yes, therapy helps!
Ohtahara syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Ohtahara syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

October 4, 2022

During infancy, especially after birth or during the gestation period, it is relatively frequent that neurological diseases result from genetic imbalances or alterations during this delicate phase of life. This is what happens, for example, with an epileptic type pathology known as Ohtahara syndrome .

In this article we will see what are the causes, symptoms and treatments associated with this epileptic encephalopathy.

  • Related article: "Types of epilepsies: causes, symptoms and characteristics"

What is Ohtahara syndrome?

Early infantile epileptic encephalopathy, also known as Ohtahara syndrome, is a type of epilepsy that is very early; Specifically, it appears in babies a few months old, many times before the first trimester after delivery, or even before birth, in the prenatal stage.


Despite the fact that epilepsy is a relatively common neurological disease, Ohtahara syndrome is a rare disease, and it is estimated that it accounts for less than 4% of cases of childhood epilepsy (although its appearance is not distributed homogeneously, since which affects children more than girls).

symptom

The symptoms of Ohtahara syndrome are associated with alterations linked to epileptic seizures . These crises tend to be tonic (ie, intense, with a state of muscular rigidity that almost always involves falling to the ground and loss of knowledge) and rarely myoclonic (ie, short states of muscle stiffness and often being the crisis so little significant that it can go unnoticed).


In the case of myoclonic seizures, periods of muscular rigidity usually last about 10 seconds, and appear both in the waking state and during sleep.

On the other hand, depending on the areas of the brain that are affected by their functioning, these crises can be focal or generalized.

Other related symptoms are apnea and difficulties in swallowing and breathing.

  • You may be interested: "What happens in a person's brain when they have seizures?"

Diagnosis

Being such a rare disease, there is no specific tool for diagnosis, and this is borne by the experience of the medical team. To do this, neurologists and psychiatrists use neuroimaging and scanning technology for nerve activity, such as Computerized Tomography or the Encephalogram, which reveals a characteristic activation pattern with very marked peaks of activity followed by periods of great calm.


This lack of specific tools means that death often occurs before knowing clearly what type of epilepsy is involved, and that sometimes there may be no consensus on the type of disease that exists.

Causes of Ohtahara syndrome

As with all types of epilepsy in general, the causes of Ohtahara syndrome are relatively unknown. The strange pattern of neuronal activation that occurs in the nerve cells of the brain is known from its origin, but it is not known what causes this pattern of electrical firing of the neurons to appear and begin to spread throughout the rest of the nervous system.

If we take into account other health problems that can precipitate the onset of these epileptic seizures, it is known that metabolic disorders, the presence of tumors, heart attacks, malformations in the nervous system and certain genetic abnormalities have also been associated with this disease.

Treatments

The forms of medical treatment used to intervene in cases of children with Ohtahara syndrome are usually based on administering drugs commonly used to alleviate the symptoms of other types of epilepsy, such as clonazepam or phenobarbital.

On the other hand, interventions based on changes in diet (such as for example with ketherogenic diets) have also been used, although with very little success. In general, the evolution of the disease does not improve, and epileptic seizures become more frequent and intense.

In extreme cases, surgery can be used, as is done in other types of epilepsies, although at such early ages these interventions tend to be very complicated.

Forecast

On the other hand, this is a disease with poor prognosis , and most cases end in early death during early childhood, as the disease tends to get worse. Even though during the first sessions the treatment seems to make the course of the syndrome improve, later its effectiveness tends to be more moderate.

In addition, Ohtahara syndrome may cause others to appear health problems related to the effect of epileptic seizures have on the organism, such as mental retardation, respiratory problems, etc. This means that even in children over the first year of life they are left with a certain type of disability to which they must be able to adapt.

It will be necessary to trust the progress of research in this type of neurological diseases to develop the prevention, diagnosis and treatment tools necessary for Ohtahara syndrome to stop being a serious health problem.


Epilepsy Seizures : Signs, Symptoms, Causes, Risk Factors, Types, Aura, Etiology (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'Ohtahara: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome d'Ohtahara: causes, symptômes et traitement

Décembre 5, 2019

Pendant la petite enfance, en particulier après la naissance ou pendant la gestation, il est relativement fréquent que les maladies neurologiques résultent de déséquilibres ou de modifications génétiques au cours de cette phase délicate de la vie. C’est ce qui se passe, par exemple, avec une pathologie de type épileptique appelée syndrome d'Ohtahara .

Dans cet article, nous verrons quelles sont les causes, les symptômes et les traitements associés à cette encéphalopathie épileptique.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'épilepsies: causes, symptômes et caractéristiques"

Quel est le syndrome d'Ohtahara?

L’encéphalopathie épileptique infantile précoce, également appelée syndrome d’Ohtahara, est un type d’épilepsie très précoce; Plus précisément, il apparaît chez les bébés de quelques mois, plusieurs fois avant le premier trimestre suivant l'accouchement, voire avant la naissance, au stade prénatal.


Bien que l’épilepsie soit une maladie neurologique relativement courante, le syndrome d’Ohtahara est une maladie rare. On estime qu’il représente moins de 4% des cas d’épilepsie infantile (bien que son apparence ne soit pas répartie de manière homogène, qui affecte les enfants plus que les filles).

Les symptômes

Les symptômes du syndrome d'Ohtahara sont associés à des altérations liées à des crises d'épilepsie. . Ces crises tendent à être toniques (c'est-à-dire intenses, avec un état de rigidité musculaire qui implique presque toujours une chute au sol et une perte de connaissances) et rarement myocloniques (c'est-à-dire des états courts de raideur musculaire et souvent la crise si peu significative qu'elle peut passer inaperçue).


En cas de convulsions myocloniques, les périodes de rigidité musculaire durent généralement environ 10 secondes et apparaissent à la fois à l'état de veille et pendant le sommeil.

Par contre, selon les régions du cerveau affectées par leur fonctionnement, ces crises peuvent être focalisées ou généralisées.

L'apnée et les difficultés à avaler et à respirer sont d'autres symptômes connexes.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Qu'est-ce qui se passe dans le cerveau d'une personne quand elle a des crises?"

Diagnostic

En tant que maladie rare, il n’existe pas d’outil spécifique de diagnostic, ce qui est à la charge de l’expérience de l’équipe médicale. Pour ce faire, neurologues et psychiatres utilisent des technologies de neuroimagerie et de balayage pour l'activité nerveuse, telles que la tomographie informatisée ou l'encéphalogramme, qui révèlent un schéma d'activation caractéristique avec des pics d'activité très marqués suivis de périodes de grand calme.


Ce manque d'outils spécifiques signifie que la mort survient souvent avant de savoir clairement quel type d'épilepsie est impliqué et qu'il peut parfois ne pas y avoir de consensus sur le type de maladie qui existe.

Causes du syndrome d'Ohtahara

Comme pour tous les types d'épilepsie en général, les causes du syndrome d'Ohtahara sont relativement inconnues. Le schéma étrange d'activation neuronale qui se produit dans les cellules nerveuses du cerveau est connu depuis son origine, mais on ignore ce qui provoque l'apparition de ce schéma de déclenchement électrique des neurones et commence à se propager dans le reste du système nerveux.

Si nous prenons en compte d’autres problèmes de santé pouvant précipiter l’apparition de ces crises épileptiques, il est reconnu que des troubles métaboliques, la présence de tumeurs, des crises cardiaques, des malformations du système nerveux et certaines anomalies génétiques ont également été associés à cette maladie.

Traitements

Les formes de traitement médical utilisées pour intervenir chez les enfants atteints du syndrome d'Ohtahara reposent généralement sur l'administration de médicaments couramment utilisés pour soulager les symptômes d'autres types d'épilepsie, tels que le clonazépam ou le phénobarbital.

D'autre part, des interventions basées sur des changements de régime alimentaire (comme par exemple avec des régimes cétogéniques) ont également été utilisées, avec toutefois très peu de succès. En général, l'évolution de la maladie ne s'améliore pas et les crises d'épilepsie deviennent plus fréquentes et plus intenses.

Dans les cas extrêmes, la chirurgie peut être utilisée, comme c'est le cas dans d'autres types d'épilepsies, même si, à un âge aussi précoce, ces interventions ont tendance à être très compliquées.

Prévisions

D'un autre côté, c'est une maladie de mauvais pronostic et la plupart des cas se terminent par une mort précoce au début de l'enfance, la maladie ayant tendance à s'aggraver Même si, au cours des premières séances, le traitement semble améliorer l'évolution du syndrome, son efficacité a tendance à être plus modérée par la suite.

En outre, le syndrome d'Ohtahara peut faire apparaître d'autres personnes problèmes de santé liés à l'effet des crises d'épilepsie avoir sur l'organisme, tels que retard mental, problèmes respiratoires, etc. Cela signifie que même chez les enfants au cours de la première année de vie, ils se retrouvent avec un certain type de handicap auquel ils doivent pouvoir s'adapter.

Il faudra faire confiance aux progrès de la recherche sur ce type de maladies neurologiques pour mettre au point les outils de prévention, de diagnostic et de traitement nécessaires au syndrome d’Ohtahara pour qu’il cesse d’être un problème de santé grave.


Marshall Smith Syndrome - Rare but strong together (Décembre 2019).


Articles Connexes