yes, therapy helps!
Online training: 7 advantages and 7 disadvantages of learning online

Online training: 7 advantages and 7 disadvantages of learning online

June 24, 2021

Online training has been gaining ground in the last decade in a considerable way , since for many individuals distance learning is useful due to its multiple advantages. Different private centers, public institutions or universities have joined this type of training, aware that this teaching model arouses great interest among students and provides added value with respect to traditional training.

The lack of time to attend face-to-face classes or the impossibility of combining studies with working hours can be a barrier to further training, however, distance learning can help overcome this "handicap", enabling a new reality for many students .


In today's article, we will review the advantages and disadvantages of this training model.

Recommended article: "The 25 best free online courses of Psychology (2016)"

Advantages and disadvantages of distance education

But, What pros and cons does distance learning have? Why should we choose this training model over traditional teaching? Next we explain it to you.

Positive points of online teaching

Let's start with the Strengths of online education .

1. Time flexibility

Although some online students must connect to their computers or tablets at specific times to communicate with the tutor, perform evaluations or to view video conferences, this is not usual.


Online students can usually view the course material 24 hours a day . Online training offers an excellent opportunity to study at any time of the day, even at unconventional times (for example, at dawn).

2. Ease of access without displacement

And it is that, without a doubt, one of the options by which to opt for online training has to do with not having to attend the study centers and be able to do the work from home. Therefore, it supposes a saving in transport and, in addition, it is ideal for the days of rain and cold in which it does not feel like leaving home.

3. Wide range of studies

Online training is the order of the day. Companies use it to train their employees, and many post-university students enroll in specialized courses, postgraduate courses and even official master's degrees. This type of training is ideal for those who are working and want to continue acquiring knowledge in their specialty .


Recommended article: "20 online courses on Clinical Psychology (free)"

4. Permanent content update

Online training allows you to update the contents at any time of the day , as well as send jobs at any time. It is an ideal tool for both students and teachers.

5. Self-direction and contact in real time

So, is a tool that allows fluent communication and helps to be connected with the teaching staff immediately. In addition, students can decide what they study and how they study, since the material is hung to review it according to the needs of each one.

6. It is usually cheaper

Since online training allows the enrollment of more students and does not involve an expense in facilities, It is usually cheaper than face-to-face training . If you opt for online training, your pocket will notice it for good.

Maybe you're interested: "The 20 best Masters in Psychology"

7. It is independent of the location

Possibly the most important advantage of online training is that facilitates access to the study from anywhere in the world . For example, an Argentine student can study a postgraduate degree at the University of Barcelona. Something unthinkable only a couple of decades ago.

Disadvantages of online training

As everything in this life, Online education also has less positive things . Which are?

1. Requires self-motivation and self-discipline

Online training has many advantages as we have seen, but it requires a high degree of motivation and self-discipline. It may be more difficult for some individuals to follow the footsteps of the whole course in this modality. In contrast, other people enjoy this type of study without problems.

Recommended article: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

2. It can be impersonal (limited social interaction)

Not attending class can be a great advantage in many cases, But online training can become impersonal and can be a limitation for social interaction. On the other hand, traditional training makes it possible to interact with teachers and classmates in person, which is beneficial in many cases.

3. Technical level failures

Technological advances have helped many students connect from anywhere: the cafeteria, the library or the train. But, sometimes, it is possible that technological means may fail, making it difficult to perform tasks . For example, when you run out of a computer because it has broken down.

4. Technological requirements

Therefore, lonline training requires having a computer, internet connection and, in many cases, updated software . Unfortunately. Not all students have these requirements, which can be a problem for their educational experience. In addition, this may involve an additional economic cost in some situations.

5. Difficulty to practice

Online training can be a problem for practical tasks , especially for those that require group work. For example, if a student studies a sports training course, they may not be able to access their knowledge.

6. Difficulties in evaluations

Online training can make it difficult for teachers to control evaluations , so many choose to conduct periodic assessments in person. This is especially important for formal education.

We recommend: "5 tricks to pass a test type test (no need to know the lesson)"

7. Social stigma

Even though online teaching has gained credibility in recent years, Some people tend to underestimate this training model .

There is a mistaken belief that online education is easier than face-to-face education, and some entrepreneurs may not take this type of course or diploma seriously. However, there are more and more educational centers (including prestigious universities) that offer quality online education.


Six Advantages of Online Learning (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Formation en ligne: 7 avantages et 7 inconvénients de l'apprentissage en ligne

Formation en ligne: 7 avantages et 7 inconvénients de l'apprentissage en ligne

Septembre 5, 2022

La formation en ligne a considérablement progressé au cours de la dernière décennie , car pour de nombreuses personnes, l’apprentissage à distance est utile en raison de ses multiples avantages. Différents centres privés, institutions publiques ou universités ont rejoint ce type de formation, conscients que ce modèle d'enseignement suscite un vif intérêt chez les étudiants et apporte une valeur ajoutée à la formation traditionnelle.

Le manque de temps pour assister aux cours en face-à-face ou l'impossibilité de combiner les études avec les heures de travail peut constituer un obstacle à la poursuite de la formation. L’apprentissage à distance peut aider à surmonter ce "handicap", permettant ainsi à de nombreux étudiants .


Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, nous passerons en revue les avantages et les inconvénients de ce modèle de formation.

Article recommandé: "Les 25 meilleurs cours gratuits en ligne de psychologie (2016)"

Avantages et inconvénients de l'enseignement à distance

Mais Quels sont les avantages et les inconvénients de l'apprentissage à distance? Pourquoi devrions-nous choisir ce modèle de formation par rapport à l'enseignement traditionnel? Ensuite, nous vous l'expliquons.

Points positifs de l'enseignement en ligne

Commençons par le Forces de l'éducation en ligne .

1. Flexibilité temporelle

Bien que certains étudiants en ligne doivent se connecter à leur ordinateur ou à leur tablette à des heures précises pour communiquer avec le tuteur, effectuer des évaluations ou visionner des vidéoconférences, ce n'est pas habituel.


Les étudiants en ligne peuvent généralement consulter le matériel de cours 24 heures par jour. . La formation en ligne offre une excellente occasion d’étudier à tout moment de la journée, même à des moments peu conventionnels (par exemple, à l’aube).

2. Facilité d'accès sans déplacement

Et c'est que, sans aucun doute, l'une des options permettant de choisir une formation en ligne consiste à ne pas avoir à fréquenter les centres d'étude et être capable de faire le travail de la maison. Par conséquent, cela suppose une économie de transport et, de plus, il est idéal pour les jours de pluie et de froid dans lesquels il n’a pas l’impression de quitter sa maison.

3. Large gamme d'études

La formation en ligne est à l'ordre du jour. Les entreprises l'utilisent pour former leurs employés et de nombreux étudiants post-universitaires s'inscrivent dans des cours spécialisés, des cours de troisième cycle et même des diplômes de maîtrise. Ce type de formation est idéal pour ceux qui travaillent et veulent continuer à acquérir des connaissances dans leur spécialité .


Article recommandé: "20 cours en ligne de psychologie clinique (gratuits)"

4. Mise à jour permanente du contenu

La formation en ligne vous permet de mettre à jour le contenu à tout moment de la journée. , ainsi que d’envoyer des emplois à tout moment. C'est un outil idéal pour les étudiants et les enseignants.

5. Auto-direction et contact en temps réel

Pourtant, est un outil qui permet une communication fluide et permet de se connecter avec le personnel enseignant immédiatement. En outre, les étudiants peuvent décider de ce qu’ils étudient et de la façon dont ils étudient, car le matériel est suspendu pour pouvoir le réviser en fonction des besoins de chacun.

6. C'est généralement moins cher

Étant donné que la formation en ligne permet d’inscrire plus d’étudiants et n’entraîne aucune dépense en installations, C'est généralement moins cher que la formation en face à face . Si vous optez pour une formation en ligne, votre poche le remarquera pour de bon.

Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 20 meilleurs masters en psychologie"

7. Il est indépendant de l'emplacement

L’avantage le plus important de la formation en ligne est peut-être que facilite l'accès à l'étude de n'importe où dans le monde . Par exemple, un étudiant argentin peut étudier un diplôme de troisième cycle à l'Université de Barcelone. Quelque chose d'impensable il y a seulement deux décennies.

Inconvénients de la formation en ligne

J'aime tout dans cette vie, L'éducation en ligne a aussi des choses moins positives . Quels sont?

1. Nécessite une motivation personnelle et une discipline personnelle

Comme nous l'avons vu, la formation en ligne présente de nombreux avantages, mais elle nécessite un degré élevé de motivation et d'autodiscipline. Il peut être plus difficile pour certaines personnes de suivre les traces de l’ensemble du parcours dans cette modalité. En revanche, d’autres personnes apprécient ce type d’étude sans problèmes.

Article recommandé: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

2. Il peut être impersonnel (interaction sociale limitée)

Ne pas assister aux cours peut être un grand avantage dans de nombreux cas, Mais la formation en ligne peut devenir impersonnelle et limiter les interactions sociales. D'autre part, la formation traditionnelle permet d'interagir avec les enseignants et les camarades de classe en personne, ce qui est bénéfique dans de nombreux cas.

3. Echecs techniques

Les progrès technologiques ont aidé de nombreux étudiants à se connecter de n'importe où: à la cafétéria, à la bibliothèque ou au train. Mais, parfois, il est possible que les moyens technologiques échouent, rendant difficile l'exécution de tâches . Par exemple, lorsque vous êtes à court d'un ordinateur parce qu'il est en panne.

4. Exigences technologiques

Par conséquent, lla formation en ligne nécessite un ordinateur, une connexion Internet et, dans de nombreux cas, des logiciels mis à jour . Malheureusement. Tous les étudiants ne répondent pas à ces exigences, ce qui peut poser un problème pour leur expérience éducative. En outre, cela peut entraîner un coût économique supplémentaire dans certaines situations.

5. Difficulté à pratiquer

La formation en ligne peut être un problème pour des tâches pratiques , en particulier pour ceux qui nécessitent un travail de groupe. Par exemple, si un étudiant suit un cours de formation sportive, il peut ne pas être en mesure d'accéder à ses connaissances.

6. Difficultés d'évaluation

Formation en ligne peut rendre difficile le contrôle des évaluations par les enseignants , beaucoup choisissent de procéder à des évaluations périodiques en personne. Ceci est particulièrement important pour l'éducation formelle.

Nous recommandons: "5 astuces pour réussir un test de type test (inutile de connaître la leçon)"

7. Stigmatisation sociale

Même si l’enseignement en ligne a gagné en crédibilité ces dernières années, Certaines personnes ont tendance à sous-estimer ce modèle de formation .

On croit à tort que l'éducation en ligne est plus facile que l'éducation en face-à-face et que certains entrepreneurs ne prennent pas ce type de cours ou de diplôme au sérieux. Cependant, de plus en plus de centres éducatifs (y compris des universités prestigieuses) offrent un enseignement en ligne de qualité.


Quels sont les avantages de l'enseignement à distance - Culture et Formation (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes