yes, therapy helps!
Older brothers are smarter than younger brothers

Older brothers are smarter than younger brothers

October 4, 2022

An investigation conducted at the University of Oslo and the Tor Bjerkedal of Norway has concluded that there is a relationship between the IQ and the order in the birth of the brothers from the same family nucleus, and it has been observed that older siblings are smarter, on average, than younger siblings.

Older brothers, smarter?

The study, which was published in the journal Science, maintains that the average intellectual quotient of the older siblings studied was slightly higher than that of the younger siblings. The results revealed that the majors averaged an IQ of 103'2, the second brother obtained an average score of 100'4, and the third fell to the figure of 99.


Does intelligence come in the genes or is it learned?

Prior to the Norwegian study, a research carried out by Bernard Devlin at the School of Medicine and Psychiatry at the University of Pittsburgh found that l The genes alone are responsible for 48% of the IQ of a person, while up to 52% of it is a consequence of prenatal care, the environmental context and the education received.

The investigation, which studied members of the Norwegian armed forces, revealed that order at birth is not the primary factor in explaining the results, since it is enough that the brother with greater intelligence has exercised the role of elder brother, Although he may have been born in second (or third) place.


As has been mentioned, it should be noted that this trend is only a generality based on statistical averages, and there may be many exceptions of younger siblings with a higher IQ than their older siblings. Intelligence is a very complex construct, and there are many factors that determine how we develop our cognitive abilities.

Intelligence: a concept in permanent controversy

Of course, if there is a concept that generates discrepancy of opinions both in experts and in the population in general, that is the one of intelligence. There are different models to explain the causes and the way in which people express this quality.

The classical approach to intelligence is that which has been employed in the study in question. This approach gives a major importance to the ability of calculation and verbal reasoning, not in vain they are also more easily measurable aspects , and hence the results are standardized on a scale where the average is the value 100.


On the other hand, other models propose or A vision of more holistic intelligence , also emphasizing aspects that can not be measured easily: intelligence intra and interpersonal, bodily, musical...

It may interest you: "The Theory of Multiple Intelligences"

Not everything is genetic

Other studies on the intelligence in the brothers suggest that there is a decisive factor when explaining this greater intelligence of the older siblings, and that is that the responsibility of acting as tutors for his younger siblings can bring rewards in the quality of his cognition , thus improving your intellectual quotient.

In any case, this study only assumes an approximation to this interesting question, and it will be necessary to continue investigating.


The Oldest Child Is Smarter and Here's Why (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les frères plus âgés sont plus intelligents que les frères plus jeunes

Les frères plus âgés sont plus intelligents que les frères plus jeunes

Novembre 22, 2019

Une enquête menée à l'Université d'Oslo et à Tor Bjerkedal en Norvège a conclu à l'existence d'une relation entre le QI et l'ordre dans la naissance des frères du même noyau familial, et il a été observé que les frères et sœurs plus âgés sont en moyenne plus intelligents que leurs frères et sœurs plus jeunes.

Des frères plus âgés, plus intelligents?

L'étude, qui a été publiée dans la revue Science, soutient que le quotient intellectuel moyen des frères et sœurs plus âgés étudiés était légèrement supérieur à celui des frères et sœurs plus jeunes. Les résultats ont révélé que les majors avaient en moyenne un QI de 103'2, le deuxième frère avait obtenu un score moyen de 100'4 et le troisième était tombé à 99.


L'intelligence vient-elle dans les gènes ou est-elle apprise?

Avant l'étude norvégienne, une étude menée par Bernard Devlin à la faculté de médecine et de psychiatrie de l'Université de Pittsburgh avait révélé que l Les gènes seuls sont responsables de 48% du QI d'une personne, alors que les soins prénatals, le contexte environnemental et l'éducation reçue sont à l'origine de 52%.

L'enquête, qui a étudié des membres des forces armées norvégiennes, a révélé que l'ordre à la naissance n'est pas le facteur principal pour expliquer les résultats, car il suffit que le frère doté d'une plus grande intelligence ait joué le rôle de frère aîné, Bien qu'il puisse être né à la deuxième (ou troisième) place.


Comme il a été mentionné, il convient de noter que cette tendance n’est qu’une généralité basée sur des moyennes statistiques, et il peut y avoir beaucoup d'exceptions des frères et sœurs plus jeunes avec un QI plus élevé que leurs frères et sœurs plus âgés. L'intelligence est une construction très complexe et de nombreux facteurs déterminent la manière dont nous développons nos capacités cognitives.

Intelligence: un concept en controverse permanente

Bien sûr, s’il existe un concept qui génère des divergences d’opinion tant chez les experts que dans la population en général, c’est celui de l'intelligence. Il existe différents modèles pour expliquer les causes et la façon dont les gens expriment cette qualité.

L’approche classique de l’intelligence est celle qui a été utilisée dans l’étude en question. Cette approche donne une importance majeure à la capacité de calcul et de raisonnement verbal, pas en vain ce sont aussi des aspects plus facilement mesurables et donc les résultats sont standardisés sur une échelle où la moyenne est la valeur 100.


D'autre part, d'autres modèles proposent vous Une vision d'une intelligence plus holistique , soulignant également des aspects difficiles à mesurer: l'intelligence intra e interpersonnel, corps, comédie musicale...

Cela peut vous intéresser: "La théorie des intelligences multiples"

Tout n'est pas génétique

D'autres études sur l'intelligence chez les frères suggèrent qu'il existe un facteur décisif pour expliquer cette plus grande intelligence des frères et sœurs plus âgés, à savoir: la responsabilité d'agir en tant que tuteur pour ses frères et sœurs plus jeunes peut apporter des récompenses dans la qualité de ses connaissances , améliorant ainsi votre quotient intellectuel.

En tout état de cause, cette étude ne suppose qu’une approximation de cette question intéressante et il sera nécessaire de poursuivre les recherches.


10 Enigmes que seuls les génies peuvent résoudre en 15 secondes (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes