yes, therapy helps!
Paracetamol reduces negative and positive emotions, according to a study

Paracetamol reduces negative and positive emotions, according to a study

August 8, 2022

The paracetamol (acetaminophen) is a drug widely used for its properties against pain and fever. As with other medications, their use can have unwanted side effects. Until now, it was known, for example, that taking it in high doses affected the liver negatively.

Recent research from the University of Ohio seems to indicate that the active principle of paracetamol, which is also found in other medications, decreases the ability to feel positive and negative emotions.

Paracetamol does not only affect pain

The study of the relationship between paracetamol and emotions is not new, previous research found that subjects who took acetaminophen for three weeks felt less emotional pain than people who took a placebo. But the new study, published in Psychological Science, seems to show that this drug also affects positive emotions, not just negative ones.


The study and its results

The research, led by Geoffrey R. O. Durso, Andrew Luttrell and M. Baldwin, was conducted at the University of Ohio. Two groups of 41 subjects each were formed. The first group received a dose of 1000 mg of acetaminophen and the second group received a placebo (a supposed drug). One hour later (time necessary for the paracetamol to take effect) they were shown a series of images to elicit negative or positive emotions. These images had been selected to provoke strong emotional reactions. The subjects had to evaluate from +5 (more positive) to -5 (more negative) their positive or negative perception of the image. After looking at the images and evaluating them for the first time, the sequence of images was presented again for a second evaluation.


The results revealed that the group that had consumed paracetamol felt less intense emotional reactions to the images, that is, the negative images were evaluated as less negative, and the positive images were evaluated as less positive.

To rule out that the perception of other qualities of the image (such as color intensity, etc ...) had not affected the emotional evaluation, a second study was carried out. The results showed that paracetamol did not alter the visual perception of the image.

It should be mentioned that the difference in the scores of both groups was not very bulky. The mean of the placebo group scores was 6.76, while those of the group that had taken acetaminophen was 5.85.

Other studies in relation to pain and emotions

We already commented in the article "The ghost member: The mirror box therapy" that the studies of Ronald Melzack, a researcher and professor of psychology at McGill University in Canada, gave rise to the Theory of the Neuromatrix . This theory attributes the diffusion of pain and the transmission of this by the organism to a complex system. Different areas intervene in the system (of the central and peripheral nervous system, autonomic nervous system and endocrine system) directly influenced by various psychological, emotional, genetic and social factors.


Another study, carried out by Naomi Eisenberger, a researcher at the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), seems to indicate that the physical pain and social pain they are processed in the same brain regions. These brain regions are activated in a similar way before physical pain or social rejection, such as a breakup of a couple. In addition, people "who are more sensitive to physical pain also tend to be more sensitive to social pain" concludes the author of the research.

If it is true that acetaminophen affects emotions, will other analgesics, such as blood pressure, also have an effect on emotions? Aspirin or the Ibuprofen ? Surely there will be future research in this line.


Acetaminophen may dull your emotions (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le paracétamol réduit les émotions négatives et positives, selon une étude

Le paracétamol réduit les émotions négatives et positives, selon une étude

Novembre 22, 2022

Le paracétamol (acétaminophène) est un médicament largement utilisé pour ses propriétés contre la douleur et la fièvre. Comme avec d'autres médicaments, leur utilisation peut avoir des effets secondaires indésirables. Jusqu'à présent, on savait, par exemple, que le fait de prendre de fortes doses avait un effet négatif sur le foie.

Des recherches récentes menées par l'Université de l'Ohio semblent indiquer que le principe actif du paracétamol, que l'on retrouve également dans d'autres médicaments, réduit la capacité de ressentir des émotions positives et négatives.

Le paracétamol n'affecte pas que la douleur

L'étude de la relation entre le paracétamol et les émotions n'est pas nouvelle. Des recherches antérieures ont montré que les sujets qui prenaient de l'acétaminophène pendant trois semaines ressentaient moins de douleur émotionnelle que ceux qui prenaient un placebo. Mais la nouvelle étude, publiée dans Science psychologique, semble montrer que ce médicament affecte également les émotions positives, pas seulement les négatives.


L'étude et ses résultats

La recherche, dirigée par Geoffrey R. O. Durso, Andrew Luttrell et M. Baldwin, a été menée à l'Université de l'Ohio. Deux groupes de 41 sujets chacun ont été formés. Le premier groupe a reçu une dose de 1000 mg d’acétaminophène et le second groupe a reçu un placebo (un médicament supposé). Une heure plus tard (le temps nécessaire pour que le paracétamol prenne effet), on leur a montré une série d’images pour susciter des émotions négatives ou positives. Ces images avaient été sélectionnées pour provoquer de fortes réactions émotionnelles. Les sujets devaient évaluer de +5 (plus positifs) à -5 (plus négatifs) leur perception positive ou négative de l'image. Après avoir examiné les images et les avoir évaluées pour la première fois, la séquence d'images a été présentée à nouveau pour une seconde évaluation.


Les résultats ont révélé que le groupe qui avait consommé du paracétamol a ressenti des réactions émotionnelles moins intenses En ce qui concerne les images, les images négatives ont été évaluées comme moins négatives et les images positives comme moins positives.

Pour exclure que la perception d'autres qualités de l'image (telles que l'intensité des couleurs, etc.) n'ait pas affecté l'évaluation émotionnelle, une deuxième étude a été réalisée. Les résultats ont montré que le paracétamol n’altère pas la perception visuelle de l’image.

Il convient de mentionner que la différence entre les scores des deux groupes n’était pas très volumineuse. La moyenne des scores du groupe placebo était de 6,76, alors que celle du groupe ayant pris de l'acétaminophène était de 5,85.

Autres études sur la douleur et les émotions

Nous avons déjà commenté dans l'article "Le membre fantôme: la thérapie par la boîte à miroirs" que les études de Ronald Melzack, chercheur et professeur de psychologie à l'Université McGill au Canada, ont donné lieu à la Théorie du Neuromatrix . Cette théorie attribue la diffusion de la douleur et sa transmission par l'organisme à un système complexe. Différents domaines interviennent dans le système (du système nerveux central et périphérique, du système nerveux autonome et du système endocrinien) directement influencés par divers facteurs psychologiques, émotionnels, génétiques et sociaux.


Une autre étude réalisée par Naomi Eisenberger, chercheuse à l’Université de Californie à Los Angeles (UCLA), semble indiquer que le douleur physique et douleur sociale ils sont traités dans les mêmes régions du cerveau. Ces régions du cerveau sont activées de la même manière avant la douleur physique ou le rejet social, comme la rupture d’un couple. En outre, les personnes "qui sont plus sensibles à la douleur physique ont également tendance à être plus sensibles à la douleur sociale", conclut l'auteur de la recherche.

S'il est vrai que l'acétaminophène a des effets sur les émotions, d'autres analgésiques, tels que la pression artérielle, auront-ils également un effet sur les émotions? Aspirine ou le L'ibuprofène ? Il y aura sûrement des recherches futures dans cette ligne.


Opioid dependence & opioid use disorder (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes