yes, therapy helps!
Overcome an infidelity: the 5 keys to achieve it

Overcome an infidelity: the 5 keys to achieve it

September 23, 2022

Many couples wonder if you can overcome an infidelity after knowing the involvement of a third person in their relationship, but the answer to this question depends basically on the reestablishment of the bond of trust between them and the degree of affectation of it, since in some cases it is permanently damaged and separation is the best solution for both.

The disappointment is the most frequent emotion that is linked to infidelity, because knowing we are deceived produces a host of negative feelings towards the couple that degrade consequently the image that we had until the time of him or her, and return to restore it is not always easy nor viable.


Infidelity under the magnifying glass of science

In fact, there are already different studies on the problem of infidelity, as we read in the article "What does science reveal about infidelity?".

The context in which infidelity has developed is as important as the infidelity itself, because it is not the same a specific slip on a specific occasion that a temporary alignment in which relationships have alternated with a third person behind the partner's back . The latter would imply a contact beyond a simple adventure in which there has been an exchange of feelings and, therefore, a premeditated action of the person involved towards deception that is much more difficult to forgive, and mutual trust is greatly affected.


An infidelity can be overcome: keys to achieve it

Occasional adventures are also not determinative to know if an infidelity can be overcome, although these cases imply a stimulus in the actions that is usually spontaneous and unreflective in which the consequences of the acts have not been measured. The deceived person can also lose trust in your partner If after what happened, she does not feel confident about whether that thoughtless action could happen again.

What are the important aspects when it comes to pulling forward when one has suffered an infidelity?

1. Sincerity

Sincerity on both sides is always the best way to face any problem that could happen in the couple, because in the case of infidelity, there are many conditions that can induce to seek an external stimulus in personal relationships, and although this is not proof to take such measures, the to be honest with the other could favor the work in common on the weak points of the relationship or that the other considers defective to correct them and reach a satisfactory agreement for both.


2. Leave time for reflection

Leave space to the other person It is also a necessary aspect to know if an infidelity can be forgiven, because the initial reaction to deception is usually one of rejection and rejection by the one who committed it, a response that is induced by the clash of realities represented by the contrast of the image of the couple (often idealized) that is projected in the subconscious, to which the conscious mind has to face when we see that things are not as we thought.

3. Know the reality

Expose the facts and know the details of the problem is part of the recovery process to know if you can overcome an infidelity and at this point, it is essential to be as sincere as possible on both sides avoiding entering into sordid details that do not contribute to reestablishing the bond of trust , like comparisons about the intimacy maintained between the couple and the third person in question.

4. Break (sincerely) with the third person

Break relationships with the third person it is necessary in all cases in which infidelity occurs , although when this has occurred occasionally it probably is not necessary because most of these situations tend to occur in relaxed environments such as parties and with strangers with whom it usually does not have contact.

5. Avoid environments that may create discomfort

If the third person involved is someone from the circle close to the couple, It may be necessary to introduce some modifications of the routine in common such as a change of friends or work, in order to avoid tense situations that lead to remembering what happened to prevent turning a page within a vicious circle of guilt and blame.

Start from scratch

Overcoming an infidelity is, in part, know how to refound the relationship on the basis of trust . Therefore, once the couple has exposed the situation and debated widely on the issue leaving aside initial resentment, it is necessary to make clear that if a second chance is given, it is starting from scratch through a commitment assumed by both parties, which It implies that the person who has been unfaithful is consistent with the opportunity that is being offered and does not make the same mistake again.

But the other part also must make the effort to continue without looking back , avoiding at all costs to mention what happened and fall into accusations or reproaches, because one of the main problems that couples often face after having lived this type of situation is the classic "I forgive but I do not forget".

This can induce one of the parties to permanently remember what happened by treating their partner as a "revenge". being able to fall into psychological abuse and that the affected person usually accepts because he thinks he deserves it, producing an exchange of roles in which the "victim" becomes a victimizer, possibly because they missed one of the previous points or did not reinforce themselves as they should, although in the cases those involved are unable to establish the zero point of departure as anchor, separation would be an option to contemplate so as not to prolong the suffering.


Surviving Infidelity: 5 Keys to Surviving the Marital Affair (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Surmonter une infidélité: les 5 clés pour y parvenir

Surmonter une infidélité: les 5 clés pour y parvenir

Juin 25, 2019

Beaucoup de couples se demandent si vous pouvez surmonter une infidélité après avoir connu l'implication d'une tierce personne dans leur relation, mais la réponse à cette question dépend essentiellement du rétablissement du lien de confiance qui les unit et de son degré d'affectation, car dans certains cas, elle est endommagée de façon permanente et la séparation est la meilleure solution pour les deux.

Le déception C’est l’émotion la plus fréquente liée à l’infidélité, car savoir que nous sommes trompés engendre une foule de sentiments négatifs à l’égard du couple qui dégradent par conséquent l’image que nous avions jusqu’à son époque et que nous retrouvons pour la restaurer n’est pas toujours facile ni viable.


Infidélité à la loupe de la science

En fait, il existe déjà différentes études sur le problème de l'infidélité, comme on peut le lire dans l'article "Que révèle la science sur l'infidélité?".

Le contexte dans lequel l'infidélité s'est développée est aussi important que l'infidélité elle-même, car il ne s'agit pas d'un glissement spécifique à une occasion spécifique d'un alignement temporaire dans lequel les relations ont alterné avec une troisième personne dans le dos du partenaire. . Ce dernier impliquerait un contact au-delà d'une simple aventure dans lequel il y a eu un échange de sentiments et, par conséquent, une action préméditée de la personne impliquée vers la tromperie qui est beaucoup plus difficile à pardonner, et la confiance mutuelle est grandement affectée.


Une infidélité peut être surmontée: clés pour y parvenir

Les aventures occasionnelles ne sont pas non plus déterminantes pour savoir si une infidélité peut être surmontée, bien que ces cas impliquent un stimulus dans les actions qui est généralement spontané et non réfléchi, dans lequel les conséquences des actes n'ont pas été mesurées. La personne trompée peut aussi perdre confiance en votre partenaire Si, après ce qui s’est passé, elle n’est pas convaincue que cette action irréfléchie pourrait se reproduire.

Quels sont les aspects importants pour avancer quand on a subi une infidélité?

1. sincérité

La sincérité des deux côtés est toujours le meilleur moyen de faire face à tout problème susceptible de survenir dans le couple, car en cas d'infidélité, de nombreuses conditions peuvent inciter à rechercher un stimulus extérieur dans les relations personnelles, et ce n'est pas le cas. preuve de prendre de telles mesures, le être honnête avec l'autre pourrait favoriser le travail en commun sur les points faibles de la relation ou que l'autre juge défectueux pour les corriger et parvenir à un accord satisfaisant pour les deux.


2. Laisser le temps à la réflexion

Laisser de l'espace à l'autre personne Il est également nécessaire de savoir si une infidélité peut être pardonnée, car la réaction initiale à la duperie consiste généralement à rejeter et à rejeter celui qui l’a commise, réaction induite par le choc des réalités représenté par le contraste de l’image de marque. le couple (souvent idéalisé) projeté dans le subconscient, auquel l'esprit conscient doit faire face lorsque nous constatons que les choses ne sont pas comme nous le pensions.

3. Connaître la réalité

Exposer les faits et connaître les détails du problème fait partie du processus de recouvrement pour savoir si vous pouvez surmonter une infidélité et, à ce stade, il est essentiel d'être aussi sincère que possible des deux côtés. éviter d'entrer dans des détails sordides qui ne contribuent pas à rétablir le lien de confiance , comme des comparaisons sur l’intimité entretenue entre le couple et la troisième personne en question.

4. Pause (sincèrement) avec la troisième personne

Rompre les relations avec la troisième personne il est nécessaire dans tous les cas d'infidélité , bien que cela se produise parfois, cela n’est probablement pas nécessaire car la plupart de ces situations ont tendance à se produire dans des environnements détendus tels que des fêtes et avec des étrangers avec lesquels il n’est généralement pas en contact.

5. Évitez les environnements susceptibles de créer une gêne

Si la troisième personne impliquée est une personne du cercle proche du couple, Il peut être nécessaire d’apporter quelques modifications de la routine en commun tels que le changement d'amis ou de travail, afin d'éviter les situations tendues qui amènent à se souvenir de ce qui s'est passé pour éviter de tourner une page dans un cercle vicieux de culpabilité et de blâme.

Partir de rien

Surmonter une infidélité est, en partie, savoir refonder la relation sur la base de la confiance . Par conséquent, une fois que le couple a exposé la situation et largement débattu sur la question, en laissant de côté le ressentiment initial, il est nécessaire de préciser que si une deuxième chance est donnée, elle commence à partir de zéro par un engagement pris par les deux Cela implique que la personne qui a été infidèle est compatible avec la possibilité qui se présente et ne commet plus la même erreur.

Mais l'autre partie aussi doit faire l'effort de continuer sans regarder en arrière , évitant à tout prix de mentionner ce qui s’est passé et de tomber dans des accusations ou des reproches, car l’un des principaux problèmes que rencontrent souvent les couples après avoir vécu ce type de situation est le classique "je pardonne mais je n’oublie pas".

Cela peut inciter l’une des parties à se souvenir en permanence de ce qui s’est passé en traitant leur partenaire comme une "vengeance". être capable de tomber dans l'abus psychologique et que la personne touchée accepte généralement parce qu’elle pense la mériter, en produisant un échange de rôles dans lequel la "victime" devient un agresseur, peut-être parce qu’elle a manqué l’un des points précédents ou ne s’est pas renforcée comme il se doit, bien que les personnes impliquées étant incapables d'établir le point de départ zéro comme ancre, une séparation serait une option à envisager pour ne pas prolonger les souffrances.


Comment reconstruire son couple après une infidélité ? (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes