yes, therapy helps!
Numerological obsessions: thinking about numbers constantly

Numerological obsessions: thinking about numbers constantly

May 21, 2024

Count to one hundred each time I write a word. Always turn the apple three times before you can enter the house. Touch or ask the same thing seven times in a row.

Brush your teeth exactly 35 times before spitting and clearing your mouth. All these situations have something in common: for some reason an action is carried out a certain number of times. It is common for people with numerological obsessions a, a type of obsessions typical of subjects with obsessive-compulsive disorder.

Obsessive-compulsive disorder

To understand the functioning of numerological obsessions, it is first necessary to make a brief synthesis of the disorder in which it appears: obsessive-compulsive disorder.


The Obsessive-compulsive disorder or OCD is a psychological disorder closely linked to anxiety and characterized by the presence of obsessions, intrusive and recurrent thoughts that escape the control of the person and cause a high level of anxiety, although they are recognized as their own and that they try to neutralize.

Generally, in order to reduce anxiety, the subject ends up starting to perform some kind of physical or mental action, an activity that relieves anxiety and is reinforced and repeated every time thought re-emerges, establishing itself as a compulsion. This creates a continuous spiral between obsessive thinking and anxiety-regulating mechanism, which occupies a large part of the patient's time and plunges him into a state of permanent anxiety from which he can only temporarily escape through compulsions (an escape that in turn reinforces anxiety), producing a continuous discomfort.


Entering a thought loop

The process that follows this disorder is usually the following: In a fortuitous way, one day a thought appears that the person finds aberrant and unacceptable . The fact that this idea has crossed his mind generates a high level of discomfort and anxiety, trying at all costs to eliminate the thought and avoid it as much as possible. However, the fact of trying to avoid it causes a fixation in it, making it even more likely to reappear and generating an even greater anxiety that will be avoided with greater zeal. For this he generally employs the aforementioned compulsions, which produce temporary relief from discomfort.

It is a disorder that causes the sufferer a deep suffering vital: The person knows that the thoughts and actions carried out have no logical or practical sense and lives as something absurd, but nevertheless has to take them to out to reduce your anxiety level. The same goes for obsessive thoughts.


The continuous cycle between obsession and compulsion does nothing but feed back and aggravate the state of the subject , occupying a large part of his daily time and being an element that greatly inhibits his life in various aspects. It is also not unusual for variations to appear within the vicious circle, and new anxiety-generating thoughts can be added.

The causes of the appearance of the obsessive thoughts and the fixation in them are due to multiple causes, having a certain genetic predisposition in this regard. It has been found that many of these patients have a frontal hyperactivity together with problems in the basal ganglia. It is also frequent that they appear in people strongly inhibited at a vital level, restricted in one or several aspects of their person by the society or education received.

There is a wide variety of obsessions and compulsions that people with obsessive-compulsive disorder, such as cleaning or checking. One of them is the obsessions that have to do with numbers, or numerological obsession .

Numerological obsession: numbers that settle in the mind

Count to ten. That's something that a large majority of the population has ever done, usually to calm down after something or someone has caused our anger, anger or anxiety. And is that counting and ordering makes us occupy our mind in something concrete and that demands our attention, being able to be an escape route to avoid doing something that we regret or leave aside something that alters us.

Returning to obsessive-compulsive disorder, in people who have numerological obsessions the mechanism used as a reassuring ritual of anxiety is based precisely on this. But then, Why do we speak of numerological obsession and not of numerological rituals or compulsions?

A mechanism to calm anxiety ... or anxiety itself

This is because people with numerological obsessions do not only use numbers as a mechanism to calm anxiety, but in them the numbers themselves are the reason for anxiety.This type of cases is of great complexity, since in them the person would be totally blocked, to the point of having forgotten the reason that led him to use numbers as a way of reassuring and transforming what was compulsion into obsession. This does not mean that the original idea has vanished but that it has masked the subject that produces obsession.

The way in which the numbers are applied is very varied. There are people who have to count mentally up to a certain number, perform an action determined number of occasions, have a specific amount of objects or avoid contact with anything linked to one or several numbers in question. In fact it can appear related to other obsessions and compulsions such as cleaning, but in the case of numerological obsession what will prevail is the number and not the action per se (that is, if they do not wash X number of times, their anxiety it does not decrease).

There are numerous cases of OCD with numerological obsessions , being frequent the obsession with concrete numbers or with groups of them that have common characteristics (for example with the odd or even numbers). A well-known example is the famous inventor Nicholas Tesla, who was obsessed with number three in multiple aspects of his life.

Treating the numerological TOC

The treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder has been somewhat complex throughout history, being a disorder traditionally difficult to treat. Thus, OCD (including numerological obsessions).

One of them is from pharmacology, which allows treating and reducing the symptoms with a certain level of effectiveness. Especially effective are the antidepressants that inhibit the reuptake of serotonin, the SSRIs.

Generally, from the cognitive-behavioral side, obsessive-compulsive disorder is treated through exposure techniques with prevention of response, causing the patient to gradually dissociate obsessive thinking and compulsion. Since the repetition of the compulsion maintains by negative reinforcement the vicious circle of the obsession-compulsion, it is one of the most applied therapies to treat the symptomatology.

In the case of the numerological obsession, this type of treatment encounters the problem that it is more complicated to find the origin thought that causes the anxiety and to work with it . In spite of this, working on the prevention of response is possible and can facilitate the reduction of overt behaviors.

Alongside this, interventions are applied to make the level of responsibility of the patient realistically see the facts that imagine the non-fulfillment of the rituals may occur, make visible that trying to deny a thought causes us to relapse in it and to think something negative It does not imply doing it. Again, in the numerological obsession this type of treatment is of great complication since it is not visible what concrete thought produces the problem. It is necessary a deep analysis of the case and the circumstances that surround it to discover it

Other therapies of currents such as psychodynamics show that although the treatment of the symptom is very useful to improve the patient's condition and can lead to success, the treatment should focus on modifying the primary cause that caused the patient's obsessive structure . In this aspect reducing inhibition and uncovering and directing the internal energy to what the individual really desires can greatly help to cause a structural change in the person, which can contribute greatly to the recovery of the person.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Pickover, C.A. (2002). The wonder of numbers, Ma Non Troppo.
  • Ruiz, D. (2014). Release the monkey, rescue the princess. The AFOP method to free yourself from obsessions. RIOCC Editorial: Barcelona.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012).
  • Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Vallejo, J. & Leal, C. (2010). Treaty of Psychiatry. Volume II. Ars Medical. Barcelona.

The Secret Behind Numbers 369 Tesla Code Is Finally REVEALED! (without music) (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Obsessions numérologiques: penser constamment aux nombres

Obsessions numérologiques: penser constamment aux nombres

Juillet 25, 2022

Comptez jusqu'à cent chaque fois que j'écris un mot. Tournez toujours la pomme trois fois avant de pouvoir entrer dans la maison. Touchez ou demandez la même chose sept fois de suite.

Brossez-vous les dents exactement 35 fois avant de cracher et de vous éclaircir la bouche. Toutes ces situations ont quelque chose en commun: pour une raison quelconque, une action est effectuée un certain nombre de fois. Il est commun pour les personnes ayant des obsessions numérologiques a, un type d'obsession typique des sujets atteints de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.

Trouble obsessionnel compulsif

Pour comprendre le fonctionnement des obsessions numérologiques, il faut d’abord faire une brève synthèse du trouble dans lequel il apparaît: trouble obsessionnel-compulsif.


Le Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif ou TOC est un trouble psychologique étroitement lié à l'anxiété et caractérisé par la présence d’obsessions, de pensées intrusives et récurrentes qui échappent au contrôle de la personne et provoquent un niveau élevé d’anxiété, bien qu’elles soient reconnues comme telles et qu’elles essaient de la neutraliser.

Généralement, afin de réduire l’anxiété, le sujet finit par commencer à effectuer une sorte d’action physique ou mentale, une activité qui soulage l’anxiété et se renforce et se répète chaque fois que la pensée réapparaît, s’établissant ainsi comme une contrainte. Cela crée une spirale continue entre la pensée obsessionnelle et le mécanisme régulateur de l’anxiété, qui occupe une grande partie du temps du patient et le plonge dans un état d’anxiété permanent auquel il ne peut échapper que momentanément par des compulsions (une évasion qui renforce anxiété), produisant un inconfort continu.


Entrer dans une boucle de pensée

Le processus qui suit ce trouble est généralement le suivant: De manière fortuite, un jour une pensée apparaît que la personne trouve aberrante et inacceptable . Le fait que cette idée lui soit venue à l'esprit génère un niveau élevé de gêne et d'anxiété, en essayant à tout prix d'éliminer la pensée et de l'éviter autant que possible. Cependant, le fait d’essayer de l’éviter provoque une fixation, le rendant encore plus susceptible de réapparaître et génère une angoisse encore plus grande qui sera évitée avec un zèle accru. Pour ce faire, il utilise généralement les compulsions susmentionnées, qui produisent un soulagement temporaire de l’inconfort.

C’est un trouble qui cause au patient une souffrance profonde: la personne sait que ses pensées et ses actions n’ont pas de sens logique ou pratique et vit comme quelque chose d’absurde, mais doit néanmoins les amener à pour réduire votre niveau d'anxiété. La même chose vaut pour les pensées obsessionnelles.


Le cycle continu entre obsession et contrainte ne fait que refléter et aggraver l'état du sujet , occupant une grande partie de son temps quotidien et constituant un élément qui inhibe grandement sa vie dans divers aspects. Il n’est pas rare non plus que des variations apparaissent dans le cercle vicieux et que de nouvelles pensées génératrices d’anxiété puissent être ajoutées.

Les causes de l'apparition des pensées obsessionnelles et de leur fixation sont dues à des causes multiples, ayant une certaine prédisposition génétique à cet égard. On a constaté que beaucoup de ces patients présentaient une hyperactivité frontale ainsi que des problèmes au niveau des noyaux gris centraux. Il est également fréquent qu'elles apparaissent chez des personnes fortement inhibées à un niveau vital, restreintes dans un ou plusieurs aspects de leur personne par la société ou l'éducation reçue.

Il existe une grande variété d'obsessions et de compulsions chez les personnes souffrant de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, telles que le nettoyage ou la vérification. L’un d’eux est l’obsession liée aux chiffres, ou l’obsession numérologique. .

Obsession numérologique: des nombres qui s'installent dans l'esprit

Comptez jusqu'à dix. C'est quelque chose qu'une grande majorité de la population a jamais fait, généralement pour se calmer après que quelque chose ou quelqu'un ait provoqué notre colère, notre colère ou notre anxiété. Et est-ce que compter et ordonner nous fait occuper notre esprit dans quelque chose de concret et qui demande notre attention, pouvant être une issue de secours pour éviter de faire quelque chose que nous regrettons ou laisser de côté quelque chose qui nous altère.

Pour en revenir au trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, le mécanisme utilisé comme rituel rassurant de l’anxiété chez des personnes aux obsessions numérologiques repose précisément sur ce principe. Mais alors, Pourquoi parle-t-on d’obsession numérologique et non de rituels ou de compulsions numérologiques?

Un mécanisme pour calmer l'anxiété ... ou l'anxiété elle-même

En effet, les personnes obsédées par la numérologie n'utilisent pas uniquement les chiffres pour calmer l'anxiété, mais les chiffres eux-mêmes sont la raison de l'inquiétude.Ce type de cas est d’une grande complexité, dans la mesure où la personne serait totalement bloquée, au point d’avoir oublié la raison qui l’a amenée à utiliser les chiffres pour rassurer et transformer en obsession ce qui était de la contrainte. Cela ne signifie pas que l'idée originale a disparu mais qu'elle a masqué le sujet qui engendre l'obsession.

La manière dont les chiffres sont appliqués est très variée. Il y a des personnes qui doivent compter mentalement jusqu'à un certain nombre, effectuer une action à un nombre déterminé d'occasions, posséder un nombre d'objets spécifique ou éviter tout contact avec quelque chose lié à un ou plusieurs numéros en question. En fait, il peut sembler lié à d’autres obsessions et contraintes telles que le nettoyage, mais dans le cas de l’obsession numérologique, ce qui prévaudra, c’est le nombre et non l’action en soi (c’est-à-dire que, s’ils ne lavent pas X fois, leur anxiété ça ne diminue pas).

Il existe de nombreux cas d'OCD avec obsessions numérologiques , étant fréquemment obsédés par les nombres concrets ou par des groupes de ceux-ci ayant des caractéristiques communes (par exemple, les nombres pairs ou impairs). Un exemple bien connu est le célèbre inventeur Nicholas Tesla, qui était obsédé par le numéro trois dans de multiples aspects de sa vie.

Traiter le COT numérologique

Le traitement du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif a été relativement complexe au cours de l'histoire, un trouble traditionnellement difficile à traiter. Ainsi, les TOC (y compris les obsessions numérologiques).

L’un d’eux est issu de la pharmacologie, ce qui permet de traiter et de réduire les symptômes avec un certain niveau d’efficacité. Les antidépresseurs qui inhibent la recapture de la sérotonine, les ISRS, sont particulièrement efficaces.

Généralement, du point de vue cognitif et comportemental, le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif est traité au moyen de techniques d’exposition avec prévention de la réponse, ce qui amène le patient à se dissocier progressivement de la pensée obsessionnelle et de la compulsion. Puisque la répétition de la compulsion maintient par renforcement négatif le cercle vicieux de l'obsession-compulsion, c'est l'une des thérapies les plus appliquées pour traiter la symptomatologie.

Dans le cas de l'obsession numérologique, ce type de traitement se heurte au problème que il est plus compliqué de trouver l'origine pensée qui cause l'anxiété et de travailler avec elle . Malgré cela, il est possible de travailler sur la prévention des interventions et peut faciliter la réduction des comportements manifestes.

Parallèlement à cela, des interventions sont appliquées pour que le niveau de responsabilité du patient puisse voir de manière réaliste les faits qui imaginent le non-respect des rituels, ainsi que montrer que le fait de nier une pensée provoque sa rechute et de penser à quelque chose de négatif. Cela ne veut pas dire le faire. Encore une fois, dans l'obsession numérologique, ce type de traitement est d'une grande complication car on ne voit pas ce que la pensée concrète donne au problème. Il est nécessaire de procéder à une analyse approfondie de l'affaire et des circonstances qui l'entourent pour la découvrir.

D'autres thérapies de courants, telles que la psychodynamique, montrent que, si le traitement du symptôme est très utile pour améliorer l'état du patient et peut conduire au succès, le traitement doit être axé sur la modification de la cause principale ayant entraîné la structure obsessionnelle du patient . Dans cet aspect, réduire l'inhibition et découvrir et diriger l'énergie interne sur ce que désire réellement l'individu peut grandement contribuer à provoquer un changement structurel chez la personne, ce qui peut grandement contribuer à son rétablissement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Pickover, C.A. (2002). La merveille des chiffres, Ma Non Troppo.
  • Ruiz, D. (2014). Relâchez le singe, sauvez la princesse. La méthode AFOP pour vous libérer des obsessions. Éditorial RIOCC: Barcelone.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012).
  • Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid
  • Vallejo, J. & Leal, C. (2010). Traité de psychiatrie. Volume II Ars Medical. Barcelone

Jean Claude Carrière - Homo narrans (Les lois de l'attraction mentale) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes