yes, therapy helps!
Observational learning: definition, phases and uses

Observational learning: definition, phases and uses

October 5, 2022

Authors as relevant and famous as Burrhus F. Skinner, Julian B. Rotter and, above all, Albert Bandura contributed to the description of the process by which observational learning takes place, by which we learn by seeing how other people behave.

In this article we will describe what is observational learning based on the work of Bandura , whose contributions in this regard are better known as "social learning theory". We will also talk about the four stages that make up this process: attention, retention, reproduction and motivation.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Albert Bandura's Theory of Social Learning"

What is observational learning?

The concept of "observational learning" is somewhat ambiguous. Many authors identify it with social learning described by Albert Bandura; This term is probably the most popular way to refer to this process in the scientific literature.


In turn, both the definition of social learning and that of the observational are confused with other nearby ones, particularly vicarious learning, imitation and modeling. However, it is possible to find differential nuances between the original scope of each of the terms, although with the passage of time the different conceptions have been homogenized.

In this sense we can include within observational learning any type of learning that occurs as a result of the contemplation of behaviors of other living beings (since it is not a specific term for humans), as well as the consequences of these, that is, their contingency with the appearance of reinforcements and punishments.


The main particular of observational learning is that is given without the need for the learner to obtain reinforcement : in this case you get information about the possible effects that a certain behavior will have. However, reinforcement is necessary for the behavior to be carried out, as we will see a little later.

Regarding the other terms that we have mentioned, each of them highlights a specific feature of a broad and shared phenomenon. Thus, when we speak of "modeling" we are emphasizing the importance of who acts as a behavioral model, while "social learning" refers to the inclusion of this in the context of socialization.

  • Related article: "Vicar conditioning: how does this type of learning work?"

Bandura's theory of social learning

In the 1960s the Canadian psychologist Albert Bandura carried out various studies to analyze learning processes that they could not be explained by traditional behavioral models (classical conditioning and operant), but they required the use of social variables. From them he formulated his theory of social learning.


Previous authors such as B. F. Skinner or J. B. Rotter had proposed models that tried to explain observational learning, or other closely related concepts, through basic mechanisms such as reinforcement. However, the "cognitive revolution" contributed to the inclusion of unobservable variables in scientific psychology.

According to Bandura, one of the greatest weaknesses of the existing approaches at the time was the fact that they did not include social variables in the assumptions about the acquisition of behaviors. His theory is based on the idea that learning is a fundamentally cognitive process that is inseparable from the social framework in which it develops.

In this way Bandura proposed the concept of reciprocal determinism, according to which when a living being carries out a learning is not being a simple receiver of the events that happen in their environment, but there is a mutual influence between context, behaviors and cognitive variables as expectations or motivation.

One of the most relevant contributions of Bandura's work was that it showed that learning can take place without the need for the learner to get reinforcement. However, as is logical, observing that the model obtains rewards or punishments as a consequence of its behavior modulates the learning that takes place.

The 4 stages of this process

Albert Bandura conceptualized observational (or social) learning as a process consisting of four stages that take place one after the other . Thus, this type of learning includes from the attention to the events that happen in our environment to the motivation that leads us to execute the behavior after having learned it through observation.

1. Attention

Attention is the cognitive function that allows us perceive and understand the events that happen around us . If the person's cognitive abilities are adequate and sufficient attention resources are dedicated to observation, it will be easier to learn. Certain characteristics of the model, such as its prestige, have a significant influence on this process.

  • Related article: "The 15 types of attention and what are their characteristics"

2. Retention

This stage of observational learning refers to the memorization of observed behavior. According to Bandura, retention can be based on both verbal and visual material, with verbal cognitive models being more suitable for complex learning, in general.

3. Reproduction

Following the definition of Bandura, we understand as "reproduction" the execution of the behavior that had been memorized; we can conceptualize this process as the creation of an action plan . The feedback we receive from other people significantly modulates the specific characteristics of behavioral reproduction.

4. Motivation

Although we have learned a behavior perfectly, it is very unlikely that we will execute it if we do not have incentives to do so. Thus, the execution of behavior depends above all on the expectation of reinforcement ; it is in this step that, according to Bandura's theory, the presence of a reinforcer is fundamental, and not in previous stages.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

Bibliographic references:

  • Bandura, A. (1963). Social learning and personality development. New York: Holt, Rinehart, and Winston.
  • Rotter, J. (1954). Social learning and clinical psychology. Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey: Prentice-Hall.
  • Skinner, B. F. (1957). Verbal behavior New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts.

Observational Learning & The Social Learning Theory (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Apprentissage par observation: définition, phases et utilisations

Apprentissage par observation: définition, phases et utilisations

Juillet 22, 2022

Des auteurs aussi pertinents et célèbres que Burrhus F. Skinner, Julian B. Rotter et, surtout, Albert Bandura ont contribué à la description du processus d'apprentissage par observation, grâce auquel nous apprenons en observant le comportement des autres.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Qu'est-ce que l'apprentissage par observation basé sur le travail de Bandura? , dont les contributions à cet égard sont mieux connues sous le nom de "théorie de l'apprentissage social". Nous parlerons également des quatre étapes qui composent ce processus: attention, rétention, reproduction et motivation.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "La théorie de l'apprentissage social d'Albert Bandura"

Qu'est-ce que l'apprentissage par observation?

Le concept "d'apprentissage par observation" est quelque peu ambigu. De nombreux auteurs l'identifient à l'apprentissage social décrit par Albert Bandura; Ce terme est probablement la manière la plus populaire de se référer à ce processus dans la littérature scientifique.


À leur tour, la définition de l'apprentissage social et celle de l'observation sont confondues avec d'autres concepts proches, notamment l'apprentissage par procuration, l'imitation et la modélisation. Cependant, il est possible de trouver des nuances différentielles entre la portée initiale de chacun des termes, bien qu'avec le temps, les différentes conceptions se soient homogénéisées.

En ce sens, nous pouvons inclure dans l’apprentissage par observation tout type d’apprentissage qui se produit à la suite de la contemplation des comportements d'autres êtres vivants (puisque ce n’est pas un terme spécifique pour les humains), ainsi que leurs conséquences, c’est-à-dire leur éventualité avec l’apparition de renforts et de punitions.


Le principal intérêt de l’apprentissage par observation est que est donné sans que l'apprenant ait besoin d'obtenir un renforcement : dans ce cas, vous obtenez des informations sur les effets possibles d’un comportement donné. Cependant, un renforcement est nécessaire pour que le comportement soit réalisé, comme nous le verrons un peu plus tard.

En ce qui concerne les autres termes que nous avons mentionnés, chacun d’entre eux met en évidence une caractéristique spécifique d’un phénomène large et partagé. Ainsi, lorsque nous parlons de "modélisation", nous soulignons l'importance de savoir qui agit en tant que modèle comportemental, tandis que "l'apprentissage social" fait référence à l'inclusion de cela dans le contexte de la socialisation.

  • Article connexe: "Conditionnement du vicaire: comment fonctionne ce type d'apprentissage?"

La théorie de l'apprentissage social de Bandura

Dans les années 1960, le psychologue canadien Albert Bandura a mené diverses études pour analyser les processus d’apprentissage ils ne pourraient pas être expliqués par les modèles comportementaux traditionnels (conditionnement classique et opérant), mais ils ont nécessité l'utilisation de variables sociales. À partir d'eux, il a formulé sa théorie de l'apprentissage social.


Des auteurs précédents tels que B. F. Skinner ou J. B. Rotter avaient proposé des modèles qui tentaient d'expliquer l'apprentissage par observation, ou d'autres concepts étroitement liés, par le biais de mécanismes de base tels que le renforcement. Cependant, la "révolution cognitive" a contribué à l'inclusion de variables non observables dans la psychologie scientifique.

Selon Bandura, l'une des plus grandes faiblesses des approches existantes à l'époque était le fait qu'elles n'incluaient pas de variables sociales dans les hypothèses sur l'acquisition de comportements. Sa théorie est basée sur l'idée que l'apprentissage est un processus fondamentalement cognitif cela est indissociable du cadre social dans lequel il se développe.

Bandura a ainsi proposé le concept de déterminisme réciproque selon lequel, lorsqu'un être vivant effectue un apprentissage, il ne s'agit pas d'un simple récepteur des événements qui se déroulent dans son environnement. influence mutuelle entre le contexte, les comportements et les variables cognitives comme des attentes ou de la motivation.

Une des contributions les plus pertinentes du travail de Bandura a été de montrer que l’apprentissage peut avoir lieu sans que l’apprenant ait besoin d’être renforcé. Cependant, comme il est logique, le fait d’observer que le modèle obtient des récompenses ou des punitions du fait que son comportement module l’apprentissage en cours.

Les 4 étapes de ce processus

Albert Bandura a conceptualisé l’apprentissage par observation (ou social) comme un processus constitué de quatre étapes successives . Ainsi, ce type d’apprentissage comprend l’attention portée aux événements qui se produisent dans notre environnement et la motivation qui nous pousse à exécuter le comportement après l’avoir appris par observation.

1. Attention

L'attention est la fonction cognitive qui nous permet percevoir et comprendre les événements qui se passent autour de nous . Si les capacités cognitives de la personne sont suffisantes et que l’attention est consacrée aux ressources, il sera plus facile d’apprendre. Certaines caractéristiques du modèle, telles que son prestige, ont une influence significative sur ce processus.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types d'attention et leurs caractéristiques"

2. rétention

Cette étape de l'apprentissage par observation fait référence à la mémorisation du comportement observé. Selon Bandura, la rétention peut être basée à la fois sur du matériel verbal et visuel, les modèles cognitifs verbaux étant plus adaptés à un apprentissage complexe en général.

3. Reproduction

Suivant la définition de Bandura, nous entendons par "reproduction" l'exécution du comportement mémorisé; nous pouvons conceptualiser ce processus comme la création d'un plan d'action . Les commentaires que nous recevons des autres modulent de manière significative les caractéristiques spécifiques de la reproduction comportementale.

4. Motivation

Bien que nous ayons parfaitement appris un comportement, il est très improbable que nous l'exécutions si nous ne sommes pas incités à le faire. Ainsi, l'exécution du comportement dépend avant tout de l'attente d'un renforcement ; c'est dans cette étape que, selon la théorie de Bandura, la présence d'un renforçateur est fondamentale et non dans les étapes précédentes.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bandura, A. (1963). Apprentissage social et développement de la personnalité. New York: Holt, Rinehart et Winston.
  • Rotter, J. (1954). Apprentissage social et psychologie clinique. Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey: Prentice-Hall.
  • Skinner, B. F. (1957). Comportement verbal New York: Appleton-Century-Crofts.

Méthode expérimentale en 4 étapes avec exemple concret (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes