yes, therapy helps!
Obsession for cleanliness: causes, characteristics and advice

Obsession for cleanliness: causes, characteristics and advice

July 14, 2024

Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) is a anxiety disorder that characterizes recurrent intrusive thoughts (obsessions) and repetitive acts or behaviors (compulsions) that the person performs to avoid the discomfort (anxiety) that the obsessive thoughts provoke. One of the most common OCDs is obsessive compulsive disorder cleaning .

Characteristics of obsessive-compulsive disorder by cleaning

What in principle can be a good thing, and cleaning can be positive to avoid diseases, the OCD for cleaning becomes for people who suffer it in a severe disorder that negatively affects your well-being .


The irrational thoughts that can lead to the act of cleaning can be different between person and person. For example, some individuals may have superstitious thoughts that cause anxiety if they do not perform acts to reduce their anxious symptoms, others may think that everything is contaminated and if they are not cleaned they will suffer serious illnesses, and others may bring order and cleanliness from the home to the extreme, as they continuously seek the symmetry of the objects. Regardless of irrational thinking, compulsion in this type of disorder will be characterized by cleanliness and hygiene behaviors.

These people suffer repetitive thoughts that cause anxiety. Compulsive behavior only serves to calm them for a short time, which ends up producing a vicious circle, as irrational thinking reappears again and again after compulsive behavior.


Cognitive variables related to OCD

There are multiple cognitive variables related to OCD. According to him Obsessive-Compulsive Cognitions Working Group (OCCWG), the most important are:

  • Intolerance to uncertainty
  • Overestimation of the threat
  • Perfectionism
  • Excessive responsibility
  • Beliefs about the importance of thoughts
  • Beliefs about the importance of controlling one's thoughts
  • Rigidity of ideas

Beliefs about the importance of one's thoughts refers to the need to control all thoughts at all times. Subjects with OCD they try hard not to think about a specific thing or to eliminate certain types of thoughts .

How to stop the obsession with cleaning

Any form of obsessive-compulsive disorder may have different levels of severity . In very serious cases you should always seek the help of a specialist to handle the situation. But in less severe cases of the disorder, the advice we present below may be useful. If you suffer obsession with cleanliness, you can follow these tips:


Relax before cleaning

Any type of obsessive-compulsive behavior has its origin in the need to reduce anxious symptoms . It may be due to a superstitious thought or to the idea that if everything is not clean a disaster may occur. The intention of compulsion is to reduce anxiety, but there are other ways to relax. For example, practice Mindfulness, yoga or listen to a relaxation CD.

Break the obsessive routine

It is common in anxiety disorders for psychologists to help patients test irrational thoughts, so that they can see for themselves that absolutely nothing happens when they are exposed to the dreaded situation. Of course, the exhibition must be progressive. For example, first you can delay compulsive behavior 1 minute, then 2, then 3, and so on. Gradually you can see that, in reality, Obsessive thinking is irrational and catastrophic thoughts are not met .

Do not be such a perfectionist

Occasionally, obsessive-compulsive cleansing disorder may indicate that the individual has a perfectionist personality . The perfectionism It refers to the belief that perfection must always be achieved in everything that is done. This belief can cause serious problems of anxiety and, therefore, compulsive behaviors. Understanding that imperfection is common in all human beings can help reduce anxiety. If it is not possible to do it, you should go to a psychologist, because perfectionism it also affects health and well-being .


OCD Symptoms: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder Symptoms (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Obsession pour la propreté: causes, caractéristiques et conseils

Obsession pour la propreté: causes, caractéristiques et conseils

Janvier 22, 2021

Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC) est un trouble d'anxiété qui caractérise les pensées intrusives récurrentes (obsessions) et les actes ou comportements répétitifs (compulsions) que la personne accomplit pour éviter l’inconfort (anxiété) provoqués par ses pensées obsessionnelles. Le trouble obsessionnel compulsif est l’un des TOC les plus courants. nettoyage .

Caractéristiques du trouble obsessionnel-compulsif par nettoyage

Ce qui en principe peut être une bonne chose, et le nettoyage peut être positif pour éviter les maladies, le TOC pour le nettoyage devient pour les personnes qui en souffrent trouble grave qui affecte négativement votre bien-être .


Le pensées irrationnelles cela peut conduire à l'acte de nettoyage peut être différent entre personne. Par exemple, certaines personnes peuvent avoir des pensées superstitieuses qui suscitent de l'anxiété si elles ne réalisent pas d'actes qui atténuent leurs symptômes anxieux, d'autres peuvent penser que tout est contaminé et, si elles ne sont pas nettoyées, elles seront gravement malades, tandis que d'autres pourront rétablir l'ordre et la propreté. de la maison à l'extrême, car ils cherchent continuellement la symétrie des objets. Indépendamment de la pensée irrationnelle, la compulsion dans ce type de désordre sera caractérisée par des comportements de propreté et d'hygiène.

Ces personnes souffrent pensées répétitives cela cause de l'anxiété. Le comportement compulsif ne sert qu'à les calmer pendant une courte période, ce qui finit par créer un cercle vicieux, car la pensée irrationnelle réapparaît encore et encore après un comportement compulsif.


Variables cognitives liées aux TOC

Il y a plusieurs variables cognitives liés au TOC. Selon le Groupe de travail sur les cognitions obsessionnelles-compulsives (OCCWG), les plus importants sont:

  • Intolérance à l'incertitude
  • Surestimation de la menace
  • Perfectionnisme
  • Responsabilité excessive
  • Croyances sur l'importance des pensées
  • Croyances sur l'importance de contrôler ses pensées
  • Rigidité des idées

Les croyances concernant l'importance de ses pensées font référence à la nécessité de contrôler toutes les pensées en tout temps. Sujets atteints de TOC ils essaient de ne pas penser à quelque chose en particulier ou d'éliminer certains types de pensées .

Comment arrêter l'obsession du nettoyage

Toute forme de trouble obsessionnel-compulsif peut avoir différents niveaux de gravité . Dans les cas très graves, vous devez toujours faire appel à un spécialiste pour gérer la situation. Mais dans les cas moins graves de la maladie, les conseils que nous présentons ci-dessous peuvent être utiles. Si vous êtes obsédé par la propreté, suivez ces conseils:


Détendez-vous avant le nettoyage

Tout type de comportement obsessionnel-compulsif a pour origine le besoin de réduire les symptômes anxieux . Cela peut être dû à une pensée superstitieuse ou à l'idée que si tout n'est pas propre, une catastrophe peut survenir. L'intention de la contrainte est de réduire l'anxiété, mais il existe d'autres moyens de se détendre. Par exemple, pratiquez la pleine conscience, faites du yoga ou écoutez un CD de relaxation.

Briser la routine obsessionnelle

Dans les troubles anxieux, il est courant que les psychologues aident les patients à tester des pensées irrationnelles, afin de pouvoir constater par eux-mêmes qu'il ne se passe absolument rien quand ils sont exposés à la situation redoutée. Bien sûr, l'exposition doit être progressive. Par exemple, vous pouvez d’abord retarder le comportement compulsif d’une minute, puis de 2, de 3 et ainsi de suite. Peu à peu, vous pouvez voir que, en réalité, La pensée obsessionnelle est irrationnelle et les pensées catastrophiques ne sont pas satisfaites .

Ne soyez pas aussi perfectionniste

Un trouble de purification obsessionnel-compulsif peut parfois indiquer que la personne a un personnalité perfectionniste . Le perfectionnisme Il fait référence à la conviction que la perfection doit toujours être atteinte dans tout ce qui est fait. Cette croyance peut causer de graves problèmes d’anxiété et, par conséquent, des comportements compulsifs. Comprendre que l’imperfection est commune à tous les êtres humains peut aider à réduire l’anxiété. Si ce n’est pas possible, vous devriez consulter un psychologue, car le perfectionnisme il affecte également la santé et le bien-être .


PSESHSF 2016 - Alexandre David - La gouvernance sur la blockchain (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes