yes, therapy helps!
Pain in the left part of the stomach: possible causes and what to do

Pain in the left part of the stomach: possible causes and what to do

July 12, 2024

Health can be affected by a large number of variables that can enhance and promote our well-being to generate discomfort that indicates the presence of some alteration of greater or lesser severity.

An example of this is the appearance of pain or discomfort at the gastrointestinal level. Although it has mostly obeyed some type of temporary digestive problem, the truth is that sometimes it may be indicating something more serious.

Also, sometimes it is also possible that these discomforts or pains do not occur in a specific part and not at a general level, such as on the side. Why can pain appear in the left part of the stomach? We are going to see some variables that we have to take into account and some possible reasons for their appearance.


  • Related article: "The 13 types of pain: classification and characteristics"

Abdominal pain in one side

Stomach pain is a relatively common phenomenon and usually usually due to discomfort caused by poor digestion or the presence of gas . This does not imply that this type of pain can sometimes be indicating some type of injury, inflammation or disease of greater relevance and even dangerous, especially when it has unusual characteristics.

When the pain is localized, as when we have pain in the left part of the stomach, this usually implies that the reason for the discomfort is found in one of the organs present in the same region or we are facing an irradiation of some different problem. If this type of pain occurs, it may be advisable to take into account some variables .


Variables to consider

In the first place and focusing on the pain we must assess the type of pain that we are feeling, if this is rather sharp or hurente (as if they were burning us). Also another factor of great relevance is its exact location and intensity level.

It is also advisable to keep in mind how long it is present, if it remains in a continuous way, it comes and goes or it occurs punctually in some situation . In this sense, the fact that it is present continuously or very frequently may be indicating that there is some type of problem. If there is no improvement after two days it is recommended to go to the doctor.

When this pain appears it is also relevant; must be taken into account if it has occurred after an important contusion, when eating or after it or if it appears suddenly without any background . For example, sudden onset is not usual and usually makes it advisable to consult a doctor.


Finally, we must bear in mind that if we are in the presence of some type of disease, it is usual for pain to be present accompanied by other symptoms (although sometimes they are not perceived by the person). Some symptoms that can appear along with the pain in the left side of the stomach and that make suspect a possible serious ailment is the presence of very high fever, bleeding in vomit or feces, excessive diarrhea, rapid loss of weight and / or energy, paleness or jaundice, inability to defecate or fainting.

Possible causes of pain in the left side of the stomach

There are many possible causes of pain appearing in the left side of the stomach, which can range from mild discomfort resulting from poor digestion to more serious conditions that generate intense and recurrent pain. Some examples are the following.

1. Accumulation of gases

The presence of an accumulation of gas at the gastrointestinal level is one of the most common causes of stomach and abdominal pain, both at a generalized level and on a particular side (in the left it is common for the accumulation to occur in the stomach or colon). ). It is common for pain to be punctual and swelling and frequent flatulence or belching , decreasing the discomfort after his expulsion.

  • Maybe you're interested: "I have many gases: 12 remedies to stop suffering them"

2. Gastritis

Gastritis is a common cause of pain in the left side of the stomach, in which the stomach suffers from an inflammation that can cause throbbing pain. bleeding, burning, vomiting and gas . It can be due to multiple causes, including some diseases. Some gastritis, especially those of the hemorrhagic type, can be fatal.

3. Irritable bowel

Another possible cause for pain in the left side of the abdomen is the presence of irritable bowel or some alteration in the colon. Specifically the pain will appear on the left side when the alteration affects the descending colon , and is usually sharp and relieved after evacuation of feces. They also tend to appear constipation, diarrhea or both.

4. Diverticulitis

Diverticulitis is an inflammation of the diverticula, small sac-like structures that line a large part of the digestive tract but are especially present in the colon.

The pain caused is usually intense, continuous and not improve over time. It usually appears together with high fevers, dizziness, weight loss and diarrhea or constipation . It can generate different serious complications or even with deadly potential, such as perforations and even peritonitis.

5. Splenomegaly and other spleen problems

Another of the organs that is on the left side of the body and whose affectation can cause great pain in said side is the spleen. This organ acts as a reservoir and control system for the amount of blood, in addition to participating in the immune and lymphatic system, and may be injured or affected by various diseases.

One of them is splenomegaly, in which this organ greatly increases its size. This increase can generate compression against other organs and this causes the birth of pain, heaviness, weight loss or fever. It may be necessary to remove it surgically.

In addition to the splenomegaly, alterations such as cysts and tumors can appear that can also generate pain. Another possible cause may be that the spleen is injured , it is perforated or it is broken by some traumatism, generating an internal hemorrhage of great danger for the life of the subject.

6. Pancreatitis

While most of the pancreas is located on the right side of the body, its tail goes into the left side of the abdomen. That is why if it becomes inflamed you can perceive pain in the left part of the abdomen and at the height of the stomach that is born or worsens just after eating, often extending later to other areas of the body and appearing next to fever, vomiting, unexplained weight loss and greasy stools .

Pancreatitis can have fatal repercussions, so it is essential to go to the hospital as soon as possible.

7. Stones in the kidney and other kidney problems

On the left side of the abdomen we can also find one of the kidneys, which can sometimes generate a type of pain perceived in the left side of the stomach or in its vicinity. This happens especially when there are kidney stones or urinary infections .

In addition to pain, it is common for difficulties or excesses in urination to appear.

8. Stomach or inguinal hernia

Another possible cause of pain on the left side of the stomach is the presence of a hernia, or protrusion of part of the stomach into another area. This is the case of the hiatus hernia, in which a part of the stomach comes out through the diaphragm hollow towards the chest .

In addition to this other hernia whose associated pain can radiate to the stomach area is the presence of a hernia at the inguinal level.

9. Ovarian cysts and menstrual problems

In the case of women, it is also possible that pains appear on the left side due to the presence of some type of cyst (be it a single or in cases of polycystic ovaries) in the corresponding ovary. In these cases tend to appear in addition to pain also alterations at the menstrual level, fatigue and dizziness .

In addition to these cysts, it is also relatively common that pain associated with menstrual cramps or other alterations in the reproductive system may appear.

Bibliographic references:

  • Longmore, M., Wilkinson, I., Baldwin, A. and Wallin, E. (2014). Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Mystery of Stomach Pain (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Douleur dans la partie gauche de l'estomac: causes possibles et quoi faire

Douleur dans la partie gauche de l'estomac: causes possibles et quoi faire

Décembre 4, 2022

La santé peut être affectée par un grand nombre de variables qui peuvent améliorer et promouvoir notre bien-être et générer un inconfort indiquant la présence d'une altération plus ou moins grave.

L’apparition d’une douleur ou d’un malaise au niveau gastro-intestinal en est un exemple. Bien qu’il ait surtout obéi à un type de problème digestif temporaire, la vérité est qu’il peut parfois indiquer quelque chose de plus grave.

De même, il est parfois aussi possible que ces inconforts ou douleurs ne surviennent pas dans une partie spécifique et non à un niveau général, comme par exemple sur le côté. Pourquoi la douleur peut-elle apparaître dans la partie gauche de l'estomac? Nous allons voir certaines variables que nous devons prendre en compte et quelques raisons possibles de leur apparition.


  • Article connexe: "Les 13 types de douleur: classification et caractéristiques"

Douleur abdominale d'un côté

La douleur à l’estomac est un phénomène relativement courant et habituellement généralement due à une gêne causée par une mauvaise digestion ou la présence de gaz . Cela ne signifie pas que ce type de douleur peut parfois indiquer un type de blessure, d'inflammation ou de maladie plus pertinente, voire dangereuse, en particulier lorsqu'il présente des caractéristiques inhabituelles.

Lorsque la douleur est localisée, comme lorsque nous avons des douleurs dans la partie gauche de l'estomac, cela implique généralement que la raison de l'inconfort se trouve dans l'un des organes présents dans la même région ou que nous sommes confrontés à une irradiation d'un problème différent. Si ce type de douleur survient, il peut être judicieux de prendre en compte certaines variables. .


Variables à prendre en compte

En premier lieu et en nous concentrant sur la douleur, nous devons évaluer le type de douleur que nous ressentons, si elle est plutôt aiguë ou hurente (comme si elles nous brûlaient). Un autre facteur d'une grande pertinence est son emplacement exact et son niveau d'intensité.

Il est également conseillé de garder à l'esprit combien de temps il est présent, s'il reste continuellement, il va et vient ou se produit ponctuellement dans certaines situations . En ce sens, le fait qu’il soit présent de manière continue ou très fréquente peut indiquer qu’il existe un type de problème. S'il n'y a pas d'amélioration après deux jours, il est recommandé de consulter un médecin.

Lorsque cette douleur apparaît, elle est également pertinente. doit être pris en compte s’il s’est produit après une contusion importante, en mangeant ou après, ou s'il apparaît soudainement sans arrière-plan . Par exemple, l'apparition soudaine n'est pas habituelle et conseille généralement de consulter un médecin.


Enfin, nous devons garder à l’esprit que si nous sommes en présence d'un certain type de maladie, il est courant que la douleur soit accompagnée d'autres symptômes (bien que parfois ils ne sont pas perçus par la personne). Certains symptômes pouvant apparaître avec la douleur dans le côté gauche de l'estomac et laissant entrevoir une possible maladie grave sont la présence d'une très forte fièvre, de saignements dans les vomissures ou les selles, une diarrhée excessive, une perte de poids et / ou d'énergie excessive pâleur ou jaunisse, incapacité à déféquer ou perte de connaissance.

Causes possibles de douleur dans le côté gauche de l'estomac

Il existe de nombreuses causes possibles de douleur apparaissant dans le côté gauche de l'estomac, allant d'un léger inconfort résultant d'une mauvaise digestion à des affections plus graves générant une douleur intense et récurrente. Quelques exemples sont les suivants.

1. Accumulation de gaz

La présence d'une accumulation de gaz au niveau gastro-intestinal est l'une des causes les plus courantes de douleur à l'estomac et au ventre, à la fois de manière généralisée et sur un côté particulier (à gauche, l'accumulation se produit couramment dans l'estomac ou le côlon). ). Il est courant que la douleur soit ponctuelle et gonflement et flatulences fréquentes ou éructations , diminuant l’inconfort après son expulsion.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "J'ai beaucoup de gaz: 12 remèdes pour ne plus les souffrir"

2. Gastrite

La gastrite est une cause fréquente de douleur dans le côté gauche de l'estomac, dans laquelle l'estomac souffre d'une inflammation pouvant causer une douleur lancinante. saignements, brûlures, vomissements et gaz . Cela peut être dû à des causes multiples, y compris à certaines maladies. Certaines gastrites, en particulier celles de type hémorragique, peuvent être fatales.

3. Intestin irritable

Une autre cause possible de douleur du côté gauche de l'abdomen est la présence d'un côlon irritable ou une altération du côlon. Plus précisément, la douleur apparaîtra sur le côté gauche quand l'altération affecte le côlon descendant , et est généralement forte et soulagée après l’évacuation des selles. Ils ont également tendance à présenter une constipation, une diarrhée ou les deux.

4. Diverticulite

La diverticulite est une inflammation des diverticules, petites structures en forme de sac qui recouvrent une grande partie du tube digestif, mais sont particulièrement présentes dans le côlon.

La douleur est généralement intense, continue et ne s’améliore pas avec le temps. Il se manifeste généralement par de fortes fièvres, des vertiges, une perte de poids et une diarrhée ou une constipation. . Il peut entraîner différentes complications graves ou même potentiellement mortelles, telles que perforations et même péritonites.

5. Splénomégalie et autres problèmes de rate

La rate est un autre organe qui se trouve du côté gauche du corps et dont l’affectation peut causer de grandes douleurs dans ce côté. Cet organe sert de réservoir et de système de contrôle de la quantité de sang, en plus de participer au système immunitaire et lymphatique, et peut être blessé ou affecté par diverses maladies.

L'un d'eux est la splénomégalie, dans laquelle cet organe augmente considérablement sa taille. Cette augmentation peut générer une compression contre d'autres organes et cela provoque la naissance de douleur, de lourdeur, de perte de poids ou de fièvre. Il peut être nécessaire de l'enlever chirurgicalement.

En plus de la splénomégalie, des altérations telles que des kystes et des tumeurs peuvent également apparaître et générer une douleur. Une autre cause possible peut être que la rate est blessée , elle est perforée ou cassée par un traumatisme, générant une hémorragie interne très dangereuse pour la vie du sujet.

6. Pancréatite

Bien que la majeure partie du pancréas se situe du côté droit du corps, sa queue passe dans le côté gauche de l'abdomen. C’est pourquoi, si elle devient enflammée, vous pouvez percevoir une douleur dans la partie gauche de l’abdomen et à la hauteur de l’estomac qui naît ou s’aggrave juste après avoir mangé, s'étendant souvent plus tard vers d'autres zones du corps et apparaissant à côté de fièvre, vomissements, perte de poids inexpliquée et selles grasses .

La pancréatite peut avoir des conséquences fatales, il est donc essentiel d'aller à l'hôpital le plus tôt possible.

7. Des calculs rénaux et d'autres problèmes rénaux

Sur le côté gauche de l'abdomen, on peut également trouver l'un des reins, ce qui peut parfois générer un type de douleur perçue sur le côté gauche de l'estomac ou à proximité. Cela arrive surtout quand il y a des calculs rénaux ou des infections urinaires .

En plus de la douleur, il est fréquent que des difficultés ou des excès de miction apparaissent.

8. Estomac ou hernie inguinale

Une autre cause possible de douleur sur le côté gauche de l'estomac est la présence d'une hernie ou la saillie d'une partie de l'estomac dans une autre zone. C’est le cas de la hernie hiatale, dans laquelle une partie de l'estomac sort par le diaphragme creux vers la poitrine .

En plus de cette autre hernie dont la douleur associée peut irradier l'estomac est la présence d'une hernie au niveau inguinal.

9. Kystes ovariens et problèmes menstruels

Dans le cas des femmes, il est également possible que des douleurs apparaissent du côté gauche en raison de la présence d'un type de kyste (que ce soit un seul ou en cas d'ovaires polykystiques) dans l'ovaire correspondant. Dans ces cas, ont tendance à apparaître en plus de la douleur aussi altérations au niveau des règles, fatigue et vertiges .

Outre ces kystes, il est également relativement courant que des douleurs associées à des crampes menstruelles ou à d'autres altérations du système de reproduction puissent apparaître.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Longmore, M., I. Wilkinson, A. Baldwin et E. Wallin (2014). Oxford Manuel de médecine clinique. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Mal à l’estomac ? Voici les causes possibles (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes