yes, therapy helps!
Optic nerve: parts, path and related diseases

Optic nerve: parts, path and related diseases

October 5, 2022

Sight is one of our most essential senses, probably being the most developed exteroceptive sense in the human being. Not surprisingly, we devote a large part of our brain to the processing of visual information, being able to perceive a wide variety of parameters such as color, shape, depth or brightness with a sharpness and precision notorious.

But to be able to process all that information, and in fact to be able to see in general, it is first necessary that the information that the eyes capture reaches the relevant brain nuclei. Y this would not be possible without the existence of the optic nerve , about which we are going to talk next.


  • Related article: "The 11 parts of the eye and its functions"

Optic nerve: basic description and location

We give the name optic nerve to a tract or set of nerve fibers that go from the eye to the central nervous system and whose presence allows vision. This tract is part of the cranial nerves, specifically the pair II, and consists of more than a million neurons (approximately an estimated one and a half million) of sensory type, not transmitting information to the eye but only receiving it from him.

This nerve can be located in a space between the back of the eyeball, taking one of its ends in the ganglion cells of the retina, on the one hand, and the optic chiasm, on the other . This small section, between 4 and 5 cm in length, is of vital importance and without it we could not be able to see.


From the chiasm most of the fibers of the optic nerves of both eyes will decuss (that is, the left eye will go to the right hemisphere and vice versa), forming a tract that will go to the lateral geniculate nucleus and from there to different nuclei of the cerebral cortex.

The optic nerve has the peculiarity that initially the fibers that will shape it (the neurons that connect with the ganglion cells) are not myelinated until they meet in the so-called optic disc or blind spot, an area where there are neither cones nor rods and from which the neurons will form the optic nerve itself, already myelinated in order to allow a rapid and efficient transmission of visual information.

So, the optic nerve, which It is mainly formed by myelinated axons , it is mainly white matter. Although it originates outside the skull (in the retina), once entered into this and especially the bony part, the optic nerve is covered and protected by the meninges.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Cranial nerves: the 12 nerves that come out of the brain"

What is it for?

The main function of the optic nerve, as you can guess, is to transmit the visual information that we capture through the photoreceptors of the retina to the rest of the brain in order to process and interpret it.

First the photoreceptor captures the outside information , generating a series of electrochemical reactions that in turn will transform the data into bioelectric impulses that will activate the ganglion cells of the retina, which in turn will travel to the blind spot where the nerve fibers join to form the optic nerve, the which will proceed to send the message.

Interestingly, despite being perhaps the nerve that has greater importance when it comes to seeing its location in the retina is what causes the existence of our blind spot.

Parts of the optic nerve

Although the optic nerve is relatively small in its journey to the optic chiasm, the truth is that you can observe different segments in your journey between the eye and the aforementioned chiasma . Among them, the following stand out.

1. Intraocular segment

This first segment of the optic nerve is the one that still occurs inside the eye, in the section that It goes from the ganglion cells to the blind point and then passes through the lamina or cribriform area , which crosses the sclera and the choroid.

2. Intraorbital segment

It is the part of the optic nerve that goes from the exit of the eye to its exit from the eye orbits. In this part the nerve it goes around the muscles that control the eye and the fat after her.

3. Intra-acicular segment

In this third segment it is in which the optic nerve reaches the skull at the end, next to the ophthalmic artery. For this the nerve enter through a hole called optic foramen . This area is one of the most sensitive and easy to injure.

4. Intracranial segment

The last segment is the intracranial, in which the optic nerve is already completely inside the skull and travel to the optic chiasm. This is where he receives the protection of the meninges.

Pathologies and problems associated with your injury

The optic nerve is one of the most important of our visual and is that without it, vision as such would not be possible. There are many possible conditions that can occur in this nerve and cause us either blindness or alterations and difficulties in the vision.

Among them we can find the atrophy of the optic nerve derived from for example a neuropathy (for example derived from metabolic problems such as diabetes), intoxication, meningitis (remember that the meninges cover this nerve in some portions, so in case of inflammation they could compress and damage it), strokes or tumors that generate pressure or destroy that nerve.

Another possibility is that the nerve itself is inflamed, a condition called optic neuritis that is usually linked to infections and autoimmune problems. There may also be accumulations of substances that form the so-called harsh, especially in the head of the optic nerve (the area in which it starts in the blind spot).

Finally, and probably the most well-known and frequent problem that can generate blindness linked to the optic nerve, is glaucoma . This disease is derived from a progressive increase in intraocular pressure, which progressively damages the nerve.

Bibliographic references:

  • Miller, N.R. & Newman. N.J. (eds) (2005) .. Walsh and Hoyt's clinical neuro-opthalmology. 6th edition. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 385-430.
  • Sánchez, F. (2001). The optic nerve and vision disorders. Integral Medicine, 38 (9): 377-412. Elsevier

Visual Pathway and Lesions (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Nerf optique: parties, chemin et maladies associées

Nerf optique: parties, chemin et maladies associées

Avril 15, 2021

La vue est l’un de nos sens les plus essentiels, probablement le sens le plus développé en ce qui concerne l’exteroceptivité chez l’être humain. Sans surprise, nous consacrons une grande partie de notre cerveau au traitement des informations visuelles, capables de percevoir une grande variété de paramètres tels que la couleur, la forme, la profondeur ou la luminosité avec une netteté et une précision notoires.

Mais pour pouvoir traiter toutes ces informations, et en fait pour pouvoir voir de manière générale, il est d'abord nécessaire que les informations capturées par les yeux atteignent les noyaux cérébraux pertinents. Y cela ne serait pas possible sans l'existence du nerf optique , dont nous allons parler ensuite.


  • Article connexe: "Les onze parties de l'œil et ses fonctions"

Nerf optique: description de base et emplacement

Nous donnons le nom de nerf optique à un tract ou à un ensemble de fibres nerveuses qui vont de l’œil au système nerveux central et dont la présence permet la vision. Ce tract fait partie des nerfs crâniens, en particulier du couple II, et comprend plus d'un million de neurones (environ un million et demi) de type sensoriel, ne transmettant pas les informations à l'œil, mais les recevant uniquement.

Ce nerf peut être situé dans un espace situé entre l’arrière du globe oculaire, en prenant l'une de ses extrémités dans les cellules ganglionnaires de la rétine, d'une part, et dans le chiasma optique, de l'autre . Cette petite section, d’une longueur de 4 à 5 cm, est d’une importance vitale et sans elle, nous ne pourrions pas la voir.


Du chiasme, la plupart des fibres des nerfs optiques des deux yeux vont se décoller (c’est-à-dire que l’œil gauche ira dans l’hémisphère droit et vice-versa), formant un tract qui ira au noyau géniculé latéral et de là à différents noyaux. du cortex cérébral.

Le nerf optique a la particularité que, initialement, les fibres qui le façonneront (les neurones qui se connectent aux cellules ganglionnaires) ne sont pas myélinisées tant qu'elles ne se rencontrent pas dans le disque optique ou dans l'angle mort, une zone où il n'y a ni cône ni bâtonnets et à partir desquels les neurones formeront le nerf optique lui-même, déjà myélinisé afin de permettre une transmission rapide et efficace des informations visuelles.

Donc, le nerf optique, qui Il est principalement formé d'axones myélinisés , il s’agit principalement de matière blanche. Bien qu’il ait son origine à l’extérieur du crâne (dans la rétine), une fois entré dans cette région et en particulier dans la partie osseuse, le nerf optique est recouvert et protégé par les méninges.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Nerfs crâniens: les 12 nerfs qui sortent du cerveau"

C'est pour quoi?

Comme vous pouvez le deviner, la fonction principale du nerf optique est de transmettre les informations visuelles que nous capturons via les photorécepteurs de la rétine au reste du cerveau afin de les traiter et de les interpréter.

Le photorécepteur saisit d'abord les informations extérieures , générant une série de réactions électrochimiques qui transformeront les données en impulsions bioélectriques qui activeront les cellules ganglionnaires de la rétine, qui se rendront ensuite à l’angle mort où les fibres nerveuses se joignent pour former le nerf optique, qui procédera à l'envoi du message.

Fait intéressant, bien qu’il s’agisse peut-être du nerf qui a la plus grande importance quand il s’agit de voir son emplacement dans la rétine, c’est ce qui cause l’existence de notre angle mort.

Parties du nerf optique

Bien que le nerf optique soit relativement petit dans son parcours vers le chiasma optique, la vérité est que vous pouvez observer différents segments de votre voyage entre l'œil et le chiasma susmentionné . Parmi eux, les suivants se démarquent.

1. segment intraoculaire

Ce premier segment du nerf optique est celui qui se trouve encore à l’intérieur de l’œil, dans la section Il va des cellules ganglionnaires au point aveugle, puis traverse la lame ou la zone criblée , qui traverse la sclérotique et la choroïde.

2. Segment intra-orbitaire

C'est la partie du nerf optique qui va de la sortie de l'œil à sa sortie des orbites de l'œil. Dans cette partie le nerf il fait le tour des muscles qui contrôlent l'oeil et la graisse après elle.

3. Segment intra-aciculaire

Dans ce troisième segment, le nerf optique atteint le crâne à la fin, à côté de l'artère ophtalmique. Pour cela le nerf entrer par un trou appelé foramen optique . Cette zone est l’une des plus sensibles et des plus faciles à blesser.

4. Segment intracrânien

Le dernier segment est l’intracrânien, dans lequel le nerf optique est déjà complètement à l'intérieur du crâne et se rendre au chiasma optique. C'est là qu'il reçoit la protection des méninges.

Pathologies et problèmes liés à votre blessure

Le nerf optique est l’un des éléments visuels les plus importants. Sans lui, la vision en tant que telle ne serait pas possible. Il existe de nombreuses conditions possibles qui peuvent survenir dans ce nerf et nous causer soit la cécité ou des altérations et des difficultés dans la vision.

Parmi eux, on peut trouver l’atrophie du nerf optique dérivée par exemple d’une neuropathie (dérivée de problèmes métaboliques tels que le diabète), d’intoxication, de méningite ils pourraient le comprimer et l’endommager), coups ou tumeurs qui génèrent une pression ou détruisent ce nerf.

Une autre possibilité est que le nerf lui-même soit enflammé, une affection appelée névrite optique généralement liée aux infections et aux problèmes auto-immuns. Il peut également y avoir des accumulations de substances qui forment ce qu'on appelle des substances dures, en particulier dans la tête du nerf optique (la zone dans laquelle il commence dans l'angle mort).

Enfin, le problème le plus connu et le plus fréquent pouvant générer la cécité liée au nerf optique est probablement glaucome . Cette maladie découle d'une augmentation progressive de la pression intraoculaire, qui endommage progressivement le nerf.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Miller, N.R. & Newman. N.J. (eds) (2005) .. Neuro-opthalmologie clinique de Walsh et Hoyt. 6ème édition. Baltimore: Williams & Wilkins, 385-430.
  • Sánchez, F. (2001). Les troubles du nerf optique et de la vision. Integral Medicine, 38 (9): 377-412. Elsevier

C'est pas sorcier -CERVEAU 1 : LES SORCIERS SE PRENNENT LA TETE (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes