yes, therapy helps!
Olfactory bulb: definition, parts and functions

Olfactory bulb: definition, parts and functions

April 24, 2024

The human being, like the rest of animals, captures the stimuli coming from the environment through the senses. Although there are modalities such as proprioception (or self-perception of one's own body) or nociception (perception of pain), we generally understand sight, hearing, taste, touch and smell as such.

All offer different types of information that allow our adaptation and survival, processing and integrating the information received in different brain nuclei. In the case of smell, said processing takes place in the olfactory bulb , one of the oldest parts of the brain in our evolutionary line. Let's see what their characteristics are.


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

The sense of smell

Although in humans it is a relatively undeveloped sense compared to sight and hearing, Smell is a fundamental mechanism when it comes to capturing stimuli that come from the environment. It is the sense that allows us to process the odor through the capture of volatile chemical substances that reach our body through the air we breathe.

The main function of this sense is mainly to detect elements that the body needs to survive and those that can be harmful, so that we approach or move away from it depending on the need. Thanks to this we can adjust our behavior to different stimuli or agents. In addition, the smell also It has an important relationship with the perception of taste , allowing us to savor the food.


In order to capture this information, the presence of a specialized system capable of translating and transmitting the information to the rest of the body is necessary. This is the olfactory system , which highlights the role played by the olfactory bulb.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The unconscious and smells"

Before reaching the bulb

Although the bulb is a part of great importance for the capture of the odorous stimuli, the process by which the odor is captured does not start in it .

The odorous molecules arrive and enter the nostrils, being trapped by the nasal mucosa. It collects these molecules and absorbs them, acting according to the intensity with which they reach the system.

Within the mucosa we can find different areas in which there are many olfactory neurons of different types, although they tend to be bipolar and unmyelinated. In them transduction is performed , this being the step in which the information of a specific type of signal (in this chemical case) is passed on to a bioelectrical signal that can circulate through the nervous system. Later, they pass through the olfactory nerve until they reach the olfactory bulb.


The olfactory bulb

The olfactory bulb is a small vesicular structure whose main function is capture and process the information coming from the odor receptors located in the nasal mucosa. In fact, we actually have two of these bulbs, one in each hemisphere of the brain.

This small extension of the cerebral cortex is located below the area closest to the eyes of the frontal lobe and connects with the innermost part of the nasal passages.

How does it work?

In regard to their participation in the collection and processing of odor, the odorous molecules previously absorbed by the nasal mucosa and that have been captured and transformed into bioelectric activity by the neurons located in it send their axons to the bulb.

In the olfactory bulb said neurons synapse with other neurons called mitral cells in structures called glomeruli They will have different activation patterns depending on what has been captured and thanks to whose differentiated activity it is possible to distinguish different scents. This differentiated activation will depend on the slowness or speed with which the substance has been transported by the mucosa and its chemical composition.

After being processed in the glomeruli of the bulb, the information will be transmitted through the mitral cells to different brain regions such as the primary olfactory cortex, the secondary olfactory cortex, the orbitofrontal cortex, the amygdala or the hippocampus.

Parts of the olfactory bulb

The olfactory bulb is not a uniform and homogeneous element in all its extension, but is configured by a series of layers that are distinguished from each other mainly by the type of cells that compose them.

Although up to seven layers can be found, as a general rule, five of them are considered, they form the structure of the olfactory bulb .

1. Glomerular layer

It is about the part of the bulb where are the glomeruli , the structures in which the synapse between the receptor and the mitral cell will occur and in which the different reactions are observed according to the perceived stimulus that will end up allowing the distinction between odors. In fact, the glomeruli are grouped in such a way that similar odors will be detected by specific neuronal groups.

2. External plexiform layer

This layer contains the cells of tufted cells, which have a similar function to mitral cells. Several interneurons are present in this layer that make possible the lateral inhibition process, while connecting different neurons to each other.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

3. Mitral cell layer

In this layer the somas of the mitral cells are located, which will transmit the olfactory information to the rest of the structures connected to the bulb. So, in this layer is where the mitral cells receive the information from the receptors .

4. Internal plexiform layer

In the inner plexiform layer the axons of mitral and tufted cells can be found. That is, it is a layer in which begins to retransmit the captured information to other structures .

5. Granular cell layer

This last layer, the deepest, is formed by granular cells, thanks to which it is possible that different mitral cells connect their dendrites to each other .

Principal functions

The olfactory bulb is considered the main nucleus of olfactory information processing, which comes from receptors located in the mucosa or nasal epithelium. This paper assumes that the bulb performs various functions of great importance .

Allow the capture of olfactory information

Being the main nucleus of olfactory information processing, the olfactory bulb allows the human being to perceive the information coming from the sense of smell. It has been proven that the presence of damage or the removal of any of the two bulbs produces anosmia or lack of olfactory perception.

Distinction between smells

The olfactory bulb participates to a large extent in the ability to distinguish between different types of odors. The differentiation is due in particular to the different activation patterns of the neurons responsible for olfactory perception, which they react differently according to the smell in question .

Specifically, it is speculated that what produces this reaction is the shape, structure and electrical charge of the particles that reach the olfactory system.

Lateral inhibition of olfactory information

Lateral inhibition is understood as the process by which we are able to not pay attention to certain stimulations in order to focus on a specific stimulation. An example of this would be being able to smell the perfume of the loved one in the middle of a crowd.

Although part of this process is due to the cerebral areas that regulate the attention, the olfactory bulb has participation, when the interneurons of the bulb act to inhibit the effect that the uptake of certain smells would normally. That is why after a while in the presence of a certain odor, your perception diminishes greatly.

Participate in the emotional processing of information

The connection of the olfactory bulb with the amygdala, both direct and indirect through the primary or piriform olfactory cortex, allows emotions to be linked to olfactory stimuli . For example, the sensation of disgust or repulsion towards an odor that we consider negative.

On the other hand, the nervous circuit of the sense of smell, unlike those of sight and hearing, does not first pass through the thalamus, and therefore has a more direct connection with the limbic system. This, among other things, makes that the smells are especially powerful at the time of making us evoke memories , although they are experiences that happened many years ago and that we thought were forgotten.

Allows the recognition of odors

In this case, due to its connection with the hippocampus, the olfactory bulb participates in the process of learning to identify previously perceived odors, which in turn allows you to associate them with specific situations or stimuli . That is why we can associate an aroma to a person or a specific stimulus.

It helps to capture the flavor

The fact that smell and taste are closely related and even connected is well known. The fact that we get certain odors can cause us to feel an enhanced flavor or different to what we normally attribute to a meal. That is why there are food flavorings .

Since it allows olfactory information to be processed, the olfactory bulb is therefore relevant in the perception of taste. In fact, people with anosmia tend to be unable to capture certain flavors.

Helps regulate sexual behavior

Although many studies have questioned the existence of this in humans, in a large number of animals there is a structure called accessory olfactory bulb. This structure is specialized in the capture of a certain type of substances: pheromones.

Through them, beings of the same species are able to transmit certain types of information to each other, modifying the behavior of their congeners. One of the best-known examples is the role of pheromones in the control of sexual behavior , participating in aspects such as attraction. In the human being, androestadienona and estratetraenol are two of the best known, influencing both in the human sexual response.

Bibliographic references:

  • Carlson, N.R. (1998). Physiology of behavior. Madrid: Pearson. pp: 262-267
  • Goldstein, E.B. (2006). Sensation and Perception 6th edition. Debate. Madrid.
  • Scott, J.W .; Wellis, D.P .; Riggott, M.J. & Buonviso, N. (1993). Functional organization of the main olfactory bulb. Microsc. Res. Tech.24 (2): 142-56.

Olfactory Pathway - Nerve and Tracts (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ampoule olfactive: définition, pièces et fonctions

Ampoule olfactive: définition, pièces et fonctions

Juin 13, 2021

L'être humain, comme le reste des animaux, capte les stimuli provenant de l'environnement par le biais des sens. Bien qu'il existe des modalités telles que la proprioception (ou perception de soi de son propre corps) ou la nociception (perception de la douleur), nous comprenons généralement la vue, l'ouïe, le goût, le toucher et l'odorat en tant que tels.

Tous offrent différents types d'informations qui permettent notre adaptation et notre survie, le traitement et l'intégration des informations reçues dans différents noyaux cérébraux. En cas d'odeur, ledit traitement a lieu dans le bulbe olfactif , une des parties les plus anciennes du cerveau dans notre lignée évolutive. Voyons quelles sont leurs caractéristiques.


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Le sens de l'odorat

Bien que chez l’homme ce soit un sens relativement peu développé comparé à la vue et à l’ouïe, L'odorat est un mécanisme fondamental pour capturer les stimuli qui viennent de l'environnement. C'est le sens qui nous permet de traiter l'odeur en capturant les substances chimiques volatiles qui atteignent notre corps par l'air que nous respirons.

La principale fonction de ce sens est principalement de détecter les éléments indispensables à la survie de l'organisme et ceux qui peuvent être nocifs, afin que nous puissions nous en approcher ou nous en éloigner selon les besoins. Grâce à cela, nous pouvons ajuster notre comportement à différents stimuli ou agents. De plus, l'odeur aussi Il a une relation importante avec la perception du goût , nous permettant de savourer la nourriture.


Afin de capturer ces informations, la présence d'un système spécialisé capable de traduire et de transmettre les informations au reste du corps est nécessaire. C'est le système olfactif , qui met en évidence le rôle joué par le bulbe olfactif.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "L'inconscient et les odeurs"

Avant d'atteindre l'ampoule

Bien que le bulbe soit d’une grande importance pour la capture des stimuli odorants, le processus par lequel l'odeur est capturée ne commence pas dedans .

Les molécules odorantes arrivent et pénètrent dans les narines, étant piégées par la muqueuse nasale. Il collecte ces molécules et les absorbe, en fonction de l'intensité avec laquelle elles atteignent le système.

Dans la muqueuse, nous pouvons trouver différentes zones dans lesquelles se trouvent de nombreux neurones olfactifs de types différents, bien qu’ils tendent à être bipolaires et non myélinisés. En eux, la transduction est effectuée , l’étape à laquelle l’information d’un type de signal spécifique (dans ce cas chimique) est transmise à un signal bioélectrique pouvant circuler dans le système nerveux. Plus tard, ils traversent le nerf olfactif jusqu'à atteindre le bulbe olfactif.


Le bulbe olfactif

Le bulbe olfactif est une petite structure vésiculaire dont la fonction principale est capturer et traiter les informations provenant des récepteurs d'odeurs situé dans la muqueuse nasale. En fait, nous avons en fait deux de ces ampoules, une dans chaque hémisphère du cerveau.

Cette petite extension du cortex cérébral est située au-dessous de la zone la plus proche des yeux du lobe frontal et se connecte à la partie la plus interne des voies nasales.

Comment ça marche?

En ce qui concerne leur participation à la collecte et au traitement des odeurs, les molécules odorantes précédemment absorbées par la muqueuse nasale et capturées et transformées en activité bioélectrique par les neurones situés dans celle-ci envoient leurs axones au bulbe.

Dans le bulbe olfactif, lesdits neurones sont en synapse avec d'autres neurones appelées cellules mitrales dans des structures appelées glomérules Ils auront différents modèles d'activation en fonction de ce qui a été capturé et, grâce à l'activité différenciée, il est possible de distinguer différents parfums. Cette activation différenciée dépendra de la lenteur ou de la rapidité avec laquelle la substance a été transportée par la muqueuse et de sa composition chimique.

Une fois traitées dans les glomérules du bulbe, les informations seront transmises par les cellules mitrales à différentes régions du cerveau telles que le cortex olfactif primaire, le cortex olfactif secondaire, le cortex orbitofrontal, l’amygdale ou l’hippocampe.

Parties du bulbe olfactif

Le bulbe olfactif n’est pas un élément uniforme et homogène dans toute son étendue, mais est configuré par une série de couches qui se distinguent les unes des autres principalement par le type de cellules qui les composent.

Bien que jusqu’à sept couches puissent être trouvées, en règle générale, cinq d’entre elles sont considérées, ils forment la structure du bulbe olfactif .

1. Couche glomérulaire

Il s'agit de la partie de l'ampoule où sont les glomérules , les structures dans lesquelles se produira la synapse entre le récepteur et la cellule mitrale et dans lesquelles les différentes réactions sont observées en fonction du stimulus perçu, permettant de distinguer les odeurs. En fait, les glomérules sont regroupés de manière à ce que des odeurs similaires soient détectées par des groupes neuronaux spécifiques.

2. Couche plexiforme externe

Cette couche contient les cellules des cellules tuftées, qui ont une fonction similaire à celle des cellules mitrales. Plusieurs interneurones sont présents dans cette couche qui rendent possible le processus d'inhibition latérale, tout en connectant différents neurones les uns aux autres.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

3. Couche cellulaire mitrale

Dans cette couche se trouvent les somas des cellules mitrales, qui transmettent les informations olfactives au reste des structures connectées au bulbe. Donc, dans cette couche est où les cellules mitrales reçoivent les informations des récepteurs .

4. Couche plexiforme interne

Dans la couche plexiforme interne se trouvent les axones des cellules mitrale et tuftée. C'est une couche dans laquelle commence à retransmettre les informations capturées à d'autres structures .

5. Couche cellulaire granulaire

Cette dernière couche, la plus profonde, est formée de cellules granulaires, grâce auxquelles il est possible que différentes cellules mitrales connecter leurs dendrites les uns aux autres .

Fonctions principales

Le bulbe olfactif est considéré comme le noyau principal du traitement de l’information olfactive, qui provient de récepteurs situés dans la muqueuse ou l’épithélium nasal. Ce document suppose que l'ampoule remplit diverses fonctions d'une grande importance .

Autoriser la capture d'informations olfactives

En tant que noyau principal du traitement de l'information olfactive, le bulbe olfactif permet à l'être humain de percevoir l'information provenant de l'odorat. Il a été prouvé que la présence de dommages ou l'élimination de l'un des deux bulbes provoque une anosmie ou un manque de perception olfactive.

Distinction entre les odeurs

Le bulbe olfactif participe dans une large mesure à la capacité de distinguer différents types d’odeurs. La différenciation est due notamment aux différents modèles d’activation des neurones responsables de la perception olfactive, qui ils réagissent différemment selon l'odeur en question .

Spécifiquement, il est supposé que ce qui produit cette réaction est la forme, la structure et la charge électrique des particules qui atteignent le système olfactif.

Inhibition latérale de l'information olfactive

L'inhibition latérale est comprise comme le processus par lequel nous sommes capables de ne pas prêter attention à certaines stimulations afin de nous concentrer sur une stimulation spécifique. Un exemple de ceci serait de pouvoir sentir le parfum de l'être aimé au milieu d'une foule.

Bien qu’une partie de ce processus soit due aux zones cérébrales qui régulent l’attention, le bulbe olfactif a une participation lorsque les interneurones du bulbe agissent inhiber l'effet que l'absorption de certains les odeurs seraient normalement. C'est pourquoi après un certain temps en présence d'une certaine odeur, votre perception diminue considérablement.

Participer au traitement émotionnel de l'information

La connexion du bulbe olfactif avec l'amygdale, directe et indirecte par le cortex olfactif primaire ou piriforme, permet de lier les émotions à des stimuli olfactifs . Par exemple, la sensation de dégoût ou de répulsion envers une odeur que nous considérons comme négative.

D'autre part, le circuit nerveux de l'odorat, contrairement à celui de la vue et de l'ouïe, ne passe pas d'abord par le thalamus et a donc une connexion plus directe avec le système limbique. Ceci, entre autres choses, fait que les odeurs sont particulièrement puissantes au moment de nous faire évoquer des souvenirs , bien que ce soient des expériences qui se sont passées il y a de nombreuses années et que nous pensions être oubliées

Permet la reconnaissance des odeurs

Dans ce cas, en raison de sa connexion avec l'hippocampe, le bulbe olfactif participe au processus d'apprentissage pour identifier les odeurs précédemment perçues, qui à leur tour vous permet de les associer à des situations ou des stimuli spécifiques . C'est pourquoi nous pouvons associer un arôme à une personne ou à un stimulus spécifique.

Cela aide à capturer la saveur

Le fait que l'odeur et le goût soient étroitement liés et même liés est bien connu. Le fait que nous ayons certaines odeurs peut nous faire sentir une saveur améliorée ou différente de ce que nous attribuons normalement à un repas. C'est pourquoi il y a des arômes alimentaires .

Puisqu'il permet de traiter des informations olfactives, le bulbe olfactif est donc pertinent pour la perception du goût. En fait, les personnes souffrant d'anosmie ont tendance à être incapables de capturer certaines saveurs.

Aide à réguler le comportement sexuel

Bien que de nombreuses études aient mis en doute son existence chez l'homme, il existe chez un grand nombre d'animaux une structure appelée bulbe olfactif accessoire. Cette structure est spécialisée dans la capture d'un certain type de substances: les phéromones.

A travers eux, les êtres de la même espèce sont capables de se transmettre certains types d'informations, modifiant ainsi le comportement de leurs congénères. L’un des exemples les plus connus est le rôle des phéromones dans le contrôle du comportement sexuel , participant à des aspects tels que l’attraction. Androestadienona et estratetraenol sont parmi les plus connus, influençant à la fois dans la réponse sexuelle humaine.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carlson, N.R. (1998). Physiologie du comportement. Madrid: Pearson. pp: 262-267
  • Goldstein, E.B. (2006). Sensation et perception 6ème édition. Débat Madrid
  • Scott, J.W .; Wellis, D.P .; Riggott, M.J. & Buonviso, N. (1993). Organisation fonctionnelle du bulbe olfactif principal. Microsc. Tech.24 (2): 142-56.

Campagne 2018 - 30 Millions d'Amis (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes