yes, therapy helps!
Pansexuality: a sexual option beyond gender roles

Pansexuality: a sexual option beyond gender roles

June 25, 2022

The world is full of sexual orientations that they are still taboo (in the best of cases) or directly reason for punishment (at worst). However, the fact that in many cultures begin to recognize the freedom of individuals to be attracted to who they want does not mean that all these orientations are coming to light equally and receive the same attention.

To realize this, it is enough to see how many people are familiar with the concept of pansexuality.

What is Pansexuality?

We could see a simulation of the typical reaction to the definition of pansexuality in one of the last (and worst) seasons of the British series Skins. One of the characters, Franky Fitgerald , was questioned about his sexual orientation at a time that had to be on the podium of the most interesting sequences of the season (note the level of quality).


The answer, that his patidifusas companions had to give by good and that could not be developed much more neither textually nor narratively, was this: I'm into people. This phrase is very short, but it may serve to have a basic notion about what it means to be labeled as pansexual .

How is a pansexual person?

Let's start with the easy: to start from a type of sexual orientation that is not hegemonic in order to define a sexual orientation that is even less hegemonic. Take homosexuality as an example.

Be it coincidence or not, homosexuality is based on a distinction between two sexes, just as the form of sexual orientation that has eclipsed it for centuries: heterosexuality. Both homosexuals and heterosexuals divide society into sexes to determine which is potentially attractive.


Pansexual people, however, do not take into account the variable "sex", or at least they feel it when they meet the criteria by which they are attracted to one or another person. This means that although a pansexual woman may find another woman attractive, her preferences can not be described by placing her on a scale with the extremes "greater tendency toward heterosexuality" or "greater tendency towards homosexuality", because rejects the distinction between men and women that gives meaning to that measurement tool.

Pansexuality is simply a sexual orientation that is not governed by these parameters.

So, pansexuality and bisexuality are the same?

Not at all, although it is possible that there are people who declare themselves bisexual due to ignorance of the idea of ​​pansexuality. They are similar sexual orientations, since question the man / woman dichotomy and its relation to sexual attraction , but there are nuances that keep them separate.


Someone bisexual is, in short, someone who may be attracted to people of both sexes. But nevertheless, the bisexual people define the sex of the people associating to this one a load of gender : women are female and men are male. It is important to bear this in mind because, although being attracted to both sexes may question the value of this criterion, bisexuals continue to recognize the existence of gender associated with sex as something important.

The difference between bisexuality and pansexuality is that gender does not play an essential role in the latter, that is, in a group of roles, attitudes and behaviors that are considered masculine or feminine. Someone pansexual does not take into account neither the sex of a subject nor the way in which their behavior is more or less adjusted to one or the other gender. He simply feels attracted to people.

No, that cliché does not happen in the pansexuals either

The pansexual people consider that both sex and gender are empty concepts , but that does not mean that they are attracted to the whole world. That myth according to which someone who is attracted to people of the same sex feels attracted to everyone is also false in the case of pansexuality. Someone who is defined according to this sexual orientation is perfectly capable of feeling little attraction (sexual or of any kind) by the vast majority of people, and not for that reason will enjoy enjoying the company of a few individuals, regardless of their gender and sex .

In that sense, it is possible that pansexuality implies more openness towards the sexual appreciation of people , but no more opening to all individuals in particular. This is an important nuance.

A silenced sexual orientation

Pansexuality may be a more romantic idea than homosexuality or heterosexuality, but it is also more shocking, more revolutionary.It is a challenge for the categories of sex and gender, and for that reason is a difficult orientation to understand. It is not something that can easily become folklore, such as the one that makes up the stereotypes of the gay community, and therefore is also more difficult to recognize, make visible, and fill with good amounts of clichés Y marketing.

Maybe that's why, ironically, it is possible that here and there it is believed that pansexuality is a fashion , a way to seek the attention of others. Maybe that's why, even today, there are many people unable to assimilate the idea that it is possible to feel attracted to people, without more.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aponte Carías, Yllelyna (2009). I am pansexual and I do not discriminate. Available at: //www.gaceta.udg.mx/Hemeroteca/paginas/573/G573_COT%209.pdf
  • Serrano Ruiz-Calderón, José Miguel. (1994). Ideology and bioethics: The case of pansexualism. Available at: //aebioetica.org/revistas/1994/1-2/17-18/19.pdf

The Diversity of Sex, Gender, and Sexual Orientation (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pansexualité: une option sexuelle au-delà des rôles de genre

Pansexualité: une option sexuelle au-delà des rôles de genre

Septembre 27, 2022

Le monde est plein d'orientations sexuelles qui ils sont encore tabous (dans le meilleur des cas) ou directement le motif de la peine (au pire). Cependant, le fait que dans de nombreuses cultures commencent à reconnaître la liberté des individus d'être attirés par ce qu'ils veulent, cela ne signifie pas que toutes ces orientations se dévoilent de manière égale et reçoivent la même attention.

Pour se rendre compte de cela, il suffit de voir combien de personnes connaissent le concept de la pansexualité.

Qu'est-ce que la Pansexualité?

Nous avons pu voir une simulation de la réaction typique à la définition de la pansexualité au cours d’une des dernières (et des pires) saisons de la série britannique. Peaux. Un des personnages, Franky Fitgerald , a été interrogé sur son orientation sexuelle à un moment qui devait être sur le podium des séquences les plus intéressantes de la saison (notez le niveau de qualité).


La réponse, que ses compagnons de patidifusas ont dû donner par le bien et qui ne pourrait pas être développée beaucoup plus ni textuellement ni narrativement, était la suivante: Je suis dans les gens. Cette phrase est très courte, mais elle peut servir à avoir une notion de base sur ce que signifie être étiqueté pansexuel .

Comment est une personne pansexuelle?

Commençons par le facile: partir d'un type d'orientation sexuelle non hégémonique pour définir une orientation sexuelle encore moins hégémonique. L'homosexualité par exemple.

Que ce soit une coïncidence ou non, l'homosexualité repose sur une distinction entre deux sexes, tout comme la forme d'orientation sexuelle qui l'éclipse depuis des siècles: l'hétérosexualité. Les homosexuels et les hétérosexuels divisent la société en deux sexes afin de déterminer ce qui est potentiellement attractif.


Les personnes pansexuées, cependant, ne prennent pas en compte la variable "sexe", ou du moins le ressentent-elles lorsqu'elles répondent aux critères qui les poussent à être attirées par l'une ou l'autre personne. Cela signifie que bien qu'une femme pansexuelle puisse trouver une autre femme attrayante, ses préférences ne peuvent pas être décrites en la plaçant sur une échelle avec les extrêmes "plus grande tendance à l'hétérosexualité" ou "plus grande tendance à l'homosexualité", car rejette la distinction entre hommes et femmes cela donne un sens à cet outil de mesure.

La pansexualité est simplement une orientation sexuelle qui n'est pas régie par ces paramètres.

Donc, la pansexualité et la bisexualité sont les mêmes?

Pas du tout, bien qu'il soit possible qu'il y ait des gens qui se déclarent bisexuels en raison de leur ignorance de l'idée de pansexualité. Ce sont des orientations sexuelles similaires, puisque questionner la dichotomie homme / femme et son rapport à l'attirance sexuelle , mais il y a des nuances qui les séparent.


En bref, une personne bisexuelle est une personne qui peut être attirée par les personnes des deux sexes. Cependant, les personnes bisexuelles définissent le sexe des personnes associant à celle-ci une charge de genre : les femmes sont des femmes et les hommes sont des hommes. Il est important de garder cela à l'esprit car, même si le fait d'être attiré par les deux sexes peut remettre en question la valeur de ce critère, les bisexuels continuent de reconnaître l'importance du genre associé au sexe.

La différence entre la bisexualité et la pansexualité réside dans le fait que le genre ne joue pas un rôle essentiel dans cette dernière, c'est-à-dire dans un groupe de rôles, d'attitudes et de comportements considérés comme masculins ou féminins. Un pansexuel ne prend en compte ni le sexe d'un sujet ni la manière dont son comportement est plus ou moins ajusté à l'un ou l'autre genre. Il se sent tout simplement attiré par les gens.

Non, ce cliché ne se produit pas non plus chez les pansexuels

Le peuple pansexuel considérer que le sexe et le genre sont des concepts vides , mais cela ne signifie pas qu’ils sont attirés par le monde entier. Ce mythe selon lequel une personne attirée par des personnes du même sexe se sent attirée par tout le monde est également faux dans le cas de la pansexualité. Quelqu'un qui est défini en fonction de cette orientation sexuelle est parfaitement capable de ressentir peu d'attirance (sexuelle ou de quelque nature que ce soit) de la part de la grande majorité des gens et n'aime donc pas profiter de la compagnie de quelques individus, sans distinction de sexe ou de sexe. .

En ce sens, il est possible que la pansexualité implique plus d'ouverture à l'appréciation sexuelle des gens , mais plus d’ouverture à tous les individus en particulier. C'est une nuance importante.

Une orientation sexuelle silencieuse

La pansexualité est peut-être une idée plus romantique que l'homosexualité ou l'hétérosexualité, mais elle est aussi plus choquante, plus révolutionnaire.C’est un défi pour les catégories de sexe et de genre et, pour cette raison, une orientation difficile à comprendre. Ce n'est pas quelque chose qui peut facilement devenir du folklore, tel que celui qui constitue les stéréotypes de la communauté gay, et qui est donc plus difficile à reconnaître, à rendre visible et à remplir de bonnes quantités de clichés et le marketing.

Peut-être que c'est pourquoi, ironiquement, il est possible qu'ici et là, on pense que la pansexualité est un la mode , un moyen d'attirer l'attention des autres. C’est peut-être pourquoi, même aujourd’hui, de nombreuses personnes sont incapables d’assimiler l’idée qu’il est possible de se sentir attiré par les gens, sans plus.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aponte Carías, Yllelyna (2009). Je suis pansexuel et je ne fais pas de discrimination. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.gaceta.udg.mx/Hemeroteca/paginas/573/G573_COT%209.pdf.
  • Serrano Ruiz-Calderón, José Miguel. (1994). Idéologie et bioéthique: le cas du pansexualisme. Disponible à: //aebioetica.org/revistas/1994/1-2/17-18/19.pdf

People Guess the Sexual Orientation of Strangers | Lineup | Cut (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes