the option to improve our cognitive abilities by taking a dose, without suffering significant adverse effects .


What are nootropics?

The definition of the concept of "nootropics" is as open as its nature and its potential potential. In fact, since the Romanian chemist and psychologist Corneliu E. Giurgea coined the term for the first time in 1972, what is understood as nootropic has evolved and gained diffuse conceptual limits.

Defining the concept

That the concept of nootropic is confusing and broad does not mean that there is no approximate definition. In short, the nootropics are a heterogeneous set of synthetic preparations and supplements that, once supplied in certain doses, have shown promising results in improving the functioning of certain brain functions related to cognition, that is, mental processes related to memory, intelligence, attention management and creativity.


Nootropics, therefore, could be useful in improving performance and mental agility they are needed to solve complex and difficult tasks, but they can also have a role in the prevention of cognitive deterioration.

Nootropic is not synonymous with psychostimulant

Keep in mind that nootropics are not simply psychostimulants , because they are also characterized because they produce practically no adverse side effects or chemical dependency, and taking an adequate dose does not become an immediate threat to the health of those who take them. This differentiates them from stimulants such as amphetamines.

That's why, although nootropics are also known as "cognitive drugs" or smart drugs, if we stick to the definition created by consensus we could differentiate them from substances that damage health and leave clear and irreversible wounds in the body, or that are toxic. While all substances that affect the functioning of neurons have side effects unrelated to the purpose for which the dose is taken, these may be of such minor importance or be of such low intensity that they are not considered harmful.


Not all nootropics are drugs

It is also worth bearing in mind that there are nootropic drugs and nootropic substances that are not considered drugs. The difference between the two is that the drugs are subject to medical indication and sold in pharmacies, while the rest can be obtained in a variety of stores, herbalists, etc.

The great claim of cognitive stimulants

The idea of ​​nootropics fits perfectly with an increasingly competitive society in which optimizing work performance becomes increasingly a struggle to train the body in the art of working under constant pressure.

These substances offer two types of promises highly valued in the Western countries of the 21st century: the possibility of optimizing one's cognitive abilities to adjust to the demands of the labor market , and the immediacy in the results that are sought. At the end of the day, it is easier and simpler to exchange money for a compound that takes the functioning of the brain to another level at the same time as choosing a skill to train and dedicating to this task hours, days or years.

This is precisely why workers in certain sectors related to creativity and new technologies, as well as students who aspire to find a place in elite universities, have been making the consumption of nootropic substances a long time ago. For these social groups, the difference between performing well and not reaching the objectives set can imply a shift in their work expectations and life plans, so the use of these products becomes one of the many steps necessary to aspire to success .

The sale of nootropics online

The fact that the consumer profile of nootropics is familiar with the use of new technologies and that there are generally no strong legal restrictions blocking their marketing makes the sale and purchase of nootropics over the Internet has become popular in many countries. countries

One of the best selling supplements in Spain is Boost Calm Focus . It is a nootropic developed by the firm Queal. According to comments Anthony Ripa , of your communication team:

"At Queal Boost, we have focused on making a" stack "based on solid, reproducible research, which is what makes Quelar Boot nootropics different from others in the market. with a baggage of multiple controlled and independent trials regarding the placebo effect, said research shows results and evidence of improvement in certain cognitive abilities. "

To this we must add that web portals and forums have been created in which consumers talk about their experiences with these preparations , they make consultations and give advice on what to take, for what and in what way to do it. The result is the existence of online communities that keep alive the popularity of nootropics and at the same time give them visibility, something that also happens with supplements used to improve performance in physical activities.

The three main brands of nootropics, Absorb Health , Power Focus and Incite Elite , they market their boats through platforms like Amazon . Clicking on the image you can review the products, if you want to try a nootropic and evaluate its effect on your intelligence and memory.

The effectiveness of cognitive enhancers

Now that we know what the nootropic concept itself is, we must ask ourselves what these substances are, in practice. That is, in what way the definition fits with reality.

The efficacy of nootropics has been called into question by the fact that many of the results obtained after years of research are inconclusive. Results have been obtained that confirm the expected effects through the use of these preparations, but there are also investigations that have given contrary results. Furthermore, as nootropics do not have to resemble each other, neither in their components nor in their proposed preparation or utility, talking about their effectiveness or inefficacy, including them all, implies an oversimplification .

In any case, what can be said about practically all nootropics is that, although some of them are promising, It is not yet known for sure how effective and useful they are to be introduced in the day to day of people who are healthy or with symptoms of dementia. To clarify these points will require years of research and joint efforts to scientifically demonstrate its usefulness.

The most popular types of nootropics

Of course, the fact that there is no guarantee of efficacy in the use of nootropics has not prevented some preparations of this type that enjoy special popularity. Here are some of them .

1. Hill

The potential of this substance could be related to the improvement of motor coordination and tasks that require the use of memory .

2. Piracetam

Synthesized by Corneliu E. Giurgea himself, could slow the deterioration of cognitive abilities in the elderly . It has also been attributed a certain effectiveness in improving the memory and verbal fluency of broader age groups.

3. Aniracetam

Like piracetam, it is part of a group of substances called racetams. It is attributed the effect of improving the ability to concentrate and think fluidly in situations of pressure, in addition to slowing down the progress of mental deterioration in older people.

4. Galamantina

The galamantina is popular among a part of the people interested in the onironáutica , since it is attributed the power to increase the chances of remembering dreams well and having lucid dreams.

The consumption of nootropics without medical indication

The fact that the group of nootropics is so broad and heterogeneous means that several of the preparations included in it are consumed without medical indication, in the same way that food supplements are consumed. This has generated a debate around the convenience of people without the proper training in medicine can consume certain substances on their own and determine the doses they need.

However, this is a debate that goes far beyond science, and involves the moral criteria and values ​​that guide the creation of laws in different countries. This does not mean that it is not necessary to investigate much more about the operation of nootropics and their long-term effects, the latter being a relatively unknown issue, given that these compounds have only recently begun to be commercialized. We will continue to pay attention to the evolution of cognitive enhancers, both as regards their social implantation and their effects .

Bibliographic references:

  • Potter, B. and Orfali, S. (1993). Brain Boosters Foods and drugs that make you smarter. Editorial Ronin.

  • Ruiz Franco, J. (2005). Smart Drugs. Editorial Paidotribo.
  • Nootriment - Supplement Reviews and Healthy Ideas. (2014). Guide to Different Types of Nootropics. Available at: //nootriment.com/types-of-nootropics/

Secrets to a Super Memory, Pt 2 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nootropics: que sont-ils et comment améliorent-ils votre intelligence?

Nootropics: que sont-ils et comment améliorent-ils votre intelligence?

Octobre 25, 2021

Il y a bien longtemps, la psychologie s'est retournée dans ses approches .

Pour traiter principalement des troubles psychologiques et des altérations préjudiciables du fonctionnement des processus mentaux, elle propose des axes de recherche et d’intervention permettant d’améliorer le potentiel humain. Drogues et suppléments connus sous le nom nootropiques Ils représentent un changement de paradigme similaire dans le domaine des neurosciences et de la psychopharmacologie.

L'idée qui rend les nootropiques si prometteurs est simple: pourrait nous donner la possibilité d'améliorer nos capacités cognitives en prenant une dose, sans subir d'effets indésirables importants .


Que sont les nootropes?

La définition du concept de «nootropes» est aussi ouverte que sa nature et son potentiel. En fait, depuis que le chimiste et psychologue roumain Corneliu E. Giurgea a inventé ce terme pour la première fois en 1972, ce que l’on entend par nootropie a évolué et atteint des limites conceptuelles diffuses.

Définir le concept

Que le concept de nootropie soit confus et large ne signifie pas qu’il n’ya pas de définition approximative. En bref, les nootropes sont un ensemble hétérogène de préparations synthétiques et de suppléments qui, une fois fournis à certaines doses, ont montré des résultats prometteurs pour améliorer le fonctionnement de certaines fonctions cérébrales liées à la cognition, à savoir les processus mentaux. liés à la mémoire, à l'intelligence, à la gestion de l'attention et à la créativité.


Les nootropiques pourraient donc être utiles pour améliorer la performance et l'agilité mentale ils sont nécessaires pour résoudre des tâches complexes et difficiles, mais ils peuvent également jouer un rôle dans la prévention de la détérioration cognitive.

Nootropic n'est pas synonyme de psychostimulant

Gardez à l'esprit que les nootropes ne sont pas simplement des psychostimulants , car ils se caractérisent également par le fait qu’ils ne produisent pratiquement pas d’effets secondaires indésirables ni de dépendance chimique, et que la prise d’une dose adéquate ne constitue pas une menace immédiate pour la santé de ceux qui les prennent. Cela les différencie des stimulants tels que les amphétamines.

C’est pourquoi, bien que les nootropes soient également appelés «médicaments cognitifs» ou médicaments intelligents, si nous nous en tenons à la définition créée par consensus, nous pourrions les différencier des substances qui nuisent à la santé et laissent des plaies claires et irréversibles dans le corps, ou qui sont toxiques. Bien que toutes les substances qui affectent le fonctionnement des neurones aient des effets secondaires sans rapport avec l'objectif pour lequel la dose est prise, ils peuvent être d'une importance si mineure ou d'une intensité si faible qu'ils ne sont pas considérés comme nocifs.


Tous les nootropes ne sont pas des médicaments

Il convient également de garder à l'esprit qu'il existe des médicaments nootropes et des substances nootropes qui ne sont pas considérés comme des médicaments. La différence entre les deux réside dans le fait que les médicaments sont soumis à une indication médicale et vendus en pharmacie, le reste pouvant être obtenu dans divers magasins, herboristes, etc.

La grande revendication des stimulants cognitifs

L'idée de nootropics correspond parfaitement à une société de plus en plus compétitive dans laquelle l'optimisation des performances de travail devient de plus en plus une lutte pour former le corps à l'art de travailler sous une pression constante.

Ces substances offrent deux types de promesses très prisées dans les pays occidentaux du 21ème siècle: la possibilité d'optimiser ses capacités cognitives pour s'adapter aux exigences du marché du travail et l’immédiateté des résultats recherchés. En fin de compte, il est plus facile et plus simple d’échanger de l’argent contre un composé qui propulse le fonctionnement du cerveau à un autre niveau, tout en choisissant une habileté à entraîner et en y consacrant des heures, des jours ou des années.

C'est précisément pour cette raison que les travailleurs de certains secteurs liés à la créativité et aux nouvelles technologies, ainsi que les étudiants aspirant à se faire une place dans des universités d'élite, pratiquent depuis longtemps la consommation de substances nootropes. Pour ces groupes sociaux, la différence entre bien performer et ne pas atteindre les objectifs fixés peut impliquer un changement dans leurs attentes professionnelles et leurs projets de vie. l'utilisation de ces produits devient l'une des nombreuses étapes nécessaires pour aspirer au succès .

La vente de nootropiques en ligne

Le fait que le profil de consommateur des nootropes soit familier avec l’utilisation des nouvelles technologies et qu’il n’existe généralement pas de restrictions légales strictes empêchant leur commercialisation rend la vente et l’achat de nootropiques sur Internet devenu populaire dans de nombreux pays. les pays.

L’un des suppléments les plus vendus en Espagne est Boost Calm Focus . C'est un nootropic développé par la firme Queal. Selon les commentaires Anthony Ripa , de votre équipe de communication:

"Chez Queal Boost, nous nous sommes concentrés sur la création d’une" pile "reposant sur une recherche solide et reproductible, qui fait la différence entre les nootropiques de Quelar Boot et les autres du marché. avec un bagage de multiples essais contrôlés et indépendants concernant l'effet placebo, lesdites recherches montrent des résultats et des preuves d'amélioration de certaines capacités cognitives. "

A cela il faut ajouter que des portails Web et des forums ont été créés dans lesquels les consommateurs racontent leurs expériences de ces préparatifs , ils font des consultations et donnent des conseils sur ce qu’il faut prendre, sur quoi et de quelle manière. Le résultat est l'existence de communautés en ligne qui maintiennent en vie la popularité des nootropiques et leur donnent en même temps une visibilité, ce qui se produit également avec les suppléments utilisés pour améliorer les performances dans les activités physiques.

Les trois principales marques de nootropics, Absorber la santé , Focus de puissance e Inciter l'élite , ils commercialisent leurs bateaux via des plates-formes comme Amazon . En cliquant sur l'image, vous pouvez consulter les produits, si vous voulez essayer un nootropique et évaluer son effet sur votre intelligence et votre mémoire.

L'efficacité des activateurs cognitifs

Maintenant que nous connaissons le concept nootropique lui-même, nous devons nous demander ce que sont ces substances dans la pratique. C'est-à-dire en quoi la définition correspond à la réalité.

L'efficacité des nootropes a été remise en question par le fait que nombre des résultats obtenus après des années de recherche ne sont pas concluants. Des résultats ont été obtenus qui confirment les effets attendus de l'utilisation de ces préparations, mais des enquêtes ont donné des résultats contraires. De plus, les nootropiques ne doivent pas nécessairement se ressembler, ni dans leurs composants, ni dans la préparation ou l’utilité proposées, parler de leur efficacité ou de leur inefficacité, y compris de tous, implique une simplification excessive .

Quoi qu’il en soit, ce qui peut être dit de pratiquement tous les nootropes, c’est que, bien que certains soient prometteurs, On ne sait pas encore à quel point ils sont efficaces et utiles. à introduire au quotidien chez des personnes en bonne santé ou présentant des symptômes de démence. Pour clarifier ces points, il faudra des années de recherche et des efforts communs pour démontrer scientifiquement son utilité.

Les types les plus populaires de nootropics

Bien entendu, le fait qu'il n'y ait aucune garantie d'efficacité dans l'utilisation des nootropes n'a pas empêché certaines préparations de ce type jouissant d'une popularité particulière. Ce sont certains d'entre eux .

1. colline

Le potentiel de cette substance pourrait être liée à l'amélioration de la coordination motrice et aux tâches nécessitant l'utilisation de la mémoire .

2. Piracetam

Synthétisé par Corneliu E. Giurgea lui-même, pourrait ralentir la détérioration des capacités cognitives chez les personnes âgées . On a également attribué une certaine efficacité à l'amélioration de la mémoire et de la fluidité verbale de groupes d'âge plus larges.

3. Aniracétam

Comme le piracétam, il fait partie d’un groupe de substances appelées racetams. On attribue à l'amélioration de la capacité de concentration et de penser de manière fluide dans les situations de pression, en plus de ralentir la progression de la détérioration mentale chez les personnes âgées.

4. Galamantina

Le galamantina est populaire parmi une partie des personnes intéressées par le onironáutica , puisque l’on attribue le pouvoir d’augmenter les chances de bien se souvenir des rêves et d’avoir des rêves lucides.

La consommation de nootropics sans indication médicale

Le groupe de nootropes est si vaste et hétérogène que plusieurs des préparations qu'il contient sont consommées sans indication médicale, de la même manière que les compléments alimentaires. Cela a généré un débat sur la commodité des personnes sans formation appropriée en médecine pouvant consommer certaines substances par elles-mêmes et déterminer les doses dont elles ont besoin.

Cependant, il s’agit d’un débat qui dépasse de loin la science et qui fait appel aux critères moraux et aux valeurs qui guident la création de lois dans différents pays. Cela ne veut pas dire qu'il n'est pas nécessaire d'enquêter beaucoup plus sur le fonctionnement des nootropes et leurs effets à long terme, ce dernier étant un problème relativement inconnu, étant donné que ces composés ont commencé à être commercialisés récemment. Nous continuerons de prêter attention à l'évolution des stimulants cognitifs, tant en ce qui concerne leur implantation sociale que leurs effets. .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Potter, B. et Orfali, S. (1993). Boosters du cerveau Des aliments et des médicaments qui vous rendent plus intelligent. Editorial Ronin.

  • Ruiz Franco, J. (2005). Drogues intelligentes. Éditorial Paidotribo.
  • Nootriment - Examens des suppléments et idées saines. (2014). Guide des différents types de nootropes. Disponible sur: //nootriment.com/types-of-nootropics/

You can grow new brain cells. Here's how | Sandrine Thuret (Octobre 2021).


Articles Connexes