yes, therapy helps!
Pampered children: 10 signals to detect them

Pampered children: 10 signals to detect them

May 24, 2022

The education of the children is crucial so that they do not grow up as spoiled children. Many parents think that giving everything to their little ones will make them grow up healthy and intellectually stimulated, but in reality this strategy usually goes wrong.

In fact, pampering children can be detrimental to the development of these and to turn them not only into capricious children, non-conformist and lacking in social skills, but into adults incapable of managing frustration. In adulthood, the consequences of having had everything during the first years can be even worse than in childhood, with serious relational problems and poor emotional health.


  • Related article: "What is Emotional Intelligence? Discovering the importance of emotions"

The fault is, often, of the parents

Parents often believe that they do the right thing, and even with the best intentions, they can spoil a child. Some of the behaviors of parents who can raise pampered children They are the following:

  • Make them feel like the center of the universe.
  • Do not reinforce your positive behavior.
  • Reinforce negative behavior
  • Do not enforce the rules consistently.
  • Do not impose limits on children.
  • Give in to tantrums.
  • Make gifts to children when they do not touch.
  • Act (the father) as a spoiled child.

You can delve into these points in this article: "The 8 basic tips for not spoiling your child"


How are spoiled children?

How is it possible to recognize spoiled children? In the following lines you can find a list of signals to detect them.

1. They get angry frequently and have constant tantrums

If something characterizes spoiled children is his attitude towards parents and other individuals with whom they relate . Since they always get what they want, they do not need to develop negotiation skills nor are they able to understand that today other points of view are different from theirs.

Nor are they empathic and if they do not have what they want at the moment they want it , they become aggressive and their tantrums erupt. It is easy to see a spoiled child even threatening their parents, because they always think that they are right and are gaining power over parents over time.

2. They do not mind embarrassing you in public

This attitude in which they get angry frequently and give free rein to their tantrums is not only limited to the home environment, but can be carried out anywhere, even in public. Many times they embarrass their parents with this attitude in which it is appreciated that they do not understand where the limits of their behavior are.


3. Avoid conflicts at all costs

It is easy to see parents fed up, to the point that many times they even avoid conflicts and agree with their children.

The little ones know that they will get away with it, and ... then why change? This becomes a vicious circle, in which the child knows that he gets what he wants by acting like that and the father avoids conflicts with his problematic child, which reaffirms the latter's behavior that maintains this challenging behavior.

The child understands that his attitude receives his reward constantly and his negative behavior is reinforced.

  • You may be interested: "Operant conditioning: concepts and main techniques"

4. They do not help

Not acquiring social skills also affects the relationship with others, so spoiled children are not collaborators (not only with parents), but are rather selfish. They will not participate in household chores because they do not need it. They go for free, and this is also seen in their relationships outside the family.

5. They are disobedient

Disobedience is one of the characteristic features of spoiled children , because they have always done what they wanted when they wanted. And is that as the years pass, it is more difficult to redirect the child to another type of attitude and behavior.

The pattern is one of continuous disobedience and hostility towards authority figures , and causes important problems in family coexistence.

6. They constantly challenge

Besides disobedient, these children are challenging, so they never accept a "no" answer or do anything that is asked of them. They always put themselves on the defensive and become aggressive. They are usually intolerant children , who do not want to follow the rules and ignore the parents when they are reproached.

  • Related article: "Positive Punishment and Negative Punishment: How do they work?"

7. They do not show an altruistic attitude

Sharing is not always easy, especially at an early age, but many children can show altruistic behavior if they are well educated. From the age of 4, It is more common for children to start sharing their toys or your food with the people around you. The selfishness of the little spouses makes them not children who like to share.

  • Maybe you're interested "The theory of moral development of Lawrence Kohlberg"

8. You have to bribe them to behave as you want

Being challenging and never wanting to do what is asked of them, always leads to the opposite. Anything that is asked of them becomes a drama and a conflict, from which they always emerge reinforced. That is why many parents choose to bribe them so that they meet your expectations. For example, telling him "if you eat the food I will take you to the park".

9. Nothing satisfies them

Spoiled children are children who they do not value what they have , because they always get what they want. They are dissatisfied children and they tend to want more and more. This not only happens when they are small, but in adulthood they continue to have this behavior, which makes them extremely unhappy people.

10. They try to control you at all costs

Spoiled children end up having control over their parents, since in the end they always get away with it. Some of them directly ignore when they are asked for something, but others face and exercise control even with the figures of authority that are part of his family . If the parents decide to give in to avoid conflicts, the child receives the message that he has the power to do whatever he wants.


12 Signs Your Pet is Crying for Help (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Enfants choyés: 10 signaux pour les détecter

Enfants choyés: 10 signaux pour les détecter

Novembre 17, 2019

L'éducation des enfants est cruciale pour qu'ils ne deviennent pas des enfants gâtés. De nombreux parents pensent que tout donner à leurs enfants les aidera à grandir en bonne santé et à stimuler leur esprit, mais en réalité, cette stratégie se passe mal.

En fait choyer les enfants peut être préjudiciable au développement de ces et de les transformer non seulement en enfants capricieux, non conformistes et manquant de compétences sociales, mais en adultes incapables de gérer la frustration. À l'âge adulte, les conséquences d'avoir tout eu pendant les premières années peuvent être encore pires que pendant l'enfance, avec de graves problèmes relationnels et une mauvaise santé émotionnelle.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle? Découvrir l'importance des émotions"

La faute est souvent aux parents

Les parents croient souvent qu'ils font ce qui est juste et que même avec les meilleures intentions du monde, ils peuvent gâter un enfant. Certains des comportements des parents qui peuvent élever des enfants choyés Ils sont les suivants:

  • Faites-leur sentir comme le centre de l'univers.
  • Ne renforcez pas votre comportement positif.
  • Renforce le comportement négatif
  • Ne pas appliquer les règles de manière cohérente.
  • Ne pas imposer de limites aux enfants.
  • Cédez aux crises de colère.
  • Faites des cadeaux aux enfants quand ils ne se touchent pas.
  • Agissez (le père) comme un enfant gâté.

Vous pouvez approfondir ces points dans cet article: "Les 8 conseils de base pour ne pas gâter votre enfant"


Comment sont les enfants gâtés?

Comment est-il possible de reconnaître les enfants gâtés? Dans les lignes suivantes, vous trouverez une liste de signaux pour les détecter.

1. Ils se mettent souvent en colère et ont des crises de colère constantes

Si quelque chose caractérise les enfants gâtés est son attitude envers les parents et les autres personnes avec lesquelles ils ont des liens . Puisqu'ils obtiennent toujours ce qu'ils veulent, ils n'ont pas besoin de développer leurs compétences en matière de négociation ni de comprendre qu'aujourd'hui, d'autres points de vue sont différents des leurs.

Ils ne sont pas empathiques et s'ils n'ont pas ce qu'ils veulent au moment qu'ils le veulent , ils deviennent agressifs et leurs crises explosent. Il est facile de voir un enfant gâté menacer même ses parents, car ils pensent toujours qu'ils ont raison et qu'ils gagnent du pouvoir sur leurs parents au fil du temps.

2. Cela ne vous dérange pas de vous embarrasser en public

Cette attitude dans laquelle ils se fâchent fréquemment et donnent libre cours à leurs accès de colère ne se limite pas à l'environnement familial, elle peut également être appliquée n'importe où, même en public. Plusieurs fois, ils embarrassent leurs parents avec cette attitude dans laquelle on comprend qu'ils ne comprennent pas les limites de leur comportement.


3. Éviter les conflits à tout prix

Il est facile de voir les parents en avoir marre, au point qu'ils évitent même souvent des conflits et s'entendent avec leurs enfants.

Les petits savent qu'ils vont s'en tirer, et ... alors pourquoi changer? Cela devient un cercle vicieux dans lequel l'enfant sait qu'il obtient ce qu'il veut en agissant comme ça et le père évite les conflits avec son enfant problématique, ce qui réaffirme le comportement de ce dernier qui maintient ce comportement difficile.

L'enfant comprend que son attitude reçoit sa récompense constamment et que son comportement négatif est renforcé.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Conditionnement opérant: concepts et techniques principales"

4. Ils n'aident pas

Ne pas acquérir les compétences sociales affecte également la relation avec les autres, donc les enfants gâtés ne sont pas des collaborateurs (pas seulement avec les parents), mais sont plutôt égoïstes. Ils ne participeront pas aux tâches ménagères parce qu'ils n'en ont pas besoin. Ils vont gratuitement, et cela se voit aussi dans leurs relations en dehors de la famille.

5. Ils sont désobéissants

La désobéissance est l’un des traits caractéristiques des enfants gâtés parce qu’ils ont toujours fait ce qu’ils voulaient quand ils voulaient. Et est-ce qu'à mesure que les années passent, il est plus difficile de rediriger l'enfant vers un autre type d'attitude et de comportement.

Le modèle est celui de la désobéissance continue et hostilité envers les figures d'autorité , et pose des problèmes importants dans la coexistence familiale.

6. Ils défient constamment

En plus d'être désobéissants, ces enfants sont difficiles, ils n'acceptent jamais une réponse négative et ne font rien qui leur soit demandé. Ils se mettent toujours sur la défensive et deviennent agressifs. Ce sont généralement des enfants intolérants , qui ne veulent pas suivre les règles et ignorer les parents quand on leur fait des reproches.

  • Article connexe: "Peines positives et punitions négatives: comment fonctionnent-elles?"

7. Ils ne montrent pas une attitude altruiste

Partager n'est pas toujours facile, surtout à un âge précoce, mais de nombreux enfants peuvent montrer un comportement altruiste s'ils sont bien éduqués. Après 4 ans, Il est plus courant que les enfants commencent à partager leurs jouets ou votre nourriture avec les gens autour de vous. L'égoïsme des petits époux ne fait pas d'eux des enfants qui aiment partager.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé "La théorie du développement moral de Lawrence Kohlberg"

8. Vous devez les corrompre pour qu'ils se comportent comme vous le souhaitez

Être provocant et ne jamais vouloir faire ce qu'on leur demande, mène toujours au contraire. Tout ce qui leur est demandé devient un drame et un conflit dont ils ressortent toujours renforcés. C'est pour ça que beaucoup de parents choisissent de les corrompre afin qu'ils répondent à vos attentes. Par exemple, en lui disant "si tu manges la nourriture, je t'emmènerai au parc".

9. Rien ne les satisfait

Les enfants gâtés sont des enfants qui ils ne valorisent pas ce qu'ils ont , parce qu'ils obtiennent toujours ce qu'ils veulent. Ce sont des enfants mécontents et ils ont tendance à vouloir de plus en plus. Cela se produit non seulement quand ils sont petits, mais à l'âge adulte, ils continuent à avoir ce comportement, ce qui les rend extrêmement malheureux.

10. Ils essaient de vous contrôler à tout prix

Les enfants gâtés finissent par avoir le contrôle de leurs parents, car ils finissent toujours par s'en tirer. Certains ignorent directement quand on leur demande quelque chose, mais d'autres font face et exercent un contrôle même avec les figures d'autorité qui font partie de sa famille . Si les parents décident d'abandonner pour éviter les conflits, l'enfant reçoit le message qu'il a le pouvoir de faire ce qu'il veut.


Calling All Cars: Body on the Promenade Deck / The Missing Guns / The Man with Iron Pipes (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes