yes, therapy helps!
Parietal lobe: characteristics and functions

Parietal lobe: characteristics and functions

May 9, 2021

The parietal lobe , located under the cranial bone that gives it its name and between the frontal lobe and the occipital, is one of the most important brain structures due to its size due to the processes in which it participates.

In fact, it is so crucial in successfully performing various mental processes that it is practically impossible to talk about this part of the brain as if it were a "simple" piece of our nervous system or a structure that performs a single characteristic function.

Then we will see what are the characteristics of the parietal lobe and in what processes it participates .

What is the parietal lobe?

This part of the brain is an area of ​​the cerebral cortex that is located just behind the frontal lobe: both lobes are separated by the so-called central groove. But nevertheless, the parietal lobe works together with that and the rest of the lobes of the brain , since it includes a large area of ​​association, which can be seen as a hub in which many types of information are mixed to generate a unit.


Although the parietal lobe specializes more in certain brain functions than in others, one of its main characteristics is that integrates data from different sources . For example, it mixes data related to what is seen and those that speak to us of what is heard, and makes a complete perceptive experience appear.

In the same way, in this area of ​​cerebral cortex there are many memories that, once "stored" by the hippocampus, move until they are fixed in the neural networks of this lobe. In the memories are integrated all the sensory information that comes from the outside world, but also the feelings and emotions linked to that piece of memory. That is, in the parietal lobe both perceptual processes and the regulation of moods flow.


So, if a single word has to be chosen to define what the function of the parietal lobe is, this should be "integration" , a concept that refers to the functions of many other parts of the brain.

Functions of this area of ​​the brain

There are many and varied functions performed by networks of neurons of the parietal lobe , but in a summarized way it can be said that it plays an important role especially in three kinds of processes: the integration and processing of sensory information from different "channels", the processing of symbolic information (in which processes are included). related to language and its use) and the processing of numerical information, something basic to be able to count and perform mathematical operations.

1. Sensory integration

One of the largest areas of brain association is included in the parietal lobe , which means that the information coming from all areas of the body are combined in this area to result in information that is more than the sum of its parts. Therefore, the creation of abstract concepts occurs in part thanks to the parietal lobe, thanks to which we are able to generate, for example, the idea of ​​what a dog is, with its movement, its touch and its associated odor.


But in the parietal lobe not only data about the world that surrounds us and what inhabits it, but also also information about how we relate to that world in real time . For example, it is in the parietal lobe where the data coming from the muscles of the body come together, thanks to which we get an idea about the physical position and the position in which we find ourselves. The same goes for touch. In short, the parietal lobe is responsible for somesthetic processing, that is, the sensory capacity to recognize bodily sensations.

In the same way, the parietal lobe works together with the frontal lobe to offer a feedback about how the voluntary movements that we are doing are going, in order to be able to correct them immediately in the event of unforeseen events.

As a curiosity, this function includes graffiti, which is the ability to recognize letters and words when an element touches the skin making the path of the form of these.

2. Processing of symbolic-analytical information

Another of the great functions of the parietal lobe is to work with symbols and with arithmetic . The mathematical function is carried out together with the previous one, since it is from the analysis of what is perceived sensory as one can imagine a sequence of units with which to work mathematically. As the parietal lobe is a place in which many mental processes are mixed, it makes possible the abstract thought necessary to think in symbols.

The lesions in the parietal lobe

As often happens in psychobiology, part of the functions of a brain structure tell us about the functions performed by them. In the case of the parietal lobe, these injuries talk about the multiplicity of tasks performed by groups of neurons of this part of the brain.

Injury in the left parietal lobe

A wound in the parietal lobe of the left hemisphere can result in the onset of Gerstmann's Syndrome , which includes symptoms such as acalculia (inability acquired at the time of performing calculations), the confusion of the left and right and the difficulty at the time of writing (agraphia).

  • Related article: "Alexia and agraphia: the alterations of written language due to brain injury"

Injury in the right parietal lobe

Being in good health the rest of the brain, a lesion in the right parietal lobe can lead to heminegligence , ie, inability to pay attention to the stimuli present on the left side of the body at the same time that the person does not realize this problem (a phenomenon known as anosognosia).

People with heminegligencia totally neglect one of the halves of their body, which means that they do not wash it, dress it or comb it, and in the same way they will act as if they were ignoring everything that happens on one side of their body.

Injury in the two parietal lobes

When the parietal lobes of the left and right hemispheres are injured, Balint Syndrome may appear .

Among its symptoms is the inability to perceive the images as a whole, that is, they see separate elements but we do not know how far they are from oneself or from each other or the position they occupy. In the same way, they seem difficulties in the coordination of the movements of the eyes (optical ataxia).

Concluding

The parietal lobe is characterized by the way it works together with many other areas of the brain , offering them a space in which they can integrate their torrents of information.

This, of course, does not mean that in this part of the cerebral cortex we can not find more or less specialized areas, and in fact it has been seen that several of them are especially involved in vision and in the execution and monitoring of movements in coordination. with the posterior area of ​​the frontal lobe.

However, by its very nature distributed, the brain works from networks of neurons disseminated by many different places , and in this sense the parietal lobe is no exception. Therefore, these functions are very relative, and actually exist thanks to the joint work of several areas of the nervous system.

Bibliographic references:

  • Finlay, B.L., Darlington, R.B., Nicastro, N. (2001). "Developmental structure in brain evolution". Behavioral and Brain Sciences. 24 (2): pp. 263-308.
  • Manes, F., Niro, M. (2014). Use the brain. Buenos Aires: Planet.
  • Ratey, J. J. (2003). Brain: instruction manual. Barcelona: Mondadori.

066 The Anatomy and Function of the Parietal Lobe (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Lobe pariétal: caractéristiques et fonctions

Lobe pariétal: caractéristiques et fonctions

Mai 16, 2022

Le lobe pariétal , situé sous l’os crânien qui lui donne son nom et entre le lobe frontal et l’occipital, est l’une des structures cérébrales les plus importantes en raison de sa taille et de ses processus participatifs.

En fait, la réussite de divers processus mentaux est si cruciale qu’il est pratiquement impossible de parler de cette partie du cerveau comme s’il s’agissait d’un «simple» morceau de notre système nerveux ou d’une structure remplissant une seule fonction caractéristique.

Ensuite nous verrons quelles sont les caractéristiques du lobe pariétal et à quels processus il participe .

Quel est le lobe pariétal?

Cette partie du cerveau est une zone du cortex cérébral située juste derrière le lobe frontal: les deux lobes sont séparés par le sillon dit du sillon central. Cependant, le lobe pariétal fonctionne avec cela et le reste des lobes du cerveau , car il comprend un grand domaine d’association, qui peut être considéré comme un centre dans lequel de nombreux types d’informations sont mélangés pour générer une unité.


Bien que le lobe pariétal se spécialise plus dans certaines fonctions cérébrales que dans d’autres, l’une de ses caractéristiques principales est que intègre des données provenant de différentes sources . Par exemple, il mélange des données relatives à ce qui est vu et à ceux qui nous parlent de ce qui est entendu, et fait apparaître une expérience perceptive complète.

De même, dans cette zone du cortex cérébral, il existe de nombreux souvenirs qui, une fois "stockés" par l'hippocampe, se déplacent jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient fixés dans les réseaux neuronaux de ce lobe. Toutes les informations sensorielles provenant du monde extérieur sont intégrées aux mémoires, mais également les sentiments et les émotions liés à cette mémoire. Autrement dit, dans le lobe pariétal, les processus perceptuels et la régulation du flux d'humeur.


Donc, si un seul mot doit être choisi pour définir la fonction du lobe pariétal, cela devrait être "intégration" , un concept qui fait référence aux fonctions de nombreuses autres parties du cerveau.

Fonctions de cette région du cerveau

Les fonctions des réseaux de neurones du lobe pariétal sont nombreuses et variées. , mais de manière résumée, on peut affirmer qu’il joue un rôle important, en particulier dans trois types de processus: l’intégration et le traitement des informations sensorielles provenant de différents "canaux", le traitement des informations symboliques (dans lesquelles les processus sont inclus). liés au langage et à son utilisation) et au traitement de l’information numérique, élément essentiel pour pouvoir compter et effectuer des opérations mathématiques.

1. Intégration sensorielle

L’un des plus grands domaines d’association cérébrale est inclus dans le lobe pariétal , ce qui signifie que les informations provenant de toutes les zones du corps sont combinées dans cette zone pour donner des informations qui sont plus que la somme de ses parties. Par conséquent, la création de concepts abstraits se produit en partie grâce au lobe pariétal, grâce auquel nous pouvons générer, par exemple, l'idée de ce qu'est un chien, avec son mouvement, son toucher et son odeur associée.


Mais dans le lobe pariétal, non seulement les données sur le monde qui nous entoure et ce qui l’habite, mais aussi également des informations sur la façon dont nous nous rapportons à ce monde en temps réel . Par exemple, c’est dans le lobe pariétal où se rejoignent les données provenant des muscles du corps, grâce auxquelles nous avons une idée de la position physique et de la position dans laquelle nous nous trouvons. La même chose vaut pour le toucher. En bref, le lobe pariétal est responsable du traitement somesthésique, c'est-à-dire de la capacité sensorielle à reconnaître les sensations corporelles.

De la même manière, le lobe pariétal fonctionne avec le lobe frontal pour offrir une commentaires sur la façon dont les mouvements volontaires que nous faisons vont, afin de pouvoir les corriger immédiatement en cas d’imprévu.

À titre de curiosité, cette fonction inclut le graffiti, qui est la capacité de reconnaître des lettres et des mots lorsqu'un élément touche la peau, créant ainsi le tracé de leur forme.

2. Traitement des informations analytiques symboliques

Une autre des grandes fonctions du lobe pariétal est de travailler avec des symboles et avec de l’arithmétique. . La fonction mathématique est réalisée en même temps que la précédente, car c'est à partir de l'analyse de ce qui est perçu comme sensoriel que l'on peut imaginer une séquence d'unités avec laquelle travailler mathématiquement. Le lobe pariétal étant un lieu où se mélangent de nombreux processus mentaux, il est possible de penser de manière abstraite de penser en symboles.

Les lésions dans le lobe pariétal

Comme cela se produit souvent en psychobiologie, une partie des fonctions d’une structure cérébrale nous renseigne sur les fonctions qu’elles remplissent. Dans le cas du lobe pariétal, ces blessures parlent de la multiplicité des tâches effectuées par des groupes de neurones de cette partie du cerveau.

Blessure au lobe pariétal gauche

Une plaie dans le lobe pariétal de l'hémisphère gauche peut entraîner l'apparition du syndrome de Gerstmann , qui inclut des symptômes tels que acalculie (incapacité acquise au moment des calculs), confusion entre gauche et droite et difficulté au moment de la rédaction (agraphie).

  • Article connexe: "Alexia et l'agraphie: les modifications du langage écrit dues à une lésion cérébrale"

Lésion traumatique du lobe pariétal droit

Être en bonne santé le reste du cerveau, une lésion du lobe pariétal droit peut conduire à une héminegligence , c’est-à-dire l’incapacité de faire attention aux stimuli présents du côté gauche du corps en même temps que la personne ne réalise pas ce problème (un phénomène connu sous le nom de anosognosie).

Les personnes atteintes d'héminegligence négligent totalement l'une des moitiés de leur corps, ce qui signifie qu'elles ne la lavent pas, ne l'habillent pas et ne la peignent pas. Elles agissent de la même manière comme si elles ignoraient tout ce qui se passe d'un côté du corps.

Blessure dans les deux lobes pariétaux

Lorsque les lobes pariétaux des hémisphères gauche et droit sont blessés, le syndrome de Balint peut apparaître .

Parmi ses symptômes figure l’incapacité de percevoir les images dans leur ensemble, c’est-à-dire qu’elles voient des éléments séparés, mais nous ne savons pas à quelle distance elles se trouvent ou les unes des autres, ni de la position qu’elles occupent. De même, ils semblent présenter des difficultés dans la coordination des mouvements des yeux (ataxie optique).

En conclusion

Le lobe pariétal est caractérisé par la façon dont il fonctionne avec de nombreuses autres régions du cerveau. , en leur offrant un espace dans lequel ils peuvent intégrer leurs torrents d’informations.

Bien entendu, cela ne signifie pas que dans cette partie du cortex cérébral, nous ne trouvons pas de zones plus ou moins spécialisées, et en fait, il a été constaté que plusieurs d’entre elles sont particulièrement impliquées dans la vision ainsi que dans l’exécution et le suivi de mouvements en coordination. avec la région postérieure du lobe frontal.

Cependant, de par sa nature même, le cerveau fonctionne à partir de réseaux de neurones disséminés par de nombreux endroits différents et en ce sens le lobe pariétal ne fait pas exception. Par conséquent, ces fonctions sont très relatives et existent grâce au travail conjoint de plusieurs zones du système nerveux.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Finlay, B. L., Darlington, R. B., Nicastro, N. (2001). "Structure de développement dans l'évolution du cerveau". Sciences du comportement et du cerveau. 24 (2): pp. 263-308.
  • Manes, F., Niro, M. (2014). Utiliser le cerveau. Buenos Aires: Planète.
  • Ratey, J. J. (2003). Cerveau: manuel d'instruction. Barcelone: ​​Mondadori.

Au coeur des organes : La commande du mouvement (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes