yes, therapy helps!
Othello syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Othello syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

June 25, 2022

The Othello syndrome, which is also called monosymptomatic jealousy delirium , receives its name by the drama of William Shakespeare "Othello, the Moor of Venice", where the character is making endless suspicions about the supposed infidelity of his partner to kill and fall into suicide.

This story describes how obsession and obstinacy dramatically destroys the ability to evaluate reality until it reaches an extreme in which other people are harmed. Next we will see the characteristics of this delusional disorder.

  • Related article: "Sick jealousy: 10 common signs of extremely jealous people"

Pathological jealousy

Steve Wood is a newly married man who has already reached his thirties. Every time he arrives home, he undergoes the same ritual. His wife, Debbie, awaits him on the sofa in the living room with the look of distrust and an electronic device in his hand. Without blinking or showing any sign of opposition, submit to the same process on a daily basis: his wife makes him go through a lie detector .


We are "the most jealous woman in the world," says Debbie Wood, who married Steve Wood just a year ago. This is only one of the many manifestations of Othello syndrome, a delusional disorder based on jealousy .

This disease is characterized by totally irrational behavior. What does this mean? That jealousy they go beyond the explanation or real reason .

The tests and the logic do not matter. The one affected by the Othello syndrome sees what he wants (or does not want, rather) to see. Usually the illusion causes him to detect patterns in the behavior of his partner that lead him to think about a change of habits on his part.


There are those who suffer because they feel cheated and can not prove it , since in the vast majority of cases they are irrational perceptions and totally out of context. The person who experiences Othello's syndrome assumes that he is the victim of a conspiracy and feels betrayed by his sentimental partner or other individuals that he somehow believes belong to him.

Symptoms of Othello syndrome

When we talk about Othello Syndrome, normally the patients who suffer from it speak "of the other", without having a defined face or clear characteristics. It is "a ghost", an indefinite shadow with which the illusion recreates itself over and over again without there being any kind of real clue or a clear source of information.

The manifestation of symptoms It can be triggered by small variations in daily life or habits: changing clothes from one drawer to another, buying a different brand of food or delaying a few minutes at the usual time of arrival. All this unleashes the delirious thoughts and jealousy begins to surface.


Unfortunately, Othello syndrome ends numerous times in gender violence or even homicide. So that, At the first signs it is convenient to deal with a professional .

How to recognize the Othello Syndrome?

Some aspects that characterize the Othello syndrome They are the following:

  • Incorporation of an imaginary third party in the relationship.
  • The subject does not know how to control his jealousy because he is not aware of his problem.
  • He is constantly alert and vigilant with his partner's habits.
  • Erroneous perception of the couple's daily events, related to jealousy. Always seek justification a situation of deception.
  • Impossibility to control impulses, thoughts, false perceptions that are self imposed.

Causes of this delirium

The Othello syndrome is a reality whose causes are a mixture between biology and cultural aspects that enhance the importance of possessive love and based on strong exclusivity . In fact, the pathological jealousy experienced by people with Othello syndrome fit very well with the role of the dominant person who watches over their sentimental partner and potential competitors.

However, as regards the genetic and biochemical causes present in the brain of those who live this kind of delusions, we still do not have much information about this phenomenon. There is little evidence on physiological reasons behind this disorder, but it is not exclusively a matter of behavior and habits internalized because of the habit, at least according to the evidence. According to the latest research, jealousy has an emotional component based on self-esteem.

On the other hand, curiously, this phenomenon also happens between different mammalian animals, where the word "self-esteem" ceases to have relevance.if we had to give a biological explanation to jealousy, it would probably be a consequence of what happens when the search for the preservation of the family or offspring is taken to the extreme, added to the fear of loss .

Treatment

Psychotherapy has to face the patient's behavior and help you locate reality beyond your false beliefs about your partner's infidelity. This process can be hampered when the patient has no awareness of their disease or accept the possibility of suffering from the syndrome.

In some specific cases, antipsychotic drugs can help recovery from impulse control. However, Othello syndrome is a very complex disease and personal therapy is needed more than the mere consumption of medications , which in any case must be consumed under medical indication and monitoring.

In addition, when dealing with extremely distrustful patients, the supervision of a family member is recommended for adherence to treatment, since they often do not carry it out properly or as the psychologist recommends them. Very few patients voluntarily come to consult or want to undergo treatment. The vast majority seek to rescue the damaged relationship with the couple.


What is Othello Syndrome? - Dr. Sulata Shenoy (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'Othello: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome d'Othello: causes, symptômes et traitement

Juin 29, 2022

Le syndrome d'Othello, également appelé délire de jalousie monosymptomatique , reçoit son nom du drame de William Shakespeare "Othello, le Maure de Venise", où le personnage soupçonne sans fin quant à la prétendue infidélité de son partenaire pour le meurtre et le suicide.

Cette histoire décrit comment l'obsession et l'obstination détruisent de manière dramatique l'aptitude à évaluer la réalité jusqu'à atteindre un niveau extrême où d'autres personnes sont blessées. Nous verrons ensuite les caractéristiques de ce trouble délirant.

  • Article connexe: "Jalousie malade: 10 signes courants de personnes extrêmement jalouses"

Jalousie pathologique

Steve Wood est un homme nouvellement marié qui a déjà atteint la trentaine. Chaque fois qu'il rentre chez lui, il subit le même rituel. Sa femme, Debbie, l'attend sur le canapé du salon, l'air méfiant et un appareil électronique à la main. Sans clignoter ni montrer aucun signe d'opposition, soumettez-vous quotidiennement au même processus: sa femme lui fait passer un détecteur de mensonge .


Nous sommes "la femme la plus jalouse du monde", a déclaré Debbie Wood, qui a épousé Steve Wood il y a à peine un an. Ce n’est que l’une des nombreuses manifestations du syndrome d’Othello, un trouble délirant basé sur la jalousie .

Cette maladie est caractérisée par un comportement totalement irrationnel. Qu'est-ce que ça veut dire? Cette jalousie ils vont au-delà de l'explication ou de la raison réelle .

Les tests et la logique importent peu. Celui qui est atteint du syndrome d'Othello voit ce qu'il veut (ou ne veut pas plutôt) voir. Habituellement, l’illusion le pousse à détecter des comportements dans le comportement de son partenaire qui l’amènent à penser à un changement d’habitude de sa part.


Il y a ceux qui souffrent parce qu'ils se sentent trompés et ne peuvent pas le prouver , dans la grande majorité des cas, il s’agit de perceptions irrationnelles et totalement hors contexte. La personne qui subit le syndrome d'Othello présume être la victime d'un complot et se sent trahie par son partenaire sentimental ou par d'autres personnes qu'il croit, en quelque sorte, lui appartenir.

Symptômes du syndrome d'Othello

Lorsque nous parlons du syndrome d'Othello, normalement, les patients qui en souffrent parlent "de l'autre", sans visage défini ni caractéristiques claires. C'est "un fantôme", une ombre indéfinie avec laquelle l'illusion se recrée encore et encore sans qu'il y ait un quelconque indice ou une source d'information claire.

La manifestation des symptômes Cela peut être provoqué par de petites variations de la vie quotidienne ou des habitudes: changer de vêtements d'un tiroir à l'autre, acheter une marque de nourriture différente ou retarder de quelques minutes l'heure habituelle d'arrivée. Tout cela libère les pensées délirantes et la jalousie commence à faire surface.


Malheureusement, le syndrome d'Othello se termine à plusieurs reprises par des violences sexuelles, voire des homicides. Donc, Aux premiers signes, il est commode de traiter avec un professionnel .

Comment reconnaître le syndrome d'Othello?

Quelques aspects qui caractérisent le syndrome d'Othello Ils sont les suivants:

  • Incorporation d'une tierce partie imaginaire dans la relation.
  • Le sujet ne sait pas contrôler sa jalousie car il n'est pas au courant de son problème.
  • Il est constamment alerte et vigilant avec les habitudes de son partenaire.
  • Perception erronée des événements quotidiens du couple, liée à la jalousie. Toujours chercher à justifier une situation de déception.
  • Impossibilité de contrôler les pulsions, les pensées, les fausses perceptions auto-imposées.

Causes de ce délire

Le syndrome d'Othello est une réalité dont les causes sont un mélange de biologie et de cultures qui renforcent l'importance de l'amour possessif et basé sur une forte exclusivité . En fait, la jalousie pathologique ressentie par les personnes atteintes du syndrome d'Othello correspond très bien au rôle de la personne dominante qui veille sur son partenaire sentimental et ses concurrents potentiels.

Cependant, en ce qui concerne les causes génétiques et biochimiques présentes dans le cerveau de ceux qui vivent ce genre de délires, nous ne disposons toujours pas de beaucoup d'informations sur ce phénomène. Il y a peu de preuves sur des raisons physiologiques derrière ce trouble, mais il ne s’agit pas exclusivement de comportements et d’habitudes intériorisées à cause de l’habitude, du moins selon les preuves. Selon les dernières recherches, la jalousie a une composante émotionnelle basée sur l'estime de soi.

Par ailleurs, curieusement, ce phénomène se produit également entre différents animaux mammifères, où le mot "estime de soi" cesse d’être pertinent.si nous devions donner une explication biologique à la jalousie, ce serait probablement une conséquence de ce qui se passe lorsque la recherche de la préservation de la famille ou de la progéniture est poussée à l'extrême, ajouté à la peur de perdre .

Traitement

La psychothérapie doit faire face au comportement du patient et vous aider à localiser la réalité au-delà de vos fausses croyances sur l'infidélité de votre partenaire. Ce processus peut être entravé lorsque le patient n’a pas conscience de sa maladie ou n’accepte pas la possibilité de souffrir du syndrome.

Dans certains cas spécifiques, les antipsychotiques peuvent aider à récupérer du contrôle des impulsions. Cependant, le syndrome d'Othello est une maladie très complexe et une thérapie personnelle est nécessaire plus que la simple consommation de médicaments , qui dans tous les cas doivent être consommés sous indication médicale et suivi.

De plus, lorsqu'il s'agit de patients extrêmement méfiants, la surveillance d'un membre de la famille est recommandée pour l'observance du traitement, car ils ne l'exécutent souvent pas correctement ou que le psychologue ne le recommande pas. Très peu de patients viennent volontairement consulter ou souhaitent suivre un traitement. La grande majorité cherche à sauver la relation endommagée avec le couple.


How stress affects your brain - Madhumita Murgia (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes