yes, therapy helps!
Obesity: psychological factors involved in overweight

Obesity: psychological factors involved in overweight

May 6, 2021

Obesity is considered a pandemic in Western countries. Unhealthy habits, stress, sedentary life and poor diet are the most frequent causes of excess weight. It is a disease that comes from the hand of a work context that forces us to be sitting in an office and to pay little attention to our health.

Of course, There are several disorders that can also be the cause of obesity . Medical problems such as endocrine or hormonal imbalances. These are separate cases that should be treated from a mainly medical perspective.

It may interest you: "10 psychological tricks to lose weight"

Psychological and psychiatric factors of excess weight

Scientific researches have focused on this disease, obesity. In the United States, more than two thirds of adult women and up to 75% of men are overweight.


Overweight and obesity: differences

It is useful to differentiate between overweight and obesity , since they are related but not identical concepts. Both have in common that they refer to excess accumulated fat. However, overweight people are considered to have a Body Mass Index (BMI) from 25 to 29'9, being people who should reduce their weight in order to be healthier.

Obesity is a problem quantitatively and qualitatively more serious. Obese people surpass 30 BMI points, and their health is at significant risk.


Treating obesity from Psychology

The causes of obesity are several and, in many cases, comorbid. This means that the treatments to overcome this problem must be multifactorial : from the medical and endocrinologist field, to psychology and psychiatry can help people suffering from this problem.

Throughout the last decades, a large number of therapies and treatments have been developed against this disease, mainly focused on improving eating habits and promoting physical exercise. These two factors are closely linked to the reduction in body volume.

However, professionals who treat obesity have been realizing that it is necessary to intervene in this problem with more specific and personalized approaches, through medical, nutritional, psychiatric and psychological intervention. This deployment of professionals to tackle this problem is motivated by the human, social and economic costs generated by obesity.


Risks of obese people

Obesity is a disease that not only affects the quality of life of affected people, but also entails other important problems:

1. Comorbidity

Obesity is a risk factor for the development of other pathologies: hypertension, heart disease, cancer, sleep apnea, and so on.

2. Social stigma

Unfortunately, people who suffer from this health problem are strongly stigmatized both at school and in the workplace. This leads to the diminution of self-concept, increasing anxiety and worsening personal relationships.

3. Psychological and psychiatric disorders

Obesity has a high index of comorbidity with psychopathologies, such as anxiety, addictions, depression, eating disorders, among others.

Relevant psychological aspects

As I said before, obesity has biological, psychological and cultural causes. Regarding the psychological aspects associated with excess weight, there are different approaches and studies that point out certain possible causes, although none with a high degree of consensus.

For example, from Psychoanalysis, obesity is usually attributed to the symbolic act of eating, and overweight is usually associated with an externalization of neurosis, associated with depression, guilt and anxiety. It is also common to associate obesity with certain emotional conflicts in the background, or with another previous mental disorder.

The psychological etiology of obesity is confusing, so the efforts in the intervention focus on assessing and re-educating certain beliefs of patients, in addition to knowing the affective variables (emotional management) and environmental variables (food habits, habits, etc.). . This variety of psychological processes involved in obesity raises the need to address the situation of each patient individually, assessing their personality and their environment.

Psychological evaluation

Psychologists and psychiatrists can investigate intervene in the beliefs and emotional states of obese patients with the aim of improving their quality of life . It is important that the therapist creates an environment conducive to the patient to express and express their affective and cognitive conflicts.Usually, obese people experience low self-esteem and have a bad image about their own body.

Self-esteem, eating habits and intake perception

In short, the therapist must not only promote changes in the level of eating habit and lifestyle, but must also find a way to reinforce the self-concept to focus on the achievement of losing weight. In this sense, it is important to emphasize the importance of offering the patient tools for the control of emotions, impulses, as well as anxiety management techniques.

It is noteworthy that patients with obesity tend to underestimate their caloric intake compared to people without weight problems. Minimize the amount of food they eat, not being fully aware that their intake is excessive. This is a common feature with people who suffer from other types of addictions. To control this, the psychotherapist must accompany the patient and perform live records to show what amounts should be acceptable for each meal.

In short, therapy should focus not only on weight loss, but the process of psychological maturation that allows awareness of the problem, improving the quality of life and establishing healthy habits, such as physical activity, a better self-concept and perception of one's own body and healthier eating habits. It is also key concienciar to the patient that the obesity is a disease , and stress that you should strive to avoid relapses. One of the treatments that has shown the most success is cognitive-behavioral therapy.

Psychiatric aspects to consider

The role of the psychiatrist is also relevant in the treatment of people with obesity . Psychiatrists are responsible for deciding which patients are eligible to undergo surgery, and which are not. Traditionally, it has been considered that patients with psychotic symptoms are not suitable to undergo surgical procedures, nor are those with a history of abuse or dependence on alcohol or other drugs.

Another group of patients who have serious difficulties to follow a psychiatric treatment linked to excess weight are those who have a personality disorder.

Approximately 30% of obese people who come to therapy express having bulimic impulses. In addition, 50% of patients with bulimic inmates also have depression, unlike only 5% of patients without this type of impulses.

Treating affective disorders such as anxiety or depression in obese people is key to a good prognosis. It is the necessary basis for the patient to commit to perform the treatment and change their lifestyle.

Concluding

Definitely, patients with obesity require global treatment: doctors, psychiatrists, nutritionists and psychologists must intervene to diagnose and treat each person correctly and in a personalized way. Although there is not a broad consensus on the psychological causes of obesity, we find some points in common in many obese patients: low self-esteem, poor self-concept, poor eating habits and comorbidity with other psychopathologies.

This should make us assess the relevance of the role of mental health professionals to improve the quality of life and the chances of recovery of these patients.

Bibliographic references:

  • WHO. (2014). Descriptive note No. 311
  • Banegas, J.R. (2007). The challenge of obesity for public health. I NAOS Convention. Spanish Agency for Food Safety and Nutrition. Madrid, March 27, 2007.
  • Strategy, N. A. O. S. (2005). Strategy for nutrition, physical activity and prevention of obesity. Ministry of Health. Spanish Agency for Food Safety. Madrid.
  • Stunkard, A. J. (2000). Determinants of obesity: current opinion. Obesity in poverty: a new challenge for public health, 576, 27-32.
  • McRoberts, C., Burlingame, G. M., & Hoag, M. J. (1998). Comparative efficacy of individual and group psychotherapy: A meta-analytic perspective. Group Dynamics: Theory, Research, and Practice, 2 (2), 101.

Mayo Clinic Minute: How to help overweight kids get healthier (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Obésité: facteurs psychologiques impliqués dans le surpoids

Obésité: facteurs psychologiques impliqués dans le surpoids

Février 21, 2019

L'obésité est considérée comme une pandémie dans les pays occidentaux. Les habitudes malsaines, le stress, la vie sédentaire et une mauvaise alimentation sont les causes les plus fréquentes d'excès de poids. C'est une maladie qui provient d'un contexte de travail qui nous oblige à rester assis dans un bureau et à accorder peu d'attention à notre santé.

Bien sûr, Il y a plusieurs troubles qui peuvent aussi être la cause de l'obésité . Des problèmes médicaux tels que des déséquilibres endocriniens ou hormonaux. Ce sont des cas distincts qui devraient être traités d'un point de vue principalement médical.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "10 astuces psychologiques pour perdre du poids"

Facteurs psychologiques et psychiatriques de l'excès de poids

Les recherches scientifiques se sont concentrées sur cette maladie, l'obésité. Aux États-Unis, plus des deux tiers des femmes adultes et jusqu'à 75% des hommes sont en surpoids.


Surpoids et obésité: différences

Il est utile de faire la différence entre le surpoids et l'obésité , puisque ce sont des concepts liés mais non identiques. Les deux ont en commun de se référer à l'excès de graisse accumulée. Cependant, on considère que les personnes en surpoids ont un Indice de masse corporelle (IMC) de 25 à 29'9, étant des personnes qui devraient réduire leur poids pour être en meilleure santé.

L'obésité est un problème plus grave quantitativement et qualitativement. Les personnes obèses dépassent les 30 points d'IMC et leur santé est en danger.


Traiter l'obésité de la psychologie

Les causes de l’obésité sont multiples et, dans de nombreux cas, concomitantes. Ceci signifie que les traitements pour surmonter ce problème doivent être multifactoriels : du domaine médical et endocrinologue à la psychologie et la psychiatrie peuvent aider les personnes souffrant de ce problème.

Au cours des dernières décennies, un grand nombre de thérapies et de traitements ont été développés pour lutter contre cette maladie, principalement axés sur l'amélioration des habitudes alimentaires et la promotion de l'exercice physique. Ces deux facteurs sont étroitement liés à la réduction du volume corporel.

Cependant, les professionnels qui traitent l'obésité se sont rendu compte qu'il était nécessaire d'intervenir dans ce problème avec des approches plus spécifiques et personnalisées, par le biais d'interventions médicales, nutritionnelles, psychiatriques et psychologiques. Ce déploiement de professionnels pour s'attaquer à ce problème est motivé par les coûts humains, sociaux et économiques générés par l'obésité.


Risques des personnes obèses

L'obésité est une maladie qui affecte non seulement la qualité de vie des personnes touchées, mais entraîne également d'autres problèmes importants:

1. Comorbidité

L'obésité est un facteur de risque pour le développement d'autres pathologies: hypertension, maladie cardiaque, cancer, apnée du sommeil, etc.

2. Stigmatisation sociale

Malheureusement, les personnes qui souffrent de ce problème de santé sont fortement stigmatisées à la fois à l’école et au travail. Cela conduit à la diminution du concept de soi, à une anxiété croissante et à une détérioration des relations personnelles.

3. Troubles psychologiques et psychiatriques

L'obésité a un indice élevé de comorbidité avec des psychopathologies, telles que l'anxiété, les dépendances, la dépression, les troubles de l'alimentation, entre autres.

Aspects psychologiques pertinents

Comme je l'ai dit précédemment, l'obésité a des causes biologiques, psychologiques et culturelles. En ce qui concerne les aspects psychologiques associés à l'excès de poids, différentes approches et études soulignent certaines causes possibles, bien qu'aucune ne dégage un degré élevé de consensus.

Par exemple, en psychanalyse, l'obésité est généralement attribuée à l'acte symbolique de manger, et le surpoids est généralement associé à une extériorisation de la névrose, associée à la dépression, la culpabilité et l'anxiété. Il est également courant d'associer l'obésité à certains conflits émotionnels à l'arrière-plan ou à un autre trouble mental antérieur.

L'étiologie psychologique de l'obésité est source de confusion. Les interventions ont donc pour objectif d'évaluer et de rééduquer certaines croyances des patients, en plus de connaître les variables affectives (gestion émotionnelle) et les variables environnementales (habitudes alimentaires, habitudes alimentaires, etc.). . Cette variété de processus psychologiques impliqués dans l'obésité soulève le besoin d'aborder la situation de chaque patient individuellement, en évaluant sa personnalité et son environnement.

Évaluation psychologique

Les psychologues et les psychiatres peuvent enquêter intervenir dans les croyances et les états émotionnels des patients obèses dans le but d'améliorer leur qualité de vie . Il est important que le thérapeute crée un environnement permettant au patient d’exprimer et d’exprimer ses conflits affectifs et cognitifs.Habituellement, les personnes obèses ont une faible estime de soi et ont une mauvaise image de leur corps.

Estime de soi, habitudes alimentaires et perception de l'apport

En bref, le thérapeute doit non seulement promouvoir des changements dans les habitudes alimentaires et le mode de vie, mais aussi trouver un moyen de renforcer la confiance en soi et de se concentrer sur la perte de poids. En ce sens, il est important de souligner l’importance de proposer au patient des outils de contrôle des émotions, des impulsions, ainsi que des techniques de gestion de l’anxiété.

Il est à noter que les patients obèses ont tendance à sous-estimer leur apport calorique par rapport aux personnes sans poids. Réduisez au minimum la quantité de nourriture qu'ils consomment, sans trop savoir que leur consommation est excessive. C'est une caractéristique commune aux personnes qui souffrent d'autres types de dépendance. Pour contrôler cela, le psychothérapeute doit accompagner le patient et réaliser des enregistrements en temps réel pour indiquer les montants acceptables pour chaque repas.

En bref, la thérapie doit être axée non seulement sur la perte de poids, mais aussi sur le processus de maturation psychologique qui permet de prendre conscience du problème, d’améliorer la qualité de la vie et de créer des habitudes saines, telles que l’activité physique, une meilleure perception de soi et une perception de soi. corps et habitudes alimentaires saines. C est aussi la cléoncienciar au patient que l'obésité est une maladie et soulignez que vous devez vous efforcer d’éviter les rechutes. L'un des traitements qui a eu le plus de succès est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale.

Aspects psychiatriques à considérer

Le rôle du psychiatre est également important dans le traitement des personnes obèses . Les psychiatres sont responsables de décider quels patients sont éligibles pour une chirurgie et ceux qui ne le sont pas. Traditionnellement, il a été considéré que les patients présentant des symptômes psychotiques ne sont pas aptes à subir une intervention chirurgicale, pas plus que ceux qui ont des antécédents d'abus ou de dépendance à l'alcool ou à d'autres drogues.

Un autre groupe de patients ayant de sérieuses difficultés à suivre un traitement psychiatrique lié à un excès de poids sont ceux qui présentent un trouble de la personnalité.

Environ 30% des personnes obèses qui suivent une thérapie ont des impulsions boulimiques. En outre, 50% des patients avec des détenus boulimiques ont également une dépression, contrairement à seulement 5% des patients sans ce type d'impulsion.

Traiter des troubles affectifs tels que l'anxiété ou la dépression chez les personnes obèses est la clé d'un bon pronostic. C'est la base nécessaire pour que le patient s'engage à effectuer le traitement et à changer son mode de vie.

En conclusion

En définitive, les patients obèses ont besoin d'un traitement global: médecins, psychiatres, nutritionnistes et psychologues doivent intervenir pour diagnostiquer et traiter chaque personne correctement et de manière personnalisée. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas un large consensus sur les causes psychologiques de l'obésité, nous trouvons des points communs chez de nombreux patients obèses: faible estime de soi, mauvaise image de soi, mauvaises habitudes alimentaires et comorbidité avec d'autres psychopathologies.

Cela devrait nous amener à évaluer la pertinence du rôle des professionnels de la santé mentale pour améliorer la qualité de vie et les chances de récupération de ces patients.

Références bibliographiques:

  • QUI (2014). Note descriptive n ° 311
  • Banegas, J.R. (2007). Le défi de l'obésité pour la santé publique. I NAOS Convention. Agence espagnole pour la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition. Madrid, le 27 mars 2007.
  • Stratégie, N.A.O.S. (2005). Stratégie pour la nutrition, l'activité physique et la prévention de l'obésité. Ministère de la santé et de la consommation. Agence espagnole pour la sécurité alimentaire. Madrid
  • Stunkard, A. J. (2000). Déterminants de l'obésité: opinion actuelle. L'obésité dans la pauvreté: un nouveau défi pour la santé publique, 576, 27-32.
  • McRoberts, C., Burlingame, G.M. et Hoag, M.J. (1998). Efficacité comparée de la psychothérapie individuelle et de groupe: perspective méta-analytique. Dynamique de groupe: théorie, recherche et pratique, 2 (2), 101.

Le Centre Spécialisé Obésité Aquitaine Nord - CHU de Bordeaux - (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes