yes, therapy helps!
Obsessive personality: 8 habits that lead to obsession

Obsessive personality: 8 habits that lead to obsession

June 30, 2024

Throughout life there are numerous situations that are able to trap our mind in a loop that seems eternal.

Recurrent thoughts, unjustified anxiety due to phenomena that constantly attract attention ... They are characteristics of the obsessive personality , which, although by itself is not pathological, is statistically associated with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder and certain anxiety problems.

What is obsession?

Psychologically, the concept of obsession refers to the presence of an idea, belief or mental image that interferes recurrently in the state of consciousness of the person and makes their thinking go "on rails". That is to say, that obsessions limit the spontaneity with which one acts, since they go hand in hand with a thought loop that feeds back on its own effects.


Rumination, which is precisely this vicious circle of mental processes, is a phenomenon that goes hand in hand with obsession. In addition, the consequences of this are usually an increase in punctual stress and anxiety, as well as premonitory beliefs about the future new appearance of those obsessive thoughts.

  • Maybe you're interested: "11 obsessions and typical compulsions in OCD"

The 10 habits of the obsessive personality

But ... what are the signs that betray the existence of an obsessive personality? For this you have to look in the habits that arise in the day to day . The main ones are the following.


1. It is constantly planned

Obsessive people tend to spend much more time calculating or estimating what may happen in the future to, well, keep alive the idea that they have everything under control .

2. Escapist habits

The obsessive personality needs to rely on moments of escapism so as not to constantly have to endure anxiety of having to always be in charge of what happens. Weekend getaways, long games of video games or simply periods of isolation are usually statistically more common than normal in these people.

3. Use of dichotomous thinking

The obsessive personality is based on a style of thinking that is very categorical and that radically distinguishes what is right from what is wrong. That is why there is a lot of concern in doing things right, because in case of failure there are no nuances that allow to cushion the unpleasantness of that experience.


4. Constant emphasis on responsibility

These people always have in mind the idea that, if you do not act proactively, things tend to go wrong, and the odd thing is that they go well without even trying. That is why they always put a lot of pressure on human actions , either from others or, in many cases, only in their own.

5. Avoidance of the option to delegate

The obsessive personality is controlling and, therefore, usually goes hand in hand with a characteristic habit: it is not delegated, and there is a clear preference to do the important things oneself. Leaving things in the hands of others would imply run a risk that for some is too high , and for that reason it is preferred to have a conscious control over what is happening, even if that option is more tired.

6. Search for acceptance

Those who have obsessive personality tend to seek acceptance of others to a degree somewhat higher than the rest of the population. Unlike what happens with narcissists, this has nothing to do with the need to maintain a very idealized and inflated self-image, but with the need to believe in one's own abilities so as not to feel weak before the problems of the day to day.

To have a bad public image supposes to have before us a mirror in which our capacities are questioned, and this causes that the worries about what can happen to us can assault us with greater facility.

7. Defense of the value of justice and order

This class of people prefers order to the unpredictable and spontaneous, since the second option generates more uncertainty, worries and, consequently, obsessive thoughts that wear us out psychologically. This is also reflected in his way of expressing his ideals although that does not mean that they should be conservative; they simply defend the idea of ​​basing relationships on well-established pacts and whose violation entails compensatory consequences.

8. Tics and stereotypical behavior

Some people with this personality class show stereotyped actions in their day to day, without becoming so serious or invasive that they are considered a symptom of OCD. Are a way to give structure to what is being experienced , making each moment experience as something connected with others and there is a feeling that everything that is lived is integrated into a unit. Of course, most of these actions are involuntary and almost automatic.


LIVING WITH OCD (OBSESSIVE-COMPULSIVE DISORDER) PL/ENG (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnalité obsessionnelle: 8 habitudes qui mènent à l'obsession

Personnalité obsessionnelle: 8 habitudes qui mènent à l'obsession

Décembre 9, 2021

Tout au long de la vie, de nombreuses situations peuvent emprisonner notre esprit dans une boucle qui semble éternelle.

Pensées récurrentes, anxiété injustifiée due à des phénomènes qui attirent constamment l'attention ... Ils sont caractéristiques de la personnalité obsessionnelle , qui, bien que n'étant pas pathologique en soi, est statistiquement associé au trouble obsessionnel-compulsif et à certains problèmes d’anxiété.

Qu'est-ce que l'obsession?

Psychologiquement, le concept d’obsession désigne la présence d’une idée, d’une croyance ou d’une image mentale qui interfère de manière récurrente dans l'état de conscience de la personne et fait aller leur pensée "sur des rails". C'est dire que ces obsessions limitent la spontanéité avec laquelle on agit, puisqu'elles vont de pair avec une boucle de pensée qui se nourrit de ses propres effets.


La rumination, qui est précisément ce cercle vicieux de processus mentaux, est un phénomène qui va de pair avec l'obsession. De plus, les conséquences sont généralement une augmentation du stress et de l’anxiété ponctuels, ainsi que croyances prémonitoires à propos de la nouvelle apparition future de ces pensées obsessionnelles.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "11 obsessions et compulsions typiques dans le TOC"

Les 10 habitudes de la personnalité obsessionnelle

Mais ... quels sont les signes qui trahissent l'existence d'une personnalité obsessionnelle? Pour cela, il faut regarder dans les habitudes qui se présentent au jour le jour . Les principaux sont les suivants.


1. Il est constamment prévu

Les personnes obsessionnelles ont tendance à passer plus de temps à calculer ou à estimer ce qui pourrait arriver dans le futur pour, enfin, garder en vie l'idée qu'ils ont tout sous contrôle .

2. Habitudes d'évasion

La personnalité obsessionnelle doit compter sur des moments d'évasion pour ne pas avoir à subir constamment l'angoisse de devoir toujours être en charge de ce qui se passe. Les escapades de week-end, les longs jeux de jeux vidéo ou simplement des périodes d'isolement sont généralement statistiquement plus fréquents que la normale chez ces personnes.

3. Utilisation de la pensée dichotomique

La personnalité obsessionnelle est basée sur un style de pensée très catégorique et cela distingue radicalement ce qui est juste de ce qui est faux. C’est pourquoi il est très préoccupant de bien faire les choses, car en cas d’échec, il n’ya pas de nuance permettant d’amortir le désagrément de cette expérience.


4. Accent constant sur la responsabilité

Ces personnes ont toujours en tête l'idée que, si vous n'agissez pas de manière proactive, les choses ont tendance à mal se passer, et ce qui est étrange, c'est qu'elles se passent bien sans même essayer. C'est pour ça que ils mettent toujours beaucoup de pression sur les actions humaines , des autres ou, dans de nombreux cas, uniquement les leurs.

5. Éviter la possibilité de déléguer

La personnalité obsessionnelle est prépondérante et va donc généralement de pair avec une habitude caractéristique: elle n’est pas déléguée et il existe une nette préférence pour faire les choses importantes soi-même. Laisser les choses entre les mains des autres impliquerait courir un risque que pour certains est trop élevé et pour cette raison, il est préférable d’avoir un contrôle conscient sur ce qui se passe, même si cette option est plus fatiguée.

6. Recherche d'acceptation

Ceux qui ont une personnalité obsessionnelle ont tendance à rechercher l'acceptation des autres à un degré un peu plus élevé que le reste de la population. Contrairement à ce qui se passe chez les narcissiques, cela n’a rien à voir avec la nécessité de maintenir une image de soi très idéalisée et gonflée, mais avec la nécessité de croire en ses propres capacités pour ne pas se sentir faible avant les problèmes du jour au jour.

Avoir une mauvaise image publique suppose avoir devant nous un miroir dans lequel nos capacités sont mises en question, ce qui fait que les inquiétudes sur ce qui peut nous arriver peuvent nous attaquer avec plus de facilité.

7. Défense de la valeur de la justice et de l'ordre

Cette classe de personnes préfère l’ordre à l’imprévisible et spontané, car la deuxième option génère plus d’incertitude, de soucis et, par conséquent, de pensées obsédantes qui nous épuisent psychologiquement. Cette se reflète également dans sa manière d'exprimer ses idéaux bien que cela ne signifie pas qu'ils doivent être conservateurs; ils défendent simplement l'idée de fonder les relations sur des pactes bien établis et dont la violation entraîne des conséquences compensatoires.

8. Tics et comportements stéréotypés

Certaines personnes de cette classe de personnalités affichent des gestes stéréotypés au quotidien, sans devenir si graves ou envahissantes qu’elles sont considérées comme un symptôme du TOC. Ils sont un moyen de structurer ce qui est vécu en faisant de chaque instant une expérience liée à d’autres et donnant l’impression que tout ce qui est vécu est intégré dans une unité. Bien sûr, la plupart de ces actions sont involontaires et presque automatiques.


WoW Versus #2 - Grommash Hellscream VS Garrosh Hellscream (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes